prophetjul
post Apr 18 2025, 08:13 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 17 2025, 07:41 AM)
record high was $3357.

u got 245% tariff slapped on some china products.

u got new US sanctions on china buying iranian oil.

u got freighters reeling from order cancellations.

u got the chinese buying - central bank, insurance cos, instututional funds, retail investors, retail jewelry.

u got incr ETF inflows in EU and North America.

u got the $ declining, DXY at 99.22.

it's hard not for gold price to keep rising for a while or at least stay elevated sideways.

now hovering at $3350/oz or RM475/g.

we're witnessing an extraordinary event, a privilege. biggrin.gif
Took me 23 years to experience and witness such astronomical rises in gold. 23 years. thumbup.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 18 2025, 09:11 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(samftrmd @ Apr 18 2025, 07:47 AM)
When do you think is the time to buy?
Copilot:
Historically, gold prices tend to be at their lowest in **March**, with other months like **October** also showing relatively lower prices[](https://tradersunion.com/interesting-articles/how-to-buy-gold/lowest-price/ "1").
u won't get a good answer to this question.

take a look at the gold price over last 25 years:
https://tradingeconomics.com/commodity/gold

in hindsight, one wud say best to buy in 2000, 2015, 2022.

if bought in 2011, 2020, one may have dumped and quit after cursing & swearing.

currently, the run up from 2022 is into its 2nd year, gone parabolic.

how long it will last, nobody knows.

but it will surely peak and then decline over maybe 10 years like all major waves and cycles.

don't touch gold if u aren't prepared to hold long term.

* today is a holiday for most gold exchanges, no action expected.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Apr 18 2025, 09:13 AM
Cubalagi
post Apr 18 2025, 12:18 PM

4,490 posts

Best time to buy Gold will be at peak US interest rate before Fed starts cutting. For last 10 years, that would be early 2019 and end of 2023.

Unkerpanjang
post Apr 18 2025, 01:20 PM

1,232 posts

I currently hold a considerable amount of gold as part of my asset allocation. While many view a scenario of gold prices skyrocketing as a positive outcome, I see it differently. In many cases, such a sharp rise reflects economic stress-marked by high inflation, social divergence and increased unemployment. It's a scenario that while potentially rewarding for some large bags gold holders, it would likely coincide with a bleak and stressful environment for the country at large.

That said, my exposure in crypto is significantly higher than my gold holdings. This reflects my preference for an alternative future-one where geopolitical tensions, such as tariffs wars, begin to subside, and global markets shift to a more constructive, risk-on environment resulting in gold QUIETLY rising as well.

In such a scenario, driven by innovation, optimism and FOMO, offer a more hopeful path forward than one implied by runaway gold price by itself.

We can only hope & pray common sense prevails. At the mean time "Boss, Char Koay Teow. Just duck egg,...No Caviar!"

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: Apr 18 2025, 01:27 PM
prophetjul
post Apr 18 2025, 01:34 PM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 18 2025, 01:20 PM)
I currently hold a considerable amount of gold as part of my asset allocation. While many view a scenario of gold prices skyrocketing as a positive outcome, I see it differently. In many cases, such a sharp rise reflects economic stress-marked by high inflation, social divergence and increased unemployment. It's a scenario that while potentially rewarding for some large bags gold holders, it would likely coincide with a bleak and stressful environment for the country at large.

That said, my exposure in crypto is significantly higher than my gold holdings. This reflects my preference for an alternative future-one where geopolitical tensions, such as tariffs wars, begin to subside, and global markets shift to a more constructive, risk-on environment resulting in gold QUIETLY rising as well.

In such a scenario, driven by innovation, optimism and FOMO, offer a more hopeful path forward than one implied by runaway gold price by itself.

We can only hope & pray common sense prevails. At the mean time "Boss, Char Koay Teow. Just duck egg,...No Caviar!"
We have a closet Creepyo investor in the house! laugh.gif
Bro, you write very eloquently. Love reading your pieces.
But i am a gold bug through and through. tongue.gif
And yes, gold prices reflects the problems that the world economics and financial conditions are in deep shite.
And it may not end well.

i will just have the cihcken eggs, no caviar. i am carbs adverse. tongue.gif
Unkerpanjang
post Apr 18 2025, 01:42 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 18 2025, 01:34 PM)
We have a closet Creepyo investor in the house!  laugh.gif
Bro, you write very eloquently. Love reading your pieces.
But i am a gold bug through and through.  tongue.gif
And yes, gold prices reflects the problems that the world economics and financial conditions are in deep shite.
And it may not end well.

i will just have the cihcken eggs, no caviar. i am carbs adverse.  tongue.gif
Bro, how fast things can change within a couple of weeks. So much work was invested for Malaysia to be a beneficiary in the initial US-Mexico tariff spat, until US listed the worldwide tariff.

All the anticipated incoming volume just evaporated, now Unker too free hence passing time posting random outburst.
boyboycute
post Apr 18 2025, 07:41 PM

537 posts

Those who are buying at current high prices must be prepared to ride through the difficult times.

Usually,most would likely sell at losses after few years

Best advice is to avoid chasing high prices
AVFAN
post Apr 18 2025, 08:27 PM

24,454 posts

andrew mcguire is highly knowledgeable and informed.

he talks gold & silver + comex, LBMA, BIS, basel3, ETFs, bullion banks, charts, china, USA.

latest LFTV epi 219:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B9YjtbV1RPI

the other 2 i like are gary wagner and peter schiff.

search for them if u are interested.
Unkerpanjang
post Apr 18 2025, 09:03 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Apr 18 2025, 07:41 PM)
Those who are buying at current high prices must be prepared to ride through the difficult times.

Usually,most would likely sell at losses after few years

Best advice is to avoid chasing high prices
Unker, I believe we might be overemphasizing the risk of buying gold at current prices. The real issue, if any, stems from improper asset allocation.

For instance, if gold constitutes only 10% of your portfolio (alongside kwsp, asnb, stocks, ETFs, crypto, rental properties, and other investment tools) and you are still gainfully employed, a 30% drop in gold price would only result in a 3% decline in your overall portfolio. That's hardly catastrophic. Stat the course-its not the end of the world.

However, if someone struggling to cover monthly expenses is pouring money into gold, that's a different issue altogether. It's poor money management, investing in gold is never a make or break gamble.
boyboycute
post Apr 18 2025, 09:15 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ Apr 18 2025, 09:03 PM)
Unker, I believe we might be overemphasizing the risk of buying gold at current prices. The real issue, if any, stems from improper asset allocation.

For instance, if gold constitutes only 10% of your portfolio (alongside kwsp, asnb, stocks, ETFs, crypto, rental properties, and other investment tools) and you are still gainfully employed, a 30% drop in gold price would only result in a 3% decline in your overall portfolio. That's hardly catastrophic. Stat the course-its not the end of the world.

However, if someone struggling to cover monthly expenses is pouring money into gold, that's a different issue altogether. It's poor money management, investing in gold is never a make or break gamble.
True.

Unker is warning the beginner who just hoop onto the bandwagon because they heard their neighbour made money from gold.

Amateurs usually go ALL IN right at the top and usually don't really care about asset allocation.

Unker's advice is for this group of naive degenerates gamblers. They usually join the "fun" now
Unkerpanjang
post Apr 18 2025, 09:24 PM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(boyboycute @ Apr 18 2025, 09:15 PM)
True.

Unker is warning the beginner who just hoop onto the bandwagon because they heard their neighbour made money from gold.

Amateurs usually go ALL IN right at the top and usually don't really care about asset allocation.

Unker's advice is for this group of naive degenerates gamblers. They usually join the "fun" now
Unker, thank you. We r on same page!
Much respects!
[gs]JackMin
post Apr 20 2025, 04:26 PM

275 posts

hi bros, just wondering if got any recommendations which gold trader i can go to sell some very old outdated gold jewelleries? i called a couple, but they want to deduct another 30% from the cash value. is this the normal price?
AVFAN
post Apr 20 2025, 07:54 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Apr 20 2025, 04:26 PM)
hi bros, just wondering if got any recommendations which gold trader i can go to sell some very old outdated gold jewelleries? i called a couple, but they want to deduct another 30% from the cash value. is this the normal price?
for old jewelry, u first need to do a test to determine the gold purity: 999, 916, 875, 833, etc.

unfortunately, the test is destructive. so, u need to be sure u wanna sell.

the lower the purity, the lower the price.

Record $8 Billion Inflows into Gold ETFs: Potential Market Top?
On April 20, 2025, Gold Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) experienced a significant surge in investments, recording an unprecedented $8 billion in inflows over the previous week, according to Cas Abbé on Twitter (source: @cas_abbe, April 20, 2025). This monumental influx marks the largest weekly inflow ever for Gold ETFs, prompting traders to question whether this could signal a peak in gold prices. The timing of this surge is noteworthy, as it aligns with a period of heightened economic uncertainty and a growing interest in safe-haven assets.

https://blockchain.news/flashnews/record-8-...tial-market-top
boyboycute
post Apr 20 2025, 09:28 PM

537 posts

QUOTE(gsJackMin @ Apr 20 2025, 04:26 PM)
Unker already said it, most amateurs are going to lose money investing in physical gold.

If you don't know much, please stick to paper gold or ETF
Icehart
post Apr 21 2025, 02:39 AM

14,899 posts

Anyone here is full time gold trader? biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Apr 21 2025, 08:35 AM

24,454 posts

gold new record high $3359/oz, RM474.75/g.

DXY 98.60.

US 10 yr yield 4.344%.

i start to agree with goldman sachs' 4000. tongue.gif

prophetjul
post Apr 21 2025, 09:00 AM

12,268 posts

$3,371.40 ATH
AVFAN
post Apr 21 2025, 09:17 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(prophetjul @ Apr 21 2025, 09:00 AM)
$3,371.40  ATH
can post again when it gets to 3380. very soon, i think. tongue.gif

at this rate, the gold shops will raise list price of 999.9 gold to RM575/g this week.

it was raised from 535 to 550 just 3 days ago.

very very expensive to buy gold gifts now.
prophetjul
post Apr 21 2025, 09:56 AM

12,268 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Apr 21 2025, 09:17 AM)
can post again when it gets to 3380. very soon, i think. tongue.gif

at this rate, the gold shops will raise list price of 999.9 gold to RM575/g this week.

it was raised from 535 to 550 just 3 days ago.

very very expensive to buy gold gifts now.
I will post again at $3,400 tongue.gif
prophetjul
post Apr 21 2025, 10:09 AM

12,268 posts

Gold may have gone to ATH.
But in Ringgit terms, it has gone down.
Kijang is showing 1 oz zt Rm14,883. Down from last Rm14,987 due to USD weakening badly.

311 Pages « < 278 279 280 281 282 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:50 AM