AMD (Malaysia) Official Thread

TSAMDmy
post Nov 29 2015, 12:02 AM

http://www.anandtech.com/show/9784/the-amd...-r9-380x-review

It’s a well-built card – one of the best to have come our way all year – and it sets a very high bar for ASUS’s competition. The one drawback with the card is the price, and this goes hand-in-hand with the value spoiler effect we just covered. At $259 the STRIX R9 380X OC halves the premium for an R9 390/GTX 970, yet those cards are still 30%+ faster. It’s very hard to charge a premium price for a premium card in the current market, and while the STRIX R9 380X is a fantastic R9 380X, it’s none the less in a very awkward spot right below some very powerful video cards.

khelben
post Nov 30 2015, 12:46 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(AMDmy @ Nov 29 2015, 12:02 AM)
Price in Malaysia? wink.gif
TSAMDmy
post Nov 30 2015, 06:21 AM

QUOTE(khelben @ Nov 30 2015, 12:46 AM)
Price in Malaysia? wink.gif
Price is subjected to the brand. biggrin.gif Wait for ASUS to announce.
TSAMDmy
post Nov 30 2015, 07:01 AM

http://www.guru3d.com/articles-pages/amd-r...b-review,1.html

When you look at the Radeon R9 380X overall, performance, Eyefinity features, PCIe gen 3 compatibility and all other stuff then we can only conclude that, though we like these cards, they belong in the mainstream to even a bit of the high-end (but certainly not enthusiast) graphics card arena. Overall we think the R9 380X remains to be a an excellent Full HD gaming card and a pretty decent WQHD alternative. On very harsh on the GPU titles however you'll find yourself un-ticking graphics quality options pretty fast to gain on framerate performance , but that is the trade-off and nothing to be ashamed about with a 260 EURO product.

khelben
post Nov 30 2015, 07:09 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(AMDmy @ Nov 30 2015, 06:21 AM)
Price is subjected to the brand. biggrin.gif Wait for ASUS to announce.
If we do a direct conversion, the 380x should be priced around 900++ to 1100, but we know that won't happen because that's the price of 380 in local stores currently sad.gif

Sigh.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 8 2015, 11:49 PM

QUOTE(khelben @ Nov 30 2015, 07:09 AM)
If we do a direct conversion, the 380x should be priced around 900++ to 1100, but we know that won't happen because that's the price of 380 in local stores currently sad.gif

Sigh.
sad.gif Unfortunately so, and that doesn't apply to just AMD based products. Most other products you'll see it's far more than the converted rate.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 8 2015, 11:51 PM

FreeSync over HDMI - now isn't that something good?
S4PH
post Dec 9 2015, 12:19 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Nov 30 2015, 07:09 AM)

Sigh.
RM1279 at dota tech, card is amazing 1440p is not an issue with this card, saved me some rm instead of buying agtx970 which also is a good 1440p performer. Wished AMD could run full 384bit bus for this baby. Overall im very2 happy with this card
khelben
post Dec 9 2015, 12:20 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Dec 9 2015, 12:19 PM)
RM1279 at dota tech, card is amazing 1440p is not an issue with this card, saved me some rm instead of buying agtx970 which also is a good 1440p performer. Wished AMD could run full 384bit bus for this baby. Overall im very2 happy with this card
Yeah just below 1300 too at Cycom. Guess it can be a good card while waiting for Arctic Islands.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 9 2015, 04:58 PM

goldfries
post Dec 9 2015, 05:09 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

ehh, GTX 970 is only RM 1399 cheapest.

I've used the HD 7970 / R9 280X / R9 285 and whatever else out there and if you're like me - you'll find that R9 380X is far from being amazing.

In fact I find it rather ridiculous that card of this performance is priced at RM 1.3k range these days when you can get an R9 280X used for RM 600 and still get similar performance.

Even 2 years ago this performance was already available at RM 1.1k range.

For AMD camp, a little over RM 1.5k and you can get an R9 390 8GB which I think is of better value.
khelben
post Dec 11 2015, 12:18 PM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 9 2015, 05:09 PM)
ehh, GTX 970 is only RM 1399 cheapest.
Yameh? Was browsing lowyat price list last week and all the 970s I see have price range of 1700-1900.
goldfries
post Dec 11 2015, 11:55 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Dec 11 2015, 12:18 PM)
Yameh? Was browsing lowyat price list last week and all the 970s I see have price range of 1700-1900.
Try Lelong. biggrin.gif

Definitely many are found less than RM 1700.
khelben
post Dec 12 2015, 02:28 AM

I love my mum & dad
6,056 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 9 2015, 05:09 PM)
Even 2 years ago this performance was already available at RM 1.1k range.
Hmm but, 2 years ago ringgit was stronger and also no GST, wouldn't those play a role?

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 11 2015, 11:55 PM)
Try Lelong. biggrin.gif

Definitely many are found less than RM 1700.
Ah thanks, yeah saw the 1399 one, reference cooler though.

And the 380x is RM1130 there biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Dec 12 2015, 07:10 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(khelben @ Dec 12 2015, 02:28 AM)
Hmm but, 2 years ago ringgit was stronger and also no GST, wouldn't those play a role?

And the 380x is RM1130 there.
Correct but fact remains that the performance is nothing new. For AMD the thing I have about their system is that HD 7970 = R9 280X = R9 380X!!! tongue.gif

And mind you, HD 7970 was 2012!!! That's why you see many reviews, they carry the same sentiment. It's nothing new. Nothing to shout about.

If you can get R9 380X at around RM 1,100 range then I think it's pretty alright, especially when you bring price to performance ratio to comparison with others around.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 14 2015, 07:12 PM

QUOTE(goldfries @ Dec 12 2015, 07:10 AM)
Correct but fact remains that the performance is nothing new. For AMD the thing I have about their system is that HD 7970 = R9 280X = R9 380X!!! tongue.gif
biggrin.gif Still need a product to fill the gap.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 14 2015, 07:13 PM

Thanks for being user of AMD GPU!!! biggrin.gif

Let us know if you encounter any hiccups.
TSAMDmy
post Dec 14 2015, 07:15 PM

Final Words

When the Radeon R9 285 was released, that SKU was pretty much blocked and positioned in-between two rather similar AMD product with more memory, and did not make any sense. The 380 made way more sense in terms of price and performance, but we disliked the limited 2GB frame-buffer. The 380X as such the the final evolution of this mainstream to high-end positioned graphics card. With the 380X you get to use a proper 4 GB graphics memory and you'll have a fully enabled GPU with 2048 active shader processors. And such features combined makes a lof of sense. You will have a very good 1080P card running with more than decent enough performance in the WQHD (2560x1440) monitor domain. Overall for roughly 250/260 USD/EURO the Radeon R9 380X does offer good value for money. The factory tweaked and customized product will likely be a tenner more expensive though, but it remains very reasonable. The card as tested (factory tweaked and cooled) has a good design, it is factory overclocked a bit, nearly in-audible and looks really in any DiY PC build. The build quality seems to be pretty okay as well. So yeah man, for the money the 380X offer good value with most boxes properly ticked. As such it is definitely a recommended product.

http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_r..._review,32.html
S4PH
post Dec 14 2015, 08:40 PM

adam_s4ph
1,167 posts

QUOTE(AMDmy @ Dec 14 2015, 07:13 PM)
Thanks for being user of AMD GPU!!! biggrin.gif

Let us know if you encounter any hiccups.
so far no hiccups superb performance
goldfries
post Dec 15 2015, 02:27 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Dec 14 2015, 08:40 PM)
so far no hiccups superb performance
Your R9 380X is brandless?

105 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top