Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 05:29 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 18 2014, 02:00 PM)
Was in BR to IBG out matured 3 mth FD. Plan to go to SCB for the 4.25% FD.

Was there 3 weeks ago and the staff said BR is revising their FD. Asked today, answer becomes not sure. no idea.
Ah Goat, Have you placed your 4.25% FD with SCB today? Or tomorrow? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 05:34 PM

2,490 posts

Affin Bank FD Promo, valid until 31 December
4.18% for 15 months, additional 20% in saving and hold for 15 months
4.10% for 12 months, additional 20% in saving and hold for 12 months

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 18 2014, 06:03 PM
bbgoat
post Sep 18 2014, 05:36 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 05:29 PM)
Ah Goat, Have you placed your 4.25% FD with SCB today? Or tomorrow?  hmm.gif
Plan to call tomorrow before I go. Hopefully still available. Really hate BR not issuing cheque. Lose 1 day interest and the inconvenience. shakehead.gif
sylille
post Sep 18 2014, 05:41 PM

45 posts

Affin Islamic offering special FD rates (not publicised) until further notice (no cut-off date).

1 mth - 3.42% p.a
3 mths - 3.65% p.a.

Forgot to ask if new fund and min deposit required, but the last time in July they asked for min fresh fund of RM10K.

Be careful when you rentas out of SCB. Money supposed to reach recipient bank within the same working day if applied before 2 pm but my money did not reach the recipient bank until two days later and only after I followed up with them. I complained to the manager but no apologies or explanation nor refund of the RM9 rentas fee. On top of that I 'lost' two days interest with the recipientnbank. This happened about two years back. After that I closed all my SCB accounts including the very many Savings Accounts the 'lengchai' Sales Exec instructed us to open (we found out later it was done to meet his target) during SCB's last big FD campaign.
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 05:42 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 18 2014, 05:36 PM)
Plan to call tomorrow before I go. Hopefully still available. Really hate BR not issuing cheque. Lose 1 day interest and the inconvenience.  shakehead.gif
Oh..Rentas could not wire fund on time meh..?
I think tomorrow should be available la..
RM 300 M is a very big amount, I doubt can hit this target within 9 working days? hmm.gif

bbgoat
post Sep 18 2014, 05:50 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 05:42 PM)
Oh..Rentas could not wire fund on time meh..?
I think tomorrow should be available la..
RM 300 M is a very big amount, I doubt can hit this target within 9 working days?  hmm.gif
Cannot do RENTAS in BR branch. 300M not really big. If we have each person like what you said before (to get LCD TV), 300 person will fill up the quota already ! tongue.gif
pinksapphire
post Sep 18 2014, 05:56 PM

1,264 posts

Helllooo guys...I'm back after disappearing for some time, lol...haven't been much in touch with FD rates and promos of late. From what I've read in this thread so far, looks like Ambank's good for the short term placement (something that I'm looking for). Is 3.85% the highest one we have so far for short term? I thought last time the hype was about 4%.

Hope I can place some by tomorrow itself...headache looking at too many.
bbgoat
post Sep 18 2014, 05:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 05:34 PM)
RHB FD Promo, forgot to ask valid until when? Min 10K fresh fund
3.80% for 6 months
3.85% for 9 months
For RHB, I have mentioned that it is until Dec 2014. You also have updated post 2. Uncle must have too many things in the mind ? tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Sep 18 2014, 06:01 PM

6,614 posts

OPR maintained at 3.25%

http://www.bnm.gov.my/index.php?ch=en_pres...ess_all&ac=3067
nexona88
post Sep 18 2014, 06:04 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 18 2014, 06:01 PM)
so good news or not? hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 06:14 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Sep 18 2014, 05:57 PM)
For RHB, I have mentioned that it is until Dec 2014. You also have updated post 2. Uncle must have too many things in the mind ?  tongue.gif
Ya loh.. I forgot about it.. Thanks for the correction.. notworthy.gif

So you win... thumbup.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 18 2014, 06:04 PM)
so good news or not? hmm.gif
This depends..but for FD depositors, it is not a good news.. sad.gif

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Sep 18 2014, 05:56 PM)
Helllooo guys...I'm back after disappearing for some time, lol...haven't been much in touch with FD rates and promos of late. From what I've read in this thread so far, looks like Ambank's good for the short term placement (something that I'm looking for). Is 3.85% the highest one we have so far for short term? I thought last time the hype was about 4%.

Hope I can place some by tomorrow itself...headache looking at too many.
Welcome back.. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Sep 18 2014, 06:26 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 06:27 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(sylille @ Sep 18 2014, 05:41 PM)
Affin Islamic offering special FD rates (not publicised) until further notice (no cut-off date).

1 mth - 3.42% p.a
3 mths - 3.65% p.a.

Forgot to ask if new fund and min deposit required, but the last time in July they asked for min fresh fund of RM10K.

Be careful when you rentas out of SCB.  Money supposed to reach recipient bank within the same working day if applied before 2 pm but my money did not reach the recipient bank until two days later and only after I followed up with them. I complained to the manager but no apologies or explanation nor refund of the RM9 rentas fee.  On top of that I 'lost' two days interest with the recipientnbank. This happened about two years back. After that I closed all my SCB accounts including the very many Savings Accounts the 'lengchai' Sales Exec instructed us to open (we found out later it was done to meet his target) during SCB's last big FD campaign.
So are these 2 FD promos available now officially..?
I was in Affin 3 hours ago, but Affin staff did not tell me about these 2 promos..

nexona88
post Sep 18 2014, 06:31 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 06:27 PM)
I was in Affin 3 hours ago, but Affin staff did not tell me about these 2 promos..
u went Affin Bank or Affin Islamic Bank branch?

Normally Affin Bank Branch don't actively promo their Islamic products, they're more into conventional products nod.gif

This post has been edited by nexona88: Sep 18 2014, 06:33 PM
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 06:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 18 2014, 06:31 PM)
u went Affin Bank or Affin Islamic Bank branch?

Normally Affin Bank Branch don't actively promo their Islamic products, they're more into conventional products  nod.gif
I went to Affin Bank in Taman Maluri..I think it was Affin Islamic Bank, but not so sure..
Usually Islamic products can earn slightly better profit, agree..?
nexona88
post Sep 18 2014, 06:42 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 06:37 PM)
I went to Affin Bank in Taman Maluri..I think it was Affin Islamic Bank, but not so sure..
Usually Islamic products can earn slightly better profit, agree..?
it's Affin Bank. Affin Islamic Bank only have single branch in KL, that's in Fraser Business Park icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure, but looks like better rate than conventional one hmm.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 07:17 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 18 2014, 02:03 PM)
Sh*t
Just placed 9 mths @ 3.85 with AmBank tis Mon  cry.gif
Not really Sh*t la.. 9 moths tenure could be a good timing to catch with next OPR raise..
I had placed 6 months with Am Bank before SCB launched its FD promos.. Ai.. real unexpected.. sad.gif

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Sep 18 2014, 06:42 PM)
it's Affin Bank. Affin Islamic Bank only have single branch in KL, that's in Fraser Business Park icon_rolleyes.gif

I'm not sure, but looks like better rate than conventional one hmm.gif
Fraser Business Park..?
Is it easy to find parking there?
Can find parking on the street?
Preferable free parking

Banks' FD war will stop for a short while... sad.gif
BoomChaCha
post Sep 18 2014, 08:01 PM

2,490 posts

Just discovered RHB allows to withdraw FD in all branches nationwide.

But do not understand why sometimes when withdraw FD, bank will ask where am I going to bring the money to?
Is it a Bank Negara requirement?
bbgoat
post Sep 18 2014, 08:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 06:14 PM)

So you win... thumbup.gif

I win also I lose. Would have been happy if OPR increased this time instead of Nov. smile.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 08:01 PM)

But do not understand why sometimes when withdraw FD, bank will ask where am I going to bring the money to?
Is it a Bank Negara requirement?
Starting about few months ago, have encountered a few banks asking this question. Could be BNM requirement. The question is more on "what is the purpose of withdrawing the FD". biggrin.gif
Ramjade
post Sep 18 2014, 08:34 PM

24,332 posts

Mine was found better offers? I just said yes. biggrin.gif
sylille
post Sep 18 2014, 08:36 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Sep 18 2014, 06:27 PM)
Guess it is on right away. Branch Manager called me earlier today to inform me about this. Think like the last time you will have to tell the counter staff to ask their higher-ups about these special rates.

FYI, funds newly deposited into Affin's savings account can be used to open FD that require fresh funds. I have done it before with the assistance of the Branch Manager. I realised that the Branch Manager does have quite a fair bit of autonomy. Once, the BM even waived the fresh fund requirement to allow me to open FD at special promo rates.

124 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:27 AM