6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V60, From A to E mount!

yok70
post Sep 20 2014, 04:38 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 20 2014, 04:31 AM)
i think he set the AFmode (by default from sony) to AF-C... thats when the sony fully uses the 192(or something, i never bother to remember the full spec) af point... so when u lock on subject (face detection) recompose, it will jump to focus on other things.... and i think A6000 was the first E mount with AF-C?

btw, he needs the face detection to work, so the smoothskin would work.  sweat.gif
Not sure if they called it AF-C before A6000 or not, but Hybrid AF started before A6000 in older NEX models such as the NEX 5T.

softskin effect....errr..... biggrin.gif
recommended to do all special effects on computer loh. same opinion here. laugh.gif
yok70
post Sep 22 2014, 04:04 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(ezyfoto19 @ Sep 21 2014, 05:44 PM)
everyone, if anyone go to sony centre mid valley, never refer to the salesperson named brandan ng. he's really rude person
haha!

btw, last month (or last 2 months ago) I saw mid valley sony centre selling the E 50mm F1.8 lens for RM6xx, less than the Sony RM300 after rebate price of RM799. Is the price still that right now? I was wondering if that was the display unit they were selling that time, but didn't ask though.

Anyone knows this? Thank you! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 22 2014, 04:05 AM
yok70
post Sep 23 2014, 12:27 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 22 2014, 11:40 PM)
But... Sony throw in XAVCS on that (although I not sure when only I'll shoot video with the camera biggrin.gif , see forums many say that codec is far superior. Not bad to have mah)
i can assure you it is far superior codec. However, final image quality still depends on the sensor. A5100 and A6000 has different sensor. Maybe wait for further reviews in the web for comparison.

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 22 2014, 11:40 PM)
No fast prime play maybe settle for manual focus primes. Should be quite fun to use with peaking.
Peaking is not so accurate. It is only (very) useful for wider depth of field (DOF) situation.
yok70
post Sep 23 2014, 01:40 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 23 2014, 12:39 AM)
Seriously? I thought it's completely the same? Same sensor thus same pixel focus thingy, same number of AF points also.
Oh then i might be wrong. biggrin.gif

From DxO sensor test, their performance has a little difference.
http://www.dxomark.com/Cameras/Compare/Sid...A6000___967_942

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 23 2014, 01:44 AM
yok70
post Sep 23 2014, 01:47 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(ry.tan9119 @ Sep 23 2014, 12:59 AM)
who cares about video codec when choosing entry level or semi-pro level mirrorless camera when u more serious on photography than videography? furthermore, sony engineer wouldn't simply made A6000 image sensor for A5100, nor marketing suggest A5100 100% inherit A6000's performance. if really does, it will spoil A6000's market. if u really serious on video quality, go for A7S
Nowadays, many "hybrid" users on cameras. People want the best money spent on their investment. Best is both photo and video are good.
I'm serious on video, so same thought as you, I bought the A7S. It produce excellent photo quality too, just scarifies resolution. laugh.gif

fyi, camera makers do disable some features on lower-end models that actually already have those features on their hardware. A good example is recently, Sony's F5 being hacked and the hacker publicly announced they successfully enable the "locked" 4K video shooting feature. Just few weeks later, Sony has no choice but to officially announced that owners of the F5 camera can get this 4K feature "unlocked" from their camera but need to pay an "unlocking fees" of US$1000. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 23 2014, 01:55 AM
yok70
post Sep 23 2014, 01:56 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 23 2014, 01:49 AM)
its the same sensor, but build differently for different market mass.

grab the one with EVF, u never know how useful that EVF is when u are sniping chicks... review in EVF then in LCD where the whole public looking at you.
haha! that's a good one! thumbup.gif
yok70
post Sep 24 2014, 06:40 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 24 2014, 05:43 PM)
RM 1050, u can try nego with babyploy86  smile.gif
35mm 1.8 wide open test shot  smile.gif
Does the 35mm 1.8 has similar sharpness as the 50mm 1.8 at F1.8-2.8? Anyone? Thanks.
Since the 35mm is more convenient to use, but it's RM400 more expensive then the 50mm. hmm.gif
yok70
post Sep 25 2014, 04:35 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 24 2014, 07:03 PM)
I don't have 50mm to compare so can't tell u that. Tell me if u want pixel peeping, I can upload the ori file for u,this shot is wide open .

Street price now for 35mm is 1050, while for 50mm is 750. Have u tried 50mm lens before? It is too "close" for me, so I never consider it.
Yes, please upload original file thank you. And if possible, please shoot a human (face and hair) or something with more texture for easier judge on sharpness. Thanks! notworthy.gif

ya, I know. The 50mm on APS-C will be around 75mm, quite "too close" like you said for daily use. It's only good for special use, as many said 85mm is a portrait lens. laugh.gif
So midvalley several camera shops are selling the 50mm at 750? I bet that includes the Key Colors which is just next to the Sony Shop? Wondering if a mark2 is on its way.... tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 25 2014, 04:51 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Ah hao @ Sep 24 2014, 10:04 PM)
Any brand recommend that fall in my budget rm 300?
price depends on filter size. A 40.5mm filter is sometimes half the price of a 82mm same filter.
reputable brand that can be found in Malaysia, one that received high recommendations broadly is B+W. And one that much cheaper but also recommended by many is Tiffen, but this brand very hard to find in Malaysia.
Many local camera stores simply put a very high price tag on filters. My best method is to verify by comparing the price with BHPhoto or Amazon online stores. I can see some stores offering price with unbelievable big gap, so find a store with reasonable price tag.
Good luck! biggrin.gif

yok70
post Sep 26 2014, 12:27 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 26 2014, 12:09 AM)
So how's the i40 treating you so far? Got any HSS pics?

After I get my Sammie 2/12, the i40 should be my next target (provided the F32M doesn't pull any interesting hidden features up its sleeve).

After that can rest for a while from buying stuff lol.
very hard to stop shopping...ND filter checked (Tiffen variable ND), video monopod checked (Manfrotto 560B-1), SD cards (3 64GB Sandisk) checked, batteries (4 + a powerbank) checked. Enough for now.

The new FE 16-35 F4 OSS ZA looking good from earlier reviews, way better reviews then the previous 24-70 ZA, which is my current one and only lens for A7S. Anyway, more interested in a 50-85mm OSS fast prime as my 2nd lens as I seldom shoot landscape and not fancy on fish-eye effect. After that, I'd look for a tele lens, the current FE 70-200 F4 seems not bad too, but later lah. biggrin.gif
yok70
post Sep 26 2014, 12:33 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(edpaul @ Sep 26 2014, 12:02 AM)
oh no no dear uraki, u got confused.....

when Flash support HSS, it will sync to the camera max shutter speed.
HSS=yes, camera max shutter = supported. 1/4000 for common body, and 1/8000 for pro body. (generalization)

HSS=No, Camera max syncspeed = 1/160 or 1/200 (1/250)
Is "Flash X sync speed" the max camera sync speed? According to DPreview, A6000's Flash X sync speed is 1/160 only.

OMG, the A7S Flash X sync speed is only 1/250?! shocking.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 26 2014, 12:36 AM
yok70
post Sep 26 2014, 01:20 AM

12,698 posts

oh...so using HSS means power less but can go high speed shutter.....that's a good news, at least can use fast shutter speed for freeze effect. i'm new to flash light. blush.gif

well, for video work, the lights always on, no need care about flash or shutter haha! however, need to care about light frequency though, otherwise can record flickering lights (ie. pc monitor, tv, even house lights). laugh.gif
yok70
post Sep 26 2014, 02:59 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Sep 26 2014, 02:12 AM)

Hope this explains HSS better. Note that the animation to the end should've pulsed the flash so you know it's NOT staying on throughout the exposure but strobing.
Very helpful for flash newbie like me. Thank you for sharing this!
Now I know where the "High Speed" comes from, finally!! tongue.gif
yok70
post Sep 28 2014, 07:27 AM

12,698 posts

A7S, FE 24-70 F4 ZA

user posted imageDSC00743 by Kai_2014, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC00810 by Kai_2014, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC00803_graded RAW by Kai_2014, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC00899 by Kai_2014, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC00840-fix by Kai_2014, on Flickr

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 28 2014, 09:17 AM
yok70
post Sep 30 2014, 01:26 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(AngelLoke91 @ Sep 30 2014, 01:02 AM)
hi. a newbie here. my bf tells me of a serious mirrorless user shall go for A6000. any A6000 user here? i wish to gather some review from u all guys smile.gif
simply put, if you are looking for a stylish (the silver version), lightweight, solid built, highly portable camera, this is a no brainer buy.
if you also consider more bulky but better handling dslr (mostly for people with bigger hands, better tracking AF, Nikon-IQ preference), then the Nikon D5300 is another great camera to consider.
btw, the above two cameras also shoot above average IQ video at this price range. However, on video , the Sony wins big time for AF over the Nikon.

just my 1 sen. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 30 2014, 01:30 AM
yok70
post Sep 30 2014, 02:51 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Sep 30 2014, 02:30 AM)
You're in an Sony thread. Of course we'll say the A6k is good lol.

The truth is, it depends. If you want a easy to use, small-ish camera with loads of features and is (relatively) cheap, then the A6k is great. Unfortunately, the "small-sized" lens choices (the ones made for the APS-C A6k) is kinda sorta limited a bit, and the A7-sized ones (FF) can be HUGE.

If you want an even smaller camera, even MORE lenses to choose from and even better manual controls (vs the A6k) you might want to look at Olympus and the OMD system. The OMD E-M10 is well priced against the A6k. That said, the OMD has a *smaller* sensor compared to the A6k, so less (theoretical) image quality on the OMD.

Also, check out the Fuji line, especially the X-E1 or E2. They are *considerably* more expensive, but Fuji *does* have better lenses, better manual controls and better high ISO performance (at the cost of slower AF and crap movies, however). Also, the Fujis and their lenses are quite huge.

My advice, go to a shop that has *all* these cameras, test them out and choose the one that feels best for you. YL Camera in Jaya33 or Plaza Pudu is a good place to do this.

That's what I did, and I ended up with the A6k.
Why assume bias forumers here? Not fair! mad.gif tongue.gif

For me, actually I prefer the IQ of Nikon. My choice would have been D5300 for mid range choice and D810 for pro-grade choice . Going for Sony is just because of the size and weight advantage, which is my #1 concern, where IQ comes 2nd. However, if for video shooter, of course the Nikon cannot beat the A7S. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Sep 30 2014, 02:51 AM
yok70
post Oct 1 2014, 08:53 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(weretiger @ Oct 1 2014, 08:38 PM)
Did any1 able to charge yout a6k with powerbank or laptop/desktop USB?

I am using the Sony cable and it start charge, with the orange light, and few secs later.... it disappeared.

and after a while i check the percentage... it is the same while my powerbank's percentage reduced...
xiaomi powerbank works well. icon_rolleyes.gif
yok70
post Oct 8 2014, 03:11 AM

12,698 posts

Speaking of upgrading to FF.
This is a dangerous move, once you into it, it's hard to get out from there. biggrin.gif
For me, mainly because of getting used to using high ISO that gives you more flexibility on choosing your desired aperture and shutter speed.
This is especially very serious if you switched to A7S. Its insane high ISO performance will make you mad whenever using other cameras. Alert alert! laugh.gif
ie. I can shoot with crazy fast shutter speed and pushing ISO high up on A7S for the superb motion freezes effect.
yok70
post Oct 8 2014, 03:20 AM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Oct 7 2014, 04:42 PM)
Thanks!

Today's spam:
user posted imageDSC00904 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC01102 by bdrc, on Flickr

user posted imageDSC01123 by bdrc, on Flickr
Thank you so much for sharing your cosplay photos. Where were these events actually? Or there was no event, just shooting your friends?
Please teach me how do you use flash on these photos? They look so good and the lights are so smooth. Did you place your flash on the camera hot shoe or separate location? Did you use diffuser? Wall bouncing might be difficult as your locations were big malls and some outdoors. I'm total newbie on flash. Thank you very much! notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by yok70: Oct 8 2014, 03:22 AM
yok70
post Oct 8 2014, 06:06 PM

12,698 posts

QUOTE(bdrc @ Oct 8 2014, 12:37 PM)
The first pict was invited shoot. The second and third was taken at a small event last Sunday, at Jaya Mall.
There was folks using reflector, so I make use of it and fire my flash (on camera) with diffuser (stofen) towards it. Not best method, still learning. Cant say teach or otherwise :v The area we shoot has plenty of natural light.
Post processing for the last one, i reduced saturation of the girl behind.
All shot with a6000 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 D
thanks for sharing. notworthy.gif
so there was reflector, guess it helped a lot for smooth lighting. laugh.gif

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0874sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:49 PM