Peugeot 408 Owners/ Fans Thread [V3], Motion & Emotion

SKYjack
post Oct 12 2014, 10:42 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(a-hp @ Oct 11 2014, 07:24 PM)
Labor charge at Nasim is considerably high. Always has been? I wonder.
This's not only Nassim, other makes also the same. On paper, an SC is supposed to be fully quipped and have adequately trained mechanics to service/repair respective models. Hence higher charges.

In reality, independent specialist do a better job cos it's their own business! Glad to see Pug volume increasing cos this will lead to more independent workshops. Better price, better maintenance!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Oct 12 2014, 10:44 AM
SKYjack
post Oct 13 2014, 10:01 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(khaidzar @ Oct 13 2014, 08:37 AM)
hahaha precisely lor i just ignore but then my mother u know lar how does family works right hahaha...anyway thanks for ur input now waiting for the parts..haiya i think 2 months already my car never move from 1 problem to other problem hahaha
Oh U kena ketoh from family la...."I told u don't buy pijot".....hehehe! This one got no remedy, have to face the music, especially from her majesty....hehehe!

As for the delay on parts, keep push them, but in a civilized manner. Make an effort to meet the manager as many times as you can. You tend to get better results this way.

Good luck,my friend!
SKYjack
post Oct 13 2014, 12:12 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(joeaggas @ Oct 13 2014, 11:11 AM)
Where are these independent specialist?
Chan Sow lin former Peugeot SC has gone independent. I hear Rahim in Kajang is good,but not sure if he can handle THPs. There are others in Klang Valley, anyone can post contacts?
SKYjack
post Oct 14 2014, 04:35 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(R-1 @ Oct 14 2014, 11:10 AM)
If anyone looking to change tyre & retain the Continental MC5 brand, suggest go to PJ if Klang is too far for KL people. The price is at RM410 (recently used to be RM380) instead of other shops which normally sell RM480 onwards. Probably because their Central branch is nearby at PJ.

Address: PJT Service Sdn Bhd, No.2, Ground Floor, Jalan PJS 5/2, Taman Desaria Off Jalan Klang Lama.
Tel: 03-78753498
Tks for the contact bro. Need to change one tyre. Kena pot hole and benkah on the side! Lucky the wheel is not affected.
SKYjack
post Oct 14 2014, 04:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(eusened @ Oct 14 2014, 04:36 PM)
1 out of the 5 rims sudah bend  cry.gif
Any repair shops for this?
SKYjack
post Oct 14 2014, 06:32 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 14 2014, 05:16 PM)
Bro, how u change 1 tyre only.
U would have uneven wear for all tyres
Figured out a simple fix on 1 tyre change. Change the bengkah tyre to new one. Exchange the spare with the worn tyre.
I prefer to have new tyres at the front. The front wears off quicker too. After a while the difference between rear and front is not that noticeable.

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Oct 14 2014, 06:41 PM
SKYjack
post Oct 15 2014, 05:37 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 15 2014, 04:32 PM)
Previously:
After I start my engine, the temperate gauge hit 90'c within 2 mins. And always steadily maintained at 90'c.

Currently:
After I start my engine, it takes at least 5 mins to hit 70'c and above. And always floating between 70'c to 85'c.

Is this a problem? Or normal for the reading floating around but never over 90'c???
Bro,this is a problem. After a brief period of engine startup/operation, temp. MUST stabilize at 90C. This signal is used for various engine operation. It affects different combustion strategy. Continuous operation with unsteady coolant temp. would lead to high FC and foul plugs.

I did write a brief on effects of unsteady coolant temperature, recently. Check my post.
SKYjack
post Oct 16 2014, 09:44 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 15 2014, 05:44 PM)
I rmb you wrote this before. I did highlight this to SC during my last visit, but they said:" Ini normal, no problem."
I will send in to another SC for checking again.
Thanks bro
Try a different SC,but insist on the change! I had the same answer when I sent in my car, which was acting exactly like yours.

Front desk personnel are not technically trained. They have no idea unsteady coolant temp. is abnormal. Their knowledge of as long as the temp. did not hit the red range then no problem and ini normal, is ok for old engines.

On old engines the coolant/water was only for purpose of cooling the engine and preventing overheat.So as long as there is no overheat, no problem!

Not on these high tech engines. On these engines, coolant temp plays a critical role in combustion strategy. Every signal from cold to hot is sent to ECU which commands respective engine operation. An improper coolant signal feedback to ECU will command an improper engine operation. In your case the improper engine operation will be subtle, unnoticeable for a long while.

When the front desk staff gave me the same reply, "ini normal", i insisted to meet the service engineer. Only then I got the coolant temp. sensor changed.
SKYjack
post Oct 17 2014, 08:47 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(vknight @ Oct 17 2014, 12:49 AM)
Hi
When i take delivery of my new car, if the tyre is 2012 make is it ok? Anything else i need to keep in mind when i take my new 408 besides the items in the checklist?
If you are high mileage user than ok. If like me not ok,my average per year is about than 10K. Expiry is 5 years, balance 3 years i would do only 30K. That means need to change tyres before worn!

As for general condition of car, no need to worry. Don't need the check list also. Nasa SA are well trained and do a good job of pre delivery inspection. They will also give you a good operational brief during your acceptance.
SKYjack
post Oct 20 2014, 10:16 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(jfcheong @ Oct 20 2014, 09:46 AM)
Coolant temp sensor faulty on last Friday night.
[attachmentid=4178026]
Got it changed on Sat
[attachmentid=4178027]
Bravo.....finally they changed it for you. Your Lion sayang you and showed them something they could not refuse! Hehehe....well done! thumbup.gif

SKYjack
post Oct 21 2014, 12:14 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(eusened @ Oct 20 2014, 03:35 PM)

Anyway, none of their car out run my pretty lion biggrin.gif
That's the beauty of pijot,you'll have the last laugh!
SKYjack
post Oct 26 2014, 09:46 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(tchangwei @ Oct 25 2014, 05:25 PM)
Hi I am 2.0 na white .Do 2.0 guys facing gear box noise issue ? When I driving within speed 60 to 90 , there is "Yi" sound and very annoying. I had feedback to service center 9 months ago , but till now still cannot fix it . Please advise . Thanks
Your gb is 8AT. This is a new gb,no reported problems other than slight jerks by some owners. The sound you mentioned is a symptom of impending failure. Try changing the ATF!

If SC does not want to do anything, then you have no choice to continue till it fails, then make a warranty claim.
SKYjack
post Oct 26 2014, 04:46 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Oct 26 2014, 03:00 PM)
I tried complaining at Glenmarie to no avail. My GB jerks a lot, especially when driving up hill.
Tell SC to rest the TCU. As for the sound, better to accept the overhaul.
SKYjack
post Oct 27 2014, 10:49 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(tchangwei @ Oct 27 2014, 09:45 AM)
Hi, what do u mean by ATF ? Other than waiting , what else can do , cause I am not statisfy with spending 100k for the noise . Please advise thanks
You can have the gb diagnosed by a independent gb specialist. Do not send it for repair with them,you'll lose Peugeot warranty. This just for your info. I don't have the contact,but there are a few in Klang Valley.

As regards to waiting, I can understand your frustration. The problem is not entirely due to Nasa, the damn French are very sticky and difficult. They want every document to be right before approval......bloody frogies!

On your part,hold your temper,be patient but persistent! It helps to get Nasa staff on your side!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Oct 27 2014, 11:02 AM
SKYjack
post Oct 27 2014, 06:39 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Newbie838 @ Oct 27 2014, 11:56 AM)

The guy behind the reception counter was a bit rude IMO. Naza has a long long way to go in terms of after sales service.
Bro don't accept this rudeness. Don't let him get away with this behavior. He does not deserve to be working there if he hasn't got common courtesy! Get his name and make an official complaint to management. Post a copy on Peugeot FB.

SKYjack
post Nov 3 2014, 10:17 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(x800 @ Nov 2 2014, 07:03 PM)
finally i got the "Engine fault: repair needed" & "Engine temperature fault" alarms. so, if i call peugeot hotline tomorrow morning, they'll tow it to the nearest SC FOC right?
FOC within 150km,topup if more. I suspect faulty coolant temp. sensor has triggered both error msg. Update us after repair!

Snap shot of msg is a very good idea!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Nov 3 2014, 10:19 AM
SKYjack
post Nov 3 2014, 11:23 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(EP6CDTM @ Nov 3 2014, 10:45 AM)
true overheat ma claim new engine  blush.gif
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
SKYjack
post Nov 4 2014, 06:53 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(natlwc @ Nov 4 2014, 06:10 PM)
Just today I picked up my Peugeot 408 TL and i noticed two potential issues.

1. After i collected my car, i proceeded to go to the nearest petrol station in this case it was Shell to pump petrol. I pumped RON95 and after i pumped and got in and started my car a error message at the dashboard said Engine Fault:Repair Needed and also the check engine light turned on. Drove for about 50km, only the check engine light is still on. Should i be concerned?

2. As i was driving on the highway, i noticed that the car vibrates a bit. the steering as well vibrates quite a fair amount. Is this normal or do i need to send it in to check and perform some sort of service. if service, what exactly needs to be done?

hope someone can help
1.As your car is brand new, I doubt if the error msg is anything serious. It could be just a computer signal loss between interface interaction. Drive it for another day and monitor. I believe once the computers have establish the interaction links, everything will be fine.

2.Vibration could be due to unbalanced tyres. Back to the SC!
SKYjack
post Nov 5 2014, 12:38 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Hannibal @ Nov 5 2014, 12:55 AM)
Hi natlwc, I had the same vibration issue with you. Please send your car back asap for balancing as it will be chargeable after certain mileage. Make sure you asked if it's foc as mine was chargeable. I also had all four tyres changed upon continental guys inspection as they found my tyres to have prob. However, I still have bumpy issue occasionally when hitting high speed, like 140km/hr. Will let them check on my next service.
The bumpy ride is inherent of the sports tuned suspension setup on the 408t. It can be partially reduced by changing to softer shocks, coil springs and higher profile tyres. Bear in mind these changes, while they improve comfort, reduce handling ability of the car.

Not to say the handling will be affected to a point that the car is rubbish to drive. 408t original sports tuned setup has put the handling characteristic of this car at a completely different level compared to it's competitors! By changing the setup you lower the bar on handling!

Btw SC will not be able to do anything about this!
SKYjack
post Nov 6 2014, 10:49 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(mtbk3 @ Nov 5 2014, 02:56 PM)
Try taking your car to a straight and smooth road which you know and which u are familiar with. Drive it there. Is the bumpy-ness still there? You are more or less to have it. Because the 408T suspension, as mentioned by SKYjack, is sports tuned. So its harder compared to the 2.0NA or other car in this category. It will react to any road uneven-ness or SMALL holes or even rough surface. You are meant to feel all this for better road feedback. But if lets say you are driving on the straight smooth road, an it is still terribly bumpy, then get it check.

Does it happen only when you going fast? Or slow also like that?

Tyre pressure also plays a part. Have you check you new tyre pressure?

What car are you driving previously?
Good advice thumbup.gif !

@Hannibal
Try out mtbk3's advice. Since you say the bumpy ride has got worse after tyre change, very likely the tyres are the culprit.

Fyi, at 140kmh, i find even KL/Seramban hwy is bumpy at certain areas. Sometimes when in the mood, I take LEKAS. Then I do 170-180kmh, nice and smooth!

17 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0778sec    0.12    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:33 PM