Muslim Group

abu.shofwan
post May 17 2020, 05:19 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(reed90 @ May 15 2020, 03:24 PM)
salam semua. nak tanya pasal zakat pendapatan. 2.5% setahun kan? camna cara korang bayar? pakai potongan gaji? macam mana nak qada kalau termiss bayar tahun-tahun lepas?
seems like everyone is bz.

I will try to answer your question. I only know two types of zakat:

1) zakat maal/harta
2) zakat bisnes/usaha/tani/ternak

I am a follower of the majority of ulama that says there is no such thing as zakat on salary, where you pay it every month from the salary value (provided that the annual salary equates to 85g gold).

So I assume, when you say zakat pendapatan, you mean No. 1 above.

The calculation is 2.5% from your combined money, gold, silver, stocks (though this one, need more detailed discussion), etc. House, car, handphone, antiques and what not, are not counted in your zakat calculation. Also, the combined value we are talking about is "after" you utilize them for your needs and what not (hence this is contradictory to that "zakat gaji" thing).

Nishob: Of course, if your combined "treasure" don't even add up to the equivalent of 85g gold, then you don't have to pay zakat.

Haul: the value equivalent to 85g must be met through out the year. If within the last 1 year period your combined treasure ever fell to below 85g gold, then your 1 year counter should restart from the time it goes back up to 85g gold again.

For example, you have 85g of gold in combined total on 1st Ramadhan (yes, we have to use the Islamic calendar), so you start counting 1 year from this date. if in the next 3 months (say on 16th of zul-hijjah) somehow it drops to 66g, then you stop counting. However, if on 12 Rabbiul-awwal it suddenly goes to 100g and never go under 85g, then you start counting again. your 1 year "haul" will fall on and by right, you have to pay your zakat on 12 Rabbiul-awwal.

as for your question on "qada" zakat... there is no escaping. if in all those years you are obligated to pay zakat, then you still have to pay it now (qada). according to Syaikh Utsaimin, (translated in my own words) within that zakat is (1) the worship of Allah and (2) the rights of the fakir and other categories. You can do taubat to absolve your sins (i.e for the lack of worship to Allah), but you still have to give the rights of the fakir and the others.

If there is no way to accurately determine the value of the missed-zakat, you have to do your best to estimate (and make sure not to under-estimate) the value.

with current technology, I suggest you keep an excel file to keep track of your money and other things so that you can calculate your zakat more accurately.

edit:
just remembered, zakat fitri/fitrah... but this one is different compared with the two mentioned above.

This post has been edited by abu.shofwan: May 17 2020, 05:27 PM
TSseiferalmercy
post May 17 2020, 05:28 PM

135 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ May 17 2020, 05:19 PM)
seems like everyone is bz.

I will try to answer your question. I only know two types of zakat:

1) zakat maal/harta
2) zakat bisnes/usaha/tani/ternak

I am a follower of the majority of ulama that says there is no such thing as zakat on salary, where you pay it every month from the salary value (provided that the annual salary equates to 85g gold).

So I assume, when you say zakat pendapatan, you mean No. 1 above.

The calculation is 2.5% from your combined money, gold, silver, stocks (though this one, need more detailed discussion), etc. House, car, handphone, antiques and what not, are not counted in your zakat calculation. Also, the combined value we are talking about is "after" you utilize them for your needs and what not (hence this is contradictory to that "zakat gaji" thing).

Nishob: Of course, if your combined "treasure" don't even add up to the equivalent of 85g gold, then you don't have to pay zakat.

Haul: the value equivalent to 85g must be met through out the year. If within the last 1 year period your combined treasure ever fell to below 85g gold, then your 1 year counter should restart from the time it goes back up to 85g gold again.

For example, you have 85g of gold in combined total on 1st Ramadhan (yes, we have to use the Islamic calendar), so you start counting 1 year from this date. if in the next 3 months (say on 16th of zul-hijjah) somehow it drops to 66g, then you stop counting. However, if on 12 Rabbiul-awwal it suddenly goes to 100g and never go under 85g, then you start counting again. your 1 year "haul" will fall on and by right, you have to pay your zakat on 12 Rabbiul-awwal.

as for your question on "qada" zakat... there is no escaping. if in all those years you are obligated to pay zakat, then you still have to pay it now (qada). according to Syaikh Utsaimin, (translated in my own words) within that zakat is (1) the worship of Allah and (2) the rights of the fakir and other categories. You can do taubat to absolve your sins (i.e for the lack of worship to Allah), but you still have to give the rights of the fakir and the others.

If there is no way to accurately determine the value of the missed-zakat, you have to do your best to estimate (and make sure not to under-estimate) the value.

with current technology, I suggest you keep an excel file to keep track of your money and other things so that you can calculate your zakat more accurately.

edit:
just remembered, zakat fitri/fitrah... but this one is different compared with the two mentioned above.
not bz, but jahiliyyah ohwaii

boca120879
post Jun 11 2020, 10:20 AM

207 posts

Assalamu'alaikum warahmatullahi wabarakatuh

Diceritakan oleh Qutaibah bin Sa'id, diceritakan oleh Yahya bin Sulaim, daripada Ismail bin Katsir,
diceritakan oleh Ishaq bin Ibrahim, diceritakan oleh Waki', daripada Sufyan, daripada Abu Hasyim,
daripada Ashim bin Laqith bin Shabirah, daripada bapanya (Laqith bin Shabirah)

"Aku berkata kepada Rasulullah s.a.w.,

“Wahai Rasulullah s.a.w.,
khabarkan kepadaku tentang wuduk.

Rasulullah s.a.w. menjawab,

“Sempurnakanlah wuduk

dan bersungguh-sungguhlah
dalam memasukkan air
ke dalam hidung,
kecuali saat puasa.
(elakkan berlebih-lebihan)."

(Hadith Nasa’i no. 86)

Nota penting:
(Untuk pemahaman yg lebih baik,
sila rujuk nasihat pakar
(ulama, ustaz atau yg setaraf dengannya)

This post has been edited by boca120879: Jun 11 2020, 10:21 AM
boca120879
post Jun 12 2020, 10:47 AM

207 posts

Diceritakan oleh Qutaibah, diceritakan oleh Hammad, daripada Ayyub, daripada Abu Qilabah,
daripada Samurah,
Rasulullah s.a.w. bersabda,

"Hendaklah kalian memakai pakaian
yang berwarna putih,

hendaklah orang yang hidup
daripada kalian
memakainya

dan hendaklah kalian kafani
orang yang meninggal dunia
daripada kalian
dengannya.

Sesungguhnya ia adalah
sebaik-baik pakaian kalian."

(Hadith Nasa’i no. 5228)

Nota penting:
sila rujuk nasihat pakar

abu.shofwan
post Jun 13 2020, 03:13 AM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(boca120879 @ Jun 12 2020, 10:47 AM)

Diceritakan oleh Qutaibah, diceritakan oleh Hammad, daripada Ayyub, daripada Abu Qilabah,
daripada Samurah,
Rasulullah s.a.w. bersabda,

"Hendaklah kalian memakai pakaian
yang berwarna putih,

hendaklah orang yang hidup
daripada kalian
memakainya

dan hendaklah kalian kafani
orang yang meninggal dunia
daripada kalian
dengannya.

Sesungguhnya ia adalah
sebaik-baik pakaian kalian."

(Hadith Nasa’i no. 5228)

Nota penting:
sila rujuk nasihat pakar

Bro

Can you not quote also whether these hadits are sohih, hasan or what? As far as I know, only hadits recorded by imam Bukhari and Imam Muslim in their sohih hadits book (they also have other books) are considered sohih. So often they are quoted without the indication of their status. However, other imams not so...

Iirc, imam Hakim was considered the most lenient in awarding the sohih status.
TSseiferalmercy
post Jul 27 2020, 11:36 AM

135 posts

Teddysaur
post Jul 27 2020, 11:49 AM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

How to check ngo agencies legitimacy who handle on qurban overseas ya?

Anyone knows?

Oltromen Ripot
post Jul 27 2020, 12:22 PM

👍 999999 person Likes this member
4,034 posts

QUOTE(Teddysaur @ Jul 27 2020, 11:49 AM)
How to check ngo agencies legitimacy who handle on qurban overseas ya?

Anyone knows?
If ezqurban, i can vouch my experience; they sent pics of the ritual being executed, and certificate via mail. vaguely rember they held card/placard/bunting with our names next to the sacrificial animal as proof, surrounded by what appears to be locals of the site (their clothings gave them away).
Teddysaur
post Jul 27 2020, 01:21 PM

Socially cawkward 🦄
435 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Jul 27 2020, 12:22 PM)
If ezqurban, i can vouch my experience; they sent pics of the ritual being executed, and certificate via mail. vaguely rember they held card/placard/bunting with our names next to the sacrificial animal as proof, surrounded by what appears to be locals of the site (their clothings gave them away).
Ya this one at batu caves?
Just contacted them just now
Amanpalestine seems a bit exp
Tq
abu.shofwan
post Jul 28 2020, 12:37 PM

1,455 posts

Why would you do qurban out side the country? The scholars generally consider that it is not right thing to do. Below quote from islamqa is an example.

Search for answers
The udhiyah in his country is very expensive; can he send money to do the udhiyah in another country?

Question
The cost of the udhiyah in our country is 1200 riyals or more; it is very expensive even if a person can afford it. But can he give this money to organisations that will send udhiyahs to other countries where 200 or 300 riyals will pay for 3 udhiyahs instead of one at local prices. Will that bring a greater reward or not?
Answer
Praise be to Allah.

Praise be to Allah
The Sunnah with regard to the udhiyah is for the Muslim to offer the udhiyah in his own country, because that serves many interests and enables one to do acts of worship that will be missed out on if the Muslim offers the udhiyah elsewhere than in his own country via charities to whom he gives money to slaughter the udhiyah in another country.

1. Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymeen (may Allah have mercy on him) said:

… on the other hand, some people send their money for the udhiyah to be slaughtered in other places, and this is wrong. Some people give money to Hay’at al-Ighaathah or other charities to offer the udhiyah for them in other places, but in that case they will not have performed the udhiyah. The udhiyah is a ritual that should be performed in one’s own land. By the blessing of Allah, may He be glorified and exalted, when He singled out the pilgrims to offer the hadiy (sacrificial animals) as a means of drawing closer to Allah during the days of Eid, He also prescribed that those who are not performing Hajj should offer the udhiyah, so that they may join the pilgrims in some of the symbols ordained by Allah, may He be glorified and exalted. “And the Budn (cows, oxen, or camels driven to be offered as sacrifices by the pilgrims at the sanctuary of Makkah.) We have made for you as among the Symbols of Allah” [al-Hajj 22:36]. As this is the purpose of the udhiyah, we say: Do not offer the udhiyah outside your house; offer the udhiyah in your country; perform this ritual. Offering the udhiyah by sending your money elsewhere is contrary to the Sunnah and causes you to miss out on many benefits, of which we may note the following:
king99
post Aug 14 2020, 09:52 AM

1,188 posts

Hi, I'm a non-Muslim and wanted to ask if this is consider as "gambling" in the eye of Islam, want to host a company event in the future after when the COVID-19 situation is over. Want to prevent any issue might come from it.

Company will do like a badminton team building event where company will sponsor food and hall rental cost.

All employees who joined need to pay like RM20 as a contribution to the winner prize money. We will have prize money for 1st, 2nd , and 3rd place (both teams). We are playing a tournament format. If u not in a placed position you get no prize money.

The food and hall rental cost per person already worth more than RM20 per-person.

internaldisputes
post Aug 14 2020, 10:02 AM

he/his/him
1,723 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Aug 14 2020, 09:52 AM)
Hi, I'm a non-Muslim and wanted to ask if this is consider as "gambling" in the eye of Islam, want to host a company event in the future after when the COVID-19 situation is over. Want to prevent any issue might come from it.

Company will do like a badminton team building event where company will sponsor food and hall rental cost.

All employees who joined need to pay like RM20 as a contribution to the winner prize money. We will have prize money for 1st, 2nd , and 3rd place (both teams). We are playing a tournament format. If u not in a placed position you get no prize money.

The food and hall rental cost per person already worth more than RM20 per-person.
I think what you described is just a normal participation fee. The fact that you guys don't make any profits out of that is a big factor too. So don't worry.

Source: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/iwov-resources...slamic_View.pdf

This post has been edited by internaldisputes: Aug 14 2020, 10:08 AM
king99
post Aug 14 2020, 10:04 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(internaldisputes @ Aug 14 2020, 10:02 AM)
I think what you described is just a normal participation fee. The fact that you guys don't make any profits out of that is a big factor too. So don't worry.
Alright, thanks .
TSseiferalmercy
post Aug 14 2020, 10:25 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(king99 @ Aug 14 2020, 10:04 AM)
Alright, thanks .
Hi, do you understand Malay ? Because I want to give you an Ustaz’s take in this matter, but its in Malay. If not, I will have to translate it for you.
Oltromen Ripot
post Aug 14 2020, 11:47 AM

4,034 posts

The following is in line with my personally-held view, that it is considered gambling. Because you have uncertain outcome AND loser lose everything with nothing to gain.

https://amp.reddit.com/r/islam/comments/98p...pools_gambling/

What you should do is, rental and/or food is shared together by all attendees, so everyone gets "something" to bring home.

The prize must come from another pool - or company sponsored - and not from the losers.
abu.shofwan
post Aug 14 2020, 12:11 PM

1,455 posts

QUOTE(Oltromen Ripot @ Aug 14 2020, 11:47 AM)
The following is in line with my personally-held view, that it is considered gambling. Because you have uncertain outcome AND loser lose everything with nothing to gain.

https://amp.reddit.com/r/islam/comments/98p...pools_gambling/

What you should do is, rental and/or food is shared together by all attendees, so everyone gets "something" to bring home.

The prize must come from another pool - or company sponsored - and not from the losers.
This is what I have learned as well. If there is money collected from participants, it becomes gambling. For me, this is regardless of whether that money pool is used, in part or in whole, to buy the prizes.

The bottom line is, you paid something, for which entitles you to be entered in the raffle for the prizes (i.e. You may or may not win). There will be people who will not win anything at all, which means they paid and get nothing.

However, if absolutely no money is required to partake, then it is generally viewed as permissible.
imnotabot
post Aug 14 2020, 12:34 PM

531 posts

Not sure if this is the right place to ask. Anyone know where is the nearest mosque that does friday prayers today nearby Pavilion? Google maps shows that a lot of the mosques are closed, and the nearest open is Masjid As syakirin nearby KLCC.
king99
post Aug 14 2020, 01:08 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(seiferalmercy @ Aug 14 2020, 10:25 AM)
Hi, do you understand Malay ? Because I want to give you an Ustaz’s take in this matter, but its in Malay. If not, I will have to translate it for you.
Ya I understand Malay.
reed90
post Aug 14 2020, 01:24 PM

Road to the End
1,552 posts

You cant. Its haram. Prize winner cannot be from pooled money from participants. Its akin to a draw.

Prize can only be from a third party sponsor.
Oltromen Ripot
post Aug 14 2020, 01:44 PM

4,034 posts

QUOTE(abu.shofwan @ Aug 14 2020, 12:11 PM)
This is what I have learned as well. If there is money collected from participants, it becomes gambling. For me, this is regardless of whether that money pool is used, in part or in whole, to buy the prizes.

The bottom line is, you paid something, for which entitles you to be entered in the raffle for the prizes (i.e. You may or may not win). There will be people who will not win anything at all, which means they paid and get nothing.

However, if absolutely no money is required to partake, then it is generally viewed as permissible.
If you buy something necessary - like laundry detergent - and that entitles you entering a competition or draw, that is permissible, because your intent was to buy your needs in the first place.

But you buy things unnecessarily - like there was one guy who bought many many shirts - just to enter a competition to win something - he won a bike - then that can be considered haram, as those shirt purchased are just like purchasing lottery ticket, which you actually have no need for in the first place.

(I'm thinking of those ktards who bet on losing dignity by running naked around KLCC...)

228 Pages « < 219 220 221 222 223 > » Top

0.0288sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:06 AM