LCD Monitor Thread v13.

Andrewtst
post Apr 5 2023, 06:51 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Maxieos @ Apr 5 2023, 07:45 AM)
The yellowish is for reading white document text while dark mode is also important to read text too.I worry of black light bleed or leak , IPS white glow , viewing angle since I mount with vesa and at around 45 degree viewing.I don't see any deapth review on 24G2SP ?
The viewing angle is quite poor and colour shift and get dark on top and side.The model was U version.Can you confirm it's that poor ?

Just wonder , i check there is also a 27G2SP but in 1080p.How do you think about 27 inch mode for it ?
Will it be blur for 1080p for 27 inch ?

beside , i check it's a 6bit panel for 24G2SP.Don't understand about colour stuff less knowledgeable , but at the youtube review doesn't said anything on 6bit vs those 8bit colour.
which panel does 24G2SP use ?  S-IPS, H-IPS, E-IPS , P-IPS ?

Can guide me to understand the colour graphic with youtube review explanation because i am confuse with those overdrive setting where my monitor don't even have overdrive ?

Actually 120hz and 8bit good clour for movie is enough for me but compare to price budget , i was hoping to get 27 inch 2k .As what you posted ,it's not possible currently.

If it's really 27 inch 2k or 4k , which monitor is similar and budget wise ? Not really into gaming but hope to get smooth mouse scroll with 120hz.

Now deciding which one to get , 24 inch or 27 inch , all depends on budget.
Most important , no colour shift dark and washout like TN panel on viewing angle 45 degree.

That kind of viewing angle if it is bad for you, you only left OLED and prepared for RM 4.5k for 27", they is no 24" OLED.
This monitor is so small and you are straight view, how bad the viewing angle can impact you? I am using mini-LED VA in 32" and I don't have issue on viewing angle at all, unless you are sharing screen always, else monitor is view straight and they is no impact on usage or color shift, it is not TN.

Here is comparison of previous generation AOC 24G2 vs my current main monitor. My main monitor had far worst viewing angle and I don't have issue because we are viewing the monitor straight, when you put the screen up, you will need to narrow down the screen right, so it is same straight view.

https://www.rtings.com/monitor/tools/compar...&threshold=0.10

It is 6bit + FRC = kind of 8-bit but not true 8-bit but output still great and you normally won't notice the differences. Against my main monitor is 12-bit but in SDR output, it is basically same output as SDR in 8-bit or 6bit+FRC is enough. In budget, this kind of quality is very awesome. Frank speaks they is not many choices in budget around RM700.

FRC - Frame Rate Control manipulates pixels, so they flash two alternating colors so quickly that you perceive any of the shades in a billion color experience.

Overdrive - overclocking the default refresh rate, this normally will impact the color quality, for example reduce from 8-bit to 6-bit, reduce the brightness, contrast and etc.

I will not buy 1080p in 27". For 27" you should go for 1440p.

Lasty you need to tolerance the cons of monitor as they is no perfect panel.
  • IPS - glow or bleeding is common, just how good or bad the glow. If you using at total dark room or very dim room, IPS is not suitable.
  • VA - slow respond time, black smearing and poor viewing angle. Good for dark room.
  • Mini-LED in latest generation VA - poor viewing angle. Good for dark room. Currently only have 3 models in market using this latest generation VA panel, Samsung Odyssey Neo G7, Neo G8 and Neo G9.
  • OLED - text fringing due to not standard RGB pixel alignment, this is Microsoft issue due to Microsoft only support clear type text in RGB pixel alighment. They do have 2 model from LG in market using RGB pixel alignment OLED, one is RM 8k for 27" and another is RM 11k for 32" and both is 60hz only.
  • TN - very poor viewing angle and color shift even straight view.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 16 2023, 03:37 AM
lansi_raju
post Apr 6 2023, 05:26 PM

204 posts

just got gigabyte M27Q, i have issue on setting up the KVM, hopefully there's anyone can help me troubleshoot.

here below is my cabling setup.

https://i.imgur.com/kJ2r3DM.png>

problem is the monitor doesn't display (hooked from usb c Laptop) when i press the KVM button (behind the monitor), could it be the setup in the OSD is wrong?
Andrewtst
post Apr 15 2023, 08:44 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(xPrototype @ Apr 5 2023, 05:23 PM)
Worth buying monitor or wait till more OLED come out this year?
Depends on what spec you need for the OLED monitor.
  • If 1080p, I doubt it will have, at least not so soon.
  • If 1440p, they is some now, either using LG panel (wide) or Samsung QD-OLED panel (ultrawide), both panel also have text fringing issue as both panel is also not using standard RGB pixel alignment.
  • If 2160p, they is only 2 model (they do upgrade once but they not selling older model when new model release), both is using standard RGB pixel alignment, which means both no text fringing issue. But both is only 60hz and very expensive, RM 8k for 27" and RM 11k for 32".
I think next year will release gaming series in 32" and 4K but probably it is still not standard RGB pixel alignment, which means still text fringing but due to it is 4K, the text fringing issue will be reduce.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 15 2023, 08:45 PM
Respek Wamen
post Apr 16 2023, 01:27 PM

49 posts

I wanted the M27Q but I just found out from this thread that IPS panels and their matte finish can cause eye strain which is in line with what I was experiencing sometimes with my IPS laptop. So I was wondering if there are any glossy/OLED 1440p gaming monitors? I recall an LG 27inch 1440p OLED monitor is a thing but is it in stores yet? Although Im open to recommendations.

This post has been edited by Respek Wamen: Apr 16 2023, 01:28 PM
Andrewtst
post Apr 16 2023, 02:48 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Respek Wamen @ Apr 16 2023, 01:27 PM)
I wanted the M27Q but I just found out from this thread that IPS panels and their matte finish can cause eye strain which is in line with what I was experiencing sometimes with my IPS laptop. So I was wondering if there are any glossy/OLED 1440p gaming monitors? I recall an LG 27inch 1440p OLED monitor is a thing but is it in stores yet? Although Im open to recommendations.
If you want glossy OLED, then get the Dell AW3423DWF, Dell AW3423DW, Samsung Odyssey OLED G8 or any using QD-OLED panel. All QD-OLED is glossy surface.

The LG UltraGear 27GR95QE-B, Asus ROG Swift PG27AQDM or any using same LG 27" 1440p OLED panel all is matte finish surface.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Apr 16 2023, 02:52 PM
Respek Wamen
post Apr 17 2023, 12:58 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Apr 16 2023, 02:48 PM)
If you want glossy OLED, then get the Dell AW3423DWF, Dell AW3423DW, Samsung Odyssey OLED G8 or any using QD-OLED panel. All QD-OLED is glossy surface.

The LG UltraGear 27GR95QE-B, Asus ROG Swift PG27AQDM or any using same LG 27" 1440p OLED panel all is matte finish surface.
I see. Any mini led options right now that does not have a curved screen? Thanks.
Andrewtst
post Apr 17 2023, 11:03 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(Respek Wamen @ Apr 17 2023, 12:58 PM)
I see. Any mini led options right now that does not have a curved screen? Thanks.
Here is the listing of mini LED monitor - https://www.displayninja.com/mini-led-monitor-list/
ToddStarz
post Apr 27 2023, 07:28 PM

407 posts

hi anyone knows any shop in jb carrying gigabyte m27q, i wanna see it display before purchasing
SyriuS
post May 26 2023, 01:37 AM

94 posts

Hi guys,

I've about finalized my soon to be purchased rig (i5 13600k & RTX 4080) to only play diablo 4 (maxed out at 4k) but would like recommendations for a 27 - 32" 4k monitor of around 144hz. Don't need 200hz.

Note: no OLEDs.

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by SyriuS: May 26 2023, 03:08 AM
Andrewtst
post May 27 2023, 01:40 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(SyriuS @ May 26 2023, 01:37 AM)
Hi guys,

I've about finalized my soon to be purchased rig (i5 13600k & RTX 4080) to only play diablo 4 (maxed out at 4k) but would like recommendations for a 27 - 32" 4k monitor of around 144hz. Don't need 200hz.

Note: no OLEDs.

Thanks in advance.
Diablo this kind of games is much fun in 32" than 27".

I suggest you go for Samsung Odyssey Neo G7 which is 165hz mini-LED in VA at 4K resolution.
https://www.samsung.com/my/monitors/gaming/...ls32bg752nexxs/

I not suggest you Neo G8 where I am using now as that one is 240hz which you already said don't need 200hz.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 27 2023, 04:16 PM
Halls1234
post May 28 2023, 12:45 AM

93 posts

Guys, i shortlisted the following but cant make up my mind.

Which will you all goto?
Gigabyte M27Q
GIGABYTE G32QC-A
LG 32GN600B
MSI G27CQ4 E2
PJng
post May 29 2023, 08:17 PM

12,039 posts

Just send it to warranty, that i post before
Now got 2 stuck pixel always green
I direct send to highpoint HQ, yes acer monitor
First time send monitor for warranty
He say either replace panel or replace new monitor
I see what will happen, and took how many day
Andrewtst
post Jun 6 2023, 06:26 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

I finally purchase the Asus ROG Swift OLED PG42UQ. Haha! Can't wait it arrival, if no shipment issue, should arrived after 2 days.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 6 2023, 06:26 PM
WaNaWe900
post Jun 6 2023, 06:41 PM

చąហ ąచҽ™
1,397 posts

Sifus notworthy.gif

Is it worth to upgrade warranty for Dell Ultra-sharp monitor sweat.gif

~MYR450 - 1 year
~MYR700 - 2 year

My U2720Q/QM warranty ended in Nov 2023... icon_rolleyes.gif
PJng
post Jun 6 2023, 07:18 PM

12,039 posts

I get back new monitor, 75hz to new model 100hz
Took one week
Andrewtst
post Jun 6 2023, 10:39 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(WaNaWe900 @ Jun 6 2023, 06:41 PM)
Sifus  notworthy.gif

Is it worth to upgrade warranty for Dell Ultra-sharp monitor  sweat.gif

~MYR450 - 1 year
~MYR700 - 2 year

My U2720Q/QM warranty ended in Nov 2023...  icon_rolleyes.gif
I don't think it is worth to buy warranty, it is not cheap and I rather save that money as compensate for new monitor.
180sx
post Jun 7 2023, 09:34 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 6 2023, 06:26 PM)
I finally purchase the Asus ROG Swift OLED PG42UQ. Haha! Can't wait it arrival, if no shipment issue, should arrived after 2 days.

Niceeee! Pls give review after using it.
Do you plan to get the new odyssey G9 oled or the 57" odyssey g9? Thinking to sell my ark to get either those...most likely the 57" one. Might need your advise when the time comes.
Andrewtst
post Jun 7 2023, 10:41 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(180sx @ Jun 7 2023, 09:34 PM)
Niceeee! Pls give review after using it.
Do you plan to get the new odyssey G9 oled or the 57" odyssey g9? Thinking to sell my ark to get either those...most likely the 57" one. Might need your advise when the time comes.
I also thinking to sell my 49" Odyssey Neo G9 and also the Neo G8.

I will not get the 57" Odyssey Neo G9, that one need change GPU and only AMD 7900 XTX support and I am not fans of AMD GPU yet.
It is more than 4K a lot, very hard to gaming, current GPU is still bottlenet on such crazy resolution.

The New Odyssey G9 OLED - maybe. Not sure yet.

I will give a short review after received it. 😊

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Jun 7 2023, 10:42 PM
mois
post Jun 8 2023, 11:37 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Jun 6 2023, 06:26 PM)

Insane price. Do give reviews and comparison with your samsung monitors.

This post has been edited by mois: Jun 8 2023, 11:37 AM
Andrewtst
post Jun 8 2023, 12:46 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jun 8 2023, 11:37 AM)
Insane price. Do give reviews and comparison with your samsung monitors.
Sure I will, I still waiting it delivery to me. 😅

Ya agreed very expensive. Now monitor more and more expensive nowadays.

172 Pages « < 140 141 142 143 144 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.56    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:44 PM