6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 04:30 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Sep 1 2014, 08:30 PM)
Thanks dude!
To A6k users, mind sharing your experience on it's low light high ISO performance?

I'm actually planning to downgrade (again) after finishing up all my responsibilities that would be better done with my full frame d600 + 35 1.4 ART currently and I was thinking of getting a combo that will save me some money. I realized that I was spending far too much money on a hobby that I will probably not have alot of time for as I grow older.

I know that a Fuji system will probably have better ISO performance (I used to own a XT1 + 23mm 1.4 and 56mm 1.2 at one point, got it at a crazy good price), but after trying out many fuji's, I never grew to like the image quality it produced. I'm pretty sure I'm quite alone in saying this, but I feel like fuji pictures (esp their raw files) tend to be more mushy. After comparing flickr pictures (no pixel peeping though) of the CZ 24mm 1.8 and the fuji 23mm 1.4, I'm pretty sure that I personally prefer the pictures produced by the CZ.

With that being said, I'm also considering a second hand a7 and 35mm f28 combo; which is basically a full frame version of a6k and the 24mm 1.8. My big question is this:

How much advantage does the full frame a7 sensor have over the a6k; no doubt a big advantage, but how much? The thing is that because 1.8 on the a6k will give me the DoF equivalent of the 35mm f2.8 on the a7, BUT will let in more light (nearly one stop worth of extra light?). So I was thinking if this would be a good trade off since lets say that the ISO 6400 of the A7 is equivalent to ISO 3200 on the a6k, then it would be a good trade off (the only advantage the a7 has now then, would be the extra dynamic range), but I get to save at least RM1.5k going for the a6k.

And I only plan to use one lens most of the time (which is a 35mm equivalent)...

Any thoughts?
I think the major differences of APS-C and FF IQ is a slightly richer color with better DR (dynamic range) especially at ISO above 1000. I don't really think DOF should be a concern since we can always find relative glass to overcome this "issue". For high ISO alone, I'd say A7 may give you about 1-1.5 stop advantage on color/DR/noise quality. Anyhow, I actually prefer APS-C system, for the sake of its crop factor that is an advantage for me. I can get smaller tele lens and lighter large aperture lens. I am not a wide angle guy, so 24mm is more then enough for me. I don't need to go FF just for the sake of getting that super wide angle shot. For general use, I really don't see most people can notice any difference on IQ between APS-C and FF. If you go for A6000, just try to shoot below ISO 1600 and IQ is fantastic. By using the kit lens 16-50 with OSS on, you can shoot with shutter speed as low as 1/25 and get a sharp image without pushing up the ISO too much. I personally shot some even at 1/15 handheld and still able to get sharp image with very nice DR at below ISO 1000.
yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 04:35 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(DonDropUrSoap @ Sep 2 2014, 12:43 AM)
i wan ask how to shoot slo mo video on a6000
i see review from thecamerastore tv, they can shoot slo-mo in 1080p 60p, half speed
is it if my frame rate put 60, i hv to my shutter speed to 1/120 and above?
i go google the method, tried it but no slow down of the video hmm.gif
for video, just remember this 2x rule in order to get the best (natural) looking motion blur.
shoot 25p, use 1/50 shutter.
shoot 50p, use 1/100 shutter.
if you want special effect, you can try shoot slower or faster shutter, experience it yourself and you will see the effect. biggrin.gif

to do slow-mo, use slower frame rate at editing software.
ie:
footage shot with 50p
in Adobe Premier, create a timeline with 25p, and then click on the clip and applies "interpret footage"->25 fps (frame per second).
now drag the clip to the timeline and play, you can see silky smooth half speed slow-mo video.

good luck playing. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 2 2014, 04:37 AM
yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 04:40 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Sep 1 2014, 11:38 AM)
Haha please dont. And im not assosiated anyway with Sony.
And I hated sony systems before this, before the a6000. And still hated the others besides a6000 and the a7s
I still hate Sony system for their focus-by-wire that goes "auto" with different speed! (turn faster, focus moving faster etc)
Just give me an option to do manual focus with ONE CONSTANT SPEED!! Then I'll be a VERY HAPPY Sony user! Since I can have the fastest AF + usable MF when needed on one lens (E mount). Frequent changing lens (from E mount to non-E) is out of my scope, too troublesome as I mostly do run and gun shoot.

cry.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 2 2014, 04:44 AM
yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 05:19 AM

12,698 posts

These are some of the high ISO test shots on my A7S. All shot at ISO 12800! The graded one was to bring up shadows to see how much details we can get hiding there. The DR and details on high ISO is simply unbelievable. All are direct JPG out of the camera, except for the graded pic done with RAW file.

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 2 2014, 05:23 AM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 04:59 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Decky @ Sep 2 2014, 03:58 PM)
and @Eiraku @Yok70

Thank you for all the feedback!

Yes indeed we all overspend on gear, but I have a unique opportunity to actually gain a net profit from selling my current FF gear, so I considered going all the way to just save money.

The thing about Fuji is that they 'cheat' on their ISO, albeit unintentionally. Basically what happens is that if you took a X-T1 and an A6k and shoot a scene with the same amount of light available for both cameras (let's say x EV worth of light) and set them both on ISO 6400, you would need to set a longer shutter speed on the X-T1 with all other factors being equal (aperture and ISO). For the same shutter speed and ISO, your aperture value would have to change as well. So comparing ISO 6400 to ISO 6400 is pointless in this case since ISO is a relative value. I'm pretty sure that ISO 3200 on the A6k would not match ISO 6400 on the X-T1 though.
And yeah one "weakness" that I've observed about FF in general is that if you want more DoF for say, group shots, you'll have to close down the aperture quite significantly (even f4 doesn't seem to be enough for some group shots), hence reducing the amount of light that can enter the sensor, hence requiring you to bump the ISO. On APSC, you can probably get decent group shots with DoF at around f 3.5-f4 ish, which wouldn't require you to bump the ISO that much. While I really like f1.4 on FF, I rarely get to use it since it's so hard to nail focus anyway haha. And Sony's lens lineup is pretty pathetic.

Anyhow, I AM aiming for a one lens solution, so lens selection isn't an issue to me. I'd get the X100s or something, but I've had bad experiences with Fuji, and depending on how their new rumored 24MP sensor will work, I'm pretty sure I'm going sony if what you say about its ISO performance is true.

And yes, I've went to Sony shops a few times to hold on to and test out the A6k and the A7. I definitely prefer the EVF on my old X-T1, but meh they're both good enough. The a6k looks the ugliest IMO, but it feels the most compact.
This should be a great choice for one lens system.
http://www.sony.com.my/product/selp18105g
yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 09:00 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(nixonyang @ Sep 2 2014, 05:56 PM)
Do anyone know where to buy L-Bracket for nex-6 locally?
http://www.kenz.com.my/index.php?route=pro...gory&path=60_92

http://shashinki.com/shop/advanced_search_...1&Submit=Search

yok70
post Sep 2 2014, 09:01 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(themanwithnoname @ Sep 2 2014, 06:33 PM)

Tonality of course cant match Digital M.
But almost there biggrin.gif

One thing a6k users, please off the DR tongue.gif And please dont use wide 16:9 mode tongue.gif
another nice photo. thumbup.gif

you mean DRO? biggrin.gif
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 02:42 AM

12,698 posts

My friend's A6000 has an issue. After setting the "Pre-AF" (autofocus before half-press shutter button) to on, it still won't do pre-AF in all modes except the movie mode. I tried it on my A7S and it works. Any idea what's going on? Any other settings that may cause this issue? Thanks!

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 3 2014, 02:43 AM
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 06:07 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Sep 3 2014, 06:02 PM)
Any chances the focus mode was on MF instead of the others? hmm.gif

I turn that Pre-AF off as it's kinda annoying the camera keeps on refocusing everytime. tongue.gif
The settings is "S" (shutter priority), AF-C, Wide focus area. Do you all have no such problem? So the camera is already malfunctioning just after 2 months....hmm.... sad.gif
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 06:08 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 3 2014, 06:03 PM)
*Finds setting and turns it off*

No wonder my camera likes to focus on all sorts of random stuff.
The setting is called Pre-AF in the Menu. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 08:18 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(nk3371 @ Sep 3 2014, 08:06 PM)
Mine got no such problem. Tested it on all modes, it does the Pre-AF nicely.
It struggle a bit if I turn the Live View Setting Effect ON and point the camera on a dark subject. But it still does. hmm.gif
Thanks for your feedback. Looks like my friend's camera really got problem, too bad. sad.gif
So you are using AF-C and it works? Or you are on AF-A or AF-S? Thanks.

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 3 2014, 08:47 PM
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 10:18 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 3 2014, 09:23 PM)
Just turned it back on again to test. My A6k Pre-AF works in AF-S, AF-A and DMF. It DID NOT work in AF-C or MF (duh).

This is parallel with what Sony is telling people. Check here for details: http://bit.ly/1sZC0tB

As for WHY it's not working with AF-C is anybody's guess.

Myself I turned it back on again - I like shooting narrow DOF and it's kinda disconcerting to have everything totally blurred out when I look into the VF before taking a shot. Too used to the "always in focus" DSLR display I guess lol.

It locks when I depress the shutter anyway so no biggie.
haha! you have a point here, about VF. biggrin.gif

it's just a lack of function i guess? or a bug on the firmware? Since A7 series works just fine, there is no reason why the A6000 couldn't. hmm.gif
yok70
post Sep 3 2014, 11:28 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 3 2014, 11:16 PM)
Wait... the A7 can Prefoc in AF-C? That's... a tad unfair. Hopefully Sony gets it fixed in a FW update - if it's at all possible.

That said, AF-C by default already does what Prefoc is doing, only faster and using hybrid PCDAF (vs CDAF only Prefoc) so I can sort of understand why the engineers might wanna take it off - as having dual continuous AF systems running in parallel might not be optimum, and they wanted to have the "fastest" AF available for AF-C so turning off Prefoc totally in AF-C might free up processing for the hybrid system exclusively.

As for the A7, they made no such claims about AF speed so they don't have to optimise AF-C in any way.

Just my own reasoning regarding the matter, though it does sound likely.
I read from others that A7 series cameras works on AF-C. I can only assure you that my A7S works.

Well, as it only start focusing when half press or press shutter button, I still don't see why Sony can't let the AF-C works for Pre-AF before pressing the button, just a little more work there. Ya, a firmware update should be able to resolve this shortage. nod.gif
yok70
post Sep 7 2014, 06:38 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 7 2014, 12:32 AM)
And yeah... I prolly should've f8'ed. Not bad at 1.8, but could've been better.
ya, DOF too shallow for this picture, I think so too. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Sep 7 2014, 06:40 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 6 2014, 11:50 PM)
user posted imageDSC00330 by VincentLee90, on Flickr

guess who was she?
Super cute youtube upcoming star who had her song written by 黄明志。 tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 7 2014, 07:06 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(feathakim @ Sep 7 2014, 05:49 PM)
hello guys!i got my a6000 today  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
but why my image size setting "L:20M,M:10M,S:5.1M" ?
choose the 3:2 for max resolution 24M.
if using 16:9, it will crop the picture and therefore reduce resolution.
it's a great camera, have fun! rclxms.gif
yok70
post Sep 8 2014, 03:01 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Sep 7 2014, 09:19 PM)
A6000 can do multi exposure?
i think yes, it have it under the Single Shot/Burst shot settings. it's called "bracket" right? Default is 3 shots in a row with 3 different exposure.
yok70
post Sep 8 2014, 03:02 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(vincentlee90 @ Sep 7 2014, 10:42 PM)
i wish there's no against rules & regulation if post lingerie shot tongue.gif
who cares! please post! drool.gif
or, just share your flickr link. laugh.gif
yok70
post Sep 8 2014, 01:51 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Sep 8 2014, 01:44 PM)
Hi guys,

one noob question can i use NON FF E-mount lens on FF E-mount camera? like SEL35f18 on NEX-7R.

and maybe another way round. Can I use FF e mount lens on non FF camera? example SEL35F28Z on A6000.
yes.

use E lens on FE cameras, you get lower resolution since the lens doesn't cover entire FF sensor.
use FE lens on E cameras, you get better sharpness since you are just using the center part of the lens for coverage.

yok70
post Sep 8 2014, 02:11 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(HaN18 @ Sep 8 2014, 01:58 PM)
yok70 albnok
So without modification my picture will look like this? with all the black things on corner? 

http://www.imaging-resource.com/news/2014/...ony-lens-mounts
just turn the APS-C Crop to Auto, the FF camera will crop and use only the center part of the image.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0685sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 03:44 AM