If you did emergency brake. the cvt will went in to limp mode?
CVT(CHAT), User may share your exprience here.
Aug 18 2014, 09:05 AM
103 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
If you did emergency brake. the cvt will went in to limp mode?
Aug 18 2014, 10:19 AM
1,604 posts Joined: Jun 2007 |
QUOTE(arza04 @ Aug 12 2014, 02:46 PM) I dont know if mine is expensive, my exora bold cvt..but so far 45k km driven no problem or warning sign whatsoever appear Even more expensive than Honda City. I guess Proton can go and f**k spiders.cvt fluid change interval every 60,000km is RM160 cvt oil filter interval every 60,000km is RM235 total RM 395 for 60,000km |
Aug 18 2014, 10:34 AM
2,294 posts Joined: Sep 2011 |
QUOTE(wayfeel @ Aug 15 2014, 05:29 PM) That would be a shock of a lifetime...wat did the cause of damage after any diagnosis? I'm very curious and concern of this matter too if there was no signs which is scary. So wat happen now or then.... cause of damage: none provided by honda sa.wat happen: went for other honda sa to have 2nd opinion, he said need to bring all the past receipts so that he can check further and only can do during weekdays ... at the end just sold it to used car dealer without fixing it... actually before that oledi need to replace this and that every 2-3 months ... so, just gave up. |
Aug 18 2014, 12:54 PM
303 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Aug 22 2014, 03:02 PM
103 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Will your cvt produce whining sound?
Aug 22 2014, 03:09 PM
15,022 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Damansara Jaya/Bandar Utama |
Aug 22 2014, 05:22 PM
2,429 posts Joined: Feb 2007 |
QUOTE(melvinho @ Aug 22 2014, 03:02 PM) My uncle's Preve has a loud reverse whining sound. My family Exora has also a reverse whining sound, but much lesser than Preve, despite same gearbox code. With the radiator fan running (it's louder than Preve) , it will drown/muffle the whining noise even further. The Honda City, the whining sound is very minimal, close to unnoticeable, when reversing (you wont notice it unless you switch off your aircond fan and listen carefully). There is also very minimal whining noise when decelerating (sounds like aeroplane jet engine) But overall, it does not affect operation and reliability of the gearbox. This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Aug 22 2014, 05:26 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 01:12 PM
231 posts Joined: Aug 2012 |
So...CVT has no effect on fuel consumption...but it seems to me it kinda take some toll on it...
im using Saga 2014 SE....anyone can eloborate to me ?.. |
Aug 24 2014, 04:05 PM
888 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(Zaszo @ Aug 24 2014, 01:12 PM) So...CVT has no effect on fuel consumption...but it seems to me it kinda take some toll on it... Well it shouldn't have any toll on fuel consumption, and in my experience the driver has more effect on the FC. In most cases even with torque converter CVTs the fuel consumption can actually improve, and more and more CVTs are actually bettering FC of manuals.im using Saga 2014 SE....anyone can eloborate to me ?.. People tend to make CVT's FC worse (or not reaping the benefit of CVTs) because they drive it with a throttle input like that of a conventional (and older) TC automatics. Once the engine has reached a certain optimal RPM point it'll stay there for as long as it can (that depends on YOUR throttle input). For every CVT (yes, same goes for Proton's) I notice that they can even lock the RPM at 1500 and the car still accelerates (rather modestly) until the ratio is too big and you've reached higher speeds. Usually the engine is happy staying at 2000 while you're accelerating towards highway speed, IF you allow it to stay at 2000 rpm. To get the same FC with a conventional stepped gearbox, you will be accelerating considerably slower and you'd still have to let the engine go beyond 2000 rpm. In fact, you can never match the FC with a conventional auto at all given that scenario. You'd have better luck with a manual, but it is a manual. In short, it doesn't give better FC results, it ALLOWS better FC results. YOU have the greater part in making that happen. It's even better than a conventional manual for economy driving because it's a lot more consistent. This post has been edited by VagueConcerns: Aug 24 2014, 04:14 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 04:51 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(VagueConcerns @ Aug 24 2014, 04:05 PM) Well it shouldn't have any toll on fuel consumption, and in my experience the driver has more effect on the FC. In most cases even with torque converter CVTs the fuel consumption can actually improve, and more and more CVTs are actually bettering FC of manuals. Well said. i used to drive my FLX SE and keep it under 2K RPM in urban roads. It is not fast but perfectly driveable if you can keep yourself from mashing the throttle. At 2k RPM I can reach 80kmh max. I get about 12-13 km/l for that 1.6l Campro in mixed city and highway.People tend to make CVT's FC worse (or not reaping the benefit of CVTs) because they drive it with a throttle input like that of a conventional (and older) TC automatics. Once the engine has reached a certain optimal RPM point it'll stay there for as long as it can (that depends on YOUR throttle input). For every CVT (yes, same goes for Proton's) I notice that they can even lock the RPM at 1500 and the car still accelerates (rather modestly) until the ratio is too big and you've reached higher speeds. Usually the engine is happy staying at 2000 while you're accelerating towards highway speed, IF you allow it to stay at 2000 rpm. To get the same FC with a conventional stepped gearbox, you will be accelerating considerably slower and you'd still have to let the engine go beyond 2000 rpm. In fact, you can never match the FC with a conventional auto at all given that scenario. You'd have better luck with a manual, but it is a manual. In short, it doesn't give better FC results, it ALLOWS better FC results. YOU have the greater part in making that happen. It's even better than a conventional manual for economy driving because it's a lot more consistent. I also wanna add to your last statement.....a CVT makes it waayy easier to get good FC than traditional stepped transmissions. If you drive with an eye on an instant FC gauge you would know what I mean. You can almost control the instant FC with your throttle all of the time.....whereas with stepped trannys there is less control because when it shifts the instant FC can dramatically go either way. |
Aug 24 2014, 06:33 PM
Im noticed the different too...but it cant help when u are overtaking a car...not to say long huge lorry..
Aug 24 2014, 07:05 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(Zaszo @ Aug 24 2014, 06:33 PM) Im noticed the different too...but it cant help when u are overtaking a car...not to say long huge lorry.. If your CVT has stepped auto mode like Saga FLX / Exora, before you overtake, switch to that mode and stepped on the throttle. This will make the CVT "jump" to a lower gear ratio without going through the intermediate ratios. Essentially this is like downshifting on a traditional stepped transmission.If it has manual mode/paddle shifters, use it to manually downshift to a lower gear ratio like the above. If it has neither, just switch to low ratio mode (L or S or B on the shifter) and whack the throttle. After overtaking, switch back to normal D mode. This post has been edited by dares: Aug 24 2014, 07:06 PM |
Aug 24 2014, 07:35 PM
303 posts Joined: Nov 2013 |
Never had problem overtaking, already more than 2 years using cvt
but mine is cvt terbo lo |
Aug 24 2014, 09:10 PM
888 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 24 2014, 04:51 PM) Well said. i used to drive my FLX SE and keep it under 2K RPM in urban roads. It is not fast but perfectly driveable if you can keep yourself from mashing the throttle. At 2k RPM I can reach 80kmh max. I get about 12-13 km/l for that 1.6l Campro in mixed city and highway. Yeah, it's much easier. You only have one thing to get control of and that's the throttle. Acceleration isn't as detrimental to FC compared to a stepped transmission.I also wanna add to your last statement.....a CVT makes it waayy easier to get good FC than traditional stepped transmissions. If you drive with an eye on an instant FC gauge you would know what I mean. You can almost control the instant FC with your throttle all of the time.....whereas with stepped trannys there is less control because when it shifts the instant FC can dramatically go either way. |
Aug 24 2014, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(dares @ Aug 24 2014, 07:05 PM) If your CVT has stepped auto mode like Saga FLX / Exora, before you overtake, switch to that mode and stepped on the throttle. This will make the CVT "jump" to a lower gear ratio without going through the intermediate ratios. Essentially this is like downshifting on a traditional stepped transmission. what does it mean by auto mode ?If it has manual mode/paddle shifters, use it to manually downshift to a lower gear ratio like the above. If it has neither, just switch to low ratio mode (L or S or B on the shifter) and whack the throttle. After overtaking, switch back to normal D mode. |
Jan 2 2018, 08:15 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
4,296 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Malaysia |
QUOTE(lucifah @ Aug 13 2014, 10:32 AM) first time i see overheated invecs III Boss boss asx still there a?i drive maintain at 5 - 6k rpm for very long time in manual mode oso so far no prob *touch wood* but mine comes with a CVT cooler, which maybe explains some thing Nak tengok CVT cooler how the fix.. vertically or horizontally? This post has been edited by alwinnng: Jan 2 2018, 08:15 PM |
Jan 2 2018, 10:00 PM
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
Jan 3 2018, 01:43 AM
Jan 3 2018, 08:59 AM
7,948 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Soviet Sarawak |
Jan 5 2018, 09:09 PM
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
5 queries
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:37 AM |