18 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Bottom

Canon EOS Family, DSLR, EOS - V58, The White Paladins' Territory!

mingyuyu
post Apr 14 2015, 12:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(rsralf @ Apr 14 2015, 11:34 AM)
Thanks for the advice guys.. I will consider other models than 50D then..

Today surfed through Lazada and saw 70D with 18-55mm lens at RM1300 which is at the range of secondhand 550D and 600D in Malaysia. Maybe I should consider this. Shipped from oversea though. Wondering if this is reliable  hmm.gif

I can buy the 50mm lens later.
Impossible 70D + 18-55 at that price.
mingyuyu
post Apr 15 2015, 06:18 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Rice_Owl84 @ Apr 15 2015, 01:38 PM)
Checked the link again and the price is no more so cheap for 7d mk2 sad.gif
Too bad it's a typo sad.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 16 2015, 09:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Shot my friend's watch smile.gif

No.7 by GM Yong, on Flickr

Using 1 speedlight with softbox. (again not canon gears btw)
mingyuyu
post Apr 17 2015, 06:20 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 17 2015, 01:49 AM)
^ That's a lovely shot!
Thanks biggrin.gif

QUOTE(vankodoq @ Apr 17 2015, 04:29 PM)
Amazing shot indeed of the wristwatch!!  thumbup.gif
QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 17 2015, 04:38 PM)
The shot make the watch feel expensive.. Although I didn't know the price but the feel is there.. But usually when product ads for watch I notice the hand always show at 10.10 for some reason.. I wonder why hmm.gif
QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 17 2015, 06:04 PM)
Lol.. Another explanation I found it make the hands show V sign for victory.. But digital also they put 10.10 sweat.gif mingyuyu care to share the setting for the shot regardless the not canon gears.. Wanna try with a strobe light with softbox sweat.gif
haha I am glad that you all liked it since it's a quick shot and I know nothing about watch also (they look a lot more complicated than cameras to me sweat.gif )

Did a quick sketch of the setup (sorry if it looks bad XD). Basically I placed the softbox and light super close to the watch to that it would form a soft highlight on the glass instead of something patchy. It's a little inaccurate for the angle of the light on the drawing but you have to keep on adjusting until you get "that shot". I don't know much about the 10:10 rule though but I did adjust the time a bit during photographing it so that it look a little more interesting (original time was around 7:30-7:40pm. Hope this helps smile.gif

mingyuyu
post Apr 17 2015, 10:21 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 17 2015, 10:13 PM)
after got tips from sifu mingyuyu here is my shot blush.gif :

First time doing this blush.gif just a test shot to see can get the same feel or not sweat.gif too over expose maybe tongue.gif
Looks good biggrin.gif but I feel like a dark background might suits better (easiest way is to grab a black plain T shirt).

getting closer and bumping up the contrast and clarity might improve it too.
mingyuyu
post Apr 17 2015, 10:41 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 17 2015, 10:34 PM)
thanks for the tips.. biggrin.gif might try later.. softbox damn big i put it 45 degree from top sweat.gif still playing with setting..
Try to take few pictures on the same position with exposure ranging from -2 -1 0 +1 +2, you might get surprised by how darker/ brighter affects the whole feel of the picture biggrin.gif

Just finished editing this one from the same set.

mingyuyu
post Apr 19 2015, 10:07 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 19 2015, 08:57 PM)
Your best photo so far! Keep up the good work!
any c&c on mine, sifu? tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 19 2015, 10:42 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 19 2015, 10:39 PM)
you watch work? Oh I love those.

keep it up and you'll be a going on like my friend Ming Thein

http://p.mingthein.outthink.us/watches/index.html
Thanks a lot for liking them biggrin.gif

Yeap and since you mentioned him, my inspirations on photographing watches are actually from him. never get tired looking at his works.
mingyuyu
post Apr 20 2015, 05:28 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Apr 20 2015, 08:21 AM)
i wonder if shooting thru a polarized filter will cut the slight glare at the top  hmm.gif
wonder about this thing too, but I guess it shows the smooth surface of the glass so I like it. Unprocessed raw actually has quite heavy glare, have to tone down the exposure a bit to compensate sweat.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 23 2015, 06:08 AM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Went through some pictures I took in 2014 to get back some memories, and realized how bad they look because of my addiction to split toning that time tongue.gif

Did some quick reedit to them and found out that sometimes less is more (just some exposure and white balance correction from RAW).

mingyuyu
post Apr 23 2015, 06:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 23 2015, 06:17 PM)
[/spoiler]

This awesome bokeh I have no idea how to make it work with f/2.8 on a crop body.. Any idea? sweat.gif
Closer to subject or far and zoom in? Or better i get a prime?
Quite easy to get I think for a 70-200mm f2.8. smile.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 23 2015, 10:48 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Apr 23 2015, 07:37 PM)
mingyuyu 70-200 f2.8 still on wishlist.. Right now im on 16-35mm f2.8 sweat.gif have to go really close in 35mm lol.. Dammit money faster grow please laugh.gif
get 3rd party 70-200 if you are tight on budget tongue.gif

those images were shot on a rm1.5k tamron 70-200 lens.
mingyuyu
post Apr 24 2015, 12:45 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Apr 24 2015, 09:56 AM)
Very nice, i see all the people nice and crisp =)

Mingyuyu, just want to ask how often you use 70-200, and in which occasion?

Im considering it, for very late future use, dual purpose also food photography and some casual

Just want your opinion
Depends on personal preference, really.

I shoot mostly macro and portrait when I got the 70-200 so it was the perfect lens for me during that time. Not really recommend for food photography as the DOF is too shallow and requires you to stop down a lot to get enough focus.

It's quite bulky to carry around also and always get you unintended attention from strangers.
mingyuyu
post Apr 24 2015, 06:18 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Apr 24 2015, 03:54 PM)
ooo, but usually i shoot food, im using around F/5.6 -8

i think ill stick to 24-70mm for my food photography.

If i ever need extreme shallow DOF ill jsut use 50mm f1.8

Thx alot
as the old rule always says, focus on your angle/ composition/ lighting first. a lens wont really make your picture improve a lot unless it's a specific purpose lens.

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 24 2015, 05:52 PM)
70-200 can still be used for food photography.

70mm to 100mm range may be needed for some shots. I use 100mm macro for some food photos too.

if you're going to make a series of photos then I recommend using prime lens for it, this will ensure your focal length (FOV + compression) is consistent across your photos.
yeap I agree with this, it really speeds up the whole process of setting up and getting the shot. keep on zooming in and out will create more troubles for me only tongue.gif

anyways, using 70-200mm for food is quite tight in my opinion and if you just using the wider focal lengths there's no point in getting one also.
mingyuyu
post Apr 26 2015, 08:11 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Apr 26 2015, 07:46 PM)
Another Food shots, shoot in 5 mins with 3 flash ( bought new flash)

shadow/clarity is too heavy imo, try pulling back a little bit.
mingyuyu
post Apr 26 2015, 11:32 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

Trying out some car photography (just a brief 10-20 minutes of photoshooting). Not that easy to get good photos to be honest, requires more practice tongue.gif

mingyuyu
post Apr 27 2015, 07:38 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Apr 27 2015, 02:24 PM)
How about flikr?

Is flikr safe enough people wont plagiarist your photo and use it on some where?
No such thing as safe website, the moment you decide to post up your thing, get ready to be stolen. Even some sites disable download but a simple printscreen can still steal your picture easily.
mingyuyu
post Apr 28 2015, 06:01 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(adam_lss @ Apr 28 2015, 05:51 PM)
u know, till today, i only used 2 lenses for my foodie shots - 50mm and 90mm. the only difference is the body, i changed from 60D to 5Dclassic, that was only this year wink.gif
how's the 5D classic so far? always wanted to get one but never got the courage to bite the bullet tongue.gif
mingyuyu
post Apr 29 2015, 03:52 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Apr 29 2015, 03:01 PM)
Guys anyone got eos 760D already? Hpw is it compared to 70D and a6000????? ANd which is better? 700d vs a6000?
a6000 wins 700d by a lot. 760d might be on par with a6000. but you can't really compare 2 different type of cameras.
mingyuyu
post Apr 29 2015, 04:44 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(teranun @ Apr 29 2015, 04:04 PM)
That's what i thought dslr and mirrorless... But if a6000 vs 700d so a6000 will diffintely come on top? So if your budget is 3-4k a6000 is a goog buy? If want 50mm prime, wideangle lens and a zoom lens maybe like 55-250? A6000 is still a good choice?
700d is just too old compared to a6000. if you are buying kit lenses only, go for the sony system, mind you if you plan to step further into the system, sony lenses going to cost you a bomb. you can only get a kit 16-50+55-250+50mm for the a6k, the 10-18mm is 2.5-3k alone.

18 Pages « < 9 10 11 12 13 > » Top

0.0351sec    1.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:40 PM