4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

ASN, ASN2, ASN3, ASG, ASB, ASW2020, ASM, ASD, AS1M, AMANAH SAHAM NASIONAL BERHAD V6

lucifah
post Dec 2 2014, 08:39 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 2 2014, 06:02 PM)
there's some people who would blindly "invest" in ASx fund esp old folks & noobie.

like what happen to me today. Bank staff tried to promo me ASG, telling me the fund give me 7% p.a (way better than ASM, ASW etc. which give around 6sen+). If I'm not well inform, surely I fall for the trap.

like we all in LYN know that variable fund NAV would "drop" after dividend distribution unlike fixed price fund. The so-called 7% p.a are deducted from NAV.
err... sweat.gif

let's assume you have 100,000 units of ASG valued at 95 sen, which gives you a total of RM 95,000

after dividend distribution of 7%, you will have 107,000 units, but the price per unit will drop to 88.78 sen (let's assume this is the scenario)

u does see the price per unit drop, and quickly associate it with drop in your investment

but, if you multiply 88.78 with your newly gained units of 107,000 = 88.78 x 107,000 = RM 107,000

of course this is very simplified, and there are many oversights in the calculations, but at least it does give you the rough idea

however, any funds performing less than the benchmark indices are not a good choice. 7% p.a. is very low yield.
lucifah
post Dec 2 2014, 09:04 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Dec 2 2014, 08:47 PM)
Hold 5 years not necessary making money.
Double lies doesn't help to make it become a fact
one must understand and accept the fact that every investment comes with their set of risks

not all investments will yield any profit

it depends on how far you are willing to take the risk - a calculated risk, based on past performances, market volatility, geo-political stability and such. all affects future performances

lucifah
post Dec 3 2014, 09:04 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Dec 3 2014, 04:56 PM)
hmm.gif

100k units valued at 95 cents = RM95K.

let say if dividend distribution is 7 cents per unit (7.36%), so 0.07 x 100,000 = RM7,000. If reinvested, RM7,000/0.88 = 7,955 units

7,955 + 100,000 = 107,955 units  = > 107,955 x 0.88 = RM95K

same value but increase in total number of units.
ah, i got some errors there. thank you for pointing out

but basically, that is the simple explanation

lucifah
post Dec 9 2014, 08:45 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Dec 9 2014, 08:27 AM)
So called "cost averaging".  biggrin.gif

Checked and ASG down slightly vs yesterday price.  sad.gif
i guess all variable priced funds will drop this yr. USD to MYR is already > 3.5

CA is a good habit for frequent investor
lucifah
post Dec 16 2014, 04:33 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

market slump

ASN3 dropped to 0.623 per unit from a high 0.670

i lost about 2 sen per unit x 100,000 = RM 2,000

dunno how far the market will degrade after this...

lucifah
post Dec 16 2014, 04:59 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 16 2014, 04:54 PM)
ASN3 still above rm1/unit  rolleyes.gif

people said, it's not over yet
oh, i got it mixed up

was referring to ASN2, which is equity heavy on the portfolio

lucifah
post Dec 16 2014, 05:05 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 16 2014, 05:02 PM)
ASN3 also drop from 1.13 to 1.09 now  sweat.gif 

and it's Balance fund  shakehead.gif
it's bad

if i pull out now, i will lose an extra 5% due to the SC

but since i don't need any cash at the moment, i will just leave it there and see what happens after 5 yrs.

lucifah
post Dec 16 2014, 08:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 16 2014, 05:36 PM)
U mean buy OR sell, both ways will incur 5% SC?
when u buy the units, u will be charged 5% upfront

that is if you have RM100k to buy, you will end up with rm95k worth of units

u need to wait the unit price to rise up by 5 sen to cover your cost (in this case, the service charge) just to break even

lucifah
post Dec 16 2014, 08:29 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Dec 16 2014, 08:19 PM)
Oh I see. But when u said "if i pull out now, i will lose an extra 5% due to the SC", I thought pull out=sell.

With the dip, may be it is time to get ready to move from fixed price ASN's funds to UT.
ASNB fixed price fund is usually cushioned from any OPR revision as showcased during the 1997-1998 asian economic crisis

interest rate was up to 11%, but ASB returns matched at 13%

lucifah
post Dec 17 2014, 08:52 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

ASN2 dropped to 0.61 point

i am calculating my losses and look into the glass ball to see if pull out now will limit my damage ...
lucifah
post Dec 17 2014, 09:49 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Dec 17 2014, 09:46 PM)
I have no idea too....

just hope crude oil issues will solve real soon...
it is more than just crude oil

this is the tipping point. the domino effect will ripple through sooner or later.

lucifah
post Dec 17 2014, 10:50 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 17 2014, 10:17 PM)
Today KLCI got rebound.

tomorrow ASN2 unit price could go upward to 0.62 or even 0.63  hmm.gif
i need it to be at least 0.70 to break even sweat.gif
lucifah
post Dec 17 2014, 11:02 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 17 2014, 10:55 PM)
0.70 is long way to go  yawn.gif

if u can stand the loss, then just keep it.

if cannot tahan, money not enuf. just cut loss now before it get even bigger

icon_rolleyes.gif
i'll keep it as an experiment to test my sanity tongue.gif
lucifah
post Dec 18 2014, 01:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Dec 18 2014, 10:18 AM)
My 2 cents here ...

I like to quantify things for me to make a decision.

Overview, find out how much will your ASX drop when KLCI drops. I know it is not 100% accurate, use data from 1997 & 2008 as a guide.

Then using your best judgement, how much will KLCI drop for your expected case, worst case and best case in the next 2 years.

Work out how much are then your ASX for the 3 cases.

Then ask yourself whether it is worth taking action for each of the 3 cases. E.g. if the lost is already at 50% for the medium expected case, then I would cash out. On the other side of the coin, if the lost is 10% for the worst case, then I would stay put.

A lot of the above depends on one's view/gut feel. It is your money and thus your gut feel is important. Ha.

All the best!
thaks for the advice

i like to experiment. the ASN2 will either be a good investment or an expensive lesson for me. either way, study study. laugh.gif
lucifah
post Dec 21 2014, 09:10 AM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(celicaizpower @ Dec 21 2014, 12:22 AM)
heheehe limit PIDM boss... biggrin.gif

anyway itu tak penting, cuma nak tau mana satu yang biasa return tinggi je selain dari ASB...  thumbup.gif
ASNB products are not covered by PIDM

lucifah
post Dec 26 2014, 05:15 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2014, 05:12 PM)
Change to new ASM Passbook @ Maybank  rclxm9.gif
Now got NAV & value (RM) column 

p/s: Old Passbook better looking & quality also veli good  cool2.gif
oh... just new cover follow ASB2 graphics

beware with the NAV column. it just means that they may finally float the ASM fund. sweat.gif
lucifah
post Dec 26 2014, 05:18 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 26 2014, 05:16 PM)
tat I'm worried about  cry.gif  cry.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif
i am double-checkcing the master prospectus for ASM to find that one sentence

onthe other hand, maybe no. it's a 91.0mb PDF file sweat.gif sweat.gif
lucifah
post Dec 26 2014, 05:40 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Dec 26 2014, 05:38 PM)
As per Master Prospectus, no 'sales charges' imposed on sale & repurchase of ASB, ASW, ASM & ASD. However, ASNB may impose 1% 'sales charges' on sale of AS1M & ASB2
the price is fixed perpetually at RM 1.00 or they may float it at their discretion?

i know i've read something like that in the master prospectus

but i need to double confirm.
lucifah
post Dec 27 2014, 03:43 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Dec 27 2014, 02:33 PM)
I also join the club.. confirm closed ASM account if change to VP.

but according to wil-i-am

So I can conclude that only AS1M & ASB2 risk of being converted to VP fund hmm.gif
sales charge means that they have the right to charge you a nominal fee (1%) for any transactions. at the moment, they do not charge it. it just means they have the option to charge

variable pricing is another different matter not related to sales charge
lucifah
post Dec 29 2014, 03:01 PM

St. Fu
7,948 posts

QUOTE(sms2u @ Dec 29 2014, 12:00 PM)
Again, a country cannot be bankrupt. So far any country in the world bankrupt?
Greece is one example, no?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0406sec    1.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:58 AM