Studying in Australia, come and share ur experience
QuackSilver
Jan 21 2007, 02:17 PM
O-ha!
QUOTE(bubucaca @ Jan 19 2007, 10:50 AM) i doubt student who works there dont even get 6k monthly. normaly more or less income 6k are fix jobs. student are not allowed to work more than 20 hours per week/month. so we dont get tax. rmb only INCOME that we works not the income that we get from family correct if im wrong. its max 20 hours per week. and students DO get taxed. i get taxed 50 cents for every hour i work :s
FollowN
Jan 22 2007, 08:26 PM
hey guys, a question.. anyone here actually went about looking for australian PR info/criteria just before graduation? confused with the details and such, i.e if graduates are supposed to apply for PR under the option "Employer Sponsored Worker" upon landing a job etc. I'm pretty lost, even after surfing immi.gov.au. Would appreciate any help I can get thanks!
nyprinz83
Jan 23 2007, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(FollowN @ Jan 22 2007, 08:26 PM) hey guys, a question.. anyone here actually went about looking for australian PR info/criteria just before graduation? confused with the details and such, i.e if graduates are supposed to apply for PR under the option "Employer Sponsored Worker" upon landing a job etc. I'm pretty lost, even after surfing immi.gov.au. Would appreciate any help I can get thanks!  The website contains a lot of information which can be overwhelming but if you take your time slowly you would be able to find out all about the requirements. If still blur only options is to give the DIMA guys a ring or find out from migration agents. There are many visa classes available most popular is usually the standard skilled migration class
KVReninem
Jan 23 2007, 10:42 PM
lol...this almost out of topic....migration gotta go to job& career or investment lol..
knuxed
Jan 24 2007, 10:56 AM
I was just wondering,how long does DIMIA take to update the student evisa status page?I sent in a copy of my passport on monday morning but they still say that the information is required.Shoot this is getting really scary
KVReninem
Jan 24 2007, 11:48 AM
uhm shud be taking 1 day if all go okey...or 3 day the most...dont worry.. whr r u heading knuxed?
nimloth32
Jan 24 2007, 11:52 AM

hey guys, going to adelaide, aussie by next month..i am not sure whether i am excited or worry..haha..anyway, i just wondering..how is the pin head (referring the electrical plug head) in aussie look like? is it two pin or three pin one? where did u all get the converter?..
knuxed
Jan 24 2007, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 24 2007, 11:48 AM) uhm shud be taking 1 day if all go okey...or 3 day the most...dont worry.. whr r u heading knuxed? going to Usyd  sheet this visa thing is really killing me.Must the copy of the passport be in colour.
nyprinz83
Jan 24 2007, 05:13 PM
QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Jan 24 2007, 11:52 AM) hey guys, going to adelaide, aussie by next month..i am not sure whether i am excited or worry..haha..anyway, i just wondering..how is the pin head (referring the electrical plug head) in aussie look like? is it two pin or three pin one? where did u all get the converter?.. Generally all you need is just a universal power adaptor which you can obtain easily from any supermarket's electronics dept ie Woolworths, BigW.
sotong4896
Jan 24 2007, 05:42 PM
hello all lol studying in aussie this topic caught my attention i going to melb this coming feb 11 gonna study commerce in monash clayton
nimloth32
Jan 24 2007, 07:02 PM

ooo, what flight are you taking?..i am using SIA..
Sesshoumaru
Jan 24 2007, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(sotong4896 @ Jan 24 2007, 05:42 PM) hello all lol studying in aussie this topic caught my attention i going to melb this coming feb 11 gonna study commerce in monash clayton  Same here, I'm in second year taking Commerce (Accounting & Finance), will you be attending the pre-departure briefing this Sun?
sotong4896
Jan 24 2007, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(nimloth32 @ Jan 24 2007, 07:02 PM) ooo, what flight are you taking?..i am using SIA.. lol i am taking MAS direct to there QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jan 24 2007, 07:12 PM) Same here, I'm in second year taking Commerce (Accounting & Finance), will you be attending the pre-departure briefing this Sun? oh same here, going there as second year accounting and finance. nice nice.... i am not very sure will i be going, transportation wise : S
Sesshoumaru
Jan 24 2007, 09:59 PM
Eh bro you did the first year in Malaysia ah? I might know you. =P
Edit:Gyahaha saw your blog, I think I know you by face. You're from Taylors also right?
This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Jan 24 2007, 10:01 PM
pucman
Jan 24 2007, 10:32 PM
QUOTE(nyprinz83 @ Jan 24 2007, 05:13 PM) Generally all you need is just a universal power adaptor which you can obtain easily from any supermarket's electronics dept ie Woolworths, BigW. I am planning to bring my laptop computer to australia. Should I bring along the adaptor too because it won't fit into australian sockets. Can I buy the adaptor and plug in australia for my toshiba laptop ? What is a universal power adaptor ? Does it include both an adaptor and an australian plug ?
sotong4896
Jan 24 2007, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jan 24 2007, 09:59 PM) Eh bro you did the first year in Malaysia ah? I might know you. =P Edit:Gyahaha saw your blog, I think I know you by face. You're from Taylors also right? haha yeah... i was from Taylors, I did sam there.
lexnon
Jan 24 2007, 11:14 PM

I would like to ask if having diploma in Malaysia tarc, after diploma is it easy to apply degree course in austarlia university? Can direct enter into the 2nd year of the degree ma?
Sesshoumaru
Jan 24 2007, 11:33 PM
I suggest you get one adaptor (or 2) and then get an extension with 4 ports. Then you plug in your laptop charger phone charger whatever la.
<i>I would like to ask if having diploma in Malaysia tarc, after diploma is it easy to apply degree course in austarlia university? Can direct enter into the 2nd year of the degree ma?</i>
Go8 in Australia IMO will 99% not accept the syllabus from TARC. Can't say for the others though.
This post has been edited by Sesshoumaru: Jan 24 2007, 11:34 PM
chris_c28
Jan 24 2007, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(Sesshoumaru @ Jan 24 2007, 11:33 PM) Go8 in Australia IMO will 99% not accept the syllabus from TARC. Can't say for the others though. But, I have known several Jubilee scholarship holders at UNSW who are from TARC, assuming TARC == TAR College?
sotong4896
Jan 24 2007, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(chris_c28 @ Jan 24 2007, 11:42 PM) But, I have known several Jubilee scholarship holders at UNSW who are from TARC, assuming TARC == TAR College? very hard to say, maybe it is the scholarship arrangement