Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance
roxx
Sep 10 2014, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 10:21 AM) Guys! I got a bunch of 3M detailing products....any feedback at your end isnt good or bad? I got it as sponsorship products. Enlighten me! Yvonne Yvonne from ZTH? nvr used 3M before but looks promising..
Allfix-
Sep 10 2014, 10:34 AM
[
This post has been edited by Allfix-: Sep 10 2014, 10:35 AM
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(roxx @ Sep 10 2014, 10:27 AM) Yvonne from ZTH? nvr used 3M before but looks promising.. Hey there... I am not the Yvonne you are referring. I am a motoring blogger by interest. An Automotive Analyst by Profession. Since 3M gave me whole lotsa detailing products as sponsorship . So i was thinking to ask first before hurting my car.
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 10:21 AM) Guys! I got a bunch of 3M detailing products....any feedback at your end isnt good or bad? I got it as sponsorship products. Enlighten me! Yvonne Which lines? Their consumer line that sells in the stores or those new ones in silver-ish sprayer bottle? I've tried a couple of stuffs in the consumer line (normal black bottles)and they are decent enough...nothing to shout about but good enough for general use. Haven't tried those that are in the silver-ish bottles...don't know if they're the same or different. I also have a few of their 3M Perfect It compounds/polishes...good...but not so promising. I like their buffing pads though.... QUOTE(roxx @ Sep 10 2014, 10:21 AM) Master.. What time? Location ok for me but cannot promise ya.. Yep thats the one.. Currently AH only got Dawn Ultra Original and Dawn Citrus original.. Nvrmind later I go ace Mines plak.. Or else sunlight ftw.. Lol.. Time starts at around 9.30pm until....well...some times it could go until the wee hours... Meaning to stop by there later this afternoon after work...well...not really 'there' there but plan to do some groceries shopping at Jaya Grocer and ACE is just beside it. You want me to get you one if I can find it there? I can pass it to you at the TT....
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 10:48 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 10:38 AM) Since 3M gave me whole lotsa detailing products as sponsorship . So i was thinking to ask first before hurting my car.  I can volunteer to test them if you want I'm just a hobbyist/enthusiast with no associations what-so-ever with any brands. I'm always eager to try out new products (especially the 3M new silver packagings lines) and interested to see whether 3M had made any progress with their products after Meguiars takeover..... Oh...and don't worry. I don't think a huge name like 3M would produce something that would 'hurt' your car....cuz it would 'hurt' them more if they did....hehehe..... ps. just make sure you read the label and use them as instructed....just to be safe.... This post has been edited by KrisMas: Sep 10 2014, 10:55 AM
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 10:53 AM
I have the range of the silver-ish bottles from :- All Purpose Scrub Spray Wax Leather and Vinyl Restorer Tire Restorer I heard the feedback from others detailing shop it is not bad thou. Tot of getting more advise before trying it on my ride. Cause my ride is WHITE and I dont wanna hurt it that badly. Yvonne
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 10:58 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 10:48 AM) I can volunteer to test them if you want I'm just a hobbyist/enthusiast with no associations what-so-ever with any brands. I'm always eager to try out new products (especially the 3M new silver packagings lines) and interested to see whether 3M had made any progress with their products after Meguiars takeover..... Oh...and don't worry. I don't think a huge name like 3M would produce something that would 'hurt' your car....cuz it would 'hurt' them more if they did....hehehe..... ps. just make sure you read the label and use them as instructed....just to be safe....  You are real funny! I am eager to try as well! My ride has been a product testing ride since I receive my 1st sponsor. It is scary and yet it is fun. Anyhow, i did something stupid to my headlamp .. they are not my sponsor but i decided to be white rat in the lab. Product testing is fun la...but the risks always there.
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 11:03 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 10:53 AM) I have the range of the silver-ish bottles from :- All Purpose Scrub Spray Wax Leather and Vinyl Restorer Tire Restorer I heard the feedback from others detailing shop it is not bad thou. Tot of getting more advise before trying it on my ride. Cause my ride is WHITE and I dont wanna hurt it that badly. Yvonne
You should be alright with those. Just remember one thing though: product is just one part of the equation. The rest are method, techniques, tools and accessories, etc. For example, lets just assume that the Spray Wax is an excellent product. You'd need a good quality microfiber cloth and the right approach/method/technique to go with it. On many occasions people tends to blame the products when, in actual fact, they just didn't use/apply them properly.....
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 11:09 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 10:58 AM) Anyhow, i did something stupid to my headlamp .. they are not my sponsor but i decided to be white rat in the lab. Product testing is fun la...but the risks always there.  Well....nothing stupid about that...part of the learning process. Unless....you didn't learn anything and did the whole thing again.....hahahaha..... Yeah....the risks are always there when trying/DIY stuffs. But much would be reduced when you start by getting to know what you're trying to do BEFORE you actually start doing it. I tell you...some of the 'stupids' stuff I've tried...like getting an RM50 products to 'restore' something that would only cost me RM20 to replace...is that stupid or what?
efaceninja
Sep 10 2014, 11:11 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 10:48 AM) I can volunteer to test them if you want I'm just a hobbyist/enthusiast with no associations what-so-ever with any brands. I'm always eager to try out new products (especially the 3M new silver packagings lines) and interested to see whether 3M had made any progress with their products after Meguiars takeover..... These silver one? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... «
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 11:14 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 11:03 AM) You should be alright with those. Just remember one thing though: product is just one part of the equation. The rest are method, techniques, tools and accessories, etc. For example, lets just assume that the Spray Wax is an excellent product. You'd need a good quality microfiber cloth and the right approach/method/technique to go with it. On many occasions people tends to blame the products when, in actual fact, they just didn't use/apply them properly.....
Earlier on, 3M gave me another kinda spray. I had it done at the professional. Fully spray at the Infrared Room and let it sit for hours before I collect it. It was awesome. Yes, i agreed with what you said, never fully blame on the products when wrong application kicks in. This is very important for me as well, because the 3M personnel will constantly ask for feedback from me.
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 11:14 AM)
Earlier on, 3M gave me another kinda spray. I had it done at the professional. Fully spray at the Infrared Room and let it sit for hours before I collect it. It was awesome. Yes, i agreed with what you said, never fully blame on the products when wrong application kicks in. This is very important for me as well, because the 3M personnel will constantly ask for feedback from me. Eh? I tot you said your ride is white? Anyway....hrrrmm....would that be the 3M Paint Defender going onto the front of the hood there?
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 11:20 AM) Eh? I tot you said your ride is white? Anyway....hrrrmm....would that be the 3M Paint Defender going onto the front of the hood there? kekekekekekekekkekekekekeke : my ride is white....unfortunately, that day my ride is with Option Malaysia's Magazine. Had to used my colleague's Latio. And he is happy with it. Wow...Kris...smart huh.....Paint Defender
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Sep 10 2014, 11:11 AM) These silver one? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Yeah...those. Noticed them on the shelves for a while now and would have bought them to try if it's not for the price they're selling.  Nowadays a bit difficult to get 'approval' for the extra expenditure....
TSKrisMas
Sep 10 2014, 11:26 AM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 11:23 AM) Wow...Kris...smart huh.....Paint Defender  just a wild guess....judging from the way those taping and masking....correct ka?
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 11:27 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 11:26 AM) just a wild guess....judging from the way those taping and masking....correct ka? You can read it over at my blog:) http://mypinkgarage.blogspot.com/2014/08/a...-detailing.htmlso far, the result is ok. Going to test the 2nd batch and see the differents
mypinkgarage
Sep 10 2014, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 11:24 AM) nextime come look for me.......i always have 3M great deal. Definitely cheaper than retailer.
roxx
Sep 10 2014, 12:10 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Sep 10 2014, 10:41 AM) Which lines? Their consumer line that sells in the stores or those new ones in silver-ish sprayer bottle? I've tried a couple of stuffs in the consumer line (normal black bottles)and they are decent enough...nothing to shout about but good enough for general use. Haven't tried those that are in the silver-ish bottles...don't know if they're the same or different. I also have a few of their 3M Perfect It compounds/polishes...good...but not so promising. I like their buffing pads though.... Time starts at around 9.30pm until....well...some times it could go until the wee hours... Meaning to stop by there later this afternoon after work...well...not really 'there' there but plan to do some groceries shopping at Jaya Grocer and ACE is just beside it. You want me to get you one if I can find it there? I can pass it to you at the TT.... Thanks Master.. But am having free time today thus planning to go Ace for DPD.. Want to detail but weather macam mau hujan..
roxx
Sep 10 2014, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(efaceninja @ Sep 10 2014, 11:11 AM) These silver one? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I guess this product still new right? First time search for UC in aeon didnt see 3M product.. After several weeks (or months couldnt rmmber) go there the promoter suggested me to buy 3M but during that time was looking for megs hot rims.. So pandang 3M one eye only.. Hehe
MyWifeCar
Sep 10 2014, 12:21 PM
QUOTE(mypinkgarage @ Sep 10 2014, 11:27 AM) You can read it over at my blog:) http://mypinkgarage.blogspot.com/2014/08/a...-detailing.htmlso far, the result is ok. Going to test the 2nd batch and see the differents  Do you still wash your car regularly after the paint defender? Based on the pricing and 3M's reco, it seems to be very expensive to apply the whole car.