Compilation of Good And Bad Contractors V2

Milo_O
post Jul 20 2018, 09:42 AM

432 posts

QUOTE(wcyoong @ Jul 20 2018, 09:39 AM)
Thanks to Milo.

Ya, i agree with your statement. Even in kaodim.com also only 1 review with the contractor i mentioned.
The Nizam contractor with plenty good n excellent reviews in kaodim.com (Naz Asia) but get bad reviews in this chain discussed earlier.
My frenz intro 1 now also havent reply me, drag me 1 month already.
Thats y im stucked in middle of nowhere but looks for kaodim sources. Haiz... (sharing some of my experience here).

Thanks~~wcyoong
Read thru this thread and i believe u will find some reliable contractors.
asiatrader98
post Aug 23 2018, 12:49 PM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(micro_machine_77 @ May 1 2017, 11:53 PM)

Just finished my renovation for my double storey terrace house at Kemuning and I had engaged 2 contractors (1 for general and 1 for bedroom wardrobe + study table). Based on my experience with them, I’m very satisfied with the job been done by these 2 contractors and decided to share it at here.

For Unity Kitchen:
Rating = 5/5
I get them to work on the wardrobe + study table based on the helpful reviews given by the forumer here and had no regret on it.

For general contractor:
I hired the below contractor for the main chunk of my renovation.

UB Renovation & Construction Works
TEL: 03-5131 4685 H/P: 019-373 9898 (William) & 019-606 0389 (William - Whatsapp)
No.42A, Jalan Kemuning Prima E33/E, Kemuning Utama, Sek 33, 40400 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan.

Below is the renovation work that I had done (basically, it’s a whole house renovation):
1. Auto-gate motor and security door + installation.
2. Plaster ceiling for living & dining hall + light points + air-cond piping
3. TV rack and backboard + unifi point
4. Dry kitchen cabinet + Quartz top + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall between top cabinet and quartz top + sliding door
5. Wet kitchen concrete top + tiles and cabinet below + mosaic tile (3” x 6”) on wall above hob till ceiling height + exhaust fan
6. Backyard floor concrete with B.R.C + tiles + concrete wall fence + small gate + Roof + grill between roof and fence + concrete table top with tiles + wall tile at cooker wall and washing area wall.
7. Master room sliding door (for walk-in wardrobe) + air-cond piping + shower screen
8. Other bedrooms (x3) air-cond piping + water heater point
9. Painting for interior, exterior, grill, door and staircase handle + plaster ceiling (included paint)
10. Miscellaneous like additional power sockets + switch + light points, installation of appliances + lights + fans, plumber work on sink + toilet accessories + water leaking fixes and etc…  

Rating = 5/5

The main reason for getting a general contractor for renovation was so that I just need to deal with 1 person/party and this 1 person/party will then help me to coordinate the renovation progress for me. I have to said that William from UB totally live up to my expectation where he always keeps me well inform not only on the progress but also on the things that I need to prepare for him on subsequent process (like sample of downlight before light hole cutting on plaster ceiling, paint color code on which wall before interior painting, light + fan + heater readiness before wireman coming over for installation, …etc). Even on the additional things that I requested, he will still help me to coordinate it.

One great thing about William was he really listen to my request and he will itemize it down clearly in the quotation. Any additional request that I make later during the renovation, he also gets it itemize clearly. He is also an honest contractor where whatever idea/request that I have which is not practical or do-able, he will straight advise me about it instead of keep saying yes. Also, he charged the additional request accordingly and reasonably.

Another great thing is he is well versed in English and very responsive on WhatsApp…!!! (I personally feel that this is something that you don’t usually see it from uncle which is 50 years old and above.) This had made my life easier to communicate with him as whatever ideas or questions that I have or whatever things that I think need to be touch up, I can just snap a photo or video, WhatsApp to him and he will reply back and then follow up on it.

For pricing wise, I can't say he is the cheapest 1 nor the most expensive 1, but it is negotiable and reasonable to me. During my quotation time, I do point out the pricing on some items are not competitive enough and he did look into it and then work out a better pricing for it. He even gave me some extra discount on the total amount of the initial quotation. Payment wise was 1K to confirm using his renovation services and then paid progressively after he completed certain progress for the renovation. For the additional items that I requested during the reno process, he did not take the advantage to mark up the price and charge me "kaw kaw" on it. In stead, he gave me an estimated price 1st and when I'm ok with it, he will then updated it into the additional item's quotation.

Lastly, I was really amazed that at the end of renovation, he did clean up the house for me…!!! Although not 100% clean but It is more like 80% clean and it had made my life much easier when I clean up the unit myself. Not to mention that he did finish up all the touch up on the things that I requested him to touch up.

So, I would say that the experience that I have with UB renovation is great, positive and I think he deserves a 5 stars rating from me.  thumbsup.gif
UB Renovation & Construction Works maybe good
but avoid
UB Wong Renovation 优美黄装修工程
No.27A, Jalan Dayang 58/8, Seksyen 8, Bandar Mahkota Cheras, 43200 Cheras, Selangor. (14.40 km)
43200 Cheras, Selangor
https://www.facebook.com/ubwongrenovation/?tn-str=k*F

I have a very bad renovation experice with them before

-delay the work (promise to be completed within 1-2 months for the small condo unit but even ady moving in still can not finish the work after 6 months)
-employ young and inexperienced supervisor (maybe the price is cheap) which always given the wrong measurement which caused the whole progress to delay and delay
-poor workmanship for all the works (you need to ask others to fix the issues they have arised)
-lack of supervising the work progress
the fatt guy wong always tell you that he is a very nice man (haha) and have 20+ years experienced in this industry doh.gif , they are good in anything about renovation and alway want you to listen to his advice hahaha....his workers always did the wrong things due to the poor supervising (seldom come to the site even work almost complete but the last 2 weeks never come to the site just ask the workers whatapp to him and then according to the picture he will tell you work have done)..... ranting.gif and always ask you to pay the balance regardless your satificaion when he claimed that the work have completed even he didn't come to the site, and all the compelted work is terrible, need to re-do and re-do

-poor installation done by their workers
they always tell you they can install anything, but spent a few weeks still can not install/complete the DB box/doors/water closet/water filter/t5 light/toilet accessories /water leaking/painting property for me (until I asked the pro installer came and fix it who only take 5 min to install them)
and the fatt guy always tell me he will not use the china product but last month all my heaters can not fuction at all, the technicial told me they have did the wrong installation with the wire melt due to the china product... vmad.gif ....etc

I need to ask the others to fix the issues they have such as doors installation (can not lock and close) /water closet (install not property cause water leaking) /water filter (water leaking due to wrong pipe installation)/t5 light (the wired can not connected)/Water Leaking issues due to poor installation/painting need to ask other to re-paint again ranting.gif

-and his another company UB Future Enterprise
installation for all the cabinet, tv cabinet, wardrobe with antijump sliding door for a few rooms it taken more than 1-2 month to complete
9other only take 1 to a few days) and with a few sub-con to assist cry.gif
they always have the wrong measurement cause the delay, and always ask you to accept it due to wrong measument done by them ranting.gif

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Aug 23 2018, 03:10 PM
Christinalee778
post Sep 9 2018, 11:54 PM

19 posts

For those who look for interior designer and renovation firm, pls beware of a company called M&C Gallery/M&C Concept and Design, the owner is called Melvin and Candy. They are irresponsible company that promise you a lot of things which end up nothing eventually. Only able to perform renovation with poor workmanship and keep on delaying the timeline. If you check the price with other company, their price is much more higher. The so called good quality also is just a lie.
If you are looking for interior design, make sure you don’t look for them. When you have problem and look for them to help, they will shout at you like they are doing for free. In fact, you have paid a lot of money to them.
They only will treat you good when try to trap you to sign the contact and pay them. Don’t look for them, you will regret!

VictorTan1981
post Sep 12 2018, 12:11 PM

20 posts

My house just finish reno and movein in PJ.

U might consider Wah - 012-2011495 . Previously renovate house in section 17.

Workmanship Good and price reasonable. Suggest to compare few quotation so you will comfortable use him.

Not calculative able to help.
nowhatsapp
post Sep 24 2018, 04:55 PM

Glad I read this. I found them through kaodim.com, I asked him many questions but find that his answer (not sure if it's the same person or not) was wishy washy - I had to ask many specific questions to lure professional advice from him. Wasn't that convince he knows what he's doing - it was about the difference between oil-based & water-based varnish for wood flooring.

QUOTE(samurai_ghost @ Dec 17 2016, 06:44 PM)
I've problem with water leakage on family hall / stairs ceiling. Suspect due to waterproofing on open space rooftop above that area.

Found this on Kaodim. Naz Asia Tech Sdn Bhd.

http://nazrenovation.com/contact/contact-information/
https://www.kaodim.com/service-providers/ma...ia-tech-sdn-bhd

Booked. Nizam (019 381 1510) came for inspection. Clearly said it might due to waterproofing & will come again for repair.

He sent 2 contractors & drove off. End up they unable to repair or do anything because they thought the problem was because of roof / zinc leakage rather concrete slab waterproofing. They didn't bring appropriate equipment Wasting time.

3rd visit with 2 contractors also, he drove off. Applied waterproofing membrane, put some piping for better rain water flow, etc. 4th visit for ceiling paint job.

After 3 days watermark appeared again on the same spot. Contact Nizam, he said Ok. Nothing happens up to now. No follow up, etc. Give up already.

1. He hardly to be contacted
2. He'll not follow up on your call or appointment made. Normally I'm the one pursuing to get confirmation for appointment. Few times he cancelled last minutes without notice.
3. Workmanship, leak again after few days, what else I can say. Paint job, so-so.

Personally, I'm not satisfied & regret hiring him. Actually I'm quite desperate during that time because of leakage was getting worst day by day. Preferably other not to hire him as well, if possible.

And now the leaking is still happening. Called Achik which recommended Joanne on this thread. He's busy with other renovation job.

Can anybody suggest a good contractor for this kind of job? Reasonable price too. It could be just a minimal touch up. Thanks!
fuku Ryu
post Sep 26 2018, 08:14 PM

403 posts

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3320875/+360

ceresnaturale
post Sep 27 2018, 02:17 PM

My good experience is with Mr. Lim from http://meridiandesign.com.my. He is the owner of the ID company and they supplies signature kitchen. He is very responsive to WhatsApp and calls and after a year of work completion, he still responded to me when I make a complaint on the previous work. There are some small defects and I'm being quite particular at picking those up. Even so, he responded with a lot of patience. Workmanship... It is decent.. Then again I'm a critique.. So by far I would say his team does a pretty good job. Most importantly he gives a good after sales service. Thumbs up!
jacsotong
post Sep 27 2018, 02:18 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(asiatrader98 @ Aug 23 2018, 01:49 PM)
UB Renovation & Construction Works maybe good
but avoid
UB Wong Renovation 优美黄装修工程
No.27A, Jalan Dayang 58/8, Seksyen 8, Bandar Mahkota Cheras, 43200 Cheras, Selangor. (14.40 km)
43200 Cheras, Selangor
https://www.facebook.com/ubwongrenovation/?tn-str=k*F

I have a very bad renovation experice with them before

-delay the work (promise to be completed within 1-2 months for the small condo unit but even ady moving in still can not finish the work after 6 months)
-employ young and inexperienced supervisor (maybe the price is cheap) which always given the wrong measurement which caused the whole progress to delay and delay
-poor workmanship for all the works (you need to ask others to fix the issues they have arised)
-lack of supervising the work progress
the fatt guy wong always tell you that he is a very nice man (haha)  and have 20+ years experienced in this industry  doh.gif  , they are good in anything about renovation and alway want you to listen to his advice  hahaha....his workers always did the wrong things due to the poor supervising (seldom come to the site even work almost complete but the last 2 weeks never come to the site just ask the workers whatapp to him and then according to the picture he will tell you work have done)..... ranting.gif and always ask you to pay the balance regardless your satificaion when he claimed that the work have completed even he didn't come to the site, and all the compelted work is  terrible, need to re-do and re-do

-poor installation done by their workers
they always tell you they can install anything, but spent a few weeks still can not install/complete the DB box/doors/water closet/water filter/t5 light/toilet accessories /water leaking/painting property for me (until I asked the pro installer came and fix it who only take 5 min to install them)
and the fatt guy always tell me he will not use the china product but last month all my heaters can not fuction at all, the technicial told me they have did the wrong installation with the wire melt due to the china product... vmad.gif ....etc

I need to ask the others to fix the issues they have such as doors installation (can not lock and close) /water closet (install not property cause water leaking) /water filter (water leaking due to wrong pipe installation)/t5 light (the wired can not connected)/Water Leaking issues due to poor installation/painting need to ask other to re-paint again ranting.gif

-and his another company UB Future Enterprise
installation for all the cabinet, tv cabinet, wardrobe with antijump sliding door for a few rooms it taken more than 1-2 month to complete
9other only take 1 to a few days) and with a few sub-con to assist cry.gif
they always have the wrong measurement cause the delay, and always ask you to accept it due to wrong measument done by them  ranting.gif 
Glad to read your comment. Actually i also dealing & considering to take their service, now still in revising quotation stage. Yes, the boss claimed themselves already 20+yrs in this line but i just noticed that their only registered at CIDB since 2016 & started another furniture biz since 2017.... shocking.gif

Last week i just went to his office to discuss in details for those itemized tasks but the answer he give is pusing sini pusing sana....For example, for laying tiles, he say laying wall tiles is much more harder than floor tiles, so price will be slightly higher. But he quote me RM 9/psf for wall tiles (supplying labour & materials only, not included tiles) & RM 11 - RM 13/psf for floor tiles (depends on diff area)...he likes hit his own mouth.... doh.gif doh.gif
jacsotong
post Sep 27 2018, 02:21 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(myfriend @ Jun 24 2018, 11:30 AM)
Recently I got contact of one general contractor in LYN to renovate my condo unit. I called Mr. Yap Peng Kim after saw the review.

He is a friendly guy and he give us right advice whenever we stuck in any decision taking.
His jobs were clean. Sometimes I asked him to do some extra touch up works on different things. He made sure he check and make sure the whole things works properly even though we only ask him to repair a part of it.

He is a person who never complains. Admit if he or his workers did any mistake and he make sure he repair / replace those damaged items. He is also a trustworthy person and his workers really take care the house in good care. the job was CLEAN!

Overall, my house looks superb now. Even after he finished his job and got the full payment, I still calls him to drill or do small jobs (New house sure we need to fix lots of things until we move in). He do that. If we notice any small errors in his job, we just need to WhatsApp him the picture. The next day he comes and repair it.

There a lot contractors out there don't turn up once the full payment settled. He is different. I would like to engage him again & again for any jobs in future.

Thank you bro.

Yap Peng Kim
012-3291682
Did Yap registered a company or just run biz as freelance? Would like to know more of the biz background before engage with him, thanks.
rainderain
post Sep 28 2018, 01:37 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(jacsotong @ Sep 27 2018, 02:21 PM)
Did Yap registered a company or just run biz as freelance? Would like to know more of the biz background before engage with him, thanks.
freelance..i awarded my house renovation to him
jacsotong
post Oct 1 2018, 10:46 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(rainderain @ Sep 28 2018, 02:37 PM)
freelance..i awarded my house renovation to him
Noted. In my case I plan to apply permit/approval from MPKJ for my house renovation, hence must use CIDB's registered contractor, right? Since Yap is running as freelancer, can't really consider his service...haiz... blush.gif
rainderain
post Oct 1 2018, 12:24 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(jacsotong @ Oct 1 2018, 10:46 AM)
Noted. In my case I plan to apply permit/approval from MPKJ for my house renovation, hence must use CIDB's registered contractor, right? Since Yap is running as freelancer, can't really consider his service...haiz... blush.gif
u plan to do extension?
jacsotong
post Oct 1 2018, 04:55 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(rainderain @ Oct 1 2018, 01:24 PM)
u plan to do extension?
Yes, extension for wet kitchen (20ft x 5 ft) & also redo the car porch (enlarge gate size & brick wall fencing) smile.gif
rainderain
post Oct 1 2018, 05:16 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(jacsotong @ Oct 1 2018, 04:55 PM)
Yes, extension for wet kitchen (20ft x 5 ft) & also redo the car porch (enlarge gate size & brick wall fencing)  smile.gif
oh..then better get the contractor who got registered themselves as a contractor
asiatrader98
post Oct 4 2018, 10:12 AM

1,485 posts

QUOTE(jacsotong @ Sep 27 2018, 02:18 PM)
Glad to read your comment. Actually i also dealing & considering to take their service, now still in revising quotation stage. Yes, the boss claimed themselves already 20+yrs in this line but i just noticed that their only registered at CIDB since 2016 & started another furniture biz since 2017.... shocking.gif

Last week i just went to his office to discuss in details for those itemized tasks but the answer he give is pusing sini pusing sana....For example, for laying tiles, he say laying wall tiles is much more harder than floor tiles, so price will be slightly higher. But he quote me RM 9/psf for wall tiles (supplying labour & materials only, not included tiles) & RM 11 - RM 13/psf for floor tiles (depends on diff area)...he likes hit his own mouth.... doh.gif  doh.gif
when communicate with him pls use the phone recorder app or whatapp, his workers tell me he always can not remember what he has promised you (owner/staff) so s/he advice me better with this way to protect yourself, during the renovation period since he seldom come to the site to monitor the process I always try to make friend with his workers and sub-con
but most of them now leaving this company ady

he always giving you the cheaper quotation at first then only later he will tell you not including this and that, i kena so many times vmad.gif

in his quotation, eg supply and install this items so and so, then later he will tell you supply and install actually excluding supply the items.... shakehead.gif and he is always right

because of his cheaper quotation (not consider very cheap but reasonable), he can get the project easily, and no time to entertain you later since he can easily get more and more project ....

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Oct 4 2018, 10:16 AM
yohyang
post Nov 21 2018, 11:39 AM

@brotan, please update

Do not hire this Contractor for renovation:
Fullbest Construction and renovation
Name: Alan Ng

A general contractor who basically sub most of the work to sub con. His team's workmanship was very bad while the sub-con work is so so.

What disappoint me the most is the application of CCC. He did not inform me that the application form need to be signed by Certify CIDB contractor in order to get CCC while he is not a CIDB certified contractor. Very irresponsible contractor who claimed that he is not aware of the new rules when preparing the drawing plan. He cheated me and wasted my time waiting for him to apply CIDB certification, claimed that he had applied for it. But in the end, due to the fee is too expensive, he is not willing to pay the fee to be certified. However, when I cross checked in CIDB websites, shown that he was a member since Aug 18. Avoid this contractor!! Do advise me where can I lodge a complaint to deal with this type of contractor, who receive the money but did not complete the work.

Separately, anyone please recommend me a CIDB contractor who is able to sign on the approved plan for me to apply for CCC. The renovation completed as per the drawing plan. Please PM me for details, I am willing to pay for a reasonable fees, thanks.

stevenkkh
post Nov 29 2018, 04:56 PM

357 posts

Anyone try before www.interspacedesignstudio.com/get-a-quote

rainderain
post Dec 20 2018, 04:39 PM

313 posts

I have just done my house renovation by Mr Yap Peng Kim by end of oct,I get to know him from this forum.quite satisfied his work as he able to fulfilled my requirement ,he solved my issue fast that happened during the renovation period.although at the beginning I was disagree(some of the small small renovation issue) with him ,but end up I have no regret to do it (example : install the rain shower heater).he wont ask me to renovate those unnecessary .there is no problem occurs after the renovation.overall good
coyouth
post Dec 20 2018, 09:16 PM

820 posts

QUOTE(HomeNurseServices @ May 17 2017, 01:37 AM)
Hi guys.

Just finished renovation to my dream home recently. I used the same contractor as previously.

I wanted to share a bit on my experience with Mr Yap's services.

For starters, he is very accommodating with your requests and can easily give you pros and cons for your request. And he help overcome the con so that you still get what you want without compromising quality.

Since we are living in the same house during the renovation process, the workers even make sure to keep everything clean while working indoors. They do a good job and follow up with all my requests. Especially when I wanted to a small gate to the entrance of my house. Very pleasant.

It is definitely a good experience and I'm so glad that I did not have to go through any horror stories like what I have read here.

Pricing was definitely reasonable as I compared with several companies on Kaodim and it was still within my budget. Not to mention the fact that he overlook minor fixes in order to help out.

Mr Yap even went above and beyond to make sure the job was done satisfactorily. Last day of reno, he personally show up (even though he did not have to) and fixed up last items with his team of technicians. I really appreciated that gesture.

Mr Yap's work in both my houses definitely left a lasting good impression. Will definitely recommend his service and can vouch his good work.

And since good things must be shared; contact details below.  smile.gif
Yap Peng Kim
VNB Trading
Company Reg No: 002009406-P
why you share this pic?
jusTinMM
post Dec 23 2018, 05:42 PM

523 posts

my family have a factory which built up is about 3500sqf and about 30 ft height...we thinking to do concrete/steel mezzanine floor...the area of the mezzanine is about 3000sqf....can anyone here recommend me the contractor who can do this? do we need to have an architect to submit the building plan for approval?

27 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0362sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:14 PM