Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 03:28 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 2 2015, 01:03 AM)
I know that this thread requires some homework done before can ask for advice here. I'll be back. laugh.gif
u can alwiz execute ur executive right
1) sent ts to bora2 instead of japan rclxms.gif
2) if not enuf, pema ban ts brows.gif
3) still not enuf, nuke the whole thread cool2.gif

almost forget... welcome... and do homework next time

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jan 2 2015, 10:56 AM)
No worry, this rule is more relaxed for female tag icon_idea.gif Some more female tag + staff tag icon_idea.gif
i stick with this thread for more than 1year+...
i can confirm this is the most accurate answer thumbup.gif

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 2 2015, 03:14 PM)
Japan Railpass can only be bought outside of Japan. So you need to buy within 3months before you travel to Japan.
r u going to tsukiji market?
i still unconfirm can go there or not... facing few rejection

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 2 2015, 03:29 PM
lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 03:44 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 2 2015, 03:35 PM)
I cannot see the Tuna action jor...cos it's close in Jan. I will only go there eat breakfast loh. You are facing rejection from who? Go la...it's not everytime can have sushi breakfast in Malaysia  thumbup.gif
huh why close? totally no idea...
feb 20+ reopen yet?

well i read... hv to wake up around 3am and reach there by 3:30am to queue for the auction
the number oni start to distribute around 4:30am
auction start at 5:25am
bfast sushi hv to queue again...

going to lost a lot of good sleeping time...
lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 03:56 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 2 2015, 03:47 PM)
The market is open only the Tuna auction is closed.
"From December 1, 2014 to January 17, 2015, the busiest time of the year at Tsukiji Fish Market, tourists will not be allowed to watch the morning tuna auctions to ensure a smooth and accident free course of business. The rest of the market is open as usual."

Your date is ok, you can go. Go la, next time very inconvenient to see the tuna action liao
ok i will think about it... coz this round im not going solo.... group brows.gif
somemore have to find places to stay...
i think ginza is very expensive, u hv any (cheap!!!) recommendation?
at least stay at nearer place, can save taxi money wink.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 04:17 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 2 2015, 04:00 PM)
Got cheap place la. This is the nearest hotel : Tsukiji Business Hotel BAN
i tot hv to stay at ginza... 10mins walking distance...
thanx... later going to compare...
lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 04:40 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 2 2015, 04:31 PM)
This hotel only 100metres away from the market  brows.gif
and it cost around RM250 per night. initially I also wanted to go to the tuna auction, but when found out close on my dates...i cancel the hotel booking loh....so sad jor sad.gif
can still go there eat Morning Sushi ma...
VERY FRESH
lucaswjk
post Jan 2 2015, 06:19 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 2 2015, 05:56 PM)
Yes, need to buy in advance. smile.gif
Can buy from Lawson, maybe need my friend's help to buy for me first or I will go through sellers in Taobao, can post to me in Tokyo. biggrin.gif
Last time went to Thailand, Pattaya actually to watch Tiffany show and my China friend bought ticket from Taobao, much much cheaper. biggrin.gif
in japan counterfeit ticket will earn a night in jail

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 2 2015, 05:58 PM)
GG,  I get Ban or bora bora, you guys rugi only.
No more tips of Japan.
haha can alwiz comeback with new account brows.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 3 2015, 04:41 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(Blast_Cyrus @ Jan 3 2015, 04:36 PM)
I'll have 7 days in Tokyo itself, that's why I plan to venture to Hakone for a day trip but not staying over.

Plan to airbnb but still open to other accomodation suggestion.

I'm still doing research on the proper route from Tokyo to Hakone, and the local travel method in Hakone
make it 2days
tourist r entitle hakone free pass http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2358_008.html
or 3days
Fuji Hakone Pass http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2358_014.html
lucaswjk
post Jan 5 2015, 12:44 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 4 2015, 11:31 PM)
Guys, for Hakone, I don't think I will take Romancecar due to budget constraint. So I will take the normal Odakyu Line Express from Shinjuku and get down at Odawara. That's possible right? I saw Tokaido Line also goes to Odawara. Please correct me if I'm wrong. notworthy.gif

I want to purchase the free pass but not sure if I should purchase from Shinjuku station or Odawara? http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2358_008.html This link shows Purchased inside the free area (e.g. Odawara Station) 4000 yen vs 5140 yen at Shinjuku station.

Your guidance is very much appreciated. notworthy.gif
> romance car is just 35mins faster and with seat... from tokyo
> if u wan seat on normal train, jus make sure u didnt go on weekend and peak hours
> odawara station is like 15mins distance from hakone-yomoto, so if u r from osaka... u no need goto all the way to tokyo... not sure how JR will reach odawara
> RC have deepavali special post on hakone, i advise u have a look
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry71008219
lucaswjk
post Jan 5 2015, 01:10 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Jan 5 2015, 12:56 AM)
Hi all,

I'm just wondering if I'm arriving at Haneda at 10:30pm, is one hour enough for me to get pass customs, collect luggage n buy new suica card n board a train by 11:30pm? I need to get to Shibuya Station.

As I've checked at hyperdia, I can still make it to Shibuya if I board a train at at 12am from Haneda to Shinigawa then to Osaki and then Shibuya but this is like my really final train which I really hope to avoid. Worst case I need to catch a taxi from Shinigawa to Shibuya.

Or should I just save the trouble (and the crazy woman look dragging the luggage to catch the trains) and just board the Airport Limousine directly?

Trying to figure out if I can save 1500Y (x2 pax) from taking the bus...
not sure how this will helps
1) Learn to buy suica card
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzh8zIggaVs

2) Exit from haneda to train station
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dzh8zIggaVs

3) Worst case scenario... sleep at airport tongue.gif

4) Wait for RC... for details guide tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 5 2015, 01:11 AM
lucaswjk
post Jan 5 2015, 01:26 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(alexision @ Jan 5 2015, 01:21 AM)
Yes, going through all 5 versions made me did a lot of homework before even asking my first question here. But no one here has mentioned anything about successfully catching the trains when arriving by AA at 10:30pm. Mostly just slept at the airport. I've already booked my accommodation at Shibuya, so I need to get there no matter what  unsure.gif
haha correct... according to RC... oni him able to do it...
us... very hard sweat.gif

i oso planned to stay around tat area... mind to share where u stay?
lucaswjk
post Jan 5 2015, 05:09 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

damn jus found out tsukiji market close on certain wednesday...
look like my itinerary 'cooler than water'

http://www.tsukiji-market.or.jp/etc/calendar/2015.html
lucaswjk
post Jan 5 2015, 06:55 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 5 2015, 05:30 PM)
you didnt know?  laugh.gif
I also maybe not going there for breakfast jor....my hubby wanna photoshoot Mt Fuji early morning....so we need to get to Gotemba as early as possible.....
how it related to tsukiji?
u going to gotemba or hakone or lake kawaguchico?

can take pix of mt fuji at gotemba meh?
can recommend which part togo?

as far as i know gotemba oni famous for premium outlet
http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e5213.html
lucaswjk
post Jan 6 2015, 05:00 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Jan 6 2015, 04:43 PM)
with no experience driving in snow conditions, I don't think it is safe to drive at night...
correct, the last time i was there... end of autumn and almost winter
typhoon oso, mean heavy rain and thick fog
u can hardly see anything at night...
many part didnt have street light and the cat eyes doesnt really reflect any light

and there is a part with icing road...
lucky i have AWD with traction control brows.gif

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 6 2015, 05:02 PM
lucaswjk
post Jan 8 2015, 02:42 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Jan 8 2015, 11:29 AM)
I'm also looking at portable wifi device to rent.
sorry guyz, rc don't internet during vacation
he didn't use GPS oso, rely on airport maps and 100% research
brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 04:09 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

I m testing how to book Romance Cars using this guide >> Romance Car Guide

PLS COMMENT!!!

1) It written, only able to book 1month in advances, hence i select the last day...
seem like "Front Panorama" seat is hotcake~
anyone here managed to get Front Panorama?? wat time u all start ur booking?

2) anyone know which is the best? VSE50000 series?? or MSE, EXE, LSE
hehehe, ok this is abit too much... blush.gif i know

3) Next im trying to understand this using google translate

座席種別>> is seat selection... standard/panorama

号車指定 >> carriage selections... if choose Front Panorama, still need to choose carriage?

席が離れた場合>> windows seat selections...
google translate give me 3options.... original only have 2 options >> 席が離れても購入/予約する ||| 席が離れた場合は、購入/予約しない why leh???
a) The priority the aisle
b) Priorities a window
c) it is not reserved when the window side can not be taken
apalah... &%##@@@%)>:L
so which selection have to choose?

4) Finally 購入/予約選択... purchase or reserved
what u guyz normally go for? how long it can be reserved?
if purchase, front panorama is more expensive rite?...

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 9 2015, 04:10 PM
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 05:48 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2015, 05:33 PM)
See my way to Gora.  Didnt booking any thing
..i still sit most front paranoma view

And the train was quite empty.

That need level 999 skill.
You know which month which date go hakone.
u go 6pm of coz la...
next time try 9am

This post has been edited by lucaswjk: Jan 9 2015, 05:48 PM
lucaswjk
post Jan 9 2015, 10:02 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jan 9 2015, 08:50 PM)
My Train was 10am. See careful again.
laugh.gif I tot u r going there jus now
going there is like us going to melaka
can go evvery weekend, sap sap sui brows.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 10 2015, 07:07 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

i planned togo umeno... for the plum blossom
then i came across
Sad news: 1,266 famous Tokyo plum trees get the axe to prevent spread of “plum pox”
all the tree gone, really heart break

now hv to settle for hanegi
lucaswjk
post Jan 12 2015, 01:55 AM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(kernan.rio @ Jan 11 2015, 09:03 PM)
Ya meh? Most of the guides say that they might ask you for identification, that's all. They cannot arrest you. Also you must leave in the morning.

Because my friend did that while he was studying in Japan, no problem also. He say it is "nojuku".

I'll take my chances.
camp to save money? is not logic sweat.gif

boy... let me teach u, super budget accommodation
1) overnite at airport is FREE
2) ride midnite bus is FREE
3) couchsurfing.org is FREE
4) cybercafe is SUPER CHEAP
5) hostel is CHEAP

bonus:
in korea, u can stay at sauna for a cheap price thumbup.gif
lucaswjk
post Jan 13 2015, 10:51 AM