Everything About Your Gigi, Anything related to teeth or dentistry

renmejustin
post Apr 10 2022, 03:28 AM

99 posts

QUOTE(murv90 @ Apr 8 2022, 09:10 PM)
Periodontists are speacialised dentist for gums and structures surrounding the teeth
Any regular fully white paste only toothpaste would do the job, personally I would recommend Colgate Total but just the regular one or Systema has pretty good toothpaste too smile.gif
So those fancy sounding ones as well as so called whitening toothpastes arent really good then?
murv90
post Apr 12 2022, 03:50 PM

628 posts

QUOTE(renmejustin @ Apr 10 2022, 03:28 AM)
So those fancy sounding ones as well as so called whitening toothpastes arent really good then?
Yeah most of the whitening toothpastes contains micro abrasive, so with repeated long term usage and improper brushing techniques it will start wearing down the teeth and causing them to thin out.

Just stick to the basic only white paste toothpaste will be good enough 😊

What matters is proper brushing techniques supplemented by flossing and a regular dental check up at least once a year.
frontierzone
post Apr 13 2022, 03:13 PM

735 posts

I have unbalanced lower incisors, meaning 1 or 2 incisor is slightly behind the other incisors, like roof tiles overlapping a bit to the next tile. A toothbrush is too broad to properly brush the surface that is stacked behind another incisor. Thus incisors become stained and too eager brushing of the submerged incisor causes more abrasion to the incisor on front.Any solutions?
Batusai
post Apr 15 2022, 03:52 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(frontierzone @ Apr 13 2022, 03:13 PM)
I have unbalanced lower incisors, meaning 1 or 2 incisor is slightly behind the other incisors, like roof tiles overlapping a bit to the next  tile. A toothbrush is too broad to  properly brush the surface that is stacked behind another incisor. Thus incisors become stained and too eager brushing of the submerged incisor causes more abrasion to the incisor on front.Any solutions?
long term solution is orthodontics to align your teeth.

If not. you can get toothbrushes with slim bristles and angulate them to try to reach those tight spots. also regular flossing to clean those tight surfaces
tulipmukai P
post Apr 25 2022, 11:11 PM

Probation

If u pull out a tooth & do not replace them with denture or implant - the opposite teeth will grow longer? Is this true? How long will it take & is there any other way?
ahjummma
post Apr 26 2022, 12:19 PM

115 posts

Is it too old to get braces when you are already above 30?
derthvadar
post Apr 26 2022, 01:09 PM

(ง •̀_•́)ง
1,792 posts

QUOTE(ahjummma @ Apr 26 2022, 12:19 PM)
Is it too old to get braces when you are already above 30?
No.

Batusai
post Apr 26 2022, 02:41 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(tulipmukai @ Apr 25 2022, 11:11 PM)
If u pull out a tooth & do not replace them with denture or implant - the opposite teeth will grow longer? Is this true? How long will it take & is there any other way?
its true, your opposite teeth will grow out to find something to bite with and neighbouring teeth may drift into that empty space.

Usually the most drastic change will happen within a year after you extract the tooth.

Alternative? dont extract the tooth! try to perform treatment to prolong the life of the tooth. or you have to consider and plan for replacement if its going to be extracted.
FinestConfusion P
post Jun 21 2022, 12:22 PM

Probation

So I have this really bad molar cavity like its pretty much almost just 50% tooth now. I went to a private dentist and they said that it's barely on the edge of saveable - recommending an RCT quick.

I went to a government hospital to get a second opinion, they said that usually they would just remove the tooth, it's too much of a hassle at that point, because my wisdom tooth is still there and an RCT on that molar needs my wisdom tooth to be out of the way. I told them that I actually already had an appointment with the initial private dentist - scheduled a week after to remove the wisdom tooth. The government dentist said "oh, actually then maybe its doable, come back 2 weeks after the wisdom tooth is removed if that private dentist still says an RCT is doable."

Now my concern is should I go RCT with the government dentist or private? I'd rather not spend ~RM1.5k on an RCT, so I was hoping the government one was okay but I don't know the logistics on how they operate. I was able to book an appointment with them a day before meeting, but that was just to get a check and a second opinion. Does an actual operation like an RCT require an even longer waiting time?

Batusai
post Jun 22 2022, 06:22 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(FinestConfusion @ Jun 21 2022, 12:22 PM)
So I have this really bad molar cavity like its pretty much almost just 50% tooth now. I went to a private dentist and they said that it's barely on the edge of saveable - recommending an RCT quick.

I went to a government hospital to get a second opinion, they said that usually they would just remove the tooth, it's too much of a hassle at that point, because my wisdom tooth is still there and an RCT on that molar needs my wisdom tooth to be out of the way. I told them that I actually already had an appointment with the initial private dentist - scheduled a week after to remove the wisdom tooth. The government dentist said "oh, actually then maybe its doable, come back 2 weeks after the wisdom tooth is removed if that private dentist still says an RCT is doable."

Now my concern is should I go RCT with the government dentist or private? I'd rather not spend ~RM1.5k on an RCT, so I was hoping the government one was okay but I don't know the logistics on how they operate. I was able to book an appointment with them a day before meeting, but that was just to get a check and a second opinion. Does an actual operation like an RCT require an even longer waiting time?
Yes by all means, if you can get an appointment for RCT with gov dentist it would be great. Do consult with the gov dentist again and find out how long it will need for you to get an appointment.

A picture or x-ray would be more helpful to assess the restorability of the tooth.
FinestConfusion P
post Jun 22 2022, 10:04 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Batusai @ Jun 22 2022, 06:22 PM)
Yes by all means, if you can get an appointment for RCT with gov dentist it would be great. Do consult with the gov dentist again and find out how long it will need for you to get an appointment.

A picture or x-ray would be more helpful to assess the restorability of the tooth.
Thanks, I'll call again and ask how long I'll need to wait for the RCT appointment.
I showed them the X-ray on my first visit. They kinda took a quick look and was like "okay, yeah that's pretty bad" but they do agree it is worth saving since I really wanted it saved.
FinestConfusion P
post Jun 22 2022, 10:13 PM

Probation

QUOTE(FinestConfusion @ Jun 22 2022, 10:04 PM)

Thanks, I'll call again and ask how long I'll need to wait for the RCT appointment.
I showed them the X-ray on my first visit. They kinda took a quick look and was like "okay, yeah that's pretty bad" but they do agree it is worth saving since I really wanted it saved.

Forgot to attach a pic

https://pictr.com/images/2022/06/22/BkyAwl.jpg
DrBarbarian
post Jun 27 2022, 08:52 AM

Darren's Daddy
869 posts

that's bad..... take that bugger out......
Batusai
post Jun 27 2022, 02:11 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

QUOTE(FinestConfusion @ Jun 22 2022, 10:13 PM)
it does looks pretty bad, but seems like still restorable but pretty guarded prognosis.

One things for sure is that the impacted wisdom tooth needs to be removed first.
Aaron212
post Jul 7 2022, 09:03 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(FinestConfusion @ Jun 21 2022, 08:22 AM)

If you are really keen on saving the tooth you will not let it rot until that stage and still be thinking of saving that mere 1.5k

Pay up and get immediate treatment for a queestionable prognosis, or keep your money for implant down the road which is >5k

Now gov dental clinic now work on appointment basis, and RCT is a tedious procedure, more so in your case
Pick
SkyHermit
post Jul 14 2022, 01:51 PM

1,799 posts

Advice on which teeth brace should I choose.
Been to 2 different dentist, let's call them A and B
Feel like both got pros and cons.

A) Invisalign vs B) Zenyum

A) Invisalign
Already did the free consultation and they use iTero scanner and I can see the simulation instantly. Since my case is mild and would most likely take 5 months to complete. So far I am satisfied with the 'after' simulation result.
They said if I am interested we can do ClinCheck next and pay few hundred ringgit. (haven't done yet)
Thing is, they say x-ray is not required since my back teeth will not be affected (questionable? no x-ray before Invisalign?). Once ClinCheck is okay then can start my treatment

B) Zenyum
Did the initial consultation with x-ray scanning and using the Mold/Dental Impression 2 weeks ago and was still waiting for the simulation result. Already paid for the initial scanning fee.
Felt that this dentist is good but they don't use scanner and still use Mold/Dental Impression (old technology?). Would it affect the outcome compared to using scanner? And he also said I am the first Zenyum customer in here but already did many other brand of tooth brace for other customers.
Price is like 35% cheaper than the A) Invisalign.
Has good reviews on Google.

TLDR ;
A) Invisalign one has high class feeling inside and use better tech, but says no x-ray needed
B) Zenyum one is cheaper and took X-ray, but used old tech, and I will be the first Zenyum customer

Wonder which one should I choose?

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Jul 14 2022, 02:07 PM
Aaron212
post Jul 17 2022, 01:01 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 14 2022, 09:51 AM)
Advice on which teeth brace should I choose.
Been to 2 different dentist, let's call them A and B
Feel like both got pros and cons.

A) Invisalign    vs  B) Zenyum
A) Invisalign
Already did the free consultation and they use iTero scanner and I can see the simulation instantly. Since my case is mild and would most likely take 5 months to complete. So far I am satisfied with the 'after' simulation result.
They said if I am interested we can do ClinCheck next and pay few hundred ringgit. (haven't done yet)
Thing is, they say x-ray is not required since my back teeth will not be affected (questionable? no x-ray before Invisalign?). Once ClinCheck is okay then can start my treatment

B) Zenyum
Did the initial consultation with x-ray scanning and using the Mold/Dental Impression 2 weeks ago and was still waiting for the simulation result. Already paid for the initial scanning fee.
Felt that this dentist is good but they don't use scanner and still use Mold/Dental Impression (old technology?). Would it affect the outcome compared to using scanner? And he also said I am the first Zenyum customer in here but already did many other brand of tooth brace for other customers.
Price is like 35% cheaper than the A) Invisalign.
Has good reviews on Google.

TLDR ;
A) Invisalign one has high class feeling inside and use better tech, but says no x-ray needed
B) Zenyum one is cheaper and took X-ray, but used old tech, and I will be the first Zenyum customer

Wonder which one should I choose?
Can list down both the price?

Invisalign is a better well known brand for a longer time. Other players trying to get apiece of the cake

Many of zenyum, sebaris, and many more offer quite cheap prices if compared to invisalign. They even say dont have to see your dentist regularly to follow up progress. But if I were you, I will choose the dentist who will monitor my progress. Not throw me under the bus and wear those aligners set following their prescription and do not need follow up. Just my opinion.
SkyHermit
post Jul 17 2022, 02:15 PM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jul 17 2022, 01:01 PM)
Can list down both the price?

Invisalign is a better well known brand for a longer time. Other players trying to get apiece of the cake

Many of zenyum, sebaris, and many more offer quite cheap prices if compared to invisalign. They even say dont have to see your dentist regularly to follow up progress. But if I were you, I will choose the dentist who will monitor my progress. Not throw me under the bus and wear those aligners set following their prescription  and do not need follow up. Just my opinion.
The Invisalign is around RM16k
The Zenyum one is around Rm10.5k

Yeah the Invisalign one need to go to dental office once per month, The Zenyum one only upload the picture of my teeth regularly using the app.

But I am travelling all the time also, not sure if I can make it to dentist every month.

Just that the dentist from Invisalign one didn't want to do X-ray before starting my treatment as he said it isn't needed. Everywhere I read online says x-ray is needed before starting any teeth treatment
Aaron212
post Jul 17 2022, 04:05 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 17 2022, 10:15 AM)
The Invisalign is around RM16k
The Zenyum one is around Rm10.5k

Yeah the Invisalign one need to go to dental office once per month, The Zenyum one only upload the picture of my teeth regularly using the app.

But I am travelling all the time also, not sure if I can make it to dentist every month.

Just that the dentist from Invisalign one didn't want to do X-ray before starting my treatment as he said it isn't needed. Everywhere I read online says x-ray is needed before starting any teeth treatment
U said invisilign told u treatment time around 5 months, I guess really mild case only. U can try other dentist as usually for mild case can easily get below 10k price but also depends on location

U can consult others too like Dr clear aligners. Not promoting but just giving u an extra option for aligners

I only do the traditional metal braces so no benefit to me
SkyHermit
post Jul 19 2022, 08:19 AM

1,799 posts

QUOTE(Aaron212 @ Jul 17 2022, 04:05 PM)
U said invisilign told u treatment time around 5 months, I guess really mild case only. U can try other dentist as usually for mild case can easily get below 10k price but also depends on location

U can consult others too like Dr clear aligners. Not promoting but just giving u an extra option for aligners

I only do the traditional metal braces so no benefit to me
Yea I think it is mild also but actually last year I went to another Invisalign dentist and she said mine will take almost 2 years because I need to pluck 2 teeth behind and she thinks it was serious. Luckily the recent 2 dentists think my one is mild (I posted my "before" pics below)

Anyway, I am not living in Malaysia now so the price is more expensive after converting to MYR.

It is Invisalign GO for Rm16,000 in here and I think it is quite cheap already.

This post has been edited by SkyHermit: Jul 19 2022, 08:20 AM

51 Pages « < 44 45 46 47 48 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:37 AM