126 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today ? - Episode 2, Share what you watch lately...

Ivan_T
post Nov 1 2017, 04:03 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 1 2017, 02:40 AM)
i first watched transformers last knight in 1080p dd5.1.

i just watched it again in 4k hdr ddtruehd.

ooo... probably the most visually stunning movie i hv ever watched!

even when the story is crap, michael bay has made this one into a masterpiece of special effects, imo.
Haha..got to agree with you! I watched the Transformer Last knight in the 1080p, then 4K and finally the 3D 1080p. Very nice effects...
AVFAN
post Nov 1 2017, 07:19 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Ivan_T @ Nov 1 2017, 04:03 PM)
Haha..got to agree with you! I watched the Transformer Last knight in the 1080p, then 4K and finally the 3D 1080p. Very nice effects...
it is!

i just watched the 1st epi of blue planet II in 1080p.

having watched planet earth II in 4k, i think i will wait for the 4k episodes.

amazing stuff... fish eating a bird... whales and dolphins getting together... with david attenborough (again!).

humans can learn to work with other species and not just EAT ALL of them!! biggrin.gif

voncrane
post Nov 1 2017, 10:04 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 1 2017, 07:19 PM)
it is!

i just watched the 1st epi of blue planet II in 1080p.

having watched planet earth II in 4k, i think i will wait for the 4k episodes.

amazing stuff... fish eating a bird... whales and dolphins getting together... with david attenborough (again!).

humans can learn to work with other species and not just EAT ALL of them!! biggrin.gif

But...but.. "licks fingers" grin.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 1 2017, 10:21 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 1 2017, 10:04 PM)
But...but.. "licks fingers" grin.gif
ok...

that's why in the next planet of the apes movie, maybe apes stew beings like u for dinner. laugh.gif
voncrane
post Nov 1 2017, 10:59 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 1 2017, 10:21 PM)
ok...

that's why in the next planet of the apes movie, maybe apes stew beings like u for dinner. laugh.gif
Ha... Will attack USA & EU first.. Even if they get to Asia, Malaysia isn't on their radar.. Ask Hollywood, zero such phenomenon in Malaysia.. laugh.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 2 2017, 05:09 PM

24,454 posts

there was an inconvenient truth 2006 where al gore shared his findings on climatic change.

there is now a sequel: an incovenient sequel: truth to power 2017.

similar messages, more dramatic videos, more shocking data.

the ending is a little sad... while some progress been made and a new satellite launched to monitor earth's climate, trump has just pulled the USA out of the paris agreement on climatic change.

a must watch if u care about climatic change and global warming due to burning of fossil fuels and agriculture.

SSJBen
post Nov 2 2017, 06:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 1 2017, 02:40 AM)
i first watched transformers last knight in 1080p dd5.1.

i just watched it again in 4k hdr ddtruehd.

ooo... probably the most visually stunning movie i hv ever watched!

even when the story is crap, michael bay has made this one into a masterpiece of special effects, imo.
It's got some decent LFE too, best out of the entire series. I don't know how people can say the CG is stunning though....? I don't see it.
voncrane
post Nov 2 2017, 08:34 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 2 2017, 06:08 PM)
It's got some decent LFE too, best out of the entire series. I don't know how people can say the CG is stunning though....? I don't see it.
It's stunning because pixels.. Example, the robots are bigger and more detailed. Not to mention, more human-like and under the scrutiny of 4K + HDR on large TVs. That takes a ton of VFX work buddy. Try watching it not just for the action and movie itself, but as well as the pq. nod.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 2 2017, 09:54 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 2 2017, 08:34 PM)
It's stunning because pixels.. Example, the robots are bigger and more detailed. Not to mention, more human-like and under the scrutiny of 4K + HDR on large TVs. That takes a ton of VFX work buddy. Try watching it not just for the action and movie itself, but as well as the pq.  nod.gif
My friend is actually one of the lead for one of the post production vfx companies for this movie. He even agreed it's not very impressive... So~
voncrane
post Nov 2 2017, 10:11 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 2 2017, 09:54 PM)
My friend is actually one of the lead for one of the post production vfx companies for this movie. He even agreed it's not very impressive... So~
To each his own I guess.. Unless he's used to much better effects...Either needs to get his eyes checked or better equipment. Fact remains that It's not the same cgi level as the past movies or that there isn't marked improvements in pq between the 1080p and 4K+HDR versions of the latest movie.
SSJBen
post Nov 2 2017, 10:48 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 2 2017, 10:11 PM)
To each his own I guess.. Unless he's used to much better effects...Either needs to get his eyes checked or better equipment. Fact remains that It's not the same cgi level as the past movies or that there isn't marked improvements in pq between the 1080p and 4K+HDR versions of the latest movie.
Reasons are much more technical than just "PQ is better" I'm afraid.
voncrane
post Nov 3 2017, 12:25 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 2 2017, 10:48 PM)
Reasons are much more technical than just "PQ is better" I'm afraid.
Well, you should take your own advice. I would post screengrabs from past transformer movies side by side with the current one. But wait, your friend is connected... So unnecessary.. doh.gif Tell you what, I see you are into sound equipment, means you probably have access to a decent TV as well. Pop in the Blu-ray of the 1st installment and then the 5th. Compare the colors & or features of Optimus Prime... I rest..
AVFAN
post Nov 3 2017, 12:41 AM

24,454 posts

can u ask yr fren which title(s) impresses him/her most?

will be good for me and others to try acclaimed ones.

SSJBen
post Nov 3 2017, 02:09 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 3 2017, 12:25 AM)
Well, you should take your own advice. I would post screengrabs from past transformer movies side by side with the current one. But wait, your friend is connected... So unnecessary.. doh.gif  Tell you what, I see you are into sound equipment, means you probably have access to a decent TV as well. Pop in the Blu-ray of the 1st installment and then the 5th. Compare the colors & or features of Optimus Prime... I rest..
I've already watched the UHD version on my LG C7.... granted I'll admit I don't own the disc but I do have an untouched remux file of it.

You are not getting my point. You are assuming that I say the movie looks bad and then you are comparing it to previous installments. I never once did say the movie looked bad, I'm saying from this movie alone - objectively speaking from a technical point of view is unimpressive. Your understanding stems from: "it looks good because pixels". That's the layman way of looking at CG, no offense.

The rigging of the models are passable, the models have high tri counts yes but it's really no better than what Kong did. There's a weird use of speculars on the bodies and the fact that they chose to DI this movie at 2k instead of 4k is a weird one. The friend who works on this movie said they had the raws for a full 4k DI, but for whatever reason didn't go that route.
If you think high poly count is the only thing matters, then well... okay, not gonna argue that. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder right?

You are simply misunderstanding my point:

1) The movie looks good, YES. No one said it looked bad.

2) From a technical artist perspective, it is NOT impressive because it doesn't do anything amazing.
voncrane
post Nov 3 2017, 07:01 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 3 2017, 02:09 AM)
I've already watched the UHD version on my LG C7.... granted I'll admit I don't own the disc but I do have an untouched remux file of it.

You are not getting my point. You are assuming that I say the movie looks bad and then you are comparing it to previous installments. I never once did say the movie looked bad, I'm saying from this movie alone - objectively speaking from a technical point of view is unimpressive. Your understanding stems from: "it looks good because pixels". That's the layman way of looking at CG, no offense.

The rigging of the models are passable, the models have high tri counts yes but it's really no better than what Kong did. There's a weird use of speculars on the bodies and the fact that they chose to DI this movie at 2k instead of 4k is a weird one. The friend who works on this movie said they had the raws for a full 4k DI, but for whatever reason didn't go that route.
If you think high poly count is the only thing matters, then well... okay, not gonna argue that. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder right?

You are simply misunderstanding my point:

1) The movie looks good, YES. No one said it looked bad.

2) From a technical artist perspective, it is NOT impressive because it doesn't do anything amazing.
Progress is achieved when new does better than old, that’s how all comparisons are done. Key phrase spotted.. All good. FYI, I gave that initial explanation “pixel” for simplicity reasons. Also, I’ve seen Kong and will pick Transformers over it in the visuals department... aka more stunning.
skylinelover
post Nov 3 2017, 11:15 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,251 posts

haha like got MH370 reference jah laugh.gif mega_shok.gif
AVFAN
post Nov 3 2017, 06:48 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Nov 3 2017, 07:01 AM)
Progress is achieved when new does better than old, that’s how all comparisons are done. Key phrase spotted.. All good. FYI, I gave that initial explanation “pixel” for simplicity reasons. Also, I’ve seen Kong and will pick Transformers over it in the visuals department... aka more stunning.
last knight is definitely more stunning that kong.

i dun think my eyes are faulty.

pls respond... i m dying to try what u or yr fren think is "impressive."
SSJBen
post Nov 3 2017, 07:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 3 2017, 06:48 PM)
last knight is definitely more stunning that kong.

i dun think my eyes are faulty.
pls respond... i m dying to try what u or yr fren think is "impressive."
There's really nothing to talk about if people are only focus on the bangs and the whizzes without looking at the work that goes behind it.

I don't think Kong is impressive if I look purely at the layman term of "picture quality". No it absolutely doesn't, Ghost in the Shell looks better in that case. But if you've ever done any 3D rigging, modelling, and texture wraps along with effects work, Kong is impressive. If you think doing hair and fur is easier than modelling metal, that's naive.

Your eyes aren't faulty, Last Knight definitely looks better than Kong.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Nov 3 2017, 07:50 PM
AVFAN
post Nov 3 2017, 08:15 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 3 2017, 07:49 PM)
There's really nothing to talk about if people are only focus on the bangs and the whizzes without looking at the work that goes behind it.

I don't think Kong is impressive if I look purely at the layman term of "picture quality". No it absolutely doesn't, Ghost in the Shell looks better in that case. But if you've ever done any 3D rigging, modelling, and texture wraps along with effects work, Kong is impressive. If you think doing hair and fur is easier than modelling metal, that's naive.

Your eyes aren't faulty, Last Knight definitely looks better than Kong.
my eyes tell me ghost in the shell is not that stunning.

so, maybe it is all up to individual biases.

never mind, let's stick to the movie stuff here, not brag how good yr expertise or equipment is.

there are other threads for that.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Nov 3 2017, 08:17 PM
SSJBen
post Nov 3 2017, 09:35 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Yup forgot this thread is for casuals.

126 Pages « < 86 87 88 89 90 > » Top

0.0346sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled