Ask me anything abt Construction Industry!, Q&A

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 17 2014, 08:24 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Xisuka @ Oct 17 2014, 08:20 PM)
What thickness or type of re bar is recommended?
we called it diameter of rebar. according to structure drawing. it is the duty of structural engineer to calculate. contractor just follow the drawing. again it's depend on the structural load requirement. if they require 20mm diameter for storage room, u can do 32mm diameter. but what for wasting that money? it just require 20mm diameter of rebar to withstand the load. right?

what is ur profession by the way?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:21 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(edyek @ Oct 17 2014, 09:29 PM)
Hai iwubpreve boss,

Recently, i got a dilemma... I want to build a holiday house at my small small land...

But you know lah, now very HING steel structure. Modern and stylish.

So I wonder,

Steel structure vs RC structure
1) what are the pro and con of each
2) if i use steel structure, will i save some cost in foundation? Any estimated cost if there is at all any saving?

Thanks in advance.
rc structure
pros - cheaper
cons - slower, need time curing

steel structure
pros - faster, can prefabricated in factory and assemble at site without have to wait, stronger because steel have high tensile strength
cons - expensive

nothing to do with foundation. foundation is nothing to do v material, the higher the building, the stronger foundation require. if u use steel structure, cost would be higher. steel is expensive than concrete. the advantage u have is u save time, can build immediately as long as u have the steel material.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:22 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Oct 17 2014, 09:31 PM)
Why the side is white colour ? They tape the side ?
ya, and label the number so they know which piece join which piece.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:24 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Oct 17 2014, 10:27 PM)
may i know what is your job? engineer? so that i can expect whether you position can answer my query.
if anything v construction industry very likely I can answer. relate to what ur question?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:30 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(NathanChan76 @ Oct 17 2014, 10:28 PM)
Your understanding of structural theory is a little way off, Concrete withstand compressive strength while steel rebar withstand tensile strength. Together the two material used together is called Reinforced Concrete. The steel rebar helps resist bending (moment) and tensile actions/force acted upon the component (beam, column and slab), but concrete is the one holding everything together.
concrete have compressive strength 40N/mm2 for grade 40 concrete. a normal high tensile bar have 460N/mm2 tensile strength. more than 10 times stronger than concrete. concrete is strong in compressive strength but rebar have higher compressive strength than concrete. the tensile strength even much much higher.

sometimes when compressive strength is not enough, they add rebar to get more compressive strength. seems like ur core is not civil engineering.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:38 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Oct 17 2014, 11:35 PM)
hi there? asking on behalf of a friend

how much will it cost for piling and foundation in a piece of land size of 4927 sq, maybe around 60 X 95 to withstand respectively:

a) 2 storey shop
b) 3 storey shop
c) 5 storey shop

thank you...

also I heard to get the relevant authorities for approval and conversion to become commercial areas requires at least 1 year?
how many square feet? built up area of the shop. u can use abt RM175 per square feet to calculate. built up area, not land area. say 5 storey is 5000 build up area, then is 175 x 5000 equal to 875k. thus us just general guild line.

approval from authority u need get runner to do for u. competent 1 can help u expedite the approval quickly, but u need to pay for it at higher cost. usually is Malay.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:46 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 17 2014, 11:37 PM)
Finally, the Master Builder is here to save us.  icon_rolleyes.gif

This is a serious and meaningful thread. I have three questions related to the contractual issues.

(1) Say the Employer is pressuring the Main Contractor to start work. Is there a problem in the issue of a Letter of Intent?

(2) If a Letter of Intent is issued with a limit of RM1 million, is the employer obliged to pay a higher sum after allowing a contractor to exceed the limit?

(3) Can pre-contract minutes during the tender stage form a binding contract?
I assume u are Employer la.

1. no problem issue letter of intent. what problem u concern?

2. yes, if beyond 1mil, employer still need to pay. maybe employer might via letter of intent don't wanna pay any amount beyond 1mil, but contractor can use the principle of quantum meruit and force employer to pay.

3. pre-contract minutes mean the meeting that carry b4 contract form? or after, kindly elaborate more ur case.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 01:47 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(dD_se7en @ Oct 17 2014, 10:31 PM)
Anyone know the difference between RC wall, Parapet Wall and Retaining Wall?
u student? sweat.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 08:18 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 18 2014, 02:21 AM)
(1a) If the Employer cannot give site possession on the due date, can the matter be resolved by the Architect giving an instruction to postpone the Works as per the Contract?

(1b) If the Architect does not grant Time Extension, and the Contractor is required to perform accelerated Works to catch up with the project’s completion schedule, can the Contractor use the Employer’s delay in giving the site possession as a reason to justify a claim for VO?
1a. there are basically 2 type of breach in contract. 1 is conditional breach (can rescind the contract and claim for damages) another 1 is warranty breach (cannot rescind the contract but can claim remedy). not giving site possession is a conditional breach and the contractor can terminate the contract and claim for expenses incurred due to the breach. seems like ur case u accepted the late site possession. architect can postpone the work but it's up to contractor to accept it or not.

1b. yes, but it's has to be done at the beginning. let's say contract duration is May 2014 to June 2016, after u take the possession on July 2014, u should immediately claim for eot until August 2016. but in commercial context, u make employer unhappy especially when starting the work at beginning.

if u said claim vo due to the late sit possession, have to see whether it have direct impact to the vo work. but bear in mine VO is additional work to the project while loss and expenses claim is due to extended period of time.

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Oct 18 2014, 08:56 AM
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 09:02 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 18 2014, 02:02 AM)
Should be the other way around — CONTRACTOR. sweat.gif
The common excuse for the issue of the letter is that the employer cannot wait the additional few days necessary for the preparation and execution of a formal contract. When requesting for a simple letter of acceptance of the contractor’s tender rather than a letter of intent, we suspect there is something more substantial preventing the issue of an acceptance letter with a few words and sentences. We are unsure whether it may be a delay in obtaining funding for the whole project or perhaps contractor’s tender was “still relatively high” and reduction negotiations with the Employer's in-house contractors are in progress. sad.gif
i read a lot of court case b4, have to look into the content of what was written in letter of intent. basically when come to letter of intent, the contract is not form yet and in case at the end the work is not awarded to u, u can still claim via the principle of quantum meruit. it is well established long time ago.

what is quantum meruid
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quantum_meruit

Quantum meruit is a Latin phrase meaning "what one has earned". In the context of contract law, it means something along the lines of "reasonable value of services".

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 09:09 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(hsbc2 @ Oct 17 2014, 11:36 PM)
bro, what is the cost to build this house? and market price sold by contractor?

normally how many percents a developer earns from a project? ie. soho commercial condos?
contractor don't sell the house. it was developer who sell the house. developer engage a contractor to build for them. cost to build hardly determine but generally u can use this ratio to gauge the price and budget. low end use RM150/sf, high end specification use RM300/sf. again this is not accurate, best u budget urself first like RM200/sf x 2000 square feet = RM400k and u build it base on the budget. if budget burst then consider change the type of material, maybe from stainless steel to mild steel, maybe from marble to tile, maybe from timber floor to tile? maybe from MML to white horse tile? maybe from TOTO brand of sanitary wares to zaplang china made fitting? biggrin.gif

this is depend from project to project. for a high end service apartment at KLCC area, out of 100% of GDV (Gross Development Value) got 26% is profit after tax.

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Oct 18 2014, 09:20 AM
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 09:16 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Oct 18 2014, 02:31 AM)
I don't think so bro, if u check back BS 8110, rebar will tend to buckle subject to compressive force therefore rebar only used to resist high tensile force.

And for most building, local practice is using grade C30 concrete which is 30N/mm2, as far as I know water retaining structure using C35A and MRT segmental box girder using C40
grade 25/30 mostly is on floor slab and beam, internal column is grade 40. of course some case might have exception. like retaining wall grade 60. again, it is all design by conslting engineer as accordance to BS 5950. i understand that in the book it keep tell us concrete have high compressive strength and compensate the steel weak of compressive strength. but rebar have yield stress of 460N/mm2 in contrast of concrete have 40N/mm2 (depend on which concreet u use) it's depend on how u lay the rebar. if u lay the rebar horizontally and the loading in from top to bottom, then it's weak in compressive strength, but if u bend the rebar and let it bulging on top and apply the force again, it have way higher compressive strength than concrete. this is also how pre-stress reinforced concrete work came about.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 09:25 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Oct 18 2014, 08:12 AM)
oh built up area will be around

45 X80 (reserving some place for side and back)

if 3 floors + 1 parking facility underneath

45 X80= 3600

3600 X (3+1) = 144000 st built up total

so 144000 x RM175= 2.52 million?

RM175, inclusive of building structure till finish? is it possible to do piling for 3-4 storey first, but built 2 storey and 1 parking facility, then upgrade sumore?
yes, including. but then again the correct way of doing it is set the budget first. say u consider RM175 then overall building cost is 2.52million. then from there u start to monitor. if budget likely to burst, consider do reduce some type of material.

yes, u can do foundation for 3-4 storey and then just build 2 storey and upgrade in the future. but have to consider a lot of factor. when u upgrade in future, the cost would be higher because a lot of temporary work. and somemore, when u upgrading, the house have to be vacant and is not habitable.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 09:26 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(rotloi @ Oct 18 2014, 06:45 AM)
I want to know about job available !!
what job u want?
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 02:55 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(bearbearwong @ Oct 18 2014, 10:00 AM)
thank you very verymuch.. btw do we need any architect to raft the plan before building?
u can go to DBKL do yourself and they will assign a planner for u. but i don't think it's efficient. u need a runner to do that. usually some competent engineer can do everything for u, submission and design. they will submit the building plan and get it approve. my friend doing that, he is like one stop center as he got his partner who is architect and also registered planner. can do all the design and submission.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 02:56 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(hsbc2 @ Oct 18 2014, 10:24 AM)
bro, can i employ u to build a bungalow as picture above? haha
of course can. my wages just like normal /k/ standard of wages. if u know what i mean biggrin.gif
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 02:57 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(rotloi @ Oct 18 2014, 10:29 AM)
All the job offered
what ur qualification? sometimes i need some flagman stand outside the site and waving the flag control traffic laugh.gif

This post has been edited by iwubpreve: Oct 18 2014, 02:58 PM
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 18 2014, 03:52 PM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 18 2014, 03:25 PM)
Thanks for your explanations. Here are some issues related to general contractual matters:

(1) I'm sure you had heard cases where some construction materials were stolen. If the employer has paid for materials on site which are subsequently stolen, who is liable in most cases?

(2) Some contracts call for Contractors to carry out Architect’s instructions forthwith and many Architects think that the Contractor, on receipt of the instruction, must immediately carry it out. If a contractor must do something ‘forthwith’, how quickly should the contractor interpret that?

(3) There is a ‘higher’ clause in the contract saying that, “When the language of a contract does not expressly, or by necessary implication, fix any time for the performance of a contractual obligation, the law implies that it shall be performed in a reasonable time. The rule is of general application...” How ‘reasonable’ is a reasonable time?
oic. i like answer this because i study a lot on construction law smile.gif

1. contractor is liable. because contractor have the site possession. provided the material is under contractor custody.

2. this happen always and only competent contractor can manage it well. very simple, contractor have to carry out with due diligence and expedite the work. contract term called it "regular and diligent". what exactly it mean? upon receive of instruction, u have to start to begin the necessary work. a program bar chart will always be drafted and submitted in EOT application. u have to justify the thing to Employer on reasonableness by including the program bar chart with event as below,
a) date receive of instruction and drawings
b) production of shop drawing
c) review of shop drawing by consultant
d) construction of work as per instruction

if the date fall into critical path, then there u go, u entitle for EOT. if not then it's concurrent activity and contractor have to stick to the original completion date. the "forthwith" is within the buffer zone of master program

3. what is reasonable time? refer to the research here. Thanks to Ong Rui Ying for the said research. however u can't access the full research. i read this b4. they study on various of court cases.
http://eprints.utm.my/6658/

Through the analysis of courts’ judgments, the meaning of “reasonable
time” when time at large occurs was determined. “Reasonable time” means
reasonable under the existing circumstances, assuming that those circumstances, in
so far as they involve delay, are not caused or attributed to by him and excluding
circumstances which were under the control of the contractor, considering what in
ordinary circumstances was a reasonable time for performance and then considering
to what extent the time for performance of the contractor was in fact extended by
extraordinary circumstances outside his control.

TSiwubpreve
post Oct 19 2014, 01:34 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Critical_Fallacy @ Oct 18 2014, 04:52 PM)
Good reply and informative! The down-to-earth discussions in this thread make it a good candidacy for pinning. May suggest to the mods --> munkeyflo & dkk.

(1) Does the Contractor have a duty to draw attention to an error on the Architect’s drawing? Some tricky Subcontractors would want to claim against the Main Contractor for loss caused to them due to the Architect’s alleged breach of their obligation to the Employer to provide accurate construction information for the Employer’s Requirements. Some parties argue that a contractor did have a duty to warn the architect if it is ‘believed’ that there, in ‘ordinary’ circumstances, was a ‘serious’ defect in the design. The three keywords are interpreted differently by different parties depending upon the circumstances.
good question smile.gif

therefore main contractor is not an easy job. u got main contract (agreement between employer and main contractor) and also subcontract (agreement between main contractor and subcontractor). u have to always ensure that whatever subcontractor claim to u is claimable against employer. but this not always the case.

remember that in standard form of contract (irrespective of it is PAM form or PWD) there is 1 clause mention that the contractor have to notify architect the discrepancy of drawing and any doubt during tender stage. upon contract formed, contractor accepted that all the information is clear to him. so if during construction stage only contractor discover certain blindspot he overlook and after enquired architect on the original design intent, some additional cost have to be spent on the said changes. all the cost incurred on such changes shall be borne by contractor. those cost incurred have to pay to subcontractor because subcontractor is just construct whatever u asked for. they not bound to the mistake contractor didn't discover as they only take care 1 trade while main contractor take care everything.

so this is the logic behind ur concern. the principle is that if the discrepancy only clarified during post-construction stage, all the cost incurred to fix the discrepancy is not claimable against employer. but on the other hand the discrepancy could be a cost saving to contractor too. example contractor price in marble material in cost, but there are discrepancy on drawing on finishing and upon clarify from architect, tile is their original intent. therefore change from expensive marble to cheap tile is additional profit to contractor as no cost implication due to discrepancy.
TSiwubpreve
post Oct 19 2014, 01:36 AM

1,829 posts

QUOTE(Piap @ Oct 18 2014, 06:09 PM)
If already renovate house untill boundary, then 8 years later council come and ask to demolish. Then how we go about it? Need to give  brows.gif or not?
u can give brows.gif but they will follow u the rest of ur life when they need brows.gif from u.

25 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:45 AM