12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Blackberry Classic / Q20, ROI via Celcom now

chocobo2988
post Dec 19 2014, 02:40 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(neorage_x @ Dec 19 2014, 12:06 PM)
I understand your concern. Blackberry device is all about productivity. Having a trackpad or "touch-sensitive" keyboard (For BB passport) will allow the user hands always on the keyboard and not the screen. With practice, user can focus on constructing email and messages without the hassle of touching and holding the screen for edditing purposes.
Agreed!!
thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
hyperyouth_firepower
post Dec 19 2014, 05:33 PM

BlackBerry enthusiast
1,964 posts

QUOTE(neorage_x @ Dec 19 2014, 01:06 PM)
I understand your concern. Blackberry device is all about productivity. Having a trackpad or "touch-sensitive" keyboard (For BB passport) will allow the user hands always on the keyboard and not the screen. With practice, user can focus on constructing email and messages without the hassle of touching and holding the screen for edditing purposes.
Secondly it is also the idea of engaging the customers. Older BlackBerry users who do not enjoy the idea of physical keyboards actually left the platform. Those who stayed around actually do have, to a certain extent, lingering attachment to the functionality of a BlackBerry, and that includes even the trackpad, as "backwards" as it may seem.

The BlackBerry Passport is a compromise in this, as it has everything the classic has, sans the toolbelt. However, it is also different from the Q10 because the entire keypad itself is a humongous trackpad and also emulates the function of a BlackBerry virtual keyboard. Judging from the initial response i think BlackBerry customers are very happy with the new direction, and thus in the future there will be templates for three keyboards, the full physical + toolbelt, the full touchscreen and a hybrid (maybe with, maybe without toolbelt, most likely without)

In respect to the q20 it should probably keep the existing corporate customers from leaving BlackBerry (note, BlackBerry at this point can just go on as a pure MDM/EMM company without selling phones, but that is another story) and probably be tempting enough to have corporations to consider buying the BlackBerry Classic and deploy it to their employees as a COPE (corporate owned, personally enabled) device and slap in an MDM of their choice (BlackBerry has opened up their BlackBerry 10 phones to be manageable by other MDM services) but i would expect the Classic to surpass the sales of the Passport. I think its the shrewdest move BlackBerry has done so far.
SUSmeebandong
post Dec 20 2014, 08:44 AM

102 posts

http://www.businessweek.com/articles/2014-...ckberry-classic

chocobo2988
post Dec 20 2014, 10:20 AM

90 posts

DirectD selling AP Blackberry Classic RM1799.
zero_kbom
post Dec 20 2014, 10:28 AM

~I'll make you Miku Miku~
965 posts

For a phone with the same innards as Q10, the price is a bit too high for my liking.

It all boils down if you cannot live without the navigational strip and slightly smaller screen

Personally, I still find it a bit puzzling why BB still ignoring sliders. An upgraded Torch anyone?
radi0head
post Dec 20 2014, 12:19 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(chocobo2988 @ Dec 20 2014, 10:20 AM)
DirectD selling AP Blackberry Classic RM1799.
Already up on sale ? I wonder when will it come to Telcos instead ?
chocobo2988
post Dec 20 2014, 01:00 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(radi0head @ Dec 20 2014, 12:19 PM)
Already up on sale ? I wonder when will it come to Telcos instead ?
Celcom....coming soon.
Check the webs

chocobo2988
post Dec 20 2014, 01:01 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(zero_kbom @ Dec 20 2014, 10:28 AM)
For a phone with the same innards as Q10, the price is a bit too high for my liking.

It all boils down if you cannot live without the navigational strip and slightly smaller screen

Personally, I still find it a bit puzzling why BB still ignoring sliders. An upgraded Torch anyone?
Price is on high side... doh.gif

lp16
post Dec 21 2014, 11:50 AM

411 posts

US retailing at $499, so it's not a cheap phone. :'(

Will have to wait a bit longer and see how it goes. Was really hopping to see the price on the lower RM1k side.
radi0head
post Dec 21 2014, 07:07 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

QUOTE(lp16 @ Dec 21 2014, 11:50 AM)

Will have to wait a bit longer and see how it goes. Was really hopping to see the price on the lower RM1k side.
<rm1k... hmm... how I wish though but it is impossible for newly launch unless if there is Q30 coming out and Q20 will be <rm1k by then...

SUSmeebandong
post Dec 21 2014, 07:16 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Blank Space @ Dec 21 2014, 07:04 PM)
Walao. So expensive
wait for the official launch + 3 months.

sure price drop like bag of rocks.
chocobo2988
post Dec 27 2014, 05:23 PM

90 posts

Anyone getting BB Classic now ??
popsoul
post Dec 28 2014, 07:56 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

QUOTE(lp16 @ Dec 21 2014, 11:50 AM)

It is USD449 for unlocked version, overpriced yeah. With the declining of the MYR against USD, I think BB Malaysia will price it at around 1.6-1.7k. Anything higher than 1.7k will only encourage the sale of Passport.

But then again, the phone looks cool in the unboxing video. cool2.gif

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Djje12RkaQ

This post has been edited by popsoul: Dec 28 2014, 07:59 PM
neorage_x
post Dec 30 2014, 04:17 PM

395 posts

Celcom is selling BlackBerry Classic at 1588. I think it's a fair price (y)
chocobo2988
post Dec 30 2014, 04:53 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(neorage_x @ Dec 30 2014, 04:17 PM)
Celcom is selling BlackBerry Classic at 1588. I think it's a fair price (y)
Can purchase outright?

popsoul
post Dec 30 2014, 06:39 PM

不死鳥
2,358 posts

Ya 1588 seems fair enough, although many see it as the same Q10 hardware with the additional toolbelt feature only.

IIRC the time Q10 launched, it was priced more than 2k. Isn't it?
neorage_x
post Dec 30 2014, 10:35 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(popsoul @ Dec 30 2014, 06:39 PM)
Ya 1588 seems fair enough, although many see it as the same Q10 hardware with the additional toolbelt feature only.

IIRC the time Q10 launched, it was priced more than 2k. Isn't it?
Yup. Q10 starting price is around 2200++ I think. So the Classic which is a definite upgrade of Q10, selling just below 1600 is a good deal.preloaded with 10.3 some more..
radi0head
post Dec 31 2014, 05:29 PM

A Shocker
2,759 posts

RM 1,588.00 RRP is just nice... hehe... reasonable priced. Gonna get one to replaced my aging Bold 9790... rclxms.gif

Daniel Alexander
post Jan 3 2015, 12:53 AM

20 posts

Anyone knows where to test this BB Classic?
neorage_x
post Jan 3 2015, 11:36 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(Daniel Alexander @ Jan 3 2015, 12:53 AM)
Anyone knows where to test this BB Classic?
By next month we should be able to test it at Celcom BlueCube.

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0212sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:28 AM