25 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 20 2014, 05:45 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(leonhart88 @ Oct 20 2014, 02:25 PM)
how to become a developer? I saw many developers do not have architect or civil engineer but economy background
if u have money u can become developer already. u don't need to have architect background because u hire architect's service.

how developer work? for developer that have money but no land, they will conduct feasibility study. I draft a simple feasibility study format below la.

first they have to come out the GDV first. (Gross Development Value)

100 unit x 1200sqft x selling price base on the location market price (say KLCC at RM1500/sqft) = 180millions

now with this 180 millions then reverse study on the cost by key in following detail
1. Land Cost, A
1. Consultant Fee, B
2. Building Cost, C
3. Local Authority Contribution, D
4. Finance Charges, E (of course developer will borrow money from bank to finance their work as they have no cash)
5. Marketing & Advertising, F

A+B+C+D+E+F = G

6. Profit Margin, H

G + H = 180 millions
H = 180millions - G

So if the H (Profit Margin) is acceptable, then they will proceed it.

Of course above is a simple 1. in actual it's very detail as they have to estimate the most accurate the possible.

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 07:37 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Oct 20 2014, 08:10 PM)
hi TS i hv another question.. how often ppl design pilecaps to be interlapping with the slab.

i mean beam also inside the pilecaps, slab also inside the pilecaps..

hmm.gif
I no idea how often. but I encounter this design also. not very often la. usually beam connected to stump of that pile cap.

ops, also reveal that my core is not engineering laugh.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 09:25 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Oct 21 2014, 08:15 AM)
usually its on top of one another, no interlapping wan.. dunno what to save also lol
my core also not engineering i guess.. i do whats need to get done only biggrin.gif
I believe if possible they will connect to the stump. unless the pile cap is too high and hence if they still want that desired ground floor level, they might as well remove the stump and sit directly on the pile cap. after all, the load still transfer to pile cap.

I encounter this design at hill side project in mon't kiara. mon't kiara is a hill hence the name bukit kiara.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 09:36 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Oct 20 2014, 09:03 PM)
1. what is lacing/lacer bar in beam?

2. what is the function of bonding ties? is it steel bar that stick out from column and stiffener? usually how many layers will need one bonding tie?
1. actually I no idea the exactly function of lacer bar in beam. usually it used to hold the "cage" prior concrete casting. ensure the beam "cage" is in correct shape and position prior concrete casting.

2. bonding tie is also use to hold the rebar. in case when casting concrete it give way go to left or right. it need bonding tie till full length base on the spacing mentioned in the drawing. however if u mention those exposed starter bar that reserve for future then it's just few layers.

u mean S1 in the picture below right?

Attached image(s)
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 09:41 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(spacelion @ Oct 21 2014, 12:11 AM)
just want to point out that mmc gamuda engineers do not do paperwork. They REVIEW paperwork submitted by WPC (works package contractor).

For some package the engineer is very slack while for some package the engineer is quite rigid, so it differs, some things that cannot pass for my package will pass for other package and vice versa.

Anyway it's up to the ICE (independent consulting engineer) and the MRTC observer to comment bcos even the MGJV ppl want to push the paperwork through.

And all these thing in the end come up to taichi here and there, make sure that we hit all the QRM target and looks good during the meeting is good enuf.
for MRT project, MMC-Gamuda construct all the underground station. for elevated track and elevated station, MMC-Gamuda doing management. they manage those contractor that take different packages of all the elevated track and station. those contractor is gadang, suncon, ijm and etc. from thereon, gadang, suncon, ijm actually not doing physical work, they manage their subcon to deliver the work to them. and that's how construction work can used to stimulate economy. biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 09:57 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 21 2014, 12:35 AM)
Just wondering...

(1) Is the Contractor liable for design produced by a nominated sub-contractor?

(2) If the Architect’s design is faulty, but the Contractor builds it badly, who is liable?

(3) Say a contractor, working under a PAM'98 contract, knows broadly what is required, but does not have drawings or specification which shows precisely what is required. So, the contractor thinks it knows what to do and carries on with the work to its own detail. Subsequently, the detail fails with serious consequences. For example, it might be a badly constructed roof detail, an inadequate stanchion base or perhaps wrongly positioned heating pipes. Is the Contractor liable for something done on its own initiative?
good question biggrin.gif

(1)
there are 2 type of subcontractor namely domestic subcontractor and nominated subcontractor. main contractor have direct contractual relationship with them so if any of them in default, main contractor will have to be liable because after all they are main contractor's baby. the differences is that when nominated subcontractor in default, main contractor can claim those damages against employer if nominated subcontractor not capable of remedy the damages. the reason is because there is a collateral warranty between employer and nominated subcontractor and hence privity of contract established simply because of employer selecting the nominated subcontractor.

but for domestic subcontractor side, main contractor cannot indemnify against employer for all the fault due to the DSC as appointing of DSC is nothing to do v employer.

(2)
Architect. provided u can prove that his design is not workable. there is 1 term called Frustration in contractual term. refer wiki link abt what is frustration
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frustration_of_purpose
In the law of contracts, frustration of purpose is a defense to enforcement of the contract. Frustration of purpose occurs when an unforeseen event undermines a party's principal purpose for entering into a contract, and both parties knew of this principal purpose at the time the contract was made. Despite frequently arising as a result of government action, any third party (or even nature) can frustrate a contracting party's primary purpose for entering into the contract. This concept is also called commercial frustration.

example of frustration is let's say suddenly government announce that material "x" is banned, then it's a frustration that not due to contractor fault.

however if it was proven it's self-induced frustration, then it contractor own fault. this mean the frustration happen due to contractor incompetence. it's duty of contractor to raise up the issue during tender stage. when u accepted the condition during tender stage, u deems to accepting that it's workable.

(3)
yes. u know a term called "silence in golden", apply here so nicely biggrin.gif contractor have to request information from consultant when it have no detail. contractor shouldn't take risk propose own thing without seeking approval. after all, if consultant delay in giving information, detail, it is contractor right to claim for extension of time and hence u got loss and expenses due to prolongation.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 10:00 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Oct 21 2014, 08:01 AM)
What I mean is they rarely will go into technical part, review drawing find mistakes, send TQ to rush design team, force u to issue acp ifc. Just keep on rushing wpc and design team.

Yea I agree that their taichi are damn powderful
u know that the contractual term of "tai chi" called burden of proof
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Legal_burden_of_proof
The burden of proof (Latin: onus probandi) is the imperative on a party in a trial to produce the evidence that will shift the conclusion away from the default position to one's own position.

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 10:23 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Oct 21 2014, 09:26 AM)
EVERYTHING BECOME CONTRACTOR`S FAULT......

as usual....

just share my experience in supplying projects...

one job has five consulant

C&S
M&E
environment
safety
medical consultant(for hospital)

when consultant M&E say I need this steel to be erected here to has stiff suport

then next day consultant C&S say cannot as it may increase its weight per area

soon safety consultant say can, but need to shift it...

in the end, all cost boils down to contractor
better get the contractor to get approval on material. if the purchase made after approval, then can use that to claim for abortive material cost.

but of course u know, if the cost ain't big, contractor also don't wanna calculative so much. why wanna offend someone that give u job? maybe they will give u even more job in future if u please them? but at the same time they also ask supplier to absorb. if supplier calculate so much also, main contractor won't buy material from u in future also. so it's ur call tongue.gif

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Oct 21 2014, 10:24 AM
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 11:56 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(call me random @ Oct 21 2014, 11:13 AM)
stump is only necessary if there underground services je, dowan kena pilecap because size of stump is smaller than that of pilecaps.

but u see hor, if slab also put inside the pilecap, it seems like the effective pilecaps also reduced might as well reduce the overall depth of the pilecaps. can save rebar formwork n concrete..
oh well.. i dunno also i no see calculations just speaking fr a laymen point of view only..
oic, u concern of quantity of material. but then I believe they did that concern on the magnitude of force more than material. not substantial amount of material are there also, plus this happen on ground level and not all typical level, so cost won't be much.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 01:33 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Awakened_Angel @ Oct 21 2014, 12:44 PM)
HAHA... MANA ADA SUPPLIER that would absorb the cost...

another thing faced...

insufficient detail in BQ...

ask engineer... ikutla mane mane... or this and that

then supplied, and chief engineerdont want
because BQ need to read in conjunction with drawing, specification and design intent. if info is unclear need to study together with drawing. if the contract is lump sump basis then the BQ is actually just for reference.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 21 2014, 05:06 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 19 2014, 08:46 PM)
Your thoughts on Prefab housing?
forgot to reply this. yes, I like prefab. the correct term is called IBS aka Industrialized Building System.

following is just my opinion. I actually like IBS. however it seems very difficult to practice here due to the high expenses of doing pre-fabrication. huge equipment expenses require. pre-fabrication require higher cost of construction cost and hence until now not much company wanna adopt it. perhaps the recent capital allowance to increase automation in labour intensive in budget 2015 will encourage the purchase and usage of equipment and more IBS? just my thought. biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 09:20 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 21 2014, 05:21 PM)
The time to erect a Prefab building is fast. I've seen how they erected McDonald's at Kulim Landmark Central in 2012. laugh.gif
QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 21 2014, 07:27 PM)
I see didn't know there are high expenses involved in IBS.
with IBS and well planning, the superstructure of 30 storey can be complete is just 15 days. (of course, the substructure aka foundation work have to be complete first)

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 09:23 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 21 2014, 07:27 PM)
Another question, what are teh requirements to drive heavy equpiment? Like those mobile cranes...so pro I see those divers notworthy.gif
those are crane operator. no idea whether they need licence to drive those equipment or not. should need ba. all these while just order directly from machinery renting company. those machinery renting company will rent the machine inclusive of operator.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 09:32 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(vxv @ Oct 22 2014, 09:54 PM)
Sorry bro. A little correction here. Compressive strength and tensile strength is two totally different thing. Tensile test is carried out for steel materials such as rebar, I-beam, Steel pipe casing etc. It is a "pulling" test so that we can know how much is the yield strength and tensile strength before failure.

Lets say we are going to construct a single storey building. Inside the columns, the designers will on use the minimum amount of steel as per the BS's requirement. This is because the column does not have to resist much moment. Heck, you don't really need rebar for single storey columns. Some people even used bricks for their columns and there are no issues as long as the foundation is stable. My senior engineer once said the only time that the rebar will come to work is when there is a crack in your column which is wide enough for you to see your rebar. Otherwise, your structure will rely on your concrete's compressive strength only. That is why for bigger and heavier structures, we specify higher concrete grades. At the same time, it will also reduce the amount of required steel area. Hence please dont just add or use bigger rebars when the specified sizes are unavailable. There is a limit too.

You can also think of it this way. Why rebars are allowed to use lappings for extensions. If it is used to handle compression such as normal steel structure (H-Sections), lapping is definitely not acceptable. Imagine it sliding down because it is tied together with a wire only. The reason lapping is adequate because we only need them for their tensile strength to resist moment. You will also never see a steel structure being built by using rebars. All of them are built using proper structural steels which have enough strength to resist buckling during compression. Rebars are too slender, hence it will buckle easily. It can be used as bracing to prevent the steel structures from buckling though.
I know what is compressive strength and tensile strength. they are different. example when u bend a eraser with bulging on top, tensile force occur at the top and compressive force occur at the bottom.

all these while I only do high rise building hence not encounter much on those landed property. what I mean is steel have higher compressive strength than concrete in term of their properties. if u are engineer u will know what I mean below.

for a beam, let's say the compressive stress is not achieve, then engineer will add top bar at beam. so that it will increase the compressive strength of the beam when load applied on top of the beam. steel is expensive material and hence like u say, they try to use as minimum as possible for steel so that it can help client to save cost which is also client's needs in having more profit. for competent client, they will check the ratio of steel to concrete so they know which engineer over design and hence they will eliminate on using those engineers as those engineer over design to ensure the building is safe instead of use minimum amount of steel that save client development cost.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 09:33 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Oct 23 2014, 09:30 AM)
i see, one day I wanna learn how to drive big cranes tongue.gif they're just so badasss

what? laugh.gif
operator quite high wages also. anyway is dangerous la. there are incident like their head is chopped when operate forklift.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 02:02 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(TunaFish1990 @ Oct 23 2014, 10:09 AM)
simple one..if i wanna do below Reno, do i need to get permit and submit plan to Perbandaran XXXX?

1) I want to add a divider between my living hall and dining hall...for example if the width is 40ft, my divider (brick) will be 25ft..so there will be some gap on both sides roughly 7ft each.

2) If my brother's house is nxt to mine in a Terrace, i want to break down part of the wall between our houses, like living hall. For example the house if 80ft long..our living hall is roughly 20ft..in between i want to open a gap around 10ft so it can connect to both houses. Do i need permit/plan submission?

tank kiu.
1) correct procedure wise, yes u have to. but most people didn't do it la. and I think using gypsum board would be easier. in case u wanna sell the house and the buyer insist u to remove the wall, gypsum wall is easy to dismantle and dispose compared to brickwall smile.gif

2) procedure wise, yes, u have to. those runner competent engineer can help u do all, like one stop center like that do everything. of course if that is loadbearing wall, then u can't do anything as break down that wall will cause the entire house collapse. if condominium then it's even harder as management office will never allow that.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 02:06 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(vxv @ Oct 23 2014, 01:32 PM)
The compressive strength for steel is too high. That is why we never even measured their strength. I bet the compressive machine will fail first if you try to compress a steel plate or cube. The reason we add rebar into concrete beams is to reinforce them. Hence the reason why we called them reinforced concrete. The concrete here is the main character and the rebar is just the support. We also never measure the yield strength of the concrete because it will fail almost immediately when pulled (Very low tensile strength) and that is the reason why we add rebars into concrete. For beams, when subjected to dead loads and live loads, it will bend downwards. However, the concrete's strength is from compression. If bending, then it will crack and thus the reason why we add rebars. To enhance the tensile strength of the concrete.

Furthermore, you need to check on which load combinations that your beam failed. During uplift or normal combinations? This is because adding rebars for top part of beam does not help much if the beam is facing downwards force. Furthermore it will only congest the top part of the beam and makes it harder for the concretor and probably end up with a beam full of honeycombs.

However, back to rebars, you can eliminate the need for rebars in your concrete products IF your concrete has enough ductility. One of the latest products are Ultra high performance ductile concrete (UHPDC). Recently went to their seminar and was very impressed by this technology. They manage to make their concrete ductile and hence eliminating the needs for any rebar. Furthermore, the concrete strength is also increased by a lot and hence can be stressed further. Very ideal for long span prestressed bridge. You can read about it here. http://www.dura.com.my/uhpc/dura-uhpdc

Btw, you are a QS right?
I come across a lot of new technology that tried to introduced here in Malaysia. most of them hardly penetrate through the market as here still resistant to change. client usually not confident on new thing and want to be safe. and second if ur new technology cause more cost than original traditional method, they don't feel like it's worth it to change.

I'm nobody biggrin.gif

anyway I see all these in the perspective view of engineer, QS, architect and client. all have different concern.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 04:19 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(pigrabbit @ Oct 23 2014, 04:04 PM)
I had applied engineer post as safety officer in construction. The manager require a lady as they are very typical type and can manage work properly.
However, they arent willing to adjust flexi time due to me, as a mother, need to send kids to school and nursery.

PLus working time also longer compare to manufacturing company.

pLus, the bangla worker there, keep on staring at me eventhough i'm dress in jeans and wide tshirt. (I am abit boyish type)

goes to 2nd interview, the project manager, said" wow! good and nice!"
I was like huh??!

then I asked him, he said my body figure nice. wtf^&%^.

i write my expected salary, normal as market, 30% higher than my current.

the project manager, said "Is too overprice". and again wtf*&^&%&^

the next day, next week, next month, and now, next year... No news at all..

Conclusion, waste my time travelling to the site and attend twice for interview on weekend.
ya, woman not advisable to work at site la. definitely lot pipu will stare at u. construction site pipu like to talk dark humour as if it is normal. if can avoid better avoid that la. u got green book?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 23 2014, 04:37 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(pigrabbit @ Oct 23 2014, 04:28 PM)
got. thats whhy there cant even pay for 5k for a 6 yrs experience(3 yrs fresh + after 3 yrs with green book). the tauke Still want to try to demand lower.
ic. very high demand safety officer. why not try oil and gas?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 24 2014, 09:56 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(ianmavis2004 @ Oct 23 2014, 11:02 PM)
The company thst I work is looking for Facade Engineer as permanent employer. Do you all guys got anybody for introdution?
company name?

25 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 01:54 PM