171 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Bottom

Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

Rice_Owl84
post Nov 11 2014, 09:44 AM

603 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 11 2014, 12:23 AM)
Spend on classes. Replace your 7D with a 70D.

What classes are best to take? Any school or workshop groups to recommend? Preferable held on weekends because I'm not going to be taking days off work for the classes.

goldfries
post Nov 11 2014, 09:47 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Nowadays most workshops are portraiture related BUT you can apply the concept on food and other forms of photography.
munak991
post Nov 11 2014, 10:17 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Nov 11 2014, 09:40 AM)
Well if you think that the features of the 6D will give you the best advantages over the 70D and 7D mk2 then go ahead.  If you're not going to take advantage of the flip screen or lots of cross type AF and 1.6x crop for zoom then you can think about the 6D for ISO.  I got the 6D and don't regret much.  The video quality is really much better than the 650D and the ISO performance.  It gets so much more details.  The FF high ISO video at 12800 is impressing me.  I mean APSC at ISO 6400 is completely horrible in comparison.  The 6D ISO will impress you so much you feel you don't need wide aperture primes to deal with low light.  The 24-105 F4 kit can be all that you need literally. 

For flash photography I don't see much difference though.  Honestly if I were just doing photography only I would stick to APSC because the lenses are so much cheaper.  Lucky for me the tokina 11-16mm works great so I don't have to worry about UWA yet.  Only lens type I'm missing for the 6D is telephoto zoom lens.  If I need that zoom I go back to my 650D with 55-250mm.  I'll still be keeping the 650D as a B camera for video.  Its so awesome to shoot video with 2-3 cameras at the same time for events.  3rd camera will be my EOS M.  3 angles to choose from and transition.  Problem I have is the 30 min time limit in video and the event can go on continuously for an hour. 

Yeah I got a bit of GAS.  But I don't mind as long as I don't buy something useless.  I did make some purchases of cheap products that went faulty and the feeling sucks knowing you have to buy its again.  Read somewhere in other forums "Buy Nice Or Buy Twice!" and sometimes it is true.  Always better to buy something that will work for the long term because you don't want to buy the same thing twice in photography/videography, when there is so much gear to acquire.  Especially for video- video head tripods, sliders, jibs, steadicam, boom mics, audio recorders, LED lights the list can go on and each really do enhance video.  You will learn it takes more than just the camera to get beautiful shots.  And last but not least the software editing skills to finish the enhancements.
No need Flip Screen, cause ill be connecting to PC/Mac while shooting

Cross type AF, not doing wild life / sport photography

1.6x crop, i know the zoom and the crop

im taking the 24-70mm, cause the 105 has stronger barrel distortion
mingyuyu
post Nov 11 2014, 10:20 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Nov 11 2014, 12:12 AM)
I want to jump to X-T1 for the longest of time but it's a little limited.

Went for the D750 because I feel that having Dual SD-card slot is great for professional purpose, plus it has WiFi ability, pop-up flash trigger and tilt-LCD (not as nice as 60D / 70D).

All those others like A7 and Fuji stuff are great, light and all but they don't have many things I like on it. A7 isn't cheap either.

My EOS 60D's SD card slot went bongkers one day and so many content lost, some pictures I have to retake. Some I haven't even retake.

As for Canon's products, I highly recommend the EOS 70D over the rest. Flip LCD ftw!

Once I settle all my stuff for this year, I'll probably just get the X-T1 for the experience.
i considered both the xt1 and a7 before after selling my dslr, end up went for m4/3 because of super small form factor and more glass choices, didn't regret biggrin.gif

the a7 drops until 3k+ only for now, i saw people selling before 3.2k for body 1 year old unit. as for xt1 the camera keeps value nicely i think, still 4k+.
Petre
post Nov 11 2014, 10:58 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 11 2014, 10:17 AM)
No need Flip Screen, cause ill be connecting to PC/Mac while shooting

Cross type AF, not doing wild life / sport photography

1.6x crop, i know the zoom and the crop

im taking the 24-70mm, cause the 105 has stronger barrel distortion
dun worry distortion cause it wont be a real factor to worry unless you are shooting architecture and lots of straight lines...

furthermore, most distortions can be fixed easily nowadays...

i hope you dont start to read about tilt shift lenses biggrin.gif
munak991
post Nov 11 2014, 11:05 AM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Nov 11 2014, 10:58 AM)
dun worry distortion cause it wont be a real factor to worry unless you are shooting architecture and lots of straight lines...

furthermore, most distortions can be fixed easily nowadays...

i hope you dont start to read about tilt shift lenses biggrin.gif
So... taking the 105 or the 70?

an extended of 30mm is a great extention

Distortion can be fix with photo shop, i read too
even 8mm lens round distortion can become a landscape photo

In term of sharpness 70 or 105?
you guys might say the different is very minimal,

The plus side for 70mm is light weight
and the macro many people said can throw away

This post has been edited by munak991: Nov 11 2014, 11:08 AM
Petre
post Nov 11 2014, 11:44 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 11 2014, 11:05 AM)

it all depends on what is important to you, and whether any shortcomings of the each lens can be fixed with various solutions like moving your distance, angle, lighting etc...

unless its out of focus, sharpness can be fixed, and there is no need to pixel peep. because sharpness can become obsolete depends on your output too...(whether its magazine, poster, coffee table book, digital display, banner, leaflet?)

do you care about resell value?
do you care about minimum focus distance?
do you care about max aperture?
do you care about focussing speed?
do you care about how versatile the lens is?
do you care about weight?

just know this: sometimes difficult situations will teach you to look for creative solutions. this is one of the way to develop your own unique style and identity smile.gif

mingyuyu
post Nov 11 2014, 11:44 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

70 is sharper than the 105 for sure. smaller, lighter too.

macro can throw away? many? where you get these nonsense again?
Petre
post Nov 11 2014, 11:45 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

sometimes a zoom lens that denotes 'macro' simply allow you to go nearer to the subject but dont really give you macro performance
i dont know about the lens you mention as i never used before but thats from my experience with a few "macro" zoom lenses biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Petre: Nov 11 2014, 11:46 AM
mingyuyu
post Nov 11 2014, 11:48 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Nov 11 2014, 11:45 AM)
sometimes a zoom lens that denotes 'macro' simply allow you to go nearer to the subject but dont really give you macro performance
i dont know about the lens you mention as i never used before but thats from my experience with a few "macro" zoom lenses biggrin.gif
the 24-70 is one of the exceptional zoom lens that really promise macro.

i used it with a 6D before, yes the minimum focusing distance is very short and your lens almost touches the subject, but it gives you a sharp magnification of 0.6x, where to find? for casual macro it's more than enough.
Petre
post Nov 11 2014, 11:50 AM

Default Member Title
4,334 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Nov 11 2014, 11:48 AM)
the 24-70 is one of the exceptional zoom lens that really promise macro.

i used it with a 6D before, yes the minimum focusing distance is very short and your lens almost touches the subject, but it gives you a sharp magnification of 0.6x, where to find? for casual macro it's more than enough.
i see. thanks for sharing with me thumbup.gif
the 24-70 is recommended by many notworthy.gif
g88
post Nov 11 2014, 11:51 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Nov 11 2014, 11:44 AM)

he has been talking on and off nonsense for the page 2 pages posting ma.... doh.gif sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post Nov 11 2014, 11:58 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 11 2014, 11:51 AM)
he has been talking on and off nonsense for the page 2 pages posting ma.... doh.gif  sweat.gif
unsure.gif laugh.gif
SUSthelightside
post Nov 11 2014, 12:13 PM

samsengfag 0.o
1,824 posts

Anybody getting the 7dmii brows.gif post some pic! brows.gif
munak991
post Nov 11 2014, 01:32 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Nov 11 2014, 11:44 AM)

QUOTE(g88 @ Nov 11 2014, 11:51 AM)
he has been talking on and off nonsense for the page 2 pages posting ma.... doh.gif  sweat.gif
I where got talk none sense

The feature added for macro is an aid on taking close up object.

But, If this lens wants to take macro it is almost touching the object. Taking macro need sufficient light, with this lens aim so close to your object ,u can't really aim your flash.
mingyuyu
post Nov 11 2014, 02:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Nov 11 2014, 01:32 PM)
I where got talk none sense

The feature added for macro is an aid on taking close up object.

But, If this lens wants to take macro it is almost touching the object. Taking macro need sufficient light, with this lens aim so close to your object ,u can't really aim your flash.
yes, it's not the main selling point, but it's there so why not? My olympus 12-40 also almost touches my subject at it's closest focusing distance, yet I can get shots like this.

Natural light

Adventurous by tuna97, on Flickr

Flash
PA250798 by tuna97, on Flickr

I need another dedicated macro lens to get these shots if not. and that doesn't mean you had to use the max magnification all of the time, it's very usable, just you don't understand it.

find 1 day, go to a shop that allows you to test, slowly observe and test out both 6D and 24-70+24-105. no point asking something which you didn't even touch before and wanting people to advice you.
gunzerdude
post Nov 11 2014, 03:10 PM

693 posts

Photography threads become so entertaining when newbies like this comes along laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

onghy
post Nov 11 2014, 04:11 PM

395 posts

QUOTE(thelightside @ Nov 11 2014, 12:13 PM)
Anybody getting the 7dmii brows.gif post some pic! brows.gif
7DM2 look real poisonous, but I dun think want to change another body

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Nov 11 2014, 03:10 PM)
Photography threads become so entertaining when newbies like this comes along  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

i think most of us here also gone thru that stage, when you have no idea what those things all about.... blush.gif
goldfries
post Nov 11 2014, 04:29 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

I'll take the 24-70 F4L over f2.8 and 105 because the 24-70 F4 has IS and has macro mode.
67zai
post Nov 11 2014, 04:59 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(gunzerdude @ Nov 11 2014, 03:10 PM)
Photography threads become so entertaining when newbies like this comes along  laugh.gif  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

seldom come into canon thread reply, but looking at his reply is just too funny to not continue reading.
best thing is goldfries still reply him biggrin.gif

171 Pages « < 41 42 43 44 45 > » Top

0.0310sec    1.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:15 PM