LCD Monitor Thread v13.

ben3003
post Apr 18 2020, 07:48 AM

10,859 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 18 2020, 01:04 AM)
Thanks,  it seems >RM700 price sad.gif. Any other model like DELL <RM700 to intro ?
Top up less than 100 get u the best 24inch monitor based on spec. Ur eyes will thank you for getting 144hz monitor. Even normal usage the smoothness is feel so good on eyes. If wan lower price adjustable need look at dell but i think price almost same bcos adjustable stand is expensivr
NubPro
post Apr 18 2020, 03:47 PM

397 posts

Which would one you guys rather at this price range 699 RMB (equivalent to RM 430). IPS panel, 24-inch, good color accuracy are what I'm looking for.
Ignore the fact that I'm buying it from Taobao, they had to be purchased from China and well-known brands like Samsung and LG are generally more expensive there.

AOC | Model: 24B2XH | 75Hz 23.8"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...e27b&abbucket=8

Philips | Model: 243V7 | 60Hz 24"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...b8c549ef3458123

Xiaomi | Model: XMMNT238CB | 60Hz 24"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...65b6bf1625c4911

I guess I'm leaning towards to AOC because it a pretty renown brand in Asia, but I have doubt in its reliability, I hope someone can press their past experience.
There seems to more buyer in the Philips model compared to AOC (no idea why), this Xiaomi's monitor is relatively new and with fewer reviews, so there's a risk there. Though, I have high hopes for Xiaomi hardware, as they are more willing invest more in quality and material imo.

Senpais, please lemme know your genuine thoughts.
-maple-
post Apr 18 2020, 08:06 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Apr 18 2020, 07:48 AM)
Top up less than 100 get u the best 24inch monitor based on spec. Ur eyes will thank you for getting 144hz monitor. Even normal usage the smoothness is feel so good on eyes. If wan lower price adjustable need look at dell but i think price almost same bcos adjustable stand is expensivr
you are right.. thank ya sifu. smile.gif
chocobo7779
post Apr 18 2020, 09:22 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Apr 18 2020, 03:47 PM)
Which would one you guys rather at this price range 699 RMB (equivalent to RM 430). IPS panel, 24-inch, good color accuracy are what I'm looking for.
Ignore the fact that I'm buying it from Taobao, they had to be purchased from China and well-known brands like Samsung and LG are generally more expensive there.

AOC | Model: 24B2XH | 75Hz 23.8"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a230r...e27b&abbucket=8

Philips | Model: 243V7 | 60Hz 24"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...b8c549ef3458123

Xiaomi | Model: XMMNT238CB | 60Hz 24"
https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?spm=a220m...65b6bf1625c4911

I guess I'm leaning towards to AOC because it a pretty renown brand in Asia, but I have doubt in its reliability, I hope someone can press their past experience.
There seems to more buyer in the Philips model compared to AOC (no idea why), this Xiaomi's monitor is relatively new and with fewer reviews, so there's a risk there. Though, I have high hopes for Xiaomi hardware, as they are more willing invest more in quality and material imo.

Senpais, please lemme know your genuine thoughts.
The Xiaomi uses a Panda IGZO panel (the Acer VG240Y uses this panel as well) icon_idea.gif

Personally I'd go with the AOC, due to its higher refresh rate icon_idea.gif

P.S. most monitors at this price range don't really have good color accuracy - if you want good color accuracy you will need to pony up a lot more for a professional grade one icon_idea.gif
NubPro
post Apr 18 2020, 10:15 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 18 2020, 09:22 PM)
The Xiaomi uses a Panda IGZO panel (the Acer VG240Y uses this panel as well) icon_idea.gif

Personally I'd go with the AOC, due to its higher refresh rate icon_idea.gif

P.S. most monitors at this price range don't really have good color accuracy - if you want good color accuracy you will need to pony up a lot more for a professional grade one icon_idea.gif
Bro how u check what panel they use
chocobo7779
post Apr 18 2020, 11:46 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(NubPro @ Apr 18 2020, 10:15 PM)
Bro how u check what panel they use
I use Panelook/TFTCentral panel database, or in many cases, reading through the monitor specs tongue.gif
https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/9ca71cd3

Both the AOC and the Philips one uses a 6 bit panel with FRC to achieve 8 bit color depth, so my pick would be the Xiaomi as it uses a true 8 bit panel icon_idea.gif
https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/e2eec0c

https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/model/3c1e1bb1

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Apr 19 2020, 12:04 AM
NubPro
post Apr 19 2020, 05:16 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 18 2020, 11:46 PM)
I use Panelook/TFTCentral panel database, or in many cases, reading through the monitor specs tongue.gif

Both the AOC and the Philips one uses a 6 bit panel with FRC to achieve 8 bit color depth, so my pick would be the Xiaomi as it uses a true 8 bit panel icon_idea.gif

Ahhh thanks for the info! notworthy.gif True 8 bits definitely mean better colour reproduction, right?

After reading your previous comment, we made the assumption that the AOC model is better and bought it. Perhaps, we can refund it hmm.gif

NubPro
post Apr 22 2020, 03:01 PM

397 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 18 2020, 11:46 PM)

https://www.displayspecifications.com/en/co...ison/bc48116660

Xiaomi recently released 1A variant of their 24" monitor.
Looking solely on the specs, there doesn't seems to stem any differences. From what I know, they are using panels from different OEM, but Xiaomi promised identical quality.

Is that right?
ihavenoidea
post Apr 22 2020, 05:02 PM

1,300 posts

QUOTE(-maple- @ Apr 17 2020, 09:24 PM)
Need recommendation please.

Size: 24
Resolution: 1080p
Usage: work, office, browsing
Budget: RM700 max
Others: Adjustable height.
just reduce your budget to 600 and buy a monitor that can vesa mount. the 100 use to buy those flexi monitor mount.
soba_82
post Apr 22 2020, 10:35 PM

180 posts

To all sifu here.Need advice to get new monitor.My current Envision P2273whL ada tanda2 nak mampus.Sad also coz almost 7 years i'm using it. icon_question.gif

Size: Need bigger than my current monitor
Resolution: x sure,rite now using FHD (noob here)
Usage: Gaming,Video editing,watch movies,etc
Budget: RM 500 - 700 ++
Others: Adjustable height,maybe speaker also

Or suitable 4 my current build in my sig.....

This post has been edited by soba_82: Apr 22 2020, 10:36 PM
blaze91
post Apr 23 2020, 12:14 PM

1,009 posts

Hi Sifu's, planning to get a 32inch monitor screen. s?

Size: 32inch preferable.
Resolution: x sure,rite now using FHD (newbie here)
Usage: Gaming,Work, Watch Movie etc
Budget: RM 700-1000
Others: Adjustable height,maybe speaker also
cwtien
post Apr 25 2020, 11:41 AM

477 posts

I would like to seek your recommendation for a monitor. My old monitor died yesterday.
Size: no preference, though 40 inch is a bit too big for my table.
Resolution: no preference.
Budget: < 3k.
Usage: light gaming, movie.

Preferences:
Must be HDR (HDR10, HDR400, HDR600, HDR1000?).
10-bit panel.
Freesync or Freesync 2.
Speakers preferred, but not essential. I'm not audiophile.

I think someone recommended an Acer Nitro.

lolzcalvin
post Apr 25 2020, 01:14 PM

shibe in predicament
1,592 posts

QUOTE(cwtien @ Apr 25 2020, 11:41 AM)
I would like to seek your recommendation for a monitor.  My old monitor died yesterday.
Size: no preference, though 40 inch is a bit too big for my table.
Resolution: no preference.
Budget: < 3k.
Usage: light gaming, movie.

Preferences:
Must be HDR (HDR10, HDR400, HDR600, HDR1000?).
10-bit panel.
Freesync or Freesync 2.
Speakers preferred, but not essential.  I'm not audiophile.

I think someone recommended an Acer Nitro.
remove the "must be HDR" requirement, no such thing as true HDR for monitors under 3k, because all the "HDR" you see in their descriptions are advertisements and a gimmick. these are the monitors that are capable of true HDR: ROG Swift PG35VQ and Acer Predator X35
since your budget allows, try Gigabyte Aorus FI27Q-P RM2690
if you want cheaper but performs similarly, try LG 27GL850 RM1899 (iirc garage sales selling at 1850)
if you really focus on movies and do light gaming, and you don't mind curve display, then i'd suggest VA panels such as ROG Strix XG32VQR RM2125
if you want ultrawide for best movie experience + the black level of VA panel, MSI Optix MAG341CQ RM2668

now it's your choice icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Apr 25 2020, 01:15 PM
cwtien
post Apr 25 2020, 01:22 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Apr 25 2020, 01:14 PM)
remove the "must be HDR" requirement, no such thing as true HDR for monitors under 3k, because all the "HDR" you see in their descriptions are advertisements and a gimmick. these are the monitors that are capable of true HDR: ROG Swift PG35VQ and Acer Predator X35
if you want cheaper but performs similarly, try LG 27GL850 RM1899 (iirc garage sales selling at 1850)
if you really focus on movies and do light gaming, and you don't mind curve display, then i'd suggest VA panels such as ROG Strix XG32VQR RM2125
if you want ultrawide for best movie experience + the black level of VA panel, MSI Optix MAG341CQ RM2668

now it's your choice  icon_idea.gif
Thanks for the recommendations notworthy.gif

I was also looking at the Benq EW3280U but it's out of stock everywhere.

This post has been edited by cwtien: Apr 25 2020, 01:32 PM
chocobo7779
post Apr 25 2020, 03:40 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Apr 25 2020, 01:14 PM)

now it's your choice  icon_idea.gif
The funny thing is for the price of the ROG/Predator you can get something like an LG OLED TV which will outperform these monitors at a lower price sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Apr 25 2020, 03:40 PM
cwtien
post Apr 25 2020, 06:12 PM

477 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Apr 25 2020, 03:40 PM)
The funny thing is for the price of the ROG/Predator you can get something like an LG OLED TV which will outperform these monitors at a lower price sweat.gif
True....however my table cannot hold 65" and above TV sad.gif
Kaitodesuuu
post Apr 25 2020, 07:14 PM

317 posts

errr i have a dell u2410 that is ccfl backlit and i think it's starting to deteriorate d are there shops in kl/pj that can convert to led backlit?
Skylinestar
post Apr 26 2020, 12:36 PM

Mega Duck
10,477 posts

QUOTE(Kaitodesuuu @ Apr 25 2020, 07:14 PM)
errr i have a dell u2410 that is ccfl backlit and i think it's starting to deteriorate d are there shops in kl/pj that can convert to led backlit?
may i know what is your observation of the failing ccfl?
Kaitodesuuu
post Apr 26 2020, 11:05 PM

317 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 26 2020, 12:36 PM)
may i know what is your observation of the failing ccfl?
sometimes the brightness flickers a bit, and the monitor model is from 2008

not related but the panel has couding on the left side edges too

harizdesu
post Apr 27 2020, 11:19 AM

vvs my stars
1,262 posts

hi Sifu, please recommend me a monitor

Size: 24 ~ 27 (if possible)
Resolution: Full HD
Usage: mainly for office work, browsing, movie
Budget: RM500 max
Others: adjustable height