Good Pay Nothing to Do?, Should I quit??

TSBangBusBros
post Aug 7 2006, 11:20 AM, updated 20y ago

26 posts

Hi guys,

I just started working in this company. It has been 3 weeks. I am getting really frustrated because I don't really have things to do. Everyday I am just listening to mp3, gmail and lowyat.net. It is getting damn sian. But the pay is not bad 2.6k for fresh grad but nothing to do. Please advise? Is this normal??
harrychoo
post Aug 7 2006, 11:22 AM

3,589 posts

3weeks still new. give at least 6months to see if u can learn things there.
wos
post Aug 7 2006, 11:24 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(harrychoo @ Aug 7 2006, 11:22 AM)
3weeks still new. give at least 6months to see if u can learn things there.
agree, but don't waste ur time if u got nothing to do.. do research
Rusty Nail
post Aug 7 2006, 11:24 AM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

what job is it? drool.gif
any vacancies?
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 7 2006, 11:27 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

If u resign remember to recommend me...

Anyway if u really wants to learn u can learn urself or bug other ppl.
joanalooidog
post Aug 7 2006, 11:29 AM

2,823 posts

normal lah...dun worry
weggoweggo
post Aug 7 2006, 11:30 AM

22 posts

Talk to your immediate boss on your situation, there could be a miscommunication. Perhaps he had verbally given you an assignment without you realising it. Usually newbies are given some time for basic OJT - On Job Training e.g. reading internal doc, source codes, procedures etc. Anyhow, your boss could be busy attending to immediate and urgent matters before getting you started. As said, talk to him / her.
lawsh
post Aug 7 2006, 11:32 AM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

may i apply at your company as well? drool.gif
very serious here
joo88
post Aug 7 2006, 11:34 AM

78 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Aug 7 2006, 12:29 PM)
normal lah...dun worry
normal in malaysia ???

malaysia boleh !!!
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 7 2006, 11:39 AM

26 posts

Well is this normal ah? My ex-company pay suxs but have so much to do and learn? I have only been in the job market for 5months so still considered freshie haiya so any advise on what to do since so bored everyday?????
cheenjeat008
post Aug 7 2006, 11:41 AM

543 posts

Must understand the company structure and get to know more person...this will help you a lot in the future....
kuitien
post Aug 7 2006, 11:41 AM

38 posts

woow...this job sounds nice....hahaha...nothing to do and get pay man.....

yea i would to agree with weggoweggo and harrychoo......
u give them some time...later jobs will come in one by one....and that time u may complain cant handle them in time....

chill man....yea.....maybe try this time...get to know all ur colleagues .....make friends around....as u may need their help in the future....

ok man...good luck.....
rephchan
post Aug 7 2006, 11:48 AM

184 posts

yo, which company you working for? 2.6k is consider very high pay for fresh grad.

as others say, 3 weeks is still very new. When i join my company, i got some basic support job to do but most of the time free. So i just chat around, get to know more colleagues. This condition last for almost 6 months.

cheer up, you are fresh grad. There must be something in the company you can learn & you wish to learn.
sledgehammer
post Aug 7 2006, 11:59 AM

664 posts

u shd consider urself lucky for getting 2.6k yet can surf net n spam around laugh.gif
Mavik
post Aug 7 2006, 12:01 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 7 2006, 11:20 AM)
Hi guys,

I just started working in this company. It has been 3 weeks. I am getting really frustrated because I don't really have things to do. Everyday I am just listening to mp3, gmail and lowyat.net. It is getting damn sian. But the pay is not bad 2.6k for fresh grad but nothing to do. Please advise? Is this normal??
Please go around and build your network of contacts. Build a good report with them because you never know who you might need favours from the next time.

Also do more research on the company, find out the work culture around, look out for people who are the reliable ones and check out and learn the various processes in the company such as how to apply for leave, make medical claims or other simple procedures.

Don't waste your entire time by just checking the forums and reading emails.... sweat.gif
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 7 2006, 12:06 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 7 2006, 12:01 PM)
Please go around and build your network of contacts. Build a good report with them because you never know who you might need favours from the next time.

Also do more research on the company, find out the work culture around, look out for people who are the reliable ones and check out and learn the various processes in the company such as how to apply for leave, make medical claims or other simple procedures.

Don't waste your entire time by just checking the forums and reading emails.... sweat.gif
I am quite sociable. I have done all the things you guys have mentioned. In fact my dapartment is quite small only 10 people. My colleague also nothing to do at the moment just sitting there and listening to mp3 and checking emails........I always drop by her cubicle and chat and she say that is like that lah when job comes it will be busy la but it is normally nothing to do......sian
TYK
post Aug 7 2006, 12:07 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 7 2006, 12:06 PM)
I am quite sociable. I have done all the things you guys have mentioned. In fact my dapartment is quite small only 10 people. My colleague also nothing to do at the moment just sitting there and listening to mp3 and checking emails........I always drop by her cubicle and chat and she say that is like that lah when job comes it will be busy la but it is normally nothing to do......sian
Nothing to do got pay considered very good already, wait until like me nothing to do and no pay then you know. laugh.gif
whoopa
post Aug 7 2006, 12:10 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

are u working wit ur nickname ar ... whistling.gif lol
lawsh
post Aug 7 2006, 12:18 PM

Cikurity
6,788 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 7 2006, 12:06 PM)
nice
if you don't mind can you tell us what is your company name?
is it a big company?
Ido
post Aug 7 2006, 12:19 PM

325 posts

Aiyo..man that really normal situation. Some even sit there everyday for one month doing nothing.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 7 2006, 12:22 PM

26 posts

Aiyoh guys, I can't tell you the company name (I received so many request) la if not everyone would sure knows that it is me since my department is rather small. But I can assure you that it is a big MNC company.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 7 2006, 12:23 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Aug 7 2006, 12:10 PM)
are u working wit ur nickname ar ... whistling.gif lol
I Wish rolleyes.gif
darun
post Aug 7 2006, 12:23 PM

978 posts

This is an opportunity my friend. Use the time to learn things to bolster your career. If you're in the IT world, take this time to evaluate and play around with all the new technologies. The best part is you are getting paid!
chamelion
post Aug 7 2006, 12:30 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

you are in honeymoon period. Most company is like that. For freshy, 1st 3 month had very little to do then workload will start to increase till you crap..
kaffra
post Aug 7 2006, 12:56 PM

643 posts

Sounds like the time when i was in Agilent, for many periods there was really nothing to do. It was soo bad that even surfing the internet was boring!
vey99
post Aug 7 2006, 01:04 PM

Manyzer
2,851 posts

Start work and 3 weeks nothing to do - NORMAL
Questioning this luxury - ABNORMAL

Like another forumer said, check back with you boss on verbal assignment that you may have missed out. Not possible they hire you to sit around. If really no assignment yet, check out the department's roadmap / annual plan. See where you fit in it, and start working on that area (research background or so). Or join us. No mp3, no external mail, no msn. Only stress rclxub.gif
goliath
post Aug 7 2006, 01:07 PM

5,532 posts

Quit your job and I'll pass you my resume so that I could replace you tongue.gif
alextan99
post Aug 7 2006, 01:08 PM

Wassup
2,660 posts

Enjoy it while you can....when the workload comes then your head will blow smile.gif
sinoffire
post Aug 7 2006, 01:10 PM

3,557 posts

@ threadstarter...sounds abit like my company now. i can surf web freely, chat online non-stop oso nobody care. cos msn & YM is the way of communication here.

when nothing to do, damn sien. when got things to do. will be busy lilke mad.

enjoy while u stil can. cos this kinda thing doesnt come so frequently.

3 wks is stil too new. give urself sometime in this company. as u said, ur a freshie. so....get ur experience in this company (if any).

This post has been edited by sinoffire: Aug 7 2006, 01:11 PM
eXPeri3nc3
post Aug 7 2006, 01:11 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

Hmm... Why rant while you still can enjoy before your workload turns out tonnes and tonnes of them? laugh.gif
cybersmaster
post Aug 7 2006, 02:23 PM

13 posts

Someone who got high pay in big company but yet they worry becos they think they need to do something in order to have good future. So what their thinking is
better they go outside and do some business.

But for a fresh grad, it is important to get some work experience rather than
to think about what will his/her future going to be.

Unless your father is quite rich, then no need to think so much. Straight away u
can gamble your future by doing anything u like.
irene.kong
post Aug 8 2006, 12:23 AM

27 posts

trust me..no company will pay u to do nuthin..
just wait...one day when the load comes in u'll cry!
well your companies are maybe just getting enough resources for near future project in the negotation phase or something?
did the company provide training?
jian5481
post Aug 8 2006, 12:37 AM

781 posts

well, forget the workload 1st...2.6k for freshie is a lot...some ppl worked their guts out oso get less than 2k...well, watever it is, good luck!
electron
post Aug 8 2006, 08:08 AM

1,329 posts

3 weeks only, still ok
don't complain too much, take this chance to learn things
later when the job comes in and you need to camp in till midnight, that time don't cry
bravura
post Aug 8 2006, 10:49 AM

681 posts

haha, i think most freshies go tru this situation at start.
If u reli want to learn things, try to bug ur senior & see what they're doing. Try make frens in other dept & in the process u can learn alot on other area too.
Gd luck...
iluvena
post Aug 8 2006, 11:35 AM

425 posts

ur lucky.. u got a good pay with nuthin to do..
contra to me.. heavy workload with small pay..
totally pissed of when i have to do system admin works but with small pay..
not only that.. have to do tech support summore.. being a helpdesk..
of course i get the job satisfaction but with great responsibility, obviously make me demotivated with the salary..
but at least, i've gained invaluable experience..

some advise from me.. hack your company system, spread the virus, down your server and workstation, mess around with the networking and then u will have lot of things to do.. from there u can gain experience.. hehehe
chowhofun
post Aug 8 2006, 12:00 PM

61 posts

i would say it is a good time for you to self learn some skills... take for my friend's friend in IT field... last time he also got a job with nothing to do one (but not sure high pay or not lah) so he self-learnt and took some prof IT cert such as cisco and microsoft... about 5-6 certs... then when he job-hop his salary rose to 5k and working as consultant... not bad rite?
msnice
post Aug 8 2006, 01:56 PM

28 posts

I've been in your shoes before..
For my first job, I was paying peanut by my employer with hell loads of works to do.. even work for saturday and Sunday.. from 8.30 am up to 10 pm..
then I jump into another company.. they pay me quite good.. but there's nothing much to do.. here I felt more distressed. Last time I can blame the company.. now I only can blame myself for not having job to do.

my suggestion is u stay up till 4-6 months and if there's still the same then quit your job and find something else to do.. too relax can make u become rusty and it's not good when u want to look for another job.. because there's nothing u know or u can put at ur CV.

for the first 4 years after u graduated.. I think experience is the priority.
normaldude
post Aug 8 2006, 02:03 PM

261 posts

I guess it depends if you rather be tired of being bored or bored of being tired.

msnice
post Aug 8 2006, 02:11 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(normaldude @ Aug 8 2006, 02:03 PM)
I guess it depends if you rather be tired of being bored or bored of being tired.
I guess u're right.. it's depends on how the person u are.
or how u want urself to be..
renegade7
post Aug 8 2006, 03:40 PM

hmm...the situation sounds familiar...sounds like someone i know...sounds like me! ahaha...but what i realized is that if you show the initiative to learn and to find out about things...you'll eventually learn a lot...you can and should get "into" the company...but it's also natural that you don't have much to do in your first few weeks of work...and since your colleagues are in the same situation as you are...guess it's fine..nothing to panic about.........only when everyone's doing work and you're the only one listening to mp3s and replying forum posts hehe.....then, you should think of looking for another job.
SUSspanker
post Aug 8 2006, 04:10 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

wah where to find this job? I want leh
ezone
post Aug 8 2006, 04:22 PM

220 posts

It sounds not bad.
I am working busy like hell. Not paid high salary also.
Always kena marah and no one appreciate .... what do you think if compared with your current job?
Also never experienced the "honey moon period " that you guys mentioned.

nxfx
post Aug 8 2006, 04:35 PM

979 posts

I believe you are worried that you have nothing to state in ur resume when you job hop. Hehe. 3 week is nothing, mayb ur company just giving you time to settle down. Stay a few months and see what happen,
Seventh7
post Aug 8 2006, 06:04 PM

1,490 posts

haha...3 weeks still early la dude...wait untill the work comes, then u'll know why they are paying you 2.6k tongue.gif
sunbeams
post Aug 9 2006, 03:17 AM

878 posts

Better listen out for office political chats.

A company that employs staff to do nothing could be caused by the lack of sales. Lack of sales could eventually mean budget problems. When that happens, it would be time to cut corners and trim down.

Since you mentioned everyone else is enjoying the nothing-to-do mood, I'd be on all ears and high alert on the future outlook of the company.

But if your job is simply customer support, it could be the case, and perhaps your company's products are too perfect that there are no customer complains.
Polaris
post Aug 9 2006, 07:55 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Tell your boss you want to the hardest, toughest and most challenging job in the office because that's how you roll.
iluvena
post Aug 9 2006, 08:26 AM

425 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Aug 9 2006, 07:55 AM)
Tell your boss you want to the hardest, toughest and most challenging job in the office because that's how you roll.
yup.. most bosses expect their staff to ask for any assignment to do (maybe some self initiative works).. don't expect them to assign it to you for all the time..
skullz)
post Aug 9 2006, 08:31 AM

Shutterbug
651 posts

seriously 2.6k for freshie is alot..u holding masters izzit?
ah_suknat
post Aug 9 2006, 09:11 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

ask your boss what is your job description? tell him you wish to learn something,anything.

i am starting to get bored with my current job,but its highly paid.so for the sake of money i think i just stick to this super bored job.doing the same bloody thing and look the same bloody people every single day.

sunbeams
post Aug 9 2006, 10:10 AM

878 posts

Threadstarter, what is your job industry? Are you in IT, marketting, sales, engineering, manufacturing etc?

I'm assuming IT?

This post has been edited by sunbeams: Aug 9 2006, 10:36 AM
ah_suknat
post Aug 9 2006, 10:21 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Aug 9 2006, 10:10 AM)
By the way, what is your job industry? Are you in IT, marketting, sales, engineering, manufacturing etc?

I'm assuming IT?
refer to who?

sunbeams
post Aug 9 2006, 10:35 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 9 2006, 09:21 AM)
refer to who?
Ouch! Sorry there bro

I was referring to threadstarter. We don't seem to have an idea on what job he's in.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 11:40 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(skullz) @ Aug 9 2006, 08:31 AM)
seriously 2.6k for freshie is alot..u holding masters izzit?
No Masters but I graduated from one of the top 10 unis in the States.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 11:48 AM

26 posts

QUOTE(sunbeams @ Aug 9 2006, 10:10 AM)
Threadstarter, what is your job industry? Are you in IT, marketting, sales, engineering, manufacturing etc?

I'm assuming IT?
Sorry guys for the late reply. Went out for a field visit with my boss yesterday. Today still nothing much to do also. I am actually in marketing.

This post has been edited by BangBusBros: Aug 9 2006, 12:41 PM
SUSspanker
post Aug 9 2006, 11:52 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 11:40 AM)
mind me asking which school is that?
hans.excel
post Aug 9 2006, 11:55 AM

401 posts

perhaps the boss is hiring you as a "jewellary" when he visits clients. He will always boast that he had hired a professional that graduated from the one of the top ten universities in the united state. this will increase credibility in the eyes of the client.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 02:10 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Aug 9 2006, 11:52 AM)
mind me asking which school is that?
Oops sorry guys gotta edit this post cause if people read this forum they could easily locate me as I am the only guy from that uni. Anyways it is one of the Ivy Leagues la

This post has been edited by BangBusBros: Aug 9 2006, 04:13 PM
saimatkong
post Aug 9 2006, 02:15 PM

1,938 posts

hi BangBusBros, got IT department in ur company ?
if got any vacancy do tell me smile.gif haih i got no luck in working life.
SUSspanker
post Aug 9 2006, 02:49 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 02:10 PM)
Yale University, Department of Economics
And umm.... you couldn't find a job in the U.S?
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 03:17 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Aug 9 2006, 02:49 PM)
And umm.... you couldn't find a job in the U.S?
I am the only son parents keep nagging so I came back. Anyways I like Bolehland. I am just working for experience as I will need to takeover the family business eventually, but currently I am learning nothing.......
SUSspanker
post Aug 9 2006, 03:29 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

Wah liao eh! Ivy league graduate wasting talents here in M'sia ka? Pack you bags and head south to S'pore lah, I gurantee you will earn more and learn more there. And it's near enough to stop your parents from nagging because you can always visit them what right?
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 04:19 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Aug 9 2006, 03:29 PM)
Wah liao eh! Ivy league graduate wasting talents here in M'sia ka? Pack you bags and head south to S'pore lah, I gurantee you will earn more and learn more there. And it's near enough to stop your parents from nagging because you can always visit them what right?
What so good about Singapore? I bloody hate Singaporens I think they are f***ing idiots. I wouldn't work there even if they are willing to offer me 3 times my current salary. My father got cheated by Singaporeans. I had to stay with a bloody Singaporean during uni. He is such as idot never washes his dishes and the worse thing is I think his parents never thought him how to shit. Everytime he goes to the toilet his shit is everywhere and he doesn't take the initiative to clean it. Furthermore he goes around acting like tai ko saying that he sells drugs in Singapore and all sorts of shit. Thank god he got kicked out of uni for bad grades. Do you guys have any bad experiences with Singaporean housemates?
Geminist
post Aug 9 2006, 04:22 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 04:19 PM)
What so good about Singapore? I bloody hate Singaporens I think they are f***ing idiots. I wouldn't work there even if they are willing to offer me 3 times my current salary. My father got cheated by Singaporeans. I had to stay with a bloody Singaporean during uni. He is such as idot never washes his dishes and the worse thing is I think his parents never thought him how to shit. Everytime he goes to the toilet his shit is everywhere and he doesn't take the initiative to clean it. Furthermore he goes around acting like tai ko saying that he sells drugs in Singapore and all sorts of shit. Thank god he got kicked out of uni for bad grades. Do you guys have any bad experiences with Singaporean housemates?
Now now, let's not derail this to Singaporean housemates okie?

jojoko1982
post Aug 9 2006, 04:35 PM

399 posts

wah! nowadays marketing freshgrad can get 2.6k per month ah!!
hei..can u help me to forward resume? can onot? PM me pls!
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 04:35 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 9 2006, 04:22 PM)
Now now, let's not derail this to Singaporean housemates okie?
You don't understand I have met a lot of Singaporeans that are assholes. IF you say that you are Malaysian they will try to boast in front of you. If you are ang moh they respect you and clean your shoes........sickening

normaldude
post Aug 9 2006, 04:38 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(jojoko1982 @ Aug 9 2006, 04:35 PM)
wah! nowadays marketing freshgrad can get 2.6k per month ah!!
hei..can u help me to forward resume? can onot? PM me pls!
Erm.. not everyone can graduate from Yale tongue.gif
SUSspanker
post Aug 9 2006, 04:41 PM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 04:35 PM)
You don't understand I have met a lot of Singaporeans that are assholes. IF you say that you are Malaysian they will try to boast in front of you. If you are ang moh they respect you and clean your shoes........sickening
Hahaha, then try working in Australia lor... still near enough for you to come back mah, 7 hour flight sap sap sui right?

QUOTE(normaldude @ Aug 9 2006, 04:38 PM)
Erm.. not everyone can graduate from Yale tongue.gif
Dude what talking you? Not everyone can get into Yale. hahaha!

This post has been edited by spanker: Aug 9 2006, 04:43 PM
Geminist
post Aug 9 2006, 04:48 PM

- ドSな彼女 -
2,928 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 04:35 PM)
I understand that very well, I'm half a Singaporean so I do meet alot of people who looks down on Malaysian.

Anyhow, the reason I was saying not to derail is because that is not your topic title and that is not something you should discuss in Jobs/Careers smile.gif
sunbeams
post Aug 9 2006, 05:31 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(Geminist @ Aug 9 2006, 03:48 PM)
I understand that very well, I'm half a Singaporean so I do meet alot of people who looks down on Malaysian.

Anyhow, the reason I was saying not to derail is because that is not your topic title and that is not something you should discuss in Jobs/Careers smile.gif
Threadstarter, ff you want to discuss Singapore issues, I'd suggest you do so in the RWI or Kopitiam thread.
mars2005
post Aug 9 2006, 05:38 PM

252 posts

Hi guys,

R u working in MNC? im too lazy to read all the replies. Its normal for fresh. I jes got started after "honeymoon" for more than 1 month drool.gif .
sunbeams
post Aug 9 2006, 05:39 PM

878 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 10:40 AM)
The reputation of where you graduated from gave you the edge in your starting salary. That explains the 2.6k you're getting.

eurekas
post Aug 9 2006, 07:27 PM

256 posts

first class honours is it ? notworthy.gif
grunge
post Aug 9 2006, 09:23 PM

356 posts

2.6k ... quite sure its SHELL!
skyloon
post Aug 9 2006, 09:59 PM

581 posts

fresh grad only but can get 2.6k, im work 1 year+ only get 2.8k...
haih...
if nothing to do, do some research, learn something or read ebook..
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 10:16 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Aug 9 2006, 04:41 PM)
Hahaha, then try working in Australia lor... still near enough for you to come back mah, 7 hour flight sap sap sui right?
Dude what talking you? Not everyone can get into Yale. hahaha!
To be honest I kind of like Australia. However it is not easy to get a work permit over there and furthermore I have obligations in Malaysia.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 10:17 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(mars2005 @ Aug 9 2006, 05:38 PM)
R u working in MNC? im too lazy to read all the replies. Its normal for fresh. I jes got started after "honeymoon" for more than 1 month  drool.gif .
Yes, I am working in a MNC.
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 10:25 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Aug 9 2006, 07:27 PM)
first class honours is it ? notworthy.gif
To be honest I am not a first class student however my grades are not bad either around 70% so I would say that I am a average student. I like to learn and I am very curious so I ask a lot of questions and through these questions I kind of built pretty good relationships with my professors. I don't really study a lot in fact a lot of last minute studies but I am lucky that the exam questions assess my critical thinking rather than rote memorization. So basically I just crap my way out lol......... cool.gif
TSBangBusBros
post Aug 9 2006, 10:25 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(skyloon @ Aug 9 2006, 09:59 PM)
fresh grad only but can get 2.6k, im work 1 year+ only get 2.8k...
haih...
if nothing to do, do some research, learn something or read ebook..
2.8k with one year experience is pretty good. rclxms.gif
ah_suknat
post Aug 9 2006, 10:28 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

just try to send your resume to aussie,must be alot of company want to hire you since you are yale grad.

yaler also want to hear advice from local uni one?joking...
sunbeams
post Aug 10 2006, 12:33 AM

878 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 9 2006, 09:28 PM)
just try to send your resume to aussie,must be alot of company want to hire you since you are yale grad.

yaler also want to hear advice from local uni one?joking...
Smacked right under the belly! Whoa

I think threadstarter mentioned he isn't really interesting in getting a job. His waiting to run his family business, if I'm not mistaken
SUSspanker
post Aug 10 2006, 11:09 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

QUOTE(BangBusBros @ Aug 9 2006, 10:16 PM)
To be honest I kind of like Australia. However it is not easy to get a work permit over there and furthermore I have obligations in Malaysia.
Your family has done without you for ... what? 3-4 years? I'm sure another 2-3 years shouldn't be a problem, it's not like you're 12000 miles away like you were before.

Seriously, since you said you like Australia, it's a good choice, and with a Yale degree, it's not too difficult securing a job there. I've seen people go there FIRST then find a job later. Work there for 2-3 years with gwailo learn the PROPER way of doing things, and who knows you might even turn your family business around.

What more, the political, social and economic situation in malaysia isn't at its best at this point in time (when is it ever? hahahah) so take it as an insurance.

Tell your parents that this is what you want to do, but assure them whatever it is you're going after will ultimately benefit them. So they should be supportive of you. Argue along those lines, and I gurantee you, the only thing you need to worry about is what to pack.

0.0316sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:50 AM