OnePlus One Official Thread v8, Coming soon officially
Haters_Gonna_H8
Oct 12 2014, 02:11 PM
QUOTE(DannyOP @ Oct 12 2014, 01:58 PM) I think u guys do too many mods and didn't uninstall those mods before updating. Ota is only for good boys and girls who don't play with mods. haha. its just hard to remember and track all the mods applied. in addition to that, some mods seems easy to install/apply, but what it actually does in the background, it changes some system related files and we dont see it doing so. take franco kernel for an example. flashing it is easy. but reverting it to stock for OTA update requires additional steps, as it actually modified the system thermal file. some other mods modifies system framework, but the initial installation was so easy as easy as one click
BenSow
Oct 12 2014, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(12321 @ Oct 12 2014, 01:04 PM) Hi all sifus, finally got time to do updates. pls correct me if i am wrong. My OP is rooted on 33R with xposed installed, fraco kernel and modded lock screen. recovery is twrp. so my step would be: 1. download lastest update zip file 2. uninstall xposed 3. revert to stock lock screen and stock kernel 4. flash lastest update in recovery 5. wipe dalvik/cache?? 6. flash super su Done! am i on the right path?? Yupp sounds about right You can try this too quite similar https://forums.oneplus.net/threads/guide-fl...ng-data.137908/
jloi
Oct 12 2014, 02:21 PM
Just back from Dogathon! Didn't shoot much since I am using my own camera most of time. Cute dogs. Can't resist not to used dedicated camera  Anyway as usual, shoot in raw and edited » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
Chyan
Oct 12 2014, 02:29 PM
QUOTE(Haters_Gonna_H8 @ Oct 12 2014, 02:11 PM) haha. its just hard to remember and track all the mods applied. in addition to that, some mods seems easy to install/apply, but what it actually does in the background, it changes some system related files and we dont see it doing so. take franco kernel for an example. flashing it is easy. but reverting it to stock for OTA update requires additional steps, as it actually modified the system thermal file. some other mods modifies system framework, but the initial installation was so easy as easy as one click  They're too good. Makes stock settings look mundane.
Chyan
Oct 12 2014, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Oct 12 2014, 02:21 PM) Just back from Dogathon! Didn't shoot much since I am using my own camera most of time. Cute dogs. Can't resist not to used dedicated camera  Anyway as usual, shoot in raw and edited » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
rifle_m16
Oct 12 2014, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Oct 12 2014, 02:21 PM) Just back from Dogathon! Didn't shoot much since I am using my own camera most of time. Cute dogs. Can't resist not to used dedicated camera  Anyway as usual, shoot in raw and edited » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Wow, crisp and a very clear images. Can I say thus is par with DSLR?
Xirality
Oct 12 2014, 02:48 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Oct 12 2014, 02:21 PM) Just back from Dogathon! Didn't shoot much since I am using my own camera most of time. Cute dogs. Can't resist not to used dedicated camera  Anyway as usual, shoot in raw and edited » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Did you use Clear Image or HDR on these pic you took? Awesome shoot
justins
Oct 12 2014, 02:59 PM

does anyone have the link in xda that shows how to do the xposed framework? i cant seem to find that. Everyone's using it with amazing battery life, i think i should try it as well
DannyOP
Oct 12 2014, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(jloi @ Oct 12 2014, 02:21 PM) Just back from Dogathon! Didn't shoot much since I am using my own camera most of time. Cute dogs. Can't resist not to used dedicated camera  Anyway as usual, shoot in raw and edited » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Cute doggies and nice pics! How does the Dogathon works? Is it Ike a marathon but u bring dogs along?
xxdesire
Oct 12 2014, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(Chyan @ Oct 12 2014, 01:51 PM) That modded script .zip gave me false hope. Everything worked like normal and I'm like okay. lol Anyway, it's fixed now. I shall repent. TiBa-ed everything. Now EFS is crucial to be backed up. I learnt that through this.  EFS should be the first thing to backup when done flashing recovery. It IS that important, more so than the system itself. Quoting haters, you of all people should know to "backup" before attempting to flash anything :V
Chyan
Oct 12 2014, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 12 2014, 03:01 PM) EFS should be the first thing to backup when done flashing recovery. It IS that important, more so than the system itself. Quoting haters, you of all people should know to "backup" before attempting to flash anything :V
shenglimzdavid
Oct 12 2014, 03:13 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 12 2014, 03:01 PM) EFS should be the first thing to backup when done flashing recovery. It IS that important, more so than the system itself. Quoting haters, you of all people should know to "backup" before attempting to flash anything :V Waseh... I thought EFS is important to back-up when flashing Samsung models only?
xxdesire
Oct 12 2014, 03:16 PM
QUOTE(shenglimzdavid @ Oct 12 2014, 03:13 PM) Waseh... I thought EFS is important to back-up when flashing Samsung models only?  No. QUOTE EFS contains things like your MEID or IMEI... your data profiles.. radio settings. The EFS cannot be replaced... it is unique to your phone only... backing up your OWN EFS is highly recommended. This post has been edited by xxdesire: Oct 12 2014, 03:16 PM
BenSow
Oct 12 2014, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 12 2014, 03:16 PM) Whoa. I had a GNex and a Galaxy Tab 10.1 1st gen which I frequently flash and flash and flash but never did encounter EFS this term, must be one lucky guy to not screw my devices up Is it separate from nandroid backup?
Chyan
Oct 12 2014, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 12 2014, 03:16 PM) I did backed it up when I flashed it to a custom recovery for the first time. Does it back up the EFS as well? QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 12 2014, 03:23 PM) Whoa. I had a GNex and a Galaxy Tab 10.1 1st gen which I frequently flash and flash and flash but never did encounter EFS this term, must be one lucky guy to not screw my devices up Is it separate from nandroid backup? Lol. You're not alone. I didn't know too. I flash flash flash so much for Gnex. This post has been edited by Chyan: Oct 12 2014, 03:27 PM
demio121
Oct 12 2014, 03:33 PM
here it goes again. after update to 38R ask the performance issue again. just like when I update to 33R.
1. keyboard dun open 2. stuttering when I scroll, transition 3. pinch zoom stuttering 4. apps juz dun respond
DannyOP
Oct 12 2014, 03:37 PM
QUOTE(demio121 @ Oct 12 2014, 03:33 PM) here it goes again. after update to 38R ask the performance issue again. just like when I update to 33R. 1. keyboard dun open 2. stuttering when I scroll, transition 3. pinch zoom stuttering 4. apps juz dun respond U didn't read few messages back?
drkpower
Oct 12 2014, 03:38 PM

Just got my OPO yesterday..and so far i really like it..reading through all the pages.. i'm a bit afraid to update to 38r lol
xxdesire
Oct 12 2014, 03:40 PM
QUOTE(BenSow @ Oct 12 2014, 03:23 PM) Whoa. I had a GNex and a Galaxy Tab 10.1 1st gen which I frequently flash and flash and flash but never did encounter EFS this term, must be one lucky guy to not screw my devices up Is it separate from nandroid backup? QUOTE(Chyan @ Oct 12 2014, 03:26 PM) I did backed it up when I flashed it to a custom recovery for the first time. Does it back up the EFS as well? Lol. You're not alone. I didn't know too. I flash flash flash so much for Gnex.  Not sure what recovery you guys using but in twrp, you can select which partition to backup. EFS is one of them. If you did not select it, then no.
shenglimzdavid
Oct 12 2014, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(xxdesire @ Oct 12 2014, 03:40 PM) Not sure what recovery you guys using but in twrp, you can select which partition to backup. EFS is one of them. If you did not select it, then no. I used CWM on a s3 Mini, Gnex and Nexus 4 to flash ROMs without backing up EFS. But I'm not sure if I could back up EFS using recovery since never had the thought of doing so