Travel Travel To Japan V5, Discover Japan start here

deodorant
post Jul 23 2014, 02:16 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(testkindtest @ Jul 23 2014, 12:13 AM)
Im nt really sure how to book coz i travel to each places every day...means i gonna have to keep changing hotel each day...
you first time travelling or what? hmm.gif
however many days you spending in tokyo just stay the same hotel in tokyo and travel within the city
then from the day you go yokohama then book hotel in yokohama and change hotel once lor
adakah people within the same city keep on changing hotel
deodorant
post Jul 29 2014, 05:15 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(lazarus7247 @ Jul 28 2014, 01:30 AM)
Question would be i need suggestions for Jan 11 and Jan 13. Plus any other food suggestions !
take side trip to kobe eat kobe steak lo, (relatively) short trip only
while in kyoto go eat their kyoto style mackerel sushi, or the gogyo burnt ramen near the market area. and go find kaiseki restoran and have dinner.
deodorant
post Aug 4 2014, 11:26 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tape23 @ Aug 1 2014, 05:04 PM)
anyone going to Tokyo in 2 weeks time? ill be there for 2 weeks.
apparently its freakin hot!
go in summer of course hot lo
on the bright side summer = peach season so go buy and eat a lot of peaches, they gooding.

QUOTE(air_mood @ Aug 2 2014, 07:47 PM)
Is it worth the trouble to go to say Kyoto on the Sunday and Kobe on the Tuesday?

For me, Kyoto not worth considering u only have 4d3n (i.e. 3 actual days), 1 of which is taken up by USJ. Might as well spend the whole time in Osaka. Kobe or Nara can be an OK side trip if you absolutely can't find anything in osaka that you're interested in visiting.
deodorant
post Aug 19 2014, 08:45 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(hty1988 @ Aug 19 2014, 12:02 AM)
Gomennasai..

QUOTE(hty1988 @ Aug 19 2014, 12:19 AM)
Domo arigato gozaimas.

QUOTE(hty1988 @ Aug 19 2014, 12:23 AM)
Gomen.

QUOTE(hty1988 @ Aug 19 2014, 08:29 AM)
Soo desu ka? Isogashi toko, arigato.

what's with all the random mispelled japanese words when all of us are reading/writing english on an english forum? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Aug 19 2014, 08:46 AM
deodorant
post Aug 29 2014, 04:53 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(zest168 @ Aug 29 2014, 01:00 PM)
Hi can I ask if I go to Osaka and use credit card to withdraw money as cash advance, how much difference on the fees and exchange rate as compared to bringing RM to change to JPY ?
You can but credit card cash advance is practically the worst way to get money. Much better to use ATM to withdraw instead. Seven bank ATM (i.e. in 7-11) should accept your ATM card as long as got cirrus, etc.
deodorant
post Aug 31 2014, 05:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chatwarrior @ Aug 31 2014, 11:10 AM)
Train rides are considered journeys but not spending time in cafes, streets or lingering around. Those have nothing to do with the journeys.

Is English your second or third language? notoriousfiq is speaking about 'journey' in the metaphorical/figurative sense and here you are trying to argue with him on the literal definition of the word doh.gif

This post has been edited by deodorant: Aug 31 2014, 05:48 PM
deodorant
post Sep 10 2014, 02:23 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(avanpiper @ Sep 10 2014, 11:00 AM)
Still thinking whether to go DisneySea or Disneyland...

TDS is like a more 'grown up' version of Disneyland. Rides are slightly more adult, the franchises also the more grow up ones.
deodorant
post Oct 3 2014, 11:35 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 3 2014, 11:18 AM)
Do you have tips on where to have nice, fresh, cheap sashimi? In places like Kyoto, Kobe and Osaka. Also Kobe beef, where nice and affordable?
Ooh this one I know. RegentCid last time forgot which v liao said Mouriya gooding http://www.mouriya.co.jp/en/

deodorant
post Oct 3 2014, 11:42 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(elvatra @ Oct 3 2014, 09:32 AM)
any recommendation food or must try thing in kyoto and osaka? will be going there for a week soon

if you like visiting japanese markets looking at produce and stuff and are planning to visit the kyoto one, nearby there is a ramen shop which serve 'burnt' ramen. i like the miso ramen, oily but gooding

http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Restaurant_R...ture_Kinki.html
deodorant
post Oct 4 2014, 02:09 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(eXTaTine @ Oct 3 2014, 02:28 PM)
Hi quick question, anyone know if I can get away with renting a car without an International Driver's license, or I must have one before I can rent a car in Japan?

QUOTE(foohoa @ Oct 4 2014, 10:17 AM)
just go jpj apply it, somebody say it cost RM150 and just fill up the form
because u just use it 1 time, no need go for the REAL international driver's license

What are you talking about ada kah such thing as "real" or "not real"? The rm150 at JPJ one IS the real international driver's permit.
deodorant
post Oct 4 2014, 05:20 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ Oct 4 2014, 02:59 PM)
The REAL one mean u need to take the test with left and right side drive, once you get it
you can go overseas and driving anytime you want

So which agency issues this so-cslled "real" IDP? doh.gif
JPJ issued rm150/year IDP is already accepted all over the world as a proper IDP, even in left hand drive countries lar.
deodorant
post Oct 5 2014, 08:46 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ Oct 4 2014, 07:54 PM)
Regarding the driving license, here have some explanation

http://driving-school.com.my/international...aysian-license/
this blog talks about the JPJ rm150/year IDP lo doh.gif pay rm150 to JPJ they issue you an IDP on top of your normal license. No such thing as need to take left hand drive right hand drive test for a so called 'real' IDP like what you said in previous posts doh.gif
deodorant
post Oct 8 2014, 08:29 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Oct 7 2014, 10:45 PM)
Hi Guys, can recommend me Android apps for us to check map/bus or mrt route in Japan?

when i was there the last two times google maps worked just fine.
deodorant
post Oct 8 2014, 08:33 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(foohoa @ Oct 7 2014, 12:55 PM)
i think urs is IDP its valid only 1 year
IDL need take exam and valid very long time

QUOTE(foohoa @ Oct 7 2014, 01:11 PM)
i not sure, want ask jpj, i heard ppl say it was costly

I've been asking you for a few pages already what is this so-called "real" IDL and turns out you also don't know what you're talking about? doh.gif

rm150/year IDP -- everyone knows about this. What nobody knows about is your so-called "real IDP" which need to take left lane right lane driving test or whatever nonsense. Where on earth did you get this idea from and why is there not a single online link available to describe it?
deodorant
post Oct 8 2014, 08:37 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(michlove @ Oct 7 2014, 04:09 PM)
I know it's expensive. Eat in Malaysia lagi mahal. If total bill around 400 for 2 pax, i can accept  tongue.gif

Don't think you can find real kobe beef. You can check their website http://www.kobe-niku.jp/contents/export/ - mostly europe, singapore, macau, hk, USA, some to thailand, etc.

Anyway if RegentCid suggestion out of your budget, try Steakland lo. Same area also, rm150-rm180/pax but I suppose they use lower grade Kobe.

deodorant
post Oct 8 2014, 10:12 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(g00glesYYl @ Oct 8 2014, 09:10 PM)
You wife is Australian?
How we can know our password has no ICAO chip?

Malaysians living abroad typically can renew passport at the high commission in that country instead of flying back to Malaysia to renew.

deodorant
post Oct 8 2014, 10:14 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Oct 8 2014, 06:48 PM)
The problem is, she is leaving tomorrow, and I doubt she will have enough time to apply the visa. Any possibility to apply visa upon arrival?

A long time ago there was some guy who posted in an earlier version of this thread. He said he went to Japan without visa but brought along all the supporting documents; upon arrival got pulled into a side room for 'interview.' As I recall they gave him a hard time for a couple of hours but eventually gave him visa on arrival.

Your mileage may vary and remains fully up to you whether you wanna risk it or not, of course.
deodorant
post Oct 9 2014, 08:13 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(aladdin @ Oct 9 2014, 05:40 AM)
Everyone can apply visa upon arrival in any country but It will be hassle, and could take several hours for the application

I can assure you this blanket statement is most definitely NOT true. All countries specifically maintain lists of other countries which they allow visa-free entry, visa-on-arrival, and pre-application of visa before arrival, etc. As an example if we take our Malaysian passport and try to enter USA without a visa the chances of getting in are essentially 0%.

From Japan Embassy website: "Visas granted by the Japanese Government are issued only by embassies or consulates under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Japan. A visa cannot be acquired after arriving in Japan." Having said that, for Malaysians, technically speaking a visa is only "encouraged" and not "required" by Japanese government since 1993.

A visa exemption arrangement exists between Japan and Malaysia such that nationals of Malaysia who meet relevant conditions may enter Japan without obtaining a visa for a period of not exceeding three consecutive months (short-term
stay). Nevertheless, since 1993, based on a consideration of the state of affairs at the time, the Government of Japan began to encourage that nationals of Malaysia obtain a visa in advance to enter Japan

Therefore if I was in your wife position and considering the latest relaxation for ICAO-compliant passports I would TOTALLY risk it.

Anyway can you update us what her status is? Did she decide to fly anyway and did she manage to enter the country? That could be a help for future bro and sis who might end up in the same boat.
deodorant
post Oct 10 2014, 12:55 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(chungf1 @ Oct 10 2014, 11:27 AM)
Yes, it has this ICAO logo.
This logo means not require visa travel to Japan?

The photo that ronnie posted already gives u the answer clear as day apa lagi u mau?
deodorant
post Oct 12 2014, 01:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ISFJ @ Oct 11 2014, 08:10 PM)
Actually there are a few Sukiyas in Malaysia. I know there's one in Kota Damansara.

QUOTE(kehadapan @ Oct 12 2014, 12:21 PM)
and in pavillion KL

Think you're referring to this suki-ya http://www.suki-ya.com/
Doesn't seem to be the same as japan suki ya http://www.sukiya.jp/
One serve steamboat other one is donburi (rice bowl)

0.0450sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:00 PM