Movies DC Presents: SUICIDE SQUAD, Smith, Hardy, Leto, Jai, Margot & Cara!
6so
Aug 4 2016, 03:01 PM

Ermmm....uhhhh.....ehhhh! The movie sucks but not FF4 bad...just X-men Apocalypse bad to me! Would I want to see more...well probably cause the ensemble cast are likable and hopefully they remember to tact a "story" with it next time. Diablo is awesome. With David Ayer, remember to skip his even number movies. 1. Harsh time - Pretty Good 2. Street Kings - Terrible
3. End of watch - Awesome 4. Sabotage - Terrible5. Fury - Good 6. Suicide Squad - Terrible7. Bright - ??? I won't call the rush production is the sole culprit for the movie downfall with the THR article. Greengrass did the Bourne 2&3 movies without a finished script at all. McQuarrie writing Rogue Nation on a day to day basis during filming. Do take note Suicide Squad movie is a big hollywood production which is the first time David Ayer is in. His earlier movies pretty much gritty situational set-up with meaty dialogue driving the story under the low to mid tier budget. CBM is all about generating expensive spectacle with a strict good vs evil trope in it. Not many people able to pull off deconstructing a specific genre of film making like Nolan,Kubrick,Fincher,etc...I'm not saying Ayer is bad just maybe he wasn't under the best circumstance when he sign on or he already had other developing projects with WB that came with Suicide Squad as a condition. Not every film director able to come up successful when they took a shot at blockbuster movie making. If his next movie is good and a big hit, maybe he will find more leverage with the studio heads.
guarayakha
Aug 4 2016, 03:31 PM
^^The director isn't the problem though. It's the nervous executives.
Dominic Toretto
Aug 4 2016, 03:33 PM

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Aug 4 2016, 03:31 PM) ^^The director isn't the problem though. It's the critics from Marvel fanboys
gaeria84
Aug 4 2016, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(guarayakha @ Aug 4 2016, 02:51 PM) This movie is a good example why executive interference is bad for a movie already in mid-production  Dafak get 2 teams to make 2 cuts of a movie then mash them together and hope they'll blend? Would have been better to release their fun version first for casuals, then later re-release Ayer's original version on Blu-ray, much like what they did with the Richard Donner cut for Superman 2. At least then we'll have 2 movies and one of them that does not compromise on the director's vision for the movie. Pray hard that they don't pull this stunt again on WW or JL. Hoping for a miracle that geoff johns can pull DCEU out of the hole it's in, but he's handled green lantern and JL:War so I think it's a slim chance
6so
Aug 4 2016, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(guarayakha @ Aug 4 2016, 04:31 PM) ^^The director isn't the problem though. It's the nervous executives. What WB did is no different from what Marvel did to Joss Whedon or Jon Favreau. Both have some not so pleasant experience being publicly documented in interview before. Playing the devil's advocate here, if Ayer's version is super good with a more serious tone underpinning the movie. Would the studio willing to shoot themselves in the foot if they do not find some fault with it. If you have worked in any international corporate office before, there will always be people being accounted for any project that come with a big price tag. It's the same like if you employed an interior designer for a 500k renovation project. During the presentation you will be promised the moon and the stars. There are bound to be design tweaks and cost along the way. What looks good on paper does not guarantee it will work 100% in reality. The shade of the wall paint is off when under incandescent lighting, the materials selected not that good for sound proofing,etc...so isn't it your privilege to make changes or you just leave everything up to the interior designer even the final result does not meet your expectation??? I'm not saying WB didn't do anything wrong, all I'm saying no one in the world will get a free pass when you are given millions of millions to do a job unless you are doing something illegal or a crooked politician. No one in the world who wake up in the morning and say I'm gonna make a shitty movie because I can. There may be anxiety surrounding the making of a bad decision but definitely not intentional. So stop making "basic" rhetoric, then again if that's your thing then it's your privilege to do so.
guarayakha
Aug 4 2016, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(6so @ Aug 4 2016, 06:47 PM) No one in the world who wake up in the morning and say I'm gonna make a shitty movie because I can. There may be anxiety surrounding the making of a bad decision but definitely not intentional.
You make valid points, but to that part above... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Uwe Boll This post has been edited by guarayakha: Aug 4 2016, 07:05 PM
SUSZikar Ali
Aug 4 2016, 10:00 PM
Just enjoy the movie la, nice movie what
Pity those that when watch movie find the fault and weaknesess instead of enjoy it
soulseeker6187
Aug 4 2016, 10:56 PM
For me, the movie is quite ok, not that bad from what critics are saying.
First half of the movie is good, but they starting to fight the bad guy things getting boring.
I like will smith portrayal of deadshot.
What i hate about the movies is how they show so much of joker in the trailer, but in the movie joker only appear in like 1 minutes only.
The ensemble cast did great but disappointing story and weak plot and villain.
I rate 6/10
hybr1d3d
Aug 4 2016, 10:59 PM

QUOTE(tictac88 @ Aug 4 2016, 12:28 AM) I am sure when Marvel replaces Iron Man actor, we will be seeing a lousy version of Iron Man also. Sometimes cannot always compare to others because some act cannot be topped. Not really, people were saying the same thing when they first saw Heath Ledger Joker in promotional material They compare it to Jack Nicholson but look at how it turned out, everyone loves Heath Joker This post has been edited by hybr1d3d: Aug 4 2016, 11:00 PM
tictac88
Aug 4 2016, 11:25 PM

QUOTE(hybr1d3d @ Aug 4 2016, 10:59 PM) Not really, people were saying the same thing when they first saw Heath Ledger Joker in promotional material They compare it to Jack Nicholson but look at how it turned out, everyone loves Heath Joker Nah iron man already perfect. cannot replace perfection.
monkeyboy94
Aug 4 2016, 11:30 PM

went in with low expectation after seeing bad review, not disappointed but the feel of reviews are on point. meh action/cast. can rename will smith + sidekick
5/10
not sure whether isit the movie or cinema problem. but the whole movie sound got problem during dialog but sound effect and music was clear
tonYe
Aug 5 2016, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(koolspyda @ Aug 3 2016, 05:08 PM) Damn you. You already caught it? 😶 And this is your take?? The worst DC Extended Universe film to date.Sheesh. There were soooo much going for it. QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 3 2016, 07:07 PM) Okay, and with that it seals the deal for me to NOT watch this. Read your review too. I thought David Ayer whose "Fury" is among his works I liked could be the saving grace for DC and the cast which seemed poised for greatness... aiyo... "Lousy version of Joker." What a shocker. Its Jared Leto who throws himself into the role he plays..  Sorry for the late reply. So far the general audiences and fanboys that I know kinda enjoyed the movie so maybe you all might like it more than me? haha It's not really Jared Leto's performance's fault. I would blame Ayer's horrid writing and direction.
Muhammad Syukri
Aug 5 2016, 02:54 AM
Fuiyoh who's idea was to give the mumbo jumbo flashback kinda story?
Its f*cking lame I thought I was watching grade B hollywood movie.
The only director that can pull a flashback/fast-forward/fast paced movie is quentin tarantino. Hell I think Ayer was trying hard to be Tarantion in this movie.
This post has been edited by Muhammad Syukri: Aug 5 2016, 07:06 AM
Mov_freak
Aug 5 2016, 09:06 AM
aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
Suicide Squad (2016)
In 2008, Marvel Studios released Iron Man. One of their B characters (at that point all of Marvel's A characters had been licensed out).
Marvel, Stan Winston Studio and ILM made the impossible, possible (Tony Stark in the Iron Man suit, fly)
When I first watched the trailer, and seeing Iron Man out flying a F18 (I think) I was SOLD!!
At the premier of the movie, the story was right, and Marvel Studio is SET!
Fast forward 8 years and DC Universe....
It is doing a lot of things right.
It basically has a bank (Warner Brothers) behind it.
It attract BIG names to script/direct/act in their projects and yet...
They are having a lot of trouble (with the exception of The Dark Night) making their movies "gel" with the audience.
I think, the success of The Dark Knight success has been a stumbling block for the DC Universe movies (Don't crucify me).
Here is why.
The movies were dark, serious and grounded to reality.
Audiences flocked to the cinemas to watched them. And after that, bought the blurays!!
And everyone at Warners went, oh, so THAT'S selling...
And henceforth that is the "formula" they adhere to...
Case in point Man of Steel. Did it need to be SO "dark". My answer is no....
Then you had Batman vs Superman, which would have been an excellent to elaborate the light and dark aspects of Superman and Batman, and alas, no.... Dark, dark DARK!!
And now, Suicide Squad....
Was never a fan of the comics, and after this movie, still NOT a fan.
To start with, you show us how terrible these "anti-heroes" are, and in the end, we are supposed to like them?...
I really pity Will Smith!
He has SO MANY so-stars and he has the burden of USD $175,000,000 price tag movie all on his shoulders!!!
So did he managed to carry the movie?
No quite...
Okay okay, Margot Robbie (Harley Quinn) did some carrying as well, still it think it still falls short...
Story folks, you have to get the story right
I am sorry to say, they again did not get it right here, again...
Here is a DC fan plea, to other DC fans, please please please go watch this.
Let it make some money.
Do not let Warner abandon the DC Universe.
It has SO MUCH POTENTIAL.
Please...
My Two Sen.
vassilius
Aug 5 2016, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(hybr1d3d @ Aug 4 2016, 10:59 PM) Not really, people were saying the same thing when they first saw Heath Ledger Joker in promotional material They compare it to Jack Nicholson but look at how it turned out, everyone loves Heath Joker sbb director bkn Nolan... WB don't have a dedicated and established team like Marvel. Executives are expecting immediate results vs a 10 year project Marvel. They need someone with a grand vision like Kevin Feige. Nolan is their best bet now to save this projects. But would he wanna play any part in this? Its gonna be a long term project. Dun think money really matters to ppl like Nolan who emphasized on work and masterpiece of his products.
skystrike
Aug 5 2016, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(vassilius @ Aug 5 2016, 09:10 AM) sbb director bkn Nolan... WB don't have a dedicated and established team like Marvel. Executives are expecting immediate results vs a 10 year project Marvel. They need someone with a grand vision like Kevin Feige. Nolan is their best bet now to save this projects. But would he wanna play any part in this? Its gonna be a long term project. Dun think money really matters to ppl like Nolan who emphasized on work and masterpiece of his products. WB & DC just recently hired Geoff Johns to lead a team for DCEU after bad reception of bvs...maybe we can see effect of this team earliest on wonder woman film or justice league film.... actually MCU film started become good success in box office & critic after Kevin Feige was hired to lead MCU... http://www.comicbookresources.com/article/...c-entertainment
ftf87
Aug 5 2016, 09:55 AM

QUOTE(Zikar Ali @ Aug 4 2016, 10:00 PM) Just enjoy the movie la, nice movie what Pity those that when watch movie find the fault and weaknesess instead of enjoy it Not doing the thinking process while or after watching the movie makes you a lazy movie lover
SUSZikar Ali
Aug 5 2016, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(ftf87 @ Aug 5 2016, 09:55 AM) Not doing the thinking process while or after watching the movie makes you a lazy movie lover Unless i work as movie critic or anything related, i rather just enjoy the movie after pay Rm20 for ticket and popcorn
elm0001
Aug 5 2016, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(defaultname365 @ Aug 4 2016, 02:21 PM) Haha... friend bought extra tickets, ask me to join Friday night. I said "No thanks" Skipped quite a few movies this year, and have not regretted doing so. ...regretted watching BvS, but oh well. At least I didn't see Ben Affleck's a** I heard exists in the Ultimate Edition. his frontal in Gone Girl though
shootkk
Aug 5 2016, 10:57 AM
Loyal Sony A100 User
The problem with Suicide Squad is that it has plot holes so large that the Titanic could navigate through them. I mean, it was as if no one bothered to vet through the story and rushed it through production. Having Will Smith was a nice touch and he really did bring some character to Deadshot and Margot Robbie was fine as Harley Quinn. Just too bad the executives at WB didn't really know what to do with them. So here are some plot holes that really bothered me and broke the whole story: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
1. Enchantress. If she was so badass why was she successfully imprisoned by the ancient humans?
2. When Enchantress was freed by June, why did she not bother to look for her heart right there and then? Did she not know she was missing that vital piece of organ? Why was it left to Waller to find it?
3. Talking about Waller : How the F did she know that it was the Enchantress's heart (which the Enchantress conveniently forgot to take with her) that would make the Enchantress bow to her?
4. The Enchantress's brother or the other trans-dimensional being : Why did Waller not know that there was another? Why did Waller take that voodoo doll back to her house? So that the Enchantress could again conveniently take it to unleash an ally to terrorise the Squad? And why did the Enchantress not think of freeing her brother when she was first freed? Did she not know her brother was there too? C'mon guys!! Even a primary school kid could write better than this!
5. Waller's initial aim for the Squad was to have someone to fight for earth should a bad superman decide to thrash the entire world. Fine and good but when the Enchantress turned out to be that bad superman she feared, why did she not just crush the heart and stop it? I mean this just does not make sense. It's like she cannot decide either to save earth or become a megalomaniacal villain and have the whole world bow to her. If she wanted the Enchantress's minion making ability, she would not need the other members of the squad. Why create the squad in the first place?
6. Why is it that when the Enchantress's brother did something to her, it seemed that the heart could no longer be used to threaten the Enchantress but then she still needed it to complete the spell she was casting. WTF??!! Why not just send her brother to steal the heart in the first place and then unleash the whole damn spell?
7. You could just blow up the Enchantress's brother with a big bomb? Really? I thought he was a trans-dimensional being and impervious to conventional weaponry?
8. Why was the Joker even in this film? He could just be a cameo. His role adds nothing to the story.
If WB wanted dark then they should have went all the way. The Suicide Squad is made up of bad guys. Let them all embrace the dark side. Show us they will turn against each other for their own selfish agendas. Have them hurt each other and then realise in the end that no one stands to gain if the big bad guy threatening all is not brought down. Then have them band together grudgingly and save the world as well as themselves and part ways in the end. There is no honour among thieves after all. That's dark and it makes for a better story.