15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

> Military Thread V13

waja2000
post Oct 13 2014, 01:29 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(Frozen_Sun @ Oct 13 2014, 12:58 PM)
Only $13 million each......

Need to build more than a dozen of these. the Frosch class is already too old.
so cheap, ask RMN order few, than logistic issue can be solved.
waja2000
post Oct 13 2014, 05:17 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 13 2014, 03:21 PM)
Royal Malaysian Navy targeting 2019 for Gowind Frigates

Adm Aziz also said the RMN would soon increase its capabilities in operations there with nine surplus US Navy Mark 5 Special Operations Boats along with the purchase of a number of locally built fast boats.
News Link: Malaysia targeting 2019 for service of Gowind-class Frigates
Actually now got enhancement version call mark V.1 (aka MAKO, to fix crew injury issue in mark V) but still US navy Specially Ops version, there manufacture Hodgdon Defense Composites come out MAKO export version called "Coastal Patrol Boat" by adding crew accommodations and Galley for longer deployments, Spec/performance still same with MAKO, so can make lite food or kopi/teh tarik at sea ..... much more suitable for RMN as patrol boat.

http://www.hodgdondefensecomposites.com/pr...s-coastal.shtml
http://www.hodgdondefensecomposites.com/cpb_brochure.pdf

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 13 2014, 05:21 PM
waja2000
post Oct 13 2014, 05:41 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 13 2014, 05:36 PM)
Die la, china see vietnam and indon and japan and aussie buy submarine, now build asw so much, our scorpene also gg
gg?
waja2000
post Oct 13 2014, 11:36 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 13 2014, 11:19 PM)
How do you guys feel about our sgpvs having only one line of defence against missiles (using their mica)?? Personally i feel that its really not sufficient and i think we should invest a few more million to significantly improve the chance of survivability of them.

most value for money option would probably be adding 4 more sylver cells and quad packing crotale vt1 missiles, gives the ships another line of defence and maybe throw in a millenium ciws, although i think the crotales would be much more worth and judging from dcns photos there seems more than enough space to add in more than 4 extra cells.

most ships nowadays have at least 2 layers of defence other than the main gun, even indons sigma have millenium
sgpvs just lite frigate, missile place already fix in design before ship built.
if got ESSM than very good liao,
also sgpv using Smart-S 3D radar only support Mica and ESSM,
other think is VT1 quite old already , event MICA also too shot range, better using latest CAMM missile with 25KM+ range, can quad-pack fit in both sylver/MK41, event sgpv only install 8 vls, x 4 =32 missle. is enough for defense propose.
but anyway,our RMN/gov not have future mind set, so ok with 8x mica.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 14 2014, 12:17 AM
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 12:03 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(edliew07 @ Oct 13 2014, 11:40 PM)
The Mark V are hot transfer from the US, which is free. We only need to pay for the refurbishment cost. Question is this refurbishment is done locally (as propose by RMN) or in the States?
If free than good, also means we need buy something US military asset liao..... more and more F18 will get contract.
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 12:04 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 13 2014, 05:54 PM)
Sry gg is gaming slang, can means like dunnid play already
till not understand ... can more simple ,or write proper word.
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 12:18 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 13 2014, 11:42 PM)
bro i think u referring to ngpv biggrin.gif and our kedah class gonna upgrade?? Ada sos??
see wrongly, already correct it.
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 12:22 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Oct 14 2014, 12:09 AM)
This ship probably the closest we can get to USS San Antonio class  tongue.gif
/ carrier

This ship got guns ah??
USS San Antonio class is LPD loh......
MV Bunga Mas 5 is Auxiliary ship, 2 totally different class of ship.

If got $$$, can get DCNS Brave or Damen JSS.....
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 10:36 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 06:22 AM)
Right now, I'd prefer it better if RMN buy 1-2 ex MISC freighters and turn them into logistics & transport sealift ships. It would be much more logical & easy to turn civilian freighters into military freighters, don't need any mil-spec requirements but probably need to add a Ro-Ro system for easier vehicle embarkation/disembarkation. Now RMN's logistics fleet very reduced after KD Sri Inderapura burned down & for logistics and supplies can only rely on KD Sri Mahawangsa & KD Sri Inderasakti. 

Malaysia is split between peninsular & east Malaysia by sea, better if RMN have more supply & logistics ships to keep SLOC running smoothly so it's easier & faster to move stuff so the military can be more flexible in deploying and transporting troops & assets, especially now as the government have decided to significantly reinforce Eastern Sabah & SCS coast, so can expect increased military movements between peninsular & east Malaysia.
Ex-MISC just workaround solution, it work at sabah esscom, because just as mother ship to monitor surface using radar and refuel for small ship, it consider limited functionality.
if can accept no-military Spec hull, why not buy USD 90 million makassar Class LPD or more cheaper Indo make new LST to solved logistic/transport issue, anyway makassar Class LPD still military ship and design and full military operation. some more buy ex-misc also take some money and modification/new hardware, more or less same cost. it design not for Military logistic like MBT etc and also weapon/missile delivery.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 14 2014, 10:41 AM
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 02:21 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 12:30 PM)
I'm talking about converting ships for normal logistics shipping, not wartime operations sealift. Buying LPD or LST to just to ferry tanks for deployments seems rather extravagant. In peacetime we usually use civilian charter,but I feel better if RMN have 1-2 dedicated sealift ships for ferrying logistics & troops across SCS on its own, just in case for some reason we can't use charter ships.

Either case, converting an existing merchant ship is relatively easier than building a ship from the ground up and cheaper than buying a new purpose-built transport ship. Even US navy use Military Sealift Command (MSC) to buy/lease and convert freighter ships to move around military logistics & supplies. It's so much that its reported that the US Navy uses the MSC for up to 95% of military sealift in peacetime.

MV Cape Victory, a former freighter converted to logistics ship
buying LPD/LST not means only for ferry tanks, it use for multi-mission, include logistic and military operation or rescue/humanity ops, that why we want to get since 4 year ago. peacetime we usually use civilian charter not in issue, but some sensitive missile/weapon can't use civilian charter.
If get few unit sealift ships means more hard for RMN to get LPD for operation, some more we need extra seamen/crew for the ship that we lack now, our navy base also limited space to put extra sealift.
It can't take US navy as comparisons, they operation world wide require alot support/auxiliary ship. there navy base also alot bigger.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 14 2014, 02:23 PM
waja2000
post Oct 14 2014, 07:30 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 07:14 PM)
Again, I understand the uses of an LPD ship,but I'm talking about a logistics fleet of about 1 or 2 freight ships for cross-SCS cargo runs only. I'm sure buying 1 or 2 ex-freighter ships and painting them grey won't take much the RMN's annual budget (a used 5,000-ton freight ship costs about $10-20 million USD on average, according to my research, although internal modifications for it to fit large military equipment will cost extra). As the issue of crew, a freighter usually only has 20-30 crew only & running a freighter doesn't need as high a training level as running a frigate. Also because of its use as a peacetime logistics run, the ship can be permanently based at a civilian port and the cargo distributed/loaded from there.

(Also how much does shipping companies charge for the military for renting their cargo ships? Anybody got any idea?)

Also, how is it buying 1-2 ex freighter ships makes it harder for RMN to buy LPD in the first place? The RMN annual budget as it stand nowadays, we probably can't afford LPDs anytime soon. I mean, it's not like the navy can keep away some money from the annual budget in a bank and then buy LPDs when they have enough money saved to afford them. AFAIK once you get the budget for the year, you have to spend all of it in that year. So unless the RMN gets a significant annual budget increase that makes it possible to buy LPDs for that particular year, i don't see how we can afford LPDs in the first place. biggrin.gif
ok, usually military procurement not pay 1 shot, it divided to few year, let said LPD cost usd 100 mil each, if 2 unit will cost usd 200 million, if pay 20~30% deposit during contract sign, remaining will divided to pay yearly, example 3~4 year until ship official handover, cost will not much actually, like Gowind also pay cross 12 year, cross 3 malaysia plan.
waja2000
post Oct 15 2014, 12:59 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 14 2014, 08:10 PM)
And how would buying 2 ex-freighters throw off this equation somehow that they make it hard for us to buy LPDs? Plus you and I are probably savvy enough to know even if it says $100 mil on the price tag, the end price will be much higher than that. Also factor in the cost of helicopters, landing craft & the troops deployed onboard, plus other 'hidden costs' I'd wager to say the total cost will run way,way more than that. But that's besides the question.

What I'm saying is it so ridiculous for RMN to buy 1 or 2 good condition used ex-freighters at reasonable price (probably no more than $30 mil USD for 2), send to shipyard for modifications for 6 months, train sufficient crew until they can run a freighter and then within half a year you can get dedicated Navy-owned cargo ships to go on cross-SCS transport runs every month at your pleasure. I'm pretty sure that is a worthwhile target.

Heck, If RMN is also that dirt poor, another option RMN can take some ships on long-term lease from MISC, paint them grey and hire civilian crews as reservists to man the ships on supply runs. As long as we have dedicated logistics fleet running regular supply runs that don't rely 100% on civilian contractors.

"Amateurs talk about tactics,professionals study logistics"- General Robert S. Barrow (US Marine Corps)
Is very annoying can buy $500 mil on Each Gowind, but can't afford $500mil for 2 LPD. feel is our Gov policy model make RMN poor.
some reason i thinking,
1) Bcos our country prefer "more famous brand asset", sure price is high.
2) Bcos Gov policy always like local make means TOT/IP so price easy cost extra 25~50% and extra time to complete construction
3) Some military fans say RMN more prefer Military-Spec ship. no safe to operate civilian-spec ship
4) a good brand military-spec LPD will cost around at lease $200~300+ mil for 8k~10k tons LPD
5) Gowind and 8x8 used up a lot budget.
6) some fans say we can't buy value Military asset from Singapore/Indonesia/China due to politic reason, or there product is questionable on reliability.

as i said, procurement will pay over few year so not make cost too high.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 15 2014, 01:08 AM
waja2000
post Oct 15 2014, 01:27 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 15 2014, 12:36 PM)
btw I dun think famous brand is what the government looking at.
if not we already have tons of german, england and us stuff.
As for china stuff it is best we avoid their high tier stuff first wait for them to build up their reputation.
I dun think we have problem in buying indonesia stuff.
singapore and israel yes a huge political hurdle is there.

Well as for me.
what our government military policy need to look at.

1. Look at the overall assets which have to urgently replace and which have to build on number and which have to trim off.
2. Looking at what our priority is in short term, mid term, long term and most of all which direction are we going to.
3. Review the entire procurment process what is the sop, bidder requirements,
what other benefits we are looking at - commercial tot? Military tot? Education development? Business, trades? And so on.
feasibility study is seem to be lacking of here. Av-8 is the best example here.
agree, well said
waja2000
post Oct 15 2014, 03:31 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 15 2014, 03:00 PM)
Various stages of the 5 Type 052D Guided-Missile Destroyer still under construction

6th Type 052D hull still under construction on the slipway
This one not 052D,see front also know.
waja2000
post Oct 15 2014, 10:19 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 15 2014, 09:56 PM)
Any guesses on which shipyard will build the ships??
haha, patrol craft, 46meter, 30mm gun, 7 days,price $1x mil, i guest Ares 150 Hercules Ares shipyard turkey, spec just match Ares 150.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 15 2014, 10:21 PM
waja2000
post Oct 16 2014, 12:13 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(junchuan @ Oct 15 2014, 10:28 PM)
I guess cmn's vigilante or smth from byo marine biggrin.gif
maybe indo KCR-40 ?
waja2000
post Oct 16 2014, 10:02 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 16 2014, 09:35 AM)
It is scaneagle type of uav anyway.
I dun think it is overkill it help to increase the range of patrol and provide sufficient fire power.
I think these batch of patrolship are meant for hot area like esszone.
scaneagle no much suitable use in so small patrol craft, size, not small launcher and recovery tools, also take alot space ( i means design space for it) , if frigate is ok bcos Helicopter room is big enought,
if really want UAV, Schiebel Camcopter S-100 more suitable, takeoff and landing just like Helicopter. store also easy. no launcher and recovery tool.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 16 2014, 10:03 AM
waja2000
post Oct 16 2014, 10:31 AM

137 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 16 2014, 10:06 AM)
Still too early to said that until we look at the actual design.
s-100 you need hangar and landing platforms
yes, wait to see design,
anyway i think for that small budget, i don't think the 45 meter patrol craft will have space to design extra space for UAV operation.
not only that the patrol craft also need design storage about 500 liter Aircraft fuel for use in UAV operation
S-100 just need small hanger/landing platform.

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 16 2014, 11:01 AM
waja2000
post Oct 16 2014, 12:30 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Oct 16 2014, 12:19 PM)
Adding new boats in phases should help. Obviously right now we can't replace on 1:1 basis, but introducing new boats and retiring old boats at a lower rate should help keep a sufficient number without losing too many boats, for example for every 2 boats introduced, APMM should retire 1 old boat. This should be reasonable.

Having too large a number of boats can be a drag on APMM because of increased servicing/upkeep time and cost, especially the older boats.

Biggest problem here is the possible overlapping of jurisdiction with Marine Police. Is this still a major problem?
Possible issue with overlap with RMN patrol.
also add new and bigger boats cost means operation cost also increasing (more fuel cost, logistic, official/crew cost) Gov need increase operation budget apmm too.
for new boat hope gov can provide budget to add new boat 3~4 unit each year for continue 10 year should be ok, apmm also need time to get/training officer and crew.
waja2000
post Oct 16 2014, 02:20 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(yinchet @ Oct 16 2014, 01:29 PM)
3-4 units per year that too slow to replace.
Should follow the current 7 ship per years would be nice.
I do think mmea need a 6 units large ship that can operate can high sea state.
yes, 7 will be nice, depend Gov budget,
anyway, need to divided to size, more easy to calculate procurement cost and operation cost,
for large ship, means 1000++ Tons? for me, i'm sure yes, now days asean country coast guard ship is bigger and bigger,
we should have few large ship like 2k tons level, but still depend budget an gov policy. like damen maritime patrol ship (OPV) can operate in sea state 9, cost $100~150 mil

This post has been edited by waja2000: Oct 16 2014, 02:38 PM

15 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic

0.0573sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 06:35 AM