Is working in Australia all that great?
Aug 25 2014, 01:06 PM, updated 12y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
32 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
I know a number of people who went to Australia, got permanent residency and returned home (Malaysia or Singapore) after 8 years or more. The ones I know are teachers, lawyer, accountant, school principal and sales managers. I am asking because one uncle has been asking me so many times to go there (they renting a new place in Doncaster) but I heard life over there is good if you live in the Asian dominated suburbs. He sold his A$450,000 home after getting random racial abuses and spray painted words on his fence. He and his family only use the car to go in and out from his Frankston home, never walk outside home or hang around at the bus stop to take the bus. ' Are things so much better over there or is exaggerated? Anyone else gone there before to live for a while? |
Aug 25 2014, 01:11 PM
316 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
live in Mars. That would be great. Otherwise, it is just another place like London or LA, discrimination towards asian.
Aug 25 2014, 01:15 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Oct 2013 |
I had lived in Australia for 1 year as students.....
What I can tell you is racism is everywhere, regardless whether in Australia or even Malaysia..... Just like in Malaysia, there is some racist or religious fanatics, but, for every those crazy fella, you can easily find 10 or more peace loving tolerant people around. Whether it is good or not, it up to you to judge and experienced it yourself........but, do not be discourage by the negative comments...... I do faced racial abuse there before, but, at same time I have great time there too.....I believe in human universal code of conduct, treat others like how you want to be treated, and others will treat you the same....of course they are some aren't, but, that is minority, rather than majority |
Aug 25 2014, 01:17 PM
121 posts Joined: Apr 2014 |
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 01:06 PM) I know a number of people who went to Australia, got permanent residency and returned home (Malaysia or Singapore) after 8 years or more. The ones I know are teachers, lawyer, accountant, school principal and sales managers. Haha, try put urself in a fate of a bangla that asking the same question b4 coming to m'sia.I am asking because one uncle has been asking me so many times to go there (they renting a new place in Doncaster) but I heard life over there is good if you live in the Asian dominated suburbs. He sold his A$450,000 home after getting random racial abuses and spray painted words on his fence. He and his family only use the car to go in and out from his Frankston home, never walk outside home or hang around at the bus stop to take the bus. ' Are things so much better over there or is exaggerated? Anyone else gone there before to live for a while? and in reality how are they've been treated here? (still an alien) |
Aug 25 2014, 01:19 PM
9,417 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Bladin Point, Northern Territory |
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 01:06 PM) I know a number of people who went to Australia, got permanent residency and returned home (Malaysia or Singapore) after 8 years or more. The ones I know are teachers, lawyer, accountant, school principal and sales managers. Those occupations you talk about, most of them aren't technical. So I wouldn't know much about their market.I am asking because one uncle has been asking me so many times to go there (they renting a new place in Doncaster) but I heard life over there is good if you live in the Asian dominated suburbs. He sold his A$450,000 home after getting random racial abuses and spray painted words on his fence. He and his family only use the car to go in and out from his Frankston home, never walk outside home or hang around at the bus stop to take the bus. ' Are things so much better over there or is exaggerated? Anyone else gone there before to live for a while? I've been here 7 odd years. Life is ok I guess. |
Aug 25 2014, 03:02 PM
I was in Queensland city for two months. There were lots of Asian looking people. Cars much cheaper! Many people seemed to be ok. Of course not not sure how things would be if one is not a tourist. When we went to outer Cairns, some people starred at us. Last month my uncle said he was told loudly by a woman with British accent at medicare office to fill out properly or go for English classes! My uncle has been there for 20 years in Aust. He studied at Monash and Taylors College! |
Aug 25 2014, 03:31 PM
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 03:02 PM) I was in Queensland city for two months. There were lots of Asian looking people. Cars much cheaper! Many people seemed to be ok. Of course not not sure how things would be if one is not a tourist. I spend most of my time in a camp working 12 hours a day, the time I don't spend sleeping, I spend at the mess or at the gym.When we went to outer Cairns, some people starred at us. Last month my uncle said he was told loudly by a woman with British accent at medicare office to fill out properly or go for English classes! My uncle has been there for 20 years in Aust. He studied at Monash and Taylors College! There's little racism out here. The company f***s us all equally. |
Aug 25 2014, 03:37 PM
4,283 posts Joined: Nov 2009 From: Vietnam |
sis is living in sydney... good pay, 7x her msian pay after converting.. renting a room at a $4mill aud bungalow.. live is great... got car got $$$ got nice house... i will go there every year just to hv holis...
Aug 25 2014, 03:53 PM
4,414 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 25 2014, 03:37 PM) sis is living in sydney... good pay, 7x her msian pay after converting.. renting a room at a $4mill aud bungalow.. live is great... got car got $$$ got nice house... i will go there every year just to hv holis... Renting doesnt mean she has a car, its just a temporary place to stay since she doesnt own it. |
Aug 25 2014, 03:57 PM
Aug 25 2014, 04:03 PM
7 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
I've lived there for about 7 years, firstly as a student and subsequently as an employee. Throughout my time there there were several cases of racial abuses but it is rather uncommon and is usually restricted to the bums and lower income locals. The public in general over there are friendlier and more courteous than most Malaysians. Food wise there is a wide array of cuisines available around Melbourne (I'm guessing that's where you're gonna end up based on the suburbs you mentioned), but I did crave for the real Malaysian food from time to time. There are plenty of Malaysians and Asians there as well so assimilating to the lifestyle is not too hard.
Correct me if I'm wrong but Melbourne was recently voted as the World's Most Liveable City again. It is a wonderful place to live and work in as the Aussies emphasize alot on work-life balance, but ultimately i returned to Malaysia as many of my friends failed to secure their PR and it got kind of lonely over there. Hope this helps. |
Aug 25 2014, 05:00 PM
4,440 posts Joined: Jan 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 25 2014, 03:37 PM) sis is living in sydney... good pay, 7x her msian pay after converting.. renting a room at a $4mill aud bungalow.. live is great... got car got $$$ got nice house... i will go there every year just to hv holis... Nobody should be converting salaries. U earn AUD and ure spending in AUD. Period. We're not tourists to be converting currencies. And when we talk about income, we should always refer to TAKE HOME SALARY. Ull see that it surely wont be 7X more or anything close to that unless she was earning about 2K here before she left. |
Aug 25 2014, 05:03 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 25 2014, 05:00 PM) Nobody should be converting salaries. U earn AUD and ure spending in AUD. Period. We're not tourists to be converting currencies. And when we talk about income, we should always refer to TAKE HOME SALARY. Ull see that it surely wont be 7X more or anything close to that unless she was earning about 2K here before she left. talking bout gross... and she's making a managers salary back in msia... when she moved to aus, she got pushed up 2 bands above her msian paygrade.. lucky hermore than 6 figures aud, in msia not even 6 figures myr p.a. |
Aug 25 2014, 07:28 PM
3,965 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 01:06 PM) I know a number of people who went to Australia, got permanent residency and returned home (Malaysia or Singapore) after 8 years or more. The ones I know are teachers, lawyer, accountant, school principal and sales managers. On working in Australia and the 'returning after 8 years' issue, ask yourself if you would regret it if you didn't let yourself try it out. If you secretly always wanted to try it, you will definitely regret - unless your life in Malaysia is bloody amazing or perfect. I know this much, if you want to return you can always return, no harm done. But if you've never tried it (Hong Kong, Singapore, UK, Europe, America, Australia), you really will never know. If you're a happy sort of person you can have a fantastic life in Malaysia (preferably with some money if you live in the urban areas, as security is a major issue).I am asking because one uncle has been asking me so many times to go there (they renting a new place in Doncaster) but I heard life over there is good if you live in the Asian dominated suburbs. He sold his A$450,000 home after getting random racial abuses and spray painted words on his fence. He and his family only use the car to go in and out from his Frankston home, never walk outside home or hang around at the bus stop to take the bus. ' Are things so much better over there or is exaggerated? Anyone else gone there before to live for a while? On racism, this is inevitable in many places. Ignorance, and human nature, are the main drivers, not geography. Even in a city with almost 30% or 40% Chinese (i.e. some cities in the United States), an ethnic Chinese or similar looking East Asian (Korean, Japanese) can experience racism. The racism experienced by Asians in the UK and Australia is similar to what Bangladeshis and Indonesians experience in Malaysia, or what Filipinos experience in Hong Kong. Australia's ethnic Chinese population is huge and growing. But it doesn't help that the behaviour of many Chinese nationals is less than acceptable for immigrants. It is simply untrue that you cannot lead a decent life or leave your house safely if you don't live in an Asian suburb. Like any country or place in the world, there are good and bad people everywhere, and there are idiots everywhere. Violence and bullying is not widespread or tolerated in modern Australia. It doesn't mean an entire race or nationality deserves to be grouped together in a bad way. |
Aug 25 2014, 07:30 PM
Aug 25 2014, 09:17 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
849 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 01:06 PM) I know a number of people who went to Australia, got permanent residency and returned home (Malaysia or Singapore) after 8 years or more.  The ones I know are teachers, lawyer, accountant, school principal and sales managers. Depends on what you mean by better.I am asking because one uncle has been asking me so many times to go there (they renting a new place in Doncaster) but I heard life over there is good if you live in the Asian dominated suburbs. He sold his A$450,000 home after getting random racial abuses and spray painted words on his fence. He and his family only use the car to go in and out from his Frankston home, never walk outside home or hang around at the bus stop to take the bus. ' Are things so much better over there or is exaggerated? Anyone else gone there before to live for a while? If better means you want a more relaxed life without the glitz and glory of money then yes. But if you want truckloads of money and live like Jordan Belfort in wolves of wallstreet and you are good and smart enough, then no. In fact Australia would be rubbish. For that you need to go to NY, London, SG, HK. First choice Wallstreet. See if you can get a place with Goldman. This post has been edited by Gazprom200: Aug 25 2014, 09:17 PM |
Aug 26 2014, 04:07 AM
55 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
QUOTE(incrediblehulk @ Aug 25 2014, 03:02 PM) I was in Queensland city for two months. There were lots of Asian looking people. Cars much cheaper! Many people seemed to be ok. Of course not not sure how things would be if one is not a tourist. I would have told the woman I probably have more Australian education and credentials than her whole family combined, hence why she is standing behind the counter taking my forms...When we went to outer Cairns, some people starred at us. Last month my uncle said he was told loudly by a woman with British accent at medicare office to fill out properly or go for English classes! My uncle has been there for 20 years in Aust. He studied at Monash and Taylors College! Sometimes, u just need to be garang and people won't dare to kacau u. Because usually Asians are very timid, all these Angmoh think easy to bully |
Aug 26 2014, 04:10 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 25 2014, 05:00 PM) Nobody should be converting salaries. U earn AUD and ure spending in AUD. Period. We're not tourists to be converting currencies. And when we talk about income, we should always refer to TAKE HOME SALARY. Ull see that it surely wont be 7X more or anything close to that unless she was earning about 2K here before she left. Well but if I save $1k aud a month, and eventually return to Msia after 12 months, that's $12k aud - which also happens to be about rm36k. In any normal job in Msia (esp entry level in kl) how to save rm36k in a year?? Depends how you look at it really |
Aug 26 2014, 04:46 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 25 2014, 05:03 PM) talking bout gross... and she's making a managers salary back in msia... when she moved to aus, she got pushed up 2 bands above her msian paygrade.. lucky her Managers salary in Malaysia and not even 6 figures p/a??? What kind of manager is that? And now she getting 7 figure salary per annum in AUD? Something is not right with your info.more than 6 figures aud, in msia not even 6 figures myr p.a. |
Aug 26 2014, 04:48 AM
QUOTE(Yodatan @ Aug 26 2014, 04:10 AM) Well but if I save $1k aud a month, and eventually return to Msia after 12 months, that's $12k aud - which also happens to be about rm36k. In any normal job in Msia (esp entry level in kl) how to save rm36k in a year?? Depends how you look at it really We're not talking about saving money. We're talking bout salaries. And we're also talking bout those who have migrated there not those who work a few years and then return. So pointless doing a currency conversion. |
Aug 26 2014, 09:05 AM
735 posts Joined: May 2010 |
I've frequently heard of the argument that there's this glass ceiling that Asians face in corporate careers, especially up to certain level there will be a glass ceiling. Is this true or more of a myth?
Aug 26 2014, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 26 2014, 04:46 AM) Managers salary in Malaysia and not even 6 figures p/a??? What kind of manager is that? And now she getting 7 figure salary per annum in AUD? Something is not right with your info. hisap weed ke.. all managers 6 digit p.a.?6 digit aud ler... jgn putar malas mau layan kau la.. |
Aug 26 2014, 10:41 AM
505 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: Klang - Perth |
come to perth, earn money, not much entertainment ( u can save $$$ )
Racism is always there but you got to live with it. part time job is easy to find, just love the slow and laidback style ( Only in Perth While in melbourne, sydney, brisbane are full of foreigners and asians |
Aug 26 2014, 12:42 PM
585 posts Joined: Jan 2014 From: Fat Sailormoons Island |
Well, can't really blame them. Asians are good in crunching numbers and being sort of "nerd" to a point.
But pay is well there, I saw lots of people jump ship go there pluck grapes, apples etc. Earn more than fresh grad here bro. |
Aug 26 2014, 01:24 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 26 2014, 10:34 AM) hisap weed ke.. all managers 6 digit p.a.? I didnt putar anything. You clearly made a mistake. If u wanna tell stories then at least make sure its logical yea. 6 digit aud ler... jgn putar malas mau layan kau la.. This is what you said: 'in msia not even 6 figures myr p.a' Which means that she was earning max RM99,999 per annum or max RM8,333 per month. This clearly means she was a low level manager here in Malaysia. The you said: 'lucky her more than 6 figures aud' If more than 6 figures, that means minimum 7 figure AUD salary per annum meaning min she would be getting per month is AUD83,000. So she jumped from earning RM 8,333 to her current salary of AUD83,000 per month. Does this make sense to you? If u are telling the truth then do provide more details like position, company, location. If not its just empty tin kosong talk. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 26 2014, 01:25 PM |
Aug 26 2014, 01:49 PM
33 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
To say Banglas, etc are similar situation is no longer current as in Singapore/ Malaysia, got quite a lot of top computer technology, lawyers and accountancy people have same colour.
Racism is mostly subtle in Australia now. Just don't be stupid to walk on the street which have Pauline hanson supporters or other supremacist walking around. The more violent problems during my university days comes from some of the fresh immigrants from China, Vietnam, Africa etc,etc. Most of them I found are over sensitive to things and very reactive. This kind of behavior bring a bad name to other Asians. Yes a lot of pommies (white brits) are immigrating down under because of the large number of immigrants entering there and warmer weather. Loneliness is a common problem there but if you make friends easily and not rude, Australia is a better place to live. This post has been edited by aus866: Aug 26 2014, 01:53 PM |
Aug 26 2014, 04:17 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 26 2014, 01:24 PM) I didnt putar anything. You clearly made a mistake. If u wanna tell stories then at least make sure its logical yea. 8.3k per month low pay for u ok lor... to me is high... 3 years from freshThis is what you said: 'in msia not even 6 figures myr p.a' Which means that she was earning max RM99,999 per annum or max RM8,333 per month. This clearly means she was a low level manager here in Malaysia. The you said: 'lucky her more than 6 figures aud' If more than 6 figures, that means minimum 7 figure AUD salary per annum meaning min she would be getting per month is AUD83,000. So she jumped from earning RM 8,333 to her current salary of AUD83,000 per month. Does this make sense to you? If u are telling the truth then do provide more details like position, company, location. If not its just empty tin kosong talk. 6 figures aud... 1xxk, prolly mistake in my explaination |
Aug 26 2014, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 26 2014, 04:17 PM) 8.3k per month low pay for u ok lor... to me is high... 3 years from fresh Yes 6 figures AUD is acceptable. Not 7 figures. What position is she anyway?6 figures aud... 1xxk, prolly mistake in my explaination |
Aug 26 2014, 05:49 PM
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 26 2014, 04:12 PM) my fren she dump her msian citizenship to become aussie citizen. Now 15 years there, working at a bank. What position was she holding when she was in Malaysia and what position is she in Australia?she complain that the asian no opportunity for promotion at that bank, only the whites get promotion. and the whites play politics at the asians..even the asian can perform, only do the routine work. |
Aug 26 2014, 05:55 PM
Aug 26 2014, 05:57 PM
13,773 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: stress & confuse world |
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 26 2014, 04:12 PM) my fren she dump her msian citizenship to become aussie citizen. Now 15 years there, working at a bank. but not 100% all of them. i have a friend(malaysian) working with ANZ and become senior manager in just 4-5 years from fresh grad. you have to work smart not hardshe complain that the asian no opportunity for promotion at that bank, only the whites get promotion. and the whites play politics at the asians..even the asian can perform, only do the routine work. |
Aug 26 2014, 11:20 PM
735 posts Joined: May 2010 |
On the other hand, we also hear of people often quoting this 'Penny Wong' the Finance Minister under Gillard, as an example to counter the so-called glass ceiling faced by Asians. And also use that to strengthen the argument that Malaysians can succeed anywhere.
This post has been edited by frontierzone: Aug 26 2014, 11:21 PM |
Aug 27 2014, 01:13 AM
637 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Ask your friend how did a Malaysian girl ended up as Westpac head of finance??? My cousin who also works at Westpac also said she is also the branch's head of PMO. Racism??? Glass ceiling??? Sure doesnt hold water.
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 26 2014, 07:28 PM) This post has been edited by segamatboy: Aug 27 2014, 05:02 AM |
Aug 27 2014, 01:49 AM
Asians were brought up to study hard and work hard. Study smart and work smart are alien concept.Got the degree and work hard after a few years and cant get promotion...must be us vs them. In OZ, it is the orang putih vs the Asians. So must be racial discrimination. Put the same Malaysian in Singapore. cant get a promotion after a few years...again it us vs them. Cant be racial discrimination since have the same skin colour. Find another excuse. eg degree/diploma discrimination QUOTE(frontierzone @ Aug 26 2014, 11:20 PM) |
Aug 27 2014, 12:32 PM
2,547 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KL |
QUOTE(segamatboy @ Aug 27 2014, 01:49 AM) Asians were brought up to study hard and work hard. Study smart and work smart are alien concept.Got the degree and work hard after a few years and cant get promotion...must be us vs them. In OZ, it is the orang putih vs the Asians. So must be racial discrimination. Put the same Malaysian in Singapore. cant get a promotion after a few years...again it us vs them. Cant be racial discrimination since have the same skin colour. Find another excuse. eg degree/diploma discrimination You are really wrong here. Malaysians in general do not have issues with Singaporeans as the culture is almost similar except that it is a little more faster paced over in Singapore. Also in general, Malaysians who go there are prepared for lower salary because of exchange rate. In fact for most cases, it's the other way round. Singaporeans are blaming Malaysians of taking their jobs. Malaysians always have the choice to go back to Malaysia if things go bad. So there can be very little complaints. Your assumption is that Oz are as efficient even though they are lazy. That they study smart. I seriously think you are living in a cave. I think right now Asians are generally known to be more efficient in general. If race was a non issue, Asians in general will be recognize to be more productive. Obviously, you have not been paying attention and thus writing the nonsense you are writing now. Note that Penny Wong and perhaps even your cousin is a little different because they were practically raised over in Australia and is considered an australian. Racism in Australia is well documented. Please be informed and get off your shell instead of licking the butts of the whites will ya? This post has been edited by sylar111: Aug 27 2014, 12:52 PM |
Aug 27 2014, 11:24 PM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 25 2014, 06:37 PM) sis is living in sydney... good pay, 7x her msian pay after converting.. renting a room at a $4mill aud bungalow.. live is great... got car got $$$ got nice house... i will go there every year just to hv holis... why rent? lol if she`s smart should have bought here and become richer |
Aug 27 2014, 11:26 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 25 2014, 08:03 PM) talking bout gross... and she's making a managers salary back in msia... when she moved to aus, she got pushed up 2 bands above her msian paygrade.. lucky her damn, that is alot in her tax bracket to pay the govt more than 6 figures aud, in msia not even 6 figures myr p.a. |
Aug 27 2014, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(rickrick @ Aug 26 2014, 01:41 PM) come to perth, earn money, not much entertainment ( u can save $$$ ) well, this day its drying. Racism is always there but you got to live with it. part time job is easy to find, just love the slow and laidback style ( Only in Perth While in melbourne, sydney, brisbane are full of foreigners and asians |
Aug 27 2014, 11:39 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Aug 27 2014, 11:24 PM) buying properties in certain countries is not profitable.. and also she n her bf just decided to settle down for now in sydney... previously considering melbourne.. probably will buy after marriage4mill house vs the rent she pays... damn worth it mang QUOTE(KVReninem @ Aug 27 2014, 11:26 PM) there earn peanuts also kena tax gao gao... if you work at mcds also around 36k already... so 6 figures is not susprising |
Aug 28 2014, 12:32 AM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 28 2014, 02:39 AM) buying properties in certain countries is not profitable.. and also she n her bf just decided to settle down for now in sydney... previously considering melbourne.. probably will buy after marriage well, probably she have not seen the other side of parking the taxes she paid to property..ask accounting people, you will know. 4mill house vs the rent she pays... damn worth it mang there earn peanuts also kena tax gao gao... if you work at mcds also around 36k already... so 6 figures is not susprising yeah, thats the nature of tax, but you can file tax return to get it back. Tax already taken 40% off her 6 fig salary.... This post has been edited by KVReninem: Aug 28 2014, 12:33 AM |
Aug 28 2014, 07:48 AM
1,128 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Aug 28 2014, 01:32 AM) well, probably she have not seen the other side of parking the taxes she paid to property..ask accounting people, you will know. The 40% taxation is based on Tier System, not that every income you earned it is taxed 40%. Correct me if I am wrong here. Thanks.yeah, thats the nature of tax, but you can file tax return to get it back. Tax already taken 40% off her 6 fig salary.... |
Aug 28 2014, 08:59 AM
256 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 27 2014, 11:39 PM) buying properties in certain countries is not profitable.. and also she n her bf just decided to settle down for now in sydney... previously considering melbourne.. probably will buy after marriage You realize a 'room' in a $4 million 'house' actually means a boarding house with 15 rooms right? $4 million buys you mansion with an ocean view here, noone sane is going to rent out the place room by room in such a place.4mill house vs the rent she pays... damn worth it mang there earn peanuts also kena tax gao gao... if you work at mcds also around 36k already... so 6 figures is not susprising |
Aug 28 2014, 09:00 AM
Frankly, i dont know whats so great about a 6 figure salary in Aus. Didnt realise that getting min AUD8,333 (before taxes) was that big a deal for a 'manager'. Ive worked with Australian companies since 2004 and i know some of the manager salaries in Aus. The real mid managers earn >AUD13K.
But in this guy's case, he's probably excited because his sister was just a very low level 'manager' here in Malaysia before she moved. Typical Malaysian corporate style of giving manager posts but pay very low salaries cuz they know Malaysians love titles. I started earning a 5 figure salary here in Malaysia at the age of 28 and i wasnt even a manager and i wasnt bothered in the least. This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 28 2014, 09:45 AM |
Aug 28 2014, 01:35 PM
QUOTE(KVReninem @ Aug 28 2014, 12:32 AM) well, probably she have not seen the other side of parking the taxes she paid to property..ask accounting people, you will know. well, probably that's why buying now is not on her mind... those that can afford to buy surely can afford to pay the taxesyeah, thats the nature of tax, but you can file tax return to get it back. Tax already taken 40% off her 6 fig salary.... QUOTE(divine061 @ Aug 28 2014, 08:59 AM) You realize a 'room' in a $4 million 'house' actually means a boarding house with 15 rooms right? $4 million buys you mansion with an ocean view here, noone sane is going to rent out the place room by room in such a place. boarding house? it is 2 bungalows joined together... 7 big rooms in total.. no ocean view, slightly out of cbd.. well, owner's family used to stay there now migrated and now the owner uses it as her vacation home... extra rooms she decided to rent outQUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 28 2014, 09:00 AM) Frankly, i dont know whats so great about a 6 figure salary in Aus. Didnt realise that getting min AUD8,333 (before taxes) was that big a deal for a 'manager'. Ive worked with Australian companies since 2004 and i know some of the manager salaries in Aus. The real mid managers earn >AUD13K. well, to you might not be great but i am just letting ts know.. to know and to earn is 2 different thing.. if you wanna share yours to inspire ts please go aheadBut in this guy's case, he's probably excited because his sister was just a very low level 'manager' here in Malaysia before she moved. Typical Malaysian corporate style of giving manager posts but pay very low salaries cuz they know Malaysians love titles. I started earning a 5 figure salary here in Malaysia at the age of 28 and i wasnt even a manager and i wasnt bothered in the least. well you can brag how great you are this and that and belittle others... that's up to you... dont see how is that going to help ts |
Aug 28 2014, 02:00 PM
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 28 2014, 01:35 PM) well you can brag how great you are this and that and belittle others... that's up to you... dont see how is that going to help ts I think its was your posts which were bragging. And with mistakes too. |
Aug 28 2014, 02:14 PM
256 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 28 2014, 01:35 PM) well, probably that's why buying now is not on her mind... those that can afford to buy surely can afford to pay the taxes Sounds exactly like a boarding house. FYI, depending on which state and council, say you have 3 rooms rented out to 2 to 3 couples, you need to apply for boarding house license. If it wasn't, then it is illegal.boarding house? it is 2 bungalows joined together... 7 big rooms in total.. no ocean view, slightly out of cbd.. well, owner's family used to stay there now migrated and now the owner uses it as her vacation home... extra rooms she decided to rent out well, to you might not be great but i am just letting ts know.. to know and to earn is 2 different thing.. if you wanna share yours to inspire ts please go ahead well you can brag how great you are this and that and belittle others... that's up to you... dont see how is that going to help ts And there are hundreds of them in Sydney, its just not illegal until you are caught type of scenario. Once caught, you'll have 1 or 2 weeks before getting kicked out in most cases. This post has been edited by divine061: Aug 28 2014, 02:18 PM |
Aug 28 2014, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 28 2014, 02:00 PM) bragging? didnt say it was me.. just letting ts know that live is better there than in msiayou on the other hand.. well, no point arguing.. if you wanna find fault i have no time to entertain you, doesnt contribute anything to ts QUOTE(divine061 @ Aug 28 2014, 02:14 PM) Sounds exactly like a boarding house. FYI, depending on which state and council, say you have 3 rooms rented out to 2 to 3 couples, you need to apply for boarding house license. If it wasn't, then it is illegal. hmm, probably because it is still under 2 diff title? not too sure, was told it was 2 house initially..And there are hundreds of them in Sydney, its just not illegal until you are caught type of scenario. Once caught, you'll have 1 or 2 weeks before getting kicked out in most cases. |
Aug 28 2014, 03:41 PM
84 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
I've been here for around half a year now. So far so good, haven't get a any racism remarks (and hope never will). Then again, its the case of grass greener on the other side. Neither Malaysia nor Australia (or any other countries) is perfect. Not like you never seen racism in Malaysia. Before I got to aussie, lots of my friends told me be careful might get aim for no reason, but until today I haven't seen anyone kena racist remarks.. yet.
But if you talk about culture, experience, money, etc. I would say Australia seems to have the upper hand. A simple example. Fresh grad malaysia 2.7k-3k and Aus roughly the same. Malaysia you buy iPhone one month salary gone. Australia you buy iPhone $1k. same price but your purchasing power stronger. Culture wise, Malaysia *ahem* guy keep saying 1Malaysia, but in Sydney its even more diverse. There's Mainland chinese, Korean, Japanese, Indian, Caucasian, Europeans, Malaysians, Indonesian, etc etc. and the seem to get along better than we do Experience wise, it totally depends on yourself. I would say some I like, some I don't. You can't get everything. My advice, got chance go oversea, try it out! |
Aug 29 2014, 01:45 AM
12,520 posts Joined: Feb 2013 |
my friend just started work in Sydney pay on a dollar to dollar basis is higher than msia but the cost of living ($ to $) is higher as well.. clothes there are not 3 times cheaper!!
A close friend who migrated last year with more than RM10 mil isn't enjoying life though.. diff ppl have diff experiences.. My family there is alright although its not easy to find a job in Aussie(unlike Malaysia) I think aussie is alright other than the exorbitant cost of living due to the high minimum wage. |
Aug 29 2014, 01:46 AM
btw, the unemployment rate in Aussie is like 6.4% (more than the US also) while the mining boom is at it's end. so if u have a job there be glad =)
Aug 29 2014, 08:51 AM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(Babizz @ Aug 29 2014, 01:45 AM) my friend just started work in Sydney pay on a dollar to dollar basis is higher than msia but the cost of living ($ to $) is higher as well.. clothes there are not 3 times cheaper!! That's why you need to earn at Aussie salary levels and work/live in Malaysia. Best option for those looking for money. |
Aug 29 2014, 10:33 AM
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
I don't know how long Australia can sustain that kind of exchange rate. Labour cost is more expensive than even the US, but I do think american companies do better in productivity, innovation and creativity.
Aug 29 2014, 10:41 AM
QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 28 2014, 08:33 PM) I don't know how long Australia can sustain that kind of exchange rate. Labour cost is more expensive than even the US, but I do think american companies do better in productivity, innovation and creativity. low level labor in Aussie costs almost twice of the US.. mid to upper mid positions pay slightly more than the US but the Cost of Living in the US is substantially lower (maybe 30-40%) but the min wage in the US will be increasing soon so things might change in the US. |
Aug 29 2014, 10:08 PM
the agree point is yes, cost are high here...as in the expenditure. If you know where to find bargain, there is waysss to beat the expenditure down.
Aug 29 2014, 10:46 PM
316 posts Joined: May 2013 |
Guys, I have just been granted an 18 months temp visa to Aus and Im planning to head over there sometime next year. At the same time im also trying to get a PR first just to be safe.
I wouldn't mind doing some general labor as a start to familiarize myself with the culture there. However, I couldn't help but to worry on the possibility of landing a job as I have heard many stories of local grads that eventually had to return home after completing their studies.. |
Aug 30 2014, 04:03 AM
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 29 2014, 10:46 PM) Guys, I have just been granted an 18 months temp visa to Aus and Im planning to head over there sometime next year. At the same time im also trying to get a PR first just to be safe. my advice is don't let other people words let you down and try with your own.I wouldn't mind doing some general labor as a start to familiarize myself with the culture there. However, I couldn't help but to worry on the possibility of landing a job as I have heard many stories of local grads that eventually had to return home after completing their studies.. most of the people i know who couldn't get a job because they are picky and only look for the best employer. |
Aug 30 2014, 12:11 PM
1,128 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 29 2014, 11:46 PM) Guys, I have just been granted an 18 months temp visa to Aus and Im planning to head over there sometime next year. At the same time im also trying to get a PR first just to be safe. May I ask what category of this Visa you got for ? Thanks.I wouldn't mind doing some general labor as a start to familiarize myself with the culture there. However, I couldn't help but to worry on the possibility of landing a job as I have heard many stories of local grads that eventually had to return home after completing their studies.. |
Aug 30 2014, 12:26 PM
2,131 posts Joined: Jan 2008 |
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 29 2014, 10:46 PM) Guys, I have just been granted an 18 months temp visa to Aus and Im planning to head over there sometime next year. At the same time im also trying to get a PR first just to be safe. That is a possibility that you may have to face. However, if you don't mind working odd jobs out of your field, I would say that it is not hard to get one.I wouldn't mind doing some general labor as a start to familiarize myself with the culture there. However, I couldn't help but to worry on the possibility of landing a job as I have heard many stories of local grads that eventually had to return home after completing their studies.. |
Aug 30 2014, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Aug 30 2014, 01:46 AM) Guys, I have just been granted an 18 months temp visa to Aus and Im planning to head over there sometime next year. At the same time im also trying to get a PR first just to be safe. Different people different story, if you cant get out your comfort zone; you wont get big with your life. Since you got the chance, take it. I wouldn't mind doing some general labor as a start to familiarize myself with the culture there. However, I couldn't help but to worry on the possibility of landing a job as I have heard many stories of local grads that eventually had to return home after completing their studies.. |
Aug 30 2014, 09:09 PM
73 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
Let me address some of the points that have been discussed on this thread. By way of background and for context, I am a Malaysian Chinese who grew up in Australia. I am pretty much an ABC.
Firstly to anyone who mentioned Frankston – this is considered a low-socio economic part of Melbourne. Low-socio economic meaning less, educated, not as open minded. Translation, more likely to be racist. I have only ever lived in the inner east of Melbourne and spend my leisure time/work within a 15-20km ring of the city. I have never experienced racism in my 26 years in Australia (got here when I was six). So if you go to these areas, yeah you’re probably going to get remarks. Just like if you go to certain parts of KL at night, there’s probably a high chance of you getting rob. If you look at Melbourne CBD or Sydney CBD, it’s basically one giant china town. So many Asians you would think you were in Singapore. As for the point about bamboo ceiling – I think this is a cop out. I am starting to believe this is a byproduct of Asian Confucius culture i.e. respect, not question elders, savings face and all that. There are a bunch of successful Indian CEOs in fortune 500s (Pepsi Co, Microsoft, McKinsey). No yellow faces. Why? The corporate world isn’t just simply about being technically competent and expecting to be promoted every 2-3 years because you do the same thing day in day out (like maybe in Japan). It’s about building personal relationships which is hard for Malaysians to do I Australia because there is little cultural commonality that allows you to build that most basic link in the first instance (what’s cricket and afl?). Question: If you did the most brilliant piece of analysis at work, and only you knew about it, did you actually do the work? Answer: The answer is no you didn’t. If no one knows about your work, if you don’t share it, tell people about it, no matter how technically brilliant you are, in everyone’s mind, you and your work don’t exist. This isn’t about shameless self-promotion which I know is what the majority of you are thinking, this is about communicating. I was hired for this function, I did this work, and it probably is valuable. Now I need to be proactive about sharing that work, rather than just sending an email to my boss, or waiting for my boss to tell me what do . The reality is, culture and the Malaysian education system brought most of you up to obedient followers and not question anything. Just do you work and speak when i tell you to speak. I always tell this anecdote to illustrate this point. I was waiting in the autogate line at the LCCT. There were three machines. One was clearly out of order. One had no line behind it. The remaining machine had a small but growing line. I joined this line. Not wanting to wait, I asked the gentleman in front, do you know why no one is using that machine is it broken? He said he didn’t know. I waited another 30 seconds, during which time more people joined our line. I decided it was worth trying to use the machine with no line. Guess what? It worked. Everyone just assumed it was broken. As soon as I got through, the single line split in two. Believe it or not, Australia is far more of a meritocracy than Malaysia will ever be, where if you work for anything remotely government related, you will eventually hit a bumi-ceiling. So yes, that does mean if you are a bumi, you would be unwise not to stay and take advantage of all the advantages the system provides whether explicit or not. Anyway, these are just the random thoughts of an ABC. Make of it what you will. PS. My dad struggled to get a job here like most first generation migrants. First generation migrants from Malaysia always have the toughest time getting a job based on\ what I have observed in my friendship group. Their children who grew up here, have a far easier time. EDIT: To the poster who implied degree = job, this mentality stopped being true when everyone started getting degrees. A lot of people have Masters degrees from the sandstones. Reality is, Australia's market is so tiny it can only handle so many service jobs. Believe it or not, it's not just overseas graduates who are struggling, local graduates are struggling too now. Unemployment is 2-3 times the national average in the 19-24 demographic. This post has been edited by maxmillion: Aug 31 2014, 08:37 AM |
Aug 31 2014, 02:37 PM
QUOTE(don391 @ Aug 28 2014, 03:41 PM) I've been here for around half a year now. So far so good, haven't get a any racism remarks (and hope never will). Then again, its the case of grass greener on the other side. Neither Malaysia nor Australia (or any other countries) is perfect. Not like you never seen racism in Malaysia. Before I got to aussie, lots of my friends told me be careful might get aim for no reason, but until today I haven't seen anyone kena racist remarks.. yet. It is this positive attitude that temporary entrants (students or temporary workers) and migrants and potential migrants need to carry with them when they come to Australia. As a migrant you shouldn't be complaining very much, or behaving in such a way that gives migrants a bad name. Just be grateful. As a taxpayer I know how difficult or unfair it can feel sometimes, but there is always a price to pay.But if you talk about culture, experience, money, etc. I would say Australia seems to have the upper hand. A simple example. Fresh grad malaysia 2.7k-3k and Aus roughly the same. Malaysia you buy iPhone one month salary gone. Australia you buy iPhone $1k. same price but your purchasing power stronger. Culture wise, Malaysia *ahem* guy keep saying 1Malaysia, but in Sydney its even more diverse. There's Mainland chinese, Korean, Japanese, Indian, Caucasian, Europeans, Malaysians, Indonesian, etc etc. and the seem to get along better than we do Experience wise, it totally depends on yourself. I would say some I like, some I don't. You can't get everything. My advice, got chance go oversea, try it out! Australian society gets about 200,000 migrants per year. Not all of this is "skilled migration" (it makes a small difference to the demographics). This puts understandable pressure on Australian society. QUOTE(Babizz @ Aug 29 2014, 01:45 AM) my friend just started work in Sydney pay on a dollar to dollar basis is higher than msia but the cost of living ($ to $) is higher as well.. clothes there are not 3 times cheaper!! That's a lot of cash, 3 mil.A close friend who migrated last year with more than RM10 mil isn't enjoying life though.. diff ppl have diff experiences.. My family there is alright although its not easy to find a job in Aussie(unlike Malaysia) I think aussie is alright other than the exorbitant cost of living due to the high minimum wage. |
Aug 31 2014, 08:37 PM
The reality is that in many parts of Asia, the system allows people to steal other people's idea and get away with it. This could be the primary reason why Chinese are 'kiasu'.Eg. Several years ago, my cousin did the donkey work...research and type up the report. Her supervisor read it, erased my cousin name, put his name on the report, signed it and passed it off as his own. My cousin was livid. It was between her vs the supervisor . Guess who the senior managers sided with and who was shown the door for being the trouble maker??? Cousins working in Singapore are also saying the same thing QUOTE(maxmillion @ Aug 30 2014, 09:09 PM) If you did the most brilliant piece of analysis at work, and only you knew about it, did you actually do the work? Answer: The answer is no you didn’t. If no one knows about your work, if you don’t share it, tell people about it, no matter how technically brilliant you are, in everyone’s mind, you and your work don’t exist. This isn’t about shameless self-promotion which I know is what the majority of you are thinking, this is about communicating. I was hired for this function, I did this work, and it probably is valuable. Now I need to be proactive about sharing that work, rather than just sending an email to my boss, or waiting for my boss to tell me what do . The reality is, culture and the Malaysian education system brought most of you up to obedient followers and not question anything. Just do you work and speak when i tell you to speak. |
Sep 1 2014, 07:07 PM
QUOTE(segamatboy @ Aug 31 2014, 08:37 PM) The reality is that in many parts of Asia, the system allows people to steal other people's idea and get away with it. This could be the primary reason why Chinese are 'kiasu'.Eg. Several years ago, my cousin did the donkey work...research and type up the report. Her supervisor read it, erased my cousin name, put his name on the report, signed it and passed it off as his own. My cousin was livid. It was between her vs the supervisor . Guess who the senior managers sided with and who was shown the door for being the trouble maker??? Cousins working in Singapore are also saying the same thing Not disputing what happened to your cousin, and whether it was wrong or right. Let me challenge your thinking slightly though. If a CEO comes in and turns around a company, do you think he did it alone with his own ideas? No, he succeeded because of everyone else's ideas and people doing donkey work. His value add, was recognizing great ideas and empowering people to do the work. A CEO (even a lowly team manager) cannot be successful by him/herself. You don't climb the corporate ladder from stealing silver bullet ideas here and there. Getting to the top and being successful at the top is so much more than about having these single grand ideas. There's a much more significant social component which Asians just don't get and misjudge as company politics. Are there bad managers who don't give credit where credit is due? Absolutely. Not disagreeing. Sounds like what happened to your cousin. But by that same token, what does whinging and complaining about it get you? Absolutely nothing. That's why you have to share and talk about your work with many others. Not do the work, give to your boss and wait for him to tell you what to do next. If you were socially attuned to what your boss was like, you could have taken pre-emptive steps to socialize work for feedback, for sharing, and to protect your domain. At the end of the day, you can view the corporate world in two ways - A series of transactional, adversarial zero sum interactions (if one person gains, another must lose). No such thing as generosity. Only for angmohs and the weak. I contend most asians view life this way. Truth be told, if I was raised in Malaysia, I would be bitter like this as well. God we love to complain about everything, even me. Unapologetically. OR - You can view life as a series of continuing relationships where you dont necessarily have had to have had the upperhand every single time. If you live life sharing without the expectations of being rewarded, I guarantee you'll find life much more bearable and people will view you far more favorably. I know you now probably think I'm full of doggy do at this point. But you know what man, that's cool. I've lived my life in the second manner, both in Australia, and while working in KL and Jakarta. It has served me well. Just sharing my perspective on life. This post has been edited by maxmillion: Sep 1 2014, 07:23 PM |
Sep 1 2014, 08:04 PM
4,781 posts Joined: Dec 2004 |
QUOTE(Babizz @ Aug 29 2014, 01:45 AM) my friend just started work in Sydney pay on a dollar to dollar basis is higher than msia but the cost of living ($ to $) is higher as well.. clothes there are not 3 times cheaper!! Individual expectations. RM10M is enough to live a middle class life. A close friend who migrated last year with more than RM10 mil isn't enjoying life though.. diff ppl have diff experiences.. My family there is alright although its not easy to find a job in Aussie(unlike Malaysia) I think aussie is alright other than the exorbitant cost of living due to the high minimum wage. Many want to move to Sydney and Melbourne and still want a big house. That means less money to be used elsewhere. Moving out of Melbourne or Sydney is not a bad thing. There are always jobs, just not the prestigious ones. |
Sep 1 2014, 09:49 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
849 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
QUOTE(maxmillion @ Aug 30 2014, 09:09 PM) As for the point about bamboo ceiling – I think this is a cop out. I am starting to believe this is a byproduct of Asian Confucius culture i.e. respect, not question elders, savings face and all that. There are a bunch of successful Indian CEOs in fortune 500s (Pepsi Co, Microsoft, McKinsey). No yellow faces. Why? The corporate world isn’t just simply about being technically competent and expecting to be promoted every 2-3 years because you do the same thing day in day out (like maybe in Japan). It’s about building personal relationships which is hard for Malaysians to do I Australia because there is little cultural commonality that allows you to build that most basic link in the first instance (what’s cricket and afl?). Question: If you did the most brilliant piece of analysis at work, and only you knew about it, did you actually do the work? Answer: The answer is no you didn’t. If no one knows about your work, if you don’t share it, tell people about it, no matter how technically brilliant you are, in everyone’s mind, you and your work don’t exist. This isn’t about shameless self-promotion which I know is what the majority of you are thinking, this is about communicating. I was hired for this function, I did this work, and it probably is valuable. Now I need to be proactive about sharing that work, rather than just sending an email to my boss, or waiting for my boss to tell me what do . The reality is, culture and the Malaysian education system brought most of you up to obedient followers and not question anything. Just do you work and speak when i tell you to speak. I always tell this anecdote to illustrate this point. I was waiting in the autogate line at the LCCT. There were three machines. One was clearly out of order. One had no line behind it. The remaining machine had a small but growing line. I joined this line. Not wanting to wait, I asked the gentleman in front, do you know why no one is using that machine is it broken? He said he didn’t know. I waited another 30 seconds, during which time more people joined our line. I decided it was worth trying to use the machine with no line. Guess what? It worked. Everyone just assumed it was broken. As soon as I got through, the single line split in two. Believe it or not, Australia is far more of a meritocracy than Malaysia will ever be, where if you work for anything remotely government related, you will eventually hit a bumi-ceiling. So yes, that does mean if you are a bumi, you would be unwise not to stay and take advantage of all the advantages the system provides whether explicit or not. I think the above is not something exclusive to Australia. It happens everywhere in the world even in Asia (places like Malaysia, Singapore, HK, etc). Its something very generic. That is why in every society you will find that people who can "toot their own horns" tend to get promoted faster/bigger bonus/fatter increments or fatter paychecques" and these people tend to be the more talkative ones while the quieter ones are confined to one corner regardless of their capabilities.It happens everywhere not just in caucasion countries.I also think this is also partly due to culture as Asian usually observe humility and any attempts to "toot your own horn" might be construed as being boastful, which is frowned upon in asian society. Also a saying in Asia still rings true which goes something like " the nail that sticks out gets hammered down" which essentially means one conforms with the majority instead of speaking out which compounds the problem.This is stark contrast to the general caucasion / Indian culture of acceptance of one being individualistic or having one express themselves. |
Sep 2 2014, 04:27 PM
346 posts Joined: Sep 2007 |
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Aug 27 2014, 11:20 PM) hold water? U mean hold the whole dam. Yup, stand true. I interviewed 3-4 Malaysian engineers whom wanted to come back to Msia as they felt that mining business is dying there. U only got one example. I got ten thousand examples. Like my cousin who is a master grad from Uni of melb, but can't get hold of an engineering job for 4 years counting. He currently works as a waiter. Then I know a former classmate who was a top scorer in his SAM, then went on to work high position in two MNCs in Malaysia...came to Australia for his kids education, 6 months can't get a job. Last i heard he was a librarian. For every success in Australia, there's probably 10 failures. Come on, there's gotta be some common sense. What is Australia really riding on???? On drugs ! Mining sector boom ! Where the heck is the job creation? Its not as if USA could come up with Silicon Valley and Space port, to create new job sectors. Or Malaysia, due to our low exchange rates were able to attract foreign manufacturing plants in the 80s and 90s...to create jobs...still present today. Australia still have the some old, reliance on service sector. Why do they need migrants? Probably their workforce are too lazy? orthey moved up the value chain, nobody willing to take up their banggla jobs, so they take us migrants to do their dirty work. Australia GDP may have grown...into a benemoth but it hasn't really translated into anything intrinsic. Their closing down their . manufacturing due to high exchange rates...they are offering waiter, toilet cleaning, garbage man jobs to banggla migrants. They don't have enough manpower for their farms, shopping malls and restaurants. But over the years, those white collar jobs that is what the migrants really aim for, Australia haven't done anything creative to create more of those jobs. Instead migrants have to compete with Australia for these positions. You have to be really damn smart to beat the Aussie for the role. |
Sep 2 2014, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(Gazprom200 @ Sep 1 2014, 09:49 PM) I think the above is not something exclusive to Australia. It happens everywhere in the world even in Asia (places like Malaysia, Singapore, HK, etc). Its something very generic. That is why in every society you will find that people who can "toot their own horns" tend to get promoted faster/bigger bonus/fatter increments or fatter paychecques" and these people tend to be the more talkative ones while the quieter ones are confined to one corner regardless of their capabilities.It happens everywhere not just in caucasion countries. Hey thanks for sharing. Never heard of that saying.I also think this is also partly due to culture as Asian usually observe humility and any attempts to "toot your own horn" might be construed as being boastful, which is frowned upon in asian society. Also a saying in Asia still rings true which goes something like " the nail that sticks out gets hammered down" which essentially means one conforms with the majority instead of speaking out which compounds the problem.This is stark contrast to the general caucasion / Indian culture of acceptance of one being individualistic or having one express themselves. |
Sep 4 2014, 09:14 AM
3,615 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Sep 4 2014, 08:38 AM) Good list IMO. I was thinking of going, simply because I'm a bit bored of being here yet the "racial discrimination" part despite having work experience in US and Europe is holding me back. No point in going there if I'm going to regress. Way too many people I know who went there looking for a better future but not really finding it. |
Sep 4 2014, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(thoyol @ Sep 2 2014, 04:27 PM) Yup, stand true. I interviewed 3-4 Malaysian engineers whom wanted to come back to Msia as they felt that mining business is dying there. That's true. I used to do work for Anglo Grasstree and now people are saying it's a sinking ship. GlencoreXstrata already cutting jobs like mad at Oaky North and Oaky 1. Coal, Coking coal and Iron Ore are dying. Rio Tinto already downsizing their iron ore workforce. Saraji under BMA has already been mothballed. At the same time, the gas industry is going from construction and consolidation phases into the "Sustainment phase", we've already been sent the emails to prepare. I predict that people without >70% upstream experience will start losing jobs in 1 year. That's 100,000 highly skilled OnG workers trained to the highest of standards with internationally recognized certifications flooding the market. It might be a bit hard for a migrant to compete. But at the same time shale oil, offshore oil and other advanced unconventionals on the small scale look to be good. http://www.news.com.au/finance/business/au...h-1227034281143 Either way, modeling by the RBA has shown that Australians are on average 13 percent richer because of the mining boom. Without it, we wouldn't be at US dollar parity as well, instead of the 95 US cents to the dollar we'd be at 65. |
Sep 4 2014, 08:51 PM
Its your life, if you want to move, just move, if you dont want to move, don't move. Everyone has different life situation and starting points, don't have to try to force your opinions down each others throats
Sep 10 2014, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(Yodatan @ Sep 4 2014, 09:51 PM) Its your life, if you want to move, just move, if you dont want to move, don't move. Everyone has different life situation and starting points, don't have to try to force your opinions down each others throats yes. everyone has different experiences. depends on who they mixed with and where they stay. |
Sep 11 2014, 09:35 PM
3 posts Joined: Sep 2014 |
Sep 12 2014, 12:28 PM
676 posts Joined: May 2012 |
To migrate or not depends on one's definition of happiness, imo. Not everyone who migrated ended up living a better life than while in Malaysia. Found out a friend intended to migrate to Australia a year ago cos wanted to provide better education for the kids, bla bla bla. Husband quit his job as a senior engineer with a well known MNC telco company and headed over to AUS first to fnd a job. One year later came back cos cannot find a job and is now looking for a job in MY. Lucky wife still got job here to sustain the monthly financials.
Another friend migrated whole family to Sydney many years back. They worked very low level jobs there. Before wife was an executive while hubby was a manager at a bank in MY. I heard a year ago they decided to come home to MY for good. Don't know why. Someone here pointed out the mistake of ppl migrating for their kids education sake and I have to agree with his points. While our govt education system here deteriorated, it isn't the end of the world. Why not spend the money intended for migration to enrol the kids in private or international school here instead. Why go to another country and ended up with lower level jobs or worse, no job..facing possible discrimination and living a thrifty life while in MY you are surrounded by relatives, friends, decent job, decent life. People get this perception that life is other countries is always greener than in MY. Maybe I am not ambitous like others but I'm contended to live my good life here because for me what is important is I don't need to suffer. Do I want more money? Sure...but not at the expense of living a "miserable" life elsewhere but painting the picture of a rosy life to folks back home. We all die one day so whatever time God has given to us on this earth, we should enjoy it to the way we are capable. Every individual has different standard or expectation of life. Our children can figure out their own future. As long as you teach them the right way of life and provide them a decent life, I am sure your children can be survivors, regardless the education system here is bad or fantastic. Don't sacrifice so much of your own life for your kids if their lives are already decent to begin with and ended up you don't get to enjoy your life during your time on Earth. This post has been edited by honkkydorry: Sep 12 2014, 12:29 PM |
Sep 12 2014, 12:36 PM
118 posts Joined: May 2011 |
typing this from melbourne suburb. frankston is nearby (like PJ and Klang) from my place. what i can advise you is that, the outer you go from city, the more weird stares you get from locals. because its kinda kampung ady (country side). frankston is considered as kampung by locals living in city. and in kampung you dont find everyone educated enough, do you? but if you live closer to city or inner suburbs as they call it here, its better. more asians, educated locals, peaceful pipu. (I DIDNT READ ALL THE REPLIES FOR THIS POST. SO IF I REPEATED WHAT OTHERS MIGHT HAVE ALREADY TOLD, SORRY)
Sep 12 2014, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(MR 8925 @ Sep 12 2014, 01:36 PM) typing this from melbourne suburb. frankston is nearby (like PJ and Klang) from my place. what i can advise you is that, the outer you go from city, the more weird stares you get from locals. because its kinda kampung ady (country side). frankston is considered as kampung by locals living in city. and in kampung you dont find everyone educated enough, do you? but if you live closer to city or inner suburbs as they call it here, its better. more asians, educated locals, peaceful pipu. (I DIDNT READ ALL THE REPLIES FOR THIS POST. SO IF I REPEATED WHAT OTHERS MIGHT HAVE ALREADY TOLD, SORRY) you said it exactly what i think abt many of their kampung type of pple but our tourist agencies here do not want travelers to know. |
Sep 12 2014, 05:17 PM
118 posts Joined: May 2011 |
Sep 12 2014, 05:47 PM
Sep 18 2014, 09:59 AM
585 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
i think it really depends on individual. some will feel great. and some will not.
Nov 21 2015, 03:56 PM
2,145 posts Joined: Mar 2009 From: 1BORNEO |
QUOTE(bsehben @ Aug 25 2014, 04:03 PM) Correct me if I'm wrong but Melbourne was recently voted as the World's Most Liveable City again. It is a wonderful place to live and work in as the Aussies emphasize alot on work-life balance, but ultimately i returned to Malaysia as many of my friends failed to secure their PR and it got kind of lonely over there. Hope this helps. |
Nov 21 2015, 10:01 PM
QUOTE(manickam123 @ Nov 20 2015, 12:51 PM) I sort of agree. I know a friend who work in singapore but lives in a banglo house in jb, but he wants to migrate to Australia. He says its for the kids education. I tell him, if he cares for his kids, then when his kids are big, why not send them for university education and have them to migrate there? After all with his superior SGD he can afford. me too but that because i was doing well(sort of) in australia and have to come back because of visa and start over again He just senyap. At end of the day, he is just making excuses cause he wants to migrate there himself. Migrants who come back, usually do it senyap senyap. They don't advertise their "failure", because of the Asian culture of shame. I know 2 migrants who came back, ask them why, they just keep mum. "shame" to tell everyone i am not doing as great as the time in australia |
Nov 22 2015, 02:47 PM
263 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
Nov 22 2015, 02:52 PM
I find it ironic that ppl here complaining abt racism.
Hello, isnt there institutionised racism in Bolehland? Ie the NEP. I mean this is not casual name calling. But government sanctioned. It affects the way kids can study, where ppl can work, what companies can get contracts. Some name calling and some individual cases does not represent Oz as a whole. It is in fact more multicultural than Bolehland. |
Nov 23 2015, 08:44 AM
Nov 24 2015, 12:43 PM
16 posts Joined: Mar 2012 |
Job at Australia (Melbourne)
Dec - April Grapes season no agent fees..help friend to find worker.if interested pls pm me for more detail..thanks ps:got massage job too..high salary |
Nov 24 2015, 01:35 PM
715 posts Joined: Jan 2008 From: Jupiter |
Going through all pages, seems like AU much better than Middle East
Jul 11 2017, 02:46 AM
16 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(MR 8925 @ Sep 11 2014, 11:36 PM) typing this from melbourne suburb. frankston is nearby (like PJ and Klang) from my place. what i can advise you is that, the outer you go from city, the more weird stares you get from locals. because its kinda kampung ady (country side). frankston is considered as kampung by locals living in city. and in kampung you dont find everyone educated enough, do you? but if you live closer to city or inner suburbs as they call it here, its better. more asians, educated locals, peaceful pipu. (I DIDNT READ ALL THE REPLIES FOR THIS POST. SO IF I REPEATED WHAT OTHERS MIGHT HAVE ALREADY TOLD, SORRY) My own experience with rural areas in other Western countries (US, France) is this - people are generally nicer and friendlier if you talk to them. They might give you a weird stare because they do not see that many asian faces, but it is out of curiosity, not racism. People in rural areas also do not have as many preconceived notions about you. Interestingly, the only incidence of racism I have encountered was in the city in Perth, Australia when some kids yelled out racist stuff towards me from their car. |
Sep 29 2017, 02:59 PM
1,650 posts Joined: Feb 2009 |
QUOTE(shazam7 @ Nov 22 2015, 02:52 PM) I find it ironic that ppl here complaining abt racism. If Aus is really multicultural then there should be holiday for different festive season such as Hari Raya, Chinese New Year, Deepavali and others.Hello, isnt there institutionised racism in Bolehland? Ie the NEP. I mean this is not casual name calling. But government sanctioned. It affects the way kids can study, where ppl can work, what companies can get contracts. Some name calling and some individual cases does not represent Oz as a whole. It is in fact more multicultural than Bolehland. |
Oct 1 2017, 12:16 AM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
QUOTE(tippman @ Sep 29 2017, 02:59 PM) If Aus is really multicultural then there should be holiday for different festive season such as Hari Raya, Chinese New Year, Deepavali and others. you are too malaysianised...lol....all you can think of is malay, chinese, indians....think greek, bulgarian, russian, koreans, japanese, fillipinos, samoans, botswanians etc... and multiculturalism is NOT just celebrating cultural festivals... in any case, there are too few people of minority cultures to have public holidays lah... |
Oct 1 2017, 02:04 PM
7,496 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
Oct 1 2017, 06:30 PM
12,290 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Oct 3 2017, 02:30 PM
555 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
good insights
| Change to: | 0.0342sec