Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

SKYjack
post Aug 20 2014, 05:57 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vengga85 @ Aug 20 2014, 05:10 PM)
drool.gif care to share the cost to install these items bro?
Waaaaah you just got your car,can't wait to unleash your Lion ka! flex.gif
SKYjack
post Aug 20 2014, 06:20 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Aug 20 2014, 06:11 PM)
Talk abt ball shrink, i tested my friend Cooper S. Damn giod. While my friend tested it, i sat on passenger seat, my ball really got shrink.
ooooouu.....that's one sweeeeet babe man! tongue.gif
SKYjack
post Aug 21 2014, 07:07 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(enochtan3668 @ Aug 21 2014, 06:24 PM)
So, I suppose not everyone have the same amount of issues with the car? I finally step up in faith and booked my Blue NA. Now looking for loan - keep my fingers crossed and wish me luck! sweat.gif
A lemon can popup with any brand. It is to do with manufacturing process, as it is not cost effective to ensure every component made is 100% serviceable. The more innovative a brand is, the greater chance of a lemon. This can be a multi-page discussion. To keep it short lets put it down to buyer's luck.

A franchise holder will do his best to fix the car to it's original state. If the results are unsatisfactory,the descent thing for the dealer is to provide a replacement. I doubt if this the practice in Bolehland.My heart goes out to bro hongjoo,I hope your car is fixed. Now here is an opportunity for Naza to catapult it's business to cloud nine. Replace this car and you'll be talk of the town! Give that surety to customers,Peugeot the brand will reach a new level.

Getting a lemon is actually very rare. It can happen to anyone with any brand. This is my 2nd Pug. Will I buy another........you bet I will! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 21 2014, 10:15 PM
SKYjack
post Aug 22 2014, 09:54 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Aug 21 2014, 10:49 PM)
Very true. It can happen to anyone.
This is my first Pug but 3rd in my family. My dad had a 504 GTi and a 505 in the past. Fantastic cars. The 504 GTi had power that seemingly came from nowhere and would rocket past traffic after 2000rpm. The 505 did not recognize speed bumps....they did not exist, so we never slowed down for one. They were the reason I even considered getting a Pug, but alas, my 408 NA is problematic. The gearbox jerking problem seems to be getting worse.

Anyway, good luck to you hongjoo. I'm already thinking of replacing my Pug with another make if the SC can't fix it by next year. I can't imagine what you have gone through.
Had the 505 when I was working in the Middle East. It was 3 liter V6. Loved that car.

In Kuwait there were no speed bumps,everyone wanted to get a place like yesterday. If you got hit,car would be a right off,mad drivers! 3liter engine was considered average,locals ran around with 5 - 7 liter monsters with 12mpg FC. When premium fuel is RM0.45 a liter.........who cares!

Regret I did not drive the Hummer! flex.gif
SKYjack
post Aug 22 2014, 06:58 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Aug 22 2014, 12:41 PM)
generally, the french will just forward the letter to the local franchise holder and ask the local guys to handle it. hands washed.
I'd agree. Franchise holder bears the responsibility to handle local issues. Can't just rake in the profits,but when it comes to problems, expect parent company to solve it!

Perhaps not total hands washed,I'm sure technical advise/support would still flow! After all it is also in their interest the brand does well wherever.

The crucial point it's a global market. Although Naza is playing the local field, but playing with a global product. Many lessons can be learnt from the MAS debacle! Once a great international airline,took a spiral dive never to get out,with the adoption of "tongkat system".

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 23 2014, 11:20 AM
SKYjack
post Aug 25 2014, 09:27 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Aug 24 2014, 10:24 PM)
Hi Guys

I think best time to buy the Turbo Model - both TS and TE. TS from 98K only. I went shopping last one week for best offers. If anybody interested don't mind sharing with you guys the best offers and the SA name. Please PM me.

I will make the booking this Friday (Good Time lol)
You are killing me softly bro. After 2 years + of loan payment + 10% downpayment, my balance is still more than $98K. Well done. Really a great buy! thumbup.gif
SKYjack
post Aug 25 2014, 05:13 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Aug 25 2014, 11:44 AM)
Bro. Why dont you consider settling the loan and buy a new car  and new loan. Only slightly above your current loan. Current promo can get up to 20k. New price should be rm109k otr. 98k for ts.
I will then endup with 2 408t's. If I decide to sell mine cos it's 2 years old, market value is around $80K, $50K loss! My car has been really good, only issue I've had is fluctuating coolant temperature, which is solved. I can't predict what issues I'll face with the new car. hmm.gif

Tks for the tip, but I'll keep my lion! tongue.gif

I am keenly waiting for the new 308. Hatchback suits my purpose better. This time will play it smart.........waaaaait! My car is running well, no hurry to change right away. Wait till the offers start, that is when I'll consider the change!
SKYjack
post Aug 25 2014, 10:46 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 25 2014, 01:07 PM)
Hi Guys,

Was going through other forums, and stumble upon this statement made by a fellow forum-er.

"The Prince THP engine is notorious of problems. From the carbon buildup due to its less than stellar direct injection, to turbo failures, to depollution error, whatever the f that means."
Can anyone verify on this matter? And elaborate more on the issue highlighted?? I mean, i've heard good things about the new THP163. All the issues from the 308T was rectify and modified on the 408T's engine.

Is he referring to the THP156 engine used in 308T??? Or maybe he still think Pug engine/electronics are still like previous models??? Hmmmmmmmm hmm.gifĀ  hmm.gifĀ  hmm.gif
Hehehe.....don't get delirious bro. I've done extensive research on the Prince engine and will put an end to all your fears! I think you'll owe me a couple of beers for this info!

The person who wrote this is obviously not an owner of a Pug. I can say this from the statement he makes,it's a cut and paste of the Prince engine problems. If he was an owner and experienced the problems, he'd surely know what depollution problem is.

1st rule of thumb.....don't blow your fuse on what is said by a non owner! These jackos are just cut and paste kings!

Now, is the Prince notorious for engine problems.....yes! I will not deny this and it still is! By now your blood pressure must be rising. Cool,cool bro,the notoriously problematic Prince engine is the THP 140. Premature carbon buildup, takes place as early as 20k km. This triggered depollution error signal. Turbo units on this Prince have failed due cracked pressure outlet. Photo of the cracked turbo unit below. Remember this one was on the THP 140. HP Fuel Pumps have failed.

Then came THP 156, was much improved. ECU was retuned which solved 95% of the problems faced on the THP 140. I believe prolonged passive driving habits contributed to a certain portion of the problems on the THP156. Personally I've not been satisfied on what was done here, since a direct approach was not taken to rectify reliability issues. ( this is only 2cents worth). ECU retuned to solve some issues is actually an indirect approach.

Finally the THP 163, the engine on 408t. Redesigned all components with reliability issues. 8 mods were carried out towards reliability. Here's a summary:

1)Engine tuned to run on RON 87 petrol
2) Remapped ECU
3) New designed piston with lower compression
4) New designed catalyzer.
5) New engine oil filter housing with heat exchanger
6) New turbo charger
7) New fuel tank gauge unit with lower pressure pump to handle lower grade petrol.
8) A fuel filter to cater for hash atmospheric condition ( third world country)

Redesigned pistons make a difference in preventing premature carbon buildup. I did post sometime back,the effect of the new design and how this exactly works. If you need to know more details, just back track. Turbo unit completely redesigned,no more craked units complaints.

EP6CDTM on 408 has proved very reliable. Right now the new 308,3008 and 408 are fitted with this engine. Would not surprise me to see greater use of this engine. I have posted the 8 mods previously,am glad to post again to bring about greater awareness of the reliability of this engine.

Finally "less than stellar direct injection" is the panicle of nonsense! He obviously has no clue this engine is European Engine of the Year Award winner 8 times! This statement declares those European panel of judges non credit worthy!

You still think this guy knows what he talking about!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 25 2014, 11:13 PM

SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 10:56 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 25 2014, 11:43 PM)
You da mannnnnn SKYjack. Appreciate the info. Looks like im right when i say that this car has alot of potential.......potential to mod....LOL.....By the way, what in the world is depollution??

As for your beers....Do PM me to redeem....and also set a time....Hahahahaha.....Im serious mate....
Can't tell you the exact meaning of depollution. However the French,for want of a better word, use this word to indicate engine problems. There are quite a few engine issues that will generate this signal.

However, it's an electronic language that the diagnostic equipment understands and interacts with to process information.

Tks for your offer on the beers mate. Will call on you on one my trips to KL. We should get together for a chat. I'm sure you'll use that opportunity to further pick my brain....hehehe tongue.gif .
SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 11:05 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(lowpro @ Aug 26 2014, 09:02 AM)
by the way, the 'm' is also in the 5008 and 508 (though not made known officially).
That's good as the engine's reliability will improve public opinion on Pugs. Sadly BMW's support and future development with PSA on the Prince will end by 2016.

SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 05:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Hannibal @ Aug 25 2014, 11:39 PM)
Bro Skyjack, u never failed to impress me with your passion with the lion. These research are no easy task, myself still struggling to understand it fully. Haha... Layman like me are counting on pros like u when making decision. Keep up the good work!
Heeeey bro,tks for the appreciative note. You are most welcome and always willing to help. Yes I do have a mad passion for French stuff. Recently saw the Citroen DS5 on the road, I'm love struck la! It was like watching a beautiful,sexy women glide by! If it wassn't a car, my wife would have been mad.....hehehe!

I hope I don't disappoint anyone by switching camp.......hehehe. Not right away la and can't afford the price, still a big hole in the pocket!
SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 05:50 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(light_up @ Aug 26 2014, 12:30 PM)
which will be painful to look for spare part in the futureĀ  sweat.gif
I don't think spares will be a problem. I believe all 1.6THP for Pugs very soon will be EP6CDTM. Although after 2016 new breed of engines will roll out of PSA, spares for EP6CDTM will continue. Infact it will get cheaper to maintain this engine cos many OEM parts will be available. I believe you'll be able to buy parts from Alibaba.com cheaply. After warranty Alibaba.com will probably turn out my best friend....hehehe!

For example, a turbo unit cost around $16K as Nassim. Alibaba sells the same unit for 500pounds!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 26 2014, 05:53 PM
SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 06:16 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 26 2014, 05:59 PM)
Or go kedai potong...Potong from mini cooper S...Should much cheaper....Hahahahaha
Yes kedai potong pun ada......hehehe!
SKYjack
post Aug 26 2014, 06:22 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Aug 26 2014, 05:42 PM)
Now am i really interested in Peugeot or a sexy french model! Need to hold backĀ  my booking until i get my mind straight lol
Hehehe..........don't look at the DS5 bro. That sexy french chic is an adulteress........hehehe!

I know after telling you so much about the 408t,now I turn to the sexy french chic. The only thing thats stopping me is the price,so expensive la! Sexy chics are never cheap,more so if they are French!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 26 2014, 06:34 PM
SKYjack
post Aug 27 2014, 10:03 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(summerkw @ Aug 27 2014, 09:53 AM)
hey bro, u r right about the DS5. my SIL is driving it. Its a damn beautiful car. When i first saw it also, straight fall in love with that french chick. The interior is also super. But same like u lah....way over my budget to maintain this french chickĀ  tongue.gif

After sales service wise, i dunno. havent ask her about it!
We light pocket fellows can see,touch only la! After that kenna wet dreams.........lol! biggrin.gif Everytime I think about the maintenance I sober up to reality real quick!

That's when I appreciate my sweetheart Lion! Ayiaaa da sourgrapes ler!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 27 2014, 10:06 AM
SKYjack
post Aug 28 2014, 09:46 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(enochtan3668 @ Aug 28 2014, 07:37 AM)
Based on the spy shots, I still prefer the current 408 facelift, it's more feline and to me more coy  brows.gif
Ya most of us agree the facelift 408 has lost it's French DNA. This car was actually designed for China market, so not surprised with Dongfeng's hand in it!
SKYjack
post Aug 28 2014, 10:15 AM

367 posts

I write this for the benefit of bors having fluctuating coolant temperature. There are certain issues that you should be aware. This is not one of those old engines where dancing temp.as long as it does not hit the red mark is fine.Temp fluctuation on these modern high technology engines has several consequence.

Coolant temperature for optimum engine operation is 90 dee. After start the engine gets up to this temp. as fast as possible and maintains this temp. steady through out it operation. Fluctuations of temp. during engine normal operation is abnormal. If anyone says as long as the temp. does not exceed 90 deg. it's normal or it's ok, is talking absolute nonsense. I will explain why!

During engine operation, tremendous heat is generated internally. Temp. indication provides an excellent monitoring parameter to the driver. The coolant sensor plays a crucial roll by continually delivering temp signals to the ECU which figures out if the engine is cold,warming up, normal temp. or overheat. Using these signals the ECU affects the operating strategy of the entire engine management system.There's a lot more signals that enter the ECU for engine management, it will be too long winded to discuss all. Let's keep it to coolant temperature sensor.

Many of the fuel, ignition, emissions and drivetrain functions handled by the ECU are affected by the engine's operating temperature. A different operating strategy is used when the engine is cold than when it is warm. This is done to improve cold driveability, idle quality and emissions. Cold/warm feedback controls the air/fuel mixture. The ECU may ignore the oxygen sensor rich/lean feedback signal until the coolant reaches a certain temperature. While the engine is cold, the ECU keep the fuel mixture rich to improve idle quality and cold driveability.

Therefore unsteady temp. signals can cause high fc and continued driving with this condition can lead to foul plugs. There's a host of other things that take place all based on signals from coolant temp. sensor, from cold/warm/overheat. Again it's too long to discuss all.

Don't take an unsteady temperature indication lightly!
SKYjack
post Aug 29 2014, 08:43 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Aug 28 2014, 02:36 PM)
Hi Guys,

I got some questions about cooling. Hope you guys can enlighten me here.

I know the radiator is to cool then coolant which is then use to cool the engine, piston heads, a/c and other components. What is the big fan infront of out radiator for?

And also, what about ATF? It goes through the same radiator as well for cooling? Or does our coolant cools the ATF as well?

Thank you.....
Whooooau bro,you have mixed both fluids into one bowl of soup! Sorry I've got to deny you this cocktail!

ATF is for the GB and is independent from coolant. GB has it own radiator and is on a completely independent circuit. It's difficult to spot GB radiator on our car cos it's hidden in front of the large radiator. It would be roughly 1/3 the size of the engine radiator. Don't mistake the one on the right, as that is the turbo intercooler. Inbetween the the radiator and intercooler, you'll see two hoses with metal fitting, roughly 6 inches apart vertically. These are the inlet and outlet of the GB radiator.

Now lets come to the large fan infront of the coolant radiator. You have got to understand how the radiator functions to get rid of heat to understand the necessity for this large fan.Let me simplify it for you. The radiator is a bunch of tubes welded together. Run the hot coolant into the tubes and push air on the surface of tubes, the coolant is cooled. Forward motion of the car forces air on the tubes surface.

What happens when the car stops, or worst still is caught in traffic jam. In traffic jams, not only the air from forward motion of the car is lost, the engine is still operating, generating more heat! This is where the fan kicks in to force air on to the radiator to provide cooling. Sometimes this fan may also run when the engine is stopped. This is to provide turbo unit cooling.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 29 2014, 09:05 AM
SKYjack
post Aug 31 2014, 04:38 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(chenglong @ Aug 31 2014, 02:20 PM)
This is normal. If you turn the car key to initial without engine for certain time, system will cut-off the the power for energy saving to protect your battery.

For example, you listen to radio without start engine, economy mood will activated after certain time.

correct me if I'm wrong.
Spot on. Smart car isn't it!
SKYjack
post Sep 11 2014, 11:10 AM

367 posts

Pug owners be very happy with your choice. Don't think other makes are trouble free. Here is a Honda City dilemma. This is a car that is offten benched marked for reliability and Peugeot's reliability in the eyes of Malaysians is poor. From my own experience, I can categorically say Peugeots have come a long way and are now reliable.

All cars have problems, at least ours is not this bad!This is a 2 year old Honda City. My Pug is 2 + years old,I have faced nothing but a dancing coolant temperature indication, which has been fixed. This is a boost of confidence to our new bros and to potential ones reading this thread for information.

Hi all,

PROBLEM : Following up to my problem listed year many years ago. My Honda City has finally irritate me with more severe idling problem to send it to the workshop. Basically my idling has always had an issue when i am engaged on D gear or any other moving gear except N and P. But even when in N its idling isnt very much stable. When i brake to 0, my idling will drop to nearly 100-200 and bounce back up (the feeling is like driving a manual car with bad balancing skill).

*Please note that i only use Honda Oil (engine and Gearbox). Coolant and brake oil are all from Honda as well.

What I have done previously :
1) Changed the spark plug as adviced by the mechanic - didn't change anything. Better firing though.
2) I have cleaned my throttle body 3 times over the past 2 years, resetting the ECU as well - momentary satisfaction but problem reoccur after few minutes of driving.
3) I have flushed my gear oil and replaced with new oil - smooth driving but problem not solved.

So what i have decided to do :
i found a mechanic who has experience in Honda Authorised service center and now is working in one of the workshops at Old Town. As usual i went to have small talk with mechanic and share with them my problem but most of them weren't confident except this guy - he has a lot of experience with the similar.

1) again, we start from scratch, i flushed the gearbox oil - problem not solved (I always refilled/replenish with nearly 2 bottles of CVTF)
2) we cleaned the throttle body and reset ECU - problem not solved
3) new step: we cleaned the manifold as well - problem not solved (but much better)

right now, he is confident that the main issue lies with the FLYWHEEL. After this repair, he is confident that i will not have the problem anymore, because there is nothing else that can cause this problem. He has checked every electronic units with his computer many times to ensure this isnt a gearbox problem.

So right now, I will like to ask if anyone of you have done your flywheel repairs and solved the above mentioned problem? IF you have done it, how much did it cost you?

IM really looking out right here because sometimes, you know how mechanic open price right, they know your problem is big so they whack and in the end you will still spend. Trying to be a smart consumer right here smile.gif

Waiting for your replies. If this really helps, means, GUYS WE HAVE FINALLY SOLVED THIS LONGEST ISSUE EVER.

Thanks smile.gif

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Sep 11 2014, 11:30 AM

17 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0436sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:04 AM