5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

They think they are smart, SW traders

SUScarnbyresurrected
post Sep 4 2006, 08:55 AM, updated 20y ago

263 posts

Hi guys...yesterday i just went on window shopping in SW.....for an old xbox....cos sold mine to buy something for my car.....
Which i dearly regret cos missing the XBMC...the best multimedia box ever...plays anythinglah ....like VLC player....anyway....
Checked out xbox360 and now the NTSC asian version is RM1300....and he said there is modded version already.....they are selling the mod version for RM400 extra.....OMG....that mod can actually be done with a simple DIY procedure......well...i guess they wanna makan kau kau...hahahahaha.....Im gonna wait for Wii and see first...see how riding a horse with the Wii controller will look like?

So....what do you guys think....So fast the so called unhackable is hacked....IMHO...i think Sony and MS purposely had loop holes so that they will be hackable....
People buy consoles that are modded....and the more sales for that modded console...more developers will develope games for it......
alextan99
post Sep 4 2006, 09:23 AM

Wassup
2,660 posts

and your point is?
judge-the
post Sep 4 2006, 09:30 AM

-Judge-Jury-Executioner-
3,331 posts

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Sep 4 2006, 08:55 AM)
Hi guys...yesterday i just went on window shopping in SW.....for an old xbox....cos sold mine to buy something for my car.....
Which i dearly regret cos missing the XBMC...the best multimedia box ever...plays anythinglah ....like VLC player....anyway....
Checked out xbox360 and now the NTSC asian version is RM1300....and he said there is modded version already.....they are selling the mod version for RM400 extra.....OMG....that mod can actually be done with a simple DIY procedure......well...i guess they wanna makan kau kau...hahahahaha.....Im gonna wait for Wii and see first...see how riding a horse with the Wii controller will look like?

So....what do you guys think....So fast the so called unhackable is hacked....IMHO...i think Sony and MS purposely had loop holes so that they will be hackable....
People buy consoles that are modded....and the more sales for that modded console...more developers will develope games for it......

well not really agree with you there. anything is hackable these days.
sony & msoft need/rely a lot on games developers lah without any games who will buy a new next-gen console?
Darkchaser
post Sep 4 2006, 09:56 AM

522 posts

That is a completely WRONG statement. I have to emphasise the wrong because it is totally the opposite situation.

Do you know HOW developers get their money? From the sales of their software. Their revenue totally depends on the volume of sales of ORIGINAL software.

They don't give a damn about sales for a console. What they really care about is how much their game can sell, and that's it.

Having a modded console WILL NOT cause more developers to do games for the console. It is quite the opposite. They will shy away, because the games that they have spent thousands on, or even millions, will be easily pirated, and they won't get a single sen from it.

Sorry, but I have to emphasise this. Modded consoles/piracy do not benefit the videogaming industry one bit.....
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Sep 4 2006, 10:07 AM

263 posts

EG....

1)12 Million X consoles worldwide sold
out of these 12 million consoles, developers will never know the percentage
of the consoles that are modded.

2)5 miilion Z consoles worlwide sold
out of these 5 million consoles, developers will never know the percentage

Now,
Lets say that X sold more bcos it has been hacked or has better or stable mod than Z.

If you were a game developer which console would you take a risk on?

Darkchaser
post Sep 4 2006, 10:18 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Sep 4 2006, 10:07 AM)
EG....

Now,
Lets say that X sold more bcos it has been hacked or has better or stable mod than Z.

LOL...it doesn't make sense, because developers don't really care about modded consoles. Like I said, they only care about how many games they can sell, since that's WHERE they're getting their money.

Sigh....IMHO this topic should be closed. Talking about piracy isn't really appropriate here. It has been done to death anyways.
mzaidi
post Sep 4 2006, 10:24 AM

Jerk
1,484 posts

MHO...i think Sony and MS purposely had loop holes so that they will be hackable....
That 's just silly. They're selling their console lower than the actual cost price. IINM, Xbox 360 Premium cost around USD 525 (doesn't include manufacturing cost), and they're selling it at USD 400. IIRC, Microsoft have to sell 5 original games to get back what they lost, and will only gain profit on the 6th game the gamers buy.

So, what do they gain by purposely making the console hackable to increase the sales? They get nothing out of it.
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Sep 4 2006, 10:25 AM

263 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Sep 4 2006, 10:18 AM)
LOL...it doesn't make sense, because developers don't really care about modded consoles. Like I said, they only care about how many games they can sell, since that's WHERE they're getting their money.

Sigh....IMHO this topic should be closed. Talking about piracy isn't really appropriate here. It has been done to death anyways.
People who do business will take everything into account....hopefully you are not running a company...hehehehe
Darkchaser
post Sep 4 2006, 10:36 AM

522 posts

Dude.... in business, you take into account factors that affect your REVENUE.

Does piracy affect your revenue? Yes! But it's a NEGATIVE effect. So would you develop for a console that has a lot of piracy on it? NO! Why? It NEGATIVELY affects your REVENUE!

I can't believe this...you're talking about business, but it's such an obvious business equation. You DON'T do business on a console that will cause you to lose money! Goodness, I can't believe I'm arguing about business with someone who just doesn't understand business to begin with.
prazole
post Sep 4 2006, 10:41 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

i agree to darkchaser to some point..
but MS did lose money for the XBOX1!
it explain those overpriced accesories, microtransactions in marketplace and stuff to get back some money..
and for microsoft.. yes they can afford a losing business..
if it was someone else.. i doubt 360 will come out after then first xbox..
remember they were selling for RM200 cheaper than cost price..

for the 360..
i heard a theory.. but it wasn't mine..
that hackable firmwares has been out for quite some time already
right now piracy for 360 has came liao.. and with full xboxlive support..
but Microsoft not doing anything about it yet.. eg. not banning ppl from live.. etc..
cuz they want to sell as many consoles as possible before the competitors start selling theirs..
then after that... POOFF!! they force some upgrades and start blocking ppl.. thus forcing them to buy original again...

don know how true but.. to an extend.. MS did do nothing about the hackable firmwares up to now..

This post has been edited by prazole: Sep 4 2006, 10:45 AM
mzaidi
post Sep 4 2006, 10:44 AM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(prazole @ Sep 4 2006, 10:41 AM)
don know how true but.. to an extend.. MS did do nothing about the hackable firmwares up to now..
Probably they're going to include it in the next Dashboard update which will be sometime around November.
prazole
post Sep 4 2006, 10:46 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Sep 4 2006, 10:44 AM)
Probably they're going to include it in the next Dashboard update which will be sometime around November.
the firmware came out before the last Update..
they didnt do anything about it..

back to that THEORY.. they plan to hit their target consoles sales first..
anything come later..
Darkchaser
post Sep 4 2006, 10:48 AM

522 posts

Well, it's a well known fact MS is losing money, and they'll continue to do so for a while. But of course, the 360 to them is a long-term investment. They probably don't expect to recoup their investment for another 2-3 years at least.

Things like LIVE, Marketplace and games is the only place where MS makes money, or for that matter, any console makers make money. Consoles? No, they're losing a lot of money there. By calculation, in order to break even, they have to sell around 5-6 games for each console to stop making a loss.

So imagine the amount that MS/Sony/Ninty are losing if piracy reigns.... they're selling a console at a loss, and can't recoup that loss through software/downloads. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Darkchaser: Sep 4 2006, 10:52 AM
prazole
post Sep 4 2006, 10:53 AM

Sleepyhead..
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Darkchaser @ Sep 4 2006, 10:48 AM)
Well, it's a well known fact MS is losing money, and they'll continue to do so for a while. But of course, the 360 to them is a long-term investment. They probably don't expect to recoup their investment for another 2-3 years at least.

Things like LIVE, Marketplace and games is the only place where MS makes money, or for that matter, any console makers make money. Consoles? No, they're losing a lot of money there. By calculation, in order to break even, they have to sell around 5-6 games for each console to stop making a loss.

So imagine the amount that MS/Sony/Ninty are losing if piracy reigns.... they're selling a console at a loss, and can't recoup that loss through software/downloads.
ya.. software the only way they are getting back
whats more? they are not doing well in japan

for ps3 and nintendo.. juz cater for their japanese customer..
they dont have to worry so much on losing money already..
like the DS.. they black one juz released in japan and.. SOLD OUT aLREADY..
not like its a hardware launch or what..
SUScarnbyresurrected
post Sep 4 2006, 10:53 AM

263 posts

i agree to darkchaser to some point..
but MS did lose money for the XBOX1!
it explain those overpriced accesories, microtransactions in marketplace and stuff to get back some money..
and for microsoft.. yes they can afford a losing business..
if it was someone else.. i doubt 360 will come out after then first xbox..
remember they were selling for RM200 cheaper than cost price..
for the 360..
but Microsoft not doing anything about it yet.. eg. not banning ppl from live.. etc..
cuz they want to sell as many consoles as possible before the competitors start selling theirs..
then after that... POOFF!! they force some upgrades and start blocking ppl.. thus forcing them to buy original again...

Yeh....thats right.........thats right...now that its online im sure they can do it...
MobiusVyper
post Sep 4 2006, 03:46 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

So....what do you guys think....So fast the so called unhackable is hacked....IMNHO...i think Sony and MS purposely had loop holes so that they will be hackable....
It's the year 2006. You can pretty much 'hack' every electronic to some extent. Especially if it's a popular device like a game console. Sony and Microsoft purposely putting loopholes in their consoles? That's just stupid. One of the reasons Sony is using Blu-Ray is to prevent piracy of PS3 games. Basically everything you just said about people buying modded consoles which increases the console sales which encourages developers to develop games for it is just wrong

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Sep 4 2006, 10:07 AM)
EG....

Now,

QUOTE(carnbyresurrected @ Sep 4 2006, 10:25 AM)
People who do business will take everything into account....hopefully you are not running a company...hehehehe
Hopefully you aren't either. Yes you are exactly right. People who do business take many factors into account. EXACTLY. How about this: Did you ever think that the console that sold more isn't as powerful as the console that sold less? I bet there have been more PS2 consoles sold than Xbox 360 consoles. But look, a lot of developers, big ones (Bungie, Epic, Capcom, etc.) are developing many games, big titles (eg. Halo 3, Gears of War, Lost Planet), for the Xbox 360, not the PS2. The PS2 is outdated you say? Well that's another factor that developers will consider. They obviously won't spend their time developing a game for a console that is not as popular anymore. Obviously it wouldn't sell as good compared to if the game were for a more popular console.

Guess you didn't take that into account did you?

Maybe they're not worried about hackable firmware. Has anyone actually tested a hack Xbox 360? Well a friend of mine has. Basically you need to flash the IC which is soldered onto the mobo everytime you want to play a new game. So you can play the current titles. No big deal. You can even go online without getting your account banned. But if a new game or update comes out, you're shit out of luck. You want to re-flash the IC? Go ahead. Re-flash it everytime a new game/update comes out. So basically you have to open your box, take out the chip, flash it, and solder it back on with risk of damaging it permanently. Have fun

Well that's one type of hacked 360 I've heard about. I don't know if there are other types which don't require re-flashing and such.

Too bad PrivateJohn is invading Europe. We need a lock on this topic and the topic title should be "I think I am smart"
acougan
post Sep 4 2006, 03:53 PM

590 posts

XBLA Ftw!:P
hmm, playing backups of games u own is not EXACTLY illegal or violating the xbox live EULA.
MobiusVyper
post Sep 4 2006, 03:59 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Sep 4 2006, 03:53 PM)
XBLA Ftw!:P
hmm, playing backups of games u own is not EXACTLY illegal or violating the xbox live EULA.
Piracy is illegal. If you buy an original game and make a back-up for yourself then it's probably alright but that's not the case with piracy. You buy backups of a original game you never owned. The pirates are distributing backups and gaining money from them, which is illegal wink.gif

This post has been edited by MobiusVyper: Sep 4 2006, 04:00 PM
windows_sux
post Sep 4 2006, 04:06 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(MobiusVyper @ Sep 4 2006, 03:46 PM)
It's the year 2006. You can pretty much 'hack' every electronic to some extent. Especially if it's a popular device like a game console. Sony and Microsoft purposely putting loopholes in their consoles? That's just stupid. One of the reasons Sony is using Blu-Ray is to prevent piracy of PS3 games. Basically everything you just said about people buying modded consoles which increases the console sales which encourages developers to develop games for it is just wrong
Hopefully you aren't either. Yes you are exactly right. People who do business take many factors into account. EXACTLY. How about this: Did you ever think that the console that sold more isn't as powerful as the console that sold less? I bet there have been more PS2 consoles sold than Xbox 360 consoles. But look, a lot of developers, big ones (Bungie, Epic, Capcom, etc.) are developing many games, big titles (eg. Halo 3, Gears of War, Lost Planet), for the Xbox 360, not the PS2. The PS2 is outdated you say? Well that's another factor that developers will consider. They obviously won't spend their time developing a game for a console that is not as popular anymore. Obviously it wouldn't sell as good compared to if the game were for a more popular console.

Guess you didn't take that into account did you?
Maybe they're not worried about hackable firmware. Has anyone actually tested a hack Xbox 360? Well a friend of mine has. Basically you need to flash the IC which is soldered onto the mobo everytime you want to play a new game. So you can play the current titles. No big deal. You can even go online without getting your account banned. But if a new game or update comes out, you're shit out of luck. You want to re-flash the IC? Go ahead. Re-flash it everytime a new game/update comes out. So basically you have to open your box, take out the chip, flash it, and solder it back on with risk of damaging it permanently. Have fun

Well that's one type of hacked 360 I've heard about. I don't know if there are other types which don't require re-flashing and such.
Too bad PrivateJohn is invading Europe. We need a lock on this topic and the topic title should be "I think I am smart"
every above is true but about "developers, big ones (Bungie, Epic, Capcom, etc.) are developing many games, big titles (eg. Halo 3, Gears of War, Lost Planet), for the Xbox 360, not the PS2." i dont really agree because new games reguired lot of horsepower so currently only xbox 360 is next-gen console that can support those heavy graphic...so they will focus on 360..but eventually when ps3 come out all big companies will focus on ps3....
MobiusVyper
post Sep 4 2006, 04:11 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

QUOTE(windows_sux @ Sep 4 2006, 04:06 PM)
every above is true but about "developers, big ones (Bungie, Epic, Capcom, etc.) are developing many games, big titles (eg. Halo 3, Gears of War, Lost Planet), for the Xbox 360, not the PS2." i dont really agree because new games reguired lot of horsepower so currently only xbox 360 is next-gen console that can support those heavy graphic...so they will focus on 360..but eventually when ps3 come out all big companies will focus on ps3....
That's exactly my point. They need the hardware power. I'm quite sure there have been more PS2 consoles sold in total compared to Xbox 360 consoles. carnby here is basing his opinion on more consoles sold and how developers won't know the amount of modded ones and will develop games for the console that has sold more. I'm trying to say that it's not just about the numbers wink.gif

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0230sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:27 PM