128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Bottom

Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

Visit Japan
post Dec 26 2014, 06:20 PM

Hi everyone!

If asked about Japan, one of the most popular spots is of course Mt Fuji right!?
I would like to share some of the most amusing trivias regarding this iconic mountain.

1. The hiking period is quite short: just around 2 month of mid summer throughout the year.
Example: You can only climb to the peak between July 1st ~ September 14th this year (2014).

2. What really makes Mt Fuji an exceptional mountain is the symmetrical conic shape- which is quite rare for a mountain. Seriously guys, it is really a breathtaking view. rclxms.gif

3. There are 5 lakes surrounding Mt Fuji: Kawaguchi-ko, Yamanaka-ko, Motosu-ko, Shoji-ko, and Sai-ko. "Ko" here means lake.

4. Mt Fuji just received its World Heritage Site on June 26th 2013, making it the 17th UNESCO-designated site in Japan. flex.gif

5. Mount Fuji is actually ACTIVE shocking.gif
The last time it erupted is on 1707, and supposed to erupt within this 10 years. shocking.gif

*Extra fact: Starting from 2016, every August 2016 is "Mountain Day" in Japan to appreciate the mountainaous Japan! (and also to give some rest to the hardworking Japan salarymen) thumbup.gif

I climbed Mt Fuji 2 years ago. It is in the middle of summer but really cold up there!
How about you guys, have you tried to climb this magnificent beauty?
deodorant
post Dec 26 2014, 09:35 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Dec 26 2014, 11:15 AM)
Hmmm....thinking of to go for wagyu beef or Kobe beef to try on my Tokyo trip next year. 

If can't find Kobe in Tokyo then just go for the other "Big Three" Matsusaka / Ohmi lo.
JC999
post Dec 27 2014, 01:01 AM

658 posts

i ve booked 2 hotels
-Hokke Inn nihonbashi
-hotel grand arc hanzomon

Anyone got some reviews here? im still thinking which one to take.

The tripadvisors reviews are kinda mixed, would like to know any forumers stayed there before.
munkeyflo
post Dec 28 2014, 03:03 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

Tentatively planned my itinerary for my upcoming Japan trip. Any comments? smile.gif Hopefully the weather is good next few weeks.

Human Nature
post Dec 28 2014, 03:08 PM

- student of human nature -
26,507 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 28 2014, 03:03 PM)
Tentatively planned my itinerary for my upcoming Japan trip. Any comments? smile.gif Hopefully the weather is good next few weeks.
arashiyama too maybe..which season?

do share more on your okinawa plan from time to time
munkeyflo
post Dec 28 2014, 03:30 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2014, 03:08 PM)
arashiyama too maybe..which season?

do share more on your okinawa plan from time to time
January. Winter. Not much day time. Afraid might not be able to fit in lots into the itinerary.
Human Nature
post Dec 28 2014, 03:52 PM

- student of human nature -
26,507 posts

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Dec 28 2014, 03:30 PM)
January. Winter. Not much day time. Afraid might not be able to fit in lots into the itinerary.
i see..view of kinkakuji and kasuga taisha covered in snow would be amazing i guess

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Dec 28 2014, 03:52 PM
munkeyflo
post Dec 28 2014, 03:57 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 28 2014, 03:52 PM)
i see..view of kinkakuji and kasuga taisha covered in snow would be amazing i guess
Snow! Ahhh. I hope no snow storm. sweat.gif
TSRegentCid
post Dec 28 2014, 06:54 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

2015 Jan Tips
This will be sneak preview first.

New coming year....Hope this thread will stay longer and longer.

lucaswjk
post Dec 28 2014, 09:45 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 28 2014, 06:54 PM)
2015 Jan Tips

request... tips for cny hehe
got special event?
hopefully no snowstorm like this year, crossing finger

mayb going there... so far oni planned for hakone... tokyo donno yet

limchee
post Dec 28 2014, 10:19 PM

Sien
1,745 posts

QUOTE(Visit Japan @ Dec 26 2014, 05:36 PM)
Hi Limchee, welcome to Japan!
I have been living in Japan for 6 years, will try to share my experience for travelers!

Will you follow a full-guided tour or just bus hop-in hop-out? If just transport, when you arrive at Takayama, I recommend you to choose one of this tour:

http://www.isitetakayama.com/english.html

The guide english-speaking japanese, and it is actually CHEAPER than if you buy another bus for yourself!
Last year I went there, taking half-day tour.

Side-note: If you are visiting in winter, beware... wear multiple layers of clother with good ventilation.

Cheers!  thumbup.gif
Thank you. biggrin.gif
Preliminary plan:
Day 1: Arrive Nagoya
Day 2: Nagoya City
Day 3: Takayama, Shirawakago (stay a night at the guest house)
Day 4: Toyama
Day 5: Kurobe Alpine Route (probably stay a night)
Day 6: Travel to Mt Fuji
Day 7: Tokyo
Day 8: Tokyo
Day 9: Depart Tokyo

I am going around Mid Oct 2015, it may be too early to catch autumn leaves but hopefully to catch some Koyo at the Alpine route since the Koyo will start from Sept to end Oct... biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 26 2014, 05:41 PM)
Hi, welcome to the thread  thumbup.gif
Hi, yoroshiku onegaishimasu~~~ biggrin.gif
Agito666
post Dec 28 2014, 10:30 PM

11,861 posts

last few days company announced got trip either go to Hokkaido or Turkey... dang i want go Hokkaido instead of turkey heheeee... still need wait company announce it first which one will be going... sad.gif

TSRegentCid
post Dec 28 2014, 10:32 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 28 2014, 09:30 PM)
last few days company announced got trip either go to Hokkaido or Turkey... dang i want go Hokkaido instead of turkey heheeee... still need wait company announce it first which one will be going... sad.gif
Turkey quite best also. City combine Europe & Asia.
munkeyflo
post Dec 29 2014, 02:32 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,795 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 28 2014, 06:54 PM)
2015 Jan Tips

Kampung will love that train biggrin.gif

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Dec 28 2014, 10:30 PM)
Turkey is quite nice too. I would like to go there someday.
michlove
post Dec 29 2014, 09:18 AM

233 posts

QUOTE(Visit Japan @ Dec 26 2014, 05:36 PM)

Side-note: If you are visiting in winter, beware... wear multiple layers of clother with good ventilation.

Cheers!  thumbup.gif
I'll be going to Takayama and Shirakawago in another 2 weeks smile.gif
How many multiple layers of clothes you are advising? Thx.
TSRegentCid
post Dec 29 2014, 03:08 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Dec 29 2014, 08:18 AM)
I'll be going to Takayama and Shirakawago in another 2 weeks smile.gif
How many multiple layers of clothes you are advising? Thx.
Depend how cold can you withstand.
When you reach nagoya. You can tested it already. If nagoya you wear 2 layer. Then Shirakawago will be 3 Layer

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 29 2014, 03:09 PM
lucaswjk
post Dec 29 2014, 04:29 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

guyz, any recommended place to stay at Hakone?
is the town big?

im looking at something within walking distance within onsen/public transport/railway/public attraction

not something like inside the jungle sad.gif and required car to access

can review Hanabi for me?
http://www.booking.com/hotel/jp/hanabi-ashigarakami.html
currently hv 51% discount
but unsure bout the location
junjie
post Dec 29 2014, 05:21 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 29 2014, 04:29 PM)
guyz, any recommended place to stay at Hakone?
is the town big?

im looking at something within walking distance within onsen/public transport/railway/public attraction

not something like inside the jungle sad.gif and required car to access

can review Hanabi for me?
http://www.booking.com/hotel/jp/hanabi-ashigarakami.html
currently hv 51% discount
but unsure bout the location
Hakone is a small town with nice view...
what is your budget for the hotel?

from the map, look like this hotel is far from town!
lucaswjk
post Dec 29 2014, 05:39 PM

~im coming~
3,817 posts

QUOTE(junjie @ Dec 29 2014, 05:21 PM)
Hakone is a small town with nice view...
what is your budget for the hotel?

from the map, look like this hotel is far from town!
dont really hv budget, my priority is conveniency to get around then the cheapest hotel around tat area
... of coz cheapest... haha no argument here blush.gif

so where exactly is the city center point? or which part u can recommend?
the lake? Hyatt?

my next target is Hotel Musashiya? South East from the lake
http://www.booking.com/hotel/jp/musashiya.html

TSRegentCid
post Dec 29 2014, 05:59 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Dec 29 2014, 04:39 PM)
dont really hv budget, my priority is conveniency to get around then the cheapest hotel around tat area
... of coz cheapest... haha no argument here  blush.gif

so where exactly is the city center point? or which part u can recommend?
the lake? Hyatt?

my next target is Hotel Musashiya? South East from the lake
http://www.booking.com/hotel/jp/musashiya.html
This Hotel quite easy to each.
When you doing Lake Ashinoko Cruising. Make sure you reach Moto Hakone Port & Not the Hakone-Machi port.

This Hotel Musashiya just nearby the Port of Moto Hakone.

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Dec 29 2014, 06:03 PM

128 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0309sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:14 AM