QUOTE(MR 8925 @ Sep 11 2014, 11:36 PM)
typing this from melbourne suburb. frankston is nearby (like PJ and Klang) from my place. what i can advise you is that, the outer you go from city, the more weird stares you get from locals. because its kinda kampung ady (country side). frankston is considered as kampung by locals living in city. and in kampung you dont find everyone educated enough, do you? but if you live closer to city or inner suburbs as they call it here, its better. more asians, educated locals, peaceful pipu. (I DIDNT READ ALL THE REPLIES FOR THIS POST. SO IF I REPEATED WHAT OTHERS MIGHT HAVE ALREADY TOLD, SORRY)
My own experience with rural areas in other Western countries (US, France) is this - people are generally nicer and friendlier if you talk to them. They might give you a weird stare because they do not see that many asian faces, but it is out of curiosity, not racism. People in rural areas also do not have as many preconceived notions about you. Interestingly, the only incidence of racism I have encountered was in the city in Perth, Australia when some kids yelled out racist stuff towards me from their car.
Jul 11 2017, 02:46 AM

0.0147sec