Everything About Your Gigi, Anything related to teeth or dentistry

Aaron212
post Sep 3 2020, 09:56 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Aug 24 2020, 09:52 AM)
is it true that coffee/ tea can cause brown coloration on teeth?

is there any dental cure for brownish teeth?
Yes its true. A trick I like to do is to drink some plain water after done with coffee so at least the stains will not build up too fast.

If it is stained due to external substance such as coffee you'll need to go for scaling & polishing, then whitening depending on your teeth's condition
Aaron212
post Sep 3 2020, 10:08 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(klch87 @ Sep 3 2020, 06:05 AM)
Thank you.

I was told teeth whitening can be damaging to your teeth because it applies chemicals on the teeth surface.
Is this myth or a fact?
Yes fact. Thats why a real dentist, not a fake person offering illegal whitening, willl not routinely recommend whitening.

You, as the patient, will weight the pros & cons and then decide for yourself whether to go for whitening. Whitening does not cure anything besides giving you a bright smile.
Aaron212
post Feb 24 2021, 04:59 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Sherman Kong @ Feb 16 2021, 12:10 PM)
hi, may i know what's the market price for extracting a wisdom tooth?
I'm currently 20 years old, studying in U, so i wonder it might get pricey to extract at a private dental shop.
is it possible to extract at a government clinic?

Besides that u can also visit any Uni that offers dentistry courses either public or private as they will have their own dental clinic run. It will be much cheaper too an waiting list might not be as long as Gov clinic. Just another suggestion
Aaron212
post Jan 8 2022, 10:05 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Trees @ Jan 8 2022, 05:54 PM)
doing a crowning bridge below 2k is consider cheap? cantilever to be exact
Hard to say cheap or expensive. Depends on number of teeth being replaced, material, lab fees and all, difficulty included
Aaron212
post Jan 8 2022, 10:36 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Trees @ Jan 8 2022, 06:12 PM)
metal + porcelain, premolar as support, doing a bridge for one molar

dentist say too small for the gap to perform implant/dentures, so he recommend me do bridges instead
Quite fair
Aaron212
post Jul 7 2022, 09:03 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(FinestConfusion @ Jun 21 2022, 08:22 AM)
So I have this really bad molar cavity like its pretty much almost just 50% tooth now. I went to a private dentist and they said that it's barely on the edge of saveable - recommending an RCT quick.

I went to a government hospital to get a second opinion, they said that usually they would just remove the tooth, it's too much of a hassle at that point, because my wisdom tooth is still there and an RCT on that molar needs my wisdom tooth to be out of the way. I told them that I actually already had an appointment with the initial private dentist - scheduled a week after to remove the wisdom tooth. The government dentist said "oh, actually then maybe its doable, come back 2 weeks after the wisdom tooth is removed if that private dentist still says an RCT is doable."

Now my concern is should I go RCT with the government dentist or private? I'd rather not spend ~RM1.5k on an RCT, so I was hoping the government one was okay but I don't know the logistics on how they operate. I was able to book an appointment with them a day before meeting, but that was just to get a check and a second opinion. Does an actual operation like an RCT require an even longer waiting time?
If you are really keen on saving the tooth you will not let it rot until that stage and still be thinking of saving that mere 1.5k

Pay up and get immediate treatment for a queestionable prognosis, or keep your money for implant down the road which is >5k

Now gov dental clinic now work on appointment basis, and RCT is a tedious procedure, more so in your case
Pick
Aaron212
post Jul 17 2022, 01:01 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 14 2022, 09:51 AM)
Advice on which teeth brace should I choose.
Been to 2 different dentist, let's call them A and B
Feel like both got pros and cons.

A) Invisalign    vs  B) Zenyum
A) Invisalign
Already did the free consultation and they use iTero scanner and I can see the simulation instantly. Since my case is mild and would most likely take 5 months to complete. So far I am satisfied with the 'after' simulation result.
They said if I am interested we can do ClinCheck next and pay few hundred ringgit. (haven't done yet)
Thing is, they say x-ray is not required since my back teeth will not be affected (questionable? no x-ray before Invisalign?). Once ClinCheck is okay then can start my treatment

B) Zenyum
Did the initial consultation with x-ray scanning and using the Mold/Dental Impression 2 weeks ago and was still waiting for the simulation result. Already paid for the initial scanning fee.
Felt that this dentist is good but they don't use scanner and still use Mold/Dental Impression (old technology?). Would it affect the outcome compared to using scanner? And he also said I am the first Zenyum customer in here but already did many other brand of tooth brace for other customers.
Price is like 35% cheaper than the A) Invisalign.
Has good reviews on Google.

TLDR ;
A) Invisalign one has high class feeling inside and use better tech, but says no x-ray needed
B) Zenyum one is cheaper and took X-ray, but used old tech, and I will be the first Zenyum customer

Wonder which one should I choose?
Can list down both the price?

Invisalign is a better well known brand for a longer time. Other players trying to get apiece of the cake

Many of zenyum, sebaris, and many more offer quite cheap prices if compared to invisalign. They even say dont have to see your dentist regularly to follow up progress. But if I were you, I will choose the dentist who will monitor my progress. Not throw me under the bus and wear those aligners set following their prescription and do not need follow up. Just my opinion.
Aaron212
post Jul 17 2022, 04:05 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 17 2022, 10:15 AM)
The Invisalign is around RM16k
The Zenyum one is around Rm10.5k

Yeah the Invisalign one need to go to dental office once per month, The Zenyum one only upload the picture of my teeth regularly using the app.

But I am travelling all the time also, not sure if I can make it to dentist every month.

Just that the dentist from Invisalign one didn't want to do X-ray before starting my treatment as he said it isn't needed. Everywhere I read online says x-ray is needed before starting any teeth treatment
U said invisilign told u treatment time around 5 months, I guess really mild case only. U can try other dentist as usually for mild case can easily get below 10k price but also depends on location

U can consult others too like Dr clear aligners. Not promoting but just giving u an extra option for aligners

I only do the traditional metal braces so no benefit to me
Aaron212
post Jul 19 2022, 08:27 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 19 2022, 04:19 AM)
Yea I think it is mild also but actually last year I went to another Invisalign dentist and she said mine will take almost 2 years because I need to pluck 2 teeth behind and she thinks it was serious. Luckily the recent 2 dentists think my one is mild (I posted my "before" pics below)

Anyway, I am not living in Malaysia now so the price is more expensive after converting to MYR.

It is Invisalign GO for Rm16,000 in here and I think it is quite cheap already.

Looks good

Bear in mind the simulated results is not 100% accurate it just gives u a general idea. Can proceed if everything ticks your box
Aaron212
post Jul 19 2022, 08:44 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(SkyHermit @ Jul 19 2022, 04:39 AM)
Thanks. Yeah I am satisfied with the 'after' simulation result from Invisalign.

Even though no x-ray needed beforehand, it is okay too?
Based on that simulation and 5 months treatment period, I assume your only complain is to straighten the front teeth right?

X ray is a must in most cases, at least that's what I practice. Maybe for their system is not necessary if not requiring too much teeth movement
Aaron212
post Feb 4 2025, 11:44 AM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Feb 4 2025, 07:40 AM)
will gum recession result in tooth loss even if he practices good oral hygiene afterward?
how severe does it have to be before it causes tooth loss?
are there any other methods to restore the gums and cover back the teeth?  laugh.gif
tooth loss relating highly to mobility

which is when the bone around ur tooth getting less n less

so go check with dentist n ask for treatment options

there are ways to restore ur gum ( aka pull back up the gum line to make it not so ugly)

but better consult

and not all dentists knows how to do it

0.0337sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:01 AM