LYN Kancil's Owner Club a.k.a SLK V4, New home for our sweet little kancil

amad108
post Aug 16 2015, 09:48 AM

too much of something is bad enough
1,008 posts

QUOTE(budakhops @ Aug 7 2015, 02:31 PM)
kancil if 850cc body can go up to 1000cc kelisa engine... if yrv engine.. need to potong body.. dangerous..  ohmy.gif
if kelisa using YRV engine ok? kancil i know quite dangerous..
amad108
post Aug 16 2015, 09:51 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Aug 10 2015, 01:31 PM)
Anyone experienced sound from your rear drum brake? randomly, especially during brake but sometime while making turn too.
Sound like "wong wong.....", izit brake shoe is depleting?
never had this problem.. maybe rear wheel bearing?
amad108
post Aug 16 2015, 09:55 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Aug 11 2015, 08:58 AM)
Kancil battery just failed on me this morning, can't start.
May need to check alternator before replacing the battery.

Just wondering possible for kancil to use battery that is slightly bigger than usual? e.g. for Iswara?
Alternator able to charge accordingly? does it fit?

Anyway how much would it cost for the small kancil battery? 130?
i think no need bigger battery as bigger maybe provide higher cranking power but kancil engine is small with 3 piston only and summore not high compression engine.. even myvi also use same battery as kancil..

alternator is quite cheap.. or u can check it at this shop
amad108
post Aug 16 2015, 09:59 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(veiven @ Aug 15 2015, 02:56 PM)
What kind of brake pads would you all recommend ? =) Wanna change brake pad
using original perodua which cost arounf rm30+, no problem so far..
amad108
post Aug 22 2015, 03:22 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dexmonata @ Aug 18 2015, 10:20 AM)
Guys..which insurance compny u use for ur kancil? N my kancil roadtax already expired more than 5 month..this car stuck in my garage after accident..now i m planning to repair n use it back..is it necessary to go puspakom before roadtax renew?
still can renew.. i use AIG, need to go puspakom if more then 1 year..
amad108
post Oct 25 2015, 02:01 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(irene_star982 @ Oct 19 2015, 05:20 PM)
To all kancil car sifu,

Any good mechanic in PJ / Subang area for kancil car..... i been to a few workshop already.... all see kancil car dun wan to layan much....anyone got good honest mechanic that is good at fixing kancil car?

Problem 1
My 850 Kancil is coming out squeaking sound from the back passenger tyre when driving.... i go to mechanic and he say change break pads...... done.... still same squeaking sound....

Then go another workshop check squeaking sound.... say need to skim / grind the front disc brakes....done....still same squeaking sound....

Problem 2
Also, there is some burning smell when i stop the car and turn off the engine and open the driver door.... every time seems like got some burning smell like rubber being burned....or could be from the engine block.... every time stop car come out smell something burning

Problem 3
Original Car kancil stereo tuning, is there a way to reset the radio to FM, every time i press the radio wave option it always go to 'Long Wave' option and not FM, the speaker is alright as i have tested it before.... anyone got same problem?

Problem 4
Car stop at red light, the whole car is shaking unless i change the auto gear from D to P then car will stop shaking.... else the whole car shakes..... alot of kancil also got same problem.... anyone can solve?

Anyone can share a honest mechanic and PM me the solution on the above problem will be much appreciated....

Love kancil car as its most suitable to be driven in city and to pasar malam/ pagi .........
if shah alam i can recommended to you.. PJ n Subang area not sure.. do pm me if interested..
amad108
post Oct 25 2015, 10:39 AM

1,008 posts

just wanna know if wanna convert my kancil belalang 850 manual year 2006 to L5 turbo manual LSD costing..
how much roughly ya?
- exterior using the existing
- rim 14' + good brand or model tyre with good adjustable absorber
- front ventilated disc brake + rear disc brake with new brake pad
- seat ET front n rear (re-wrap hygienic reason)
- racing clutch ("exedy" sound ok? i heard "paraut" brand also good? or "jasma"?)
- engine L5 turbo keep it at stock condition
- LSD manual gbx (better traction during raining?)
- JPJ endorse

please do advice or give some pointers to me as i'm kinda newbie in term of keicar parts for performance..
amad108
post Dec 6 2015, 01:04 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Dec 6 2015, 11:55 AM)
guys kindly help...

kancil 850
is there a cover for components exposed under the dashboard ?
if yes what it's called & where to find ?

the drive shaft rusted, is it normal ? why it happend ?

thanks in advance  notworthy.gif
there's no cover for it.. originally come like that.. as for rust u can clean it at any workshop

as for clutch plate, i change mine last time (in year 2008) to exedy heavy duty, so far last until now.. on how to detect it actually a bit impossible because for kancil its engine kinda low power so the clutch will never slip even until it almost finish.. mine last time clutch plate broken to pieces..

This post has been edited by amad108: Dec 6 2015, 01:07 PM
amad108
post Dec 8 2015, 07:44 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Dec 7 2015, 08:08 PM)
oh.. without cover it looks so robotic.. planning to modify carpet to cover it (dunno where to start) icon_rolleyes.gif
clutch plate broken ini mesti turun/naik gear no break tracj racing  icon_idea.gif
nope, my wife drove it last time when broke.. last time using original perodua clutch plate (can see the perodua logo at the plate)
as for cover u need to make a hole for aircon intake at below dashboard..
amad108
post Dec 30 2015, 10:17 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(dexmonata @ Dec 21 2015, 10:46 PM)
anyone here using lowered spring? can give some suggestion.
Last time all brand i used feel like riding a horse..damn melantun.

Now mine using stock spring buy at spare shop...after few month usage, tangan gatal mau lowered skit...i dont mind to lower few cm only as long as a bit lowered..bcos my kancil now front is so high..damn ugly....but comfort is really good..haha...

Any suggestion for good lowered spring which not sacrifice much the comfort level...
Absorber now is using kayaba (oil i guess)...

i ve seen a few brand out there like gab and tein...proride i know is not that comfort, been used it last time.
if wanna lowered with comfort ride, u need to match the spring rate and absorber absorb rate.. what u can do is buy spring n absorber with same brand.. also u can try those spring that claimed can used with OEM absorber like Eibach..
my target is to buy adjustable absorber like TITAN and setup for street.. but it cost quite a lot (more then rm2k), but it will have 2 years warranty and free tuning 3 times (not sure now still the same or not)
amad108
post Dec 30 2015, 10:26 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(blasto @ Dec 3 2015, 06:56 PM)
greetings guys smile.gif

Kancil 850cc (M) Year 2002
how much market price ? (car in original & running condition/no mod)
spare parts easy to find ?
spare parts expensive ?
cheeper service where ? service centre or mech ?
where can i get the maintenance book ? (earch net but no free) sad.gif
what are the main concern & attention ? since its +10yrs old car.

many thx in advance smile.gif
try check all bushing, oil seal, those rubber located nearby engine.. lower arm bushing n all..
manual clutch plate can be replace if u have extra cash (cost around rm500+ including parts n labor)
mounting also need to be check
absorber checked if there's a leaking or not, but even without leaking some absorber already week (when u push the rod until end, it will come out slowly.. good one should come out fast)
for service booklet i can printout photocopy from mine if u want, also same model 850 manual year 2006

amad108
post Dec 30 2015, 10:45 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 11 2015, 11:46 PM)
What spark plugs to use for 850 manual?

The label under the hood says BP6EY or BPR6EY, which I couldn't find. I googled ED-10 NGK, and it seems to offer BP6ES. I'm fine with either, but all the shops I've gone to, offered BKR5ES, or BKR5ES-11. IMHO, this is messed up, putting a hotter plug, but terpaksalah.
putting a hotter plug i think dont have problem with NA engine.. if u put colder plug then it will be a problem..
but different case with turbo engine, they used cold plug, if u put hotter plug it will become problem later.. colder plug for turbo engine no problem..
amad108
post Dec 30 2015, 08:49 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 30 2015, 11:01 AM)
Thanks. Met a guy who mods his Kancil 850M stock engine.
Guess I'll monitor the plugs, and consider changing to BP7ES...

I'm having cold start issues, low idle RPM until engine gradually warms up. Suspect the auto-choke.
Any tips?
maybe need to clean up the carb which normally just spray the carb cleaner.. if that's doesnt help maybe other sifu's can answer?
yours is which model kancil? new one or older one?

as my friend's said, the carb for new n older kancil is different.. even the performance also different where older is better performance but not good FC, but new one is better FC but a bit low performance.. not sure what is the different but that's my friend with carburetor expertise said..

This post has been edited by amad108: Dec 30 2015, 08:51 PM
amad108
post Dec 31 2015, 03:08 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Dec 31 2015, 12:27 PM)
The round light, guess that's the new one.
FC 13~14km/L.
on city probably? coz i still can get 19-20km/l for highway.. rm30 for one way from Shah Alam to JB..
speed average 100-120km/h
amad108
post Jan 7 2016, 11:21 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(quad @ Jan 7 2016, 10:04 AM)
hi everyone, need your expert assessment

my kancil, suddenly yesterday few things happen:

1. front right signal doesn't work, making my right turn signal goes faster
2. horn doesn't work
3. aircond doesn't work; if turn it on, can hear engine revs down like usual, but air that comes out is not cold.

pls advise what to check & replace.
tq
1. try check is there any of ur signal bulb (on right side) burn out
2. try check fuse 1st, below dashboard n inside engine bay (not sure where is located either it share with other thing or not)
3. this one need to check with aircond mechanic, maybe just wiring fault or other thing..
amad108
post Jan 7 2016, 12:11 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(joey2000 @ Jan 7 2016, 11:15 AM)
Hi, normally just change engine oil (10w/30) for Kancil is how much?
cheapest now is rm45, perodua engine oil.. last time did have castrol brand for rm35, but now they didnt produce anymore..
amad108
post Jan 7 2016, 01:49 PM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(joey2000 @ Jan 7 2016, 12:18 PM)
Just brought an old little kancil to service yesterday, the foreman charged RM69, 10W/30 3 Litre NASA. I brought my own oil filter.
I think quite expensive.
yup.. true.. labor around rm10-15, that oil maybe rm50+
oil filter u buy how much? rm8?
amad108
post Jan 10 2016, 09:57 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(Bazinga! @ Jan 10 2016, 02:40 AM)
recently, i noticed my kancil steering freeplay is increasing. as in when car stationary, i can rotate the steering but tayar wont follow at the same time, slight delay at the start of rotation.
too smooth, compared to last time. any ways for me to check it first? thanks in advance.
buy direct from perodua? or spare part shop?
spare part bro..
amad108
post Feb 5 2016, 09:31 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(XCloudz @ Jan 16 2016, 05:00 PM)
Hi all, need some advice here.

Recently my kancil stock engine encountered oil leaking.
Went to the workshop was told the flywheel/oil seal problem.

Part cost 20 to 30 bit labor around 250 to 300.

Any advice? So far problem are few drops of oil everyday, and some smell from engine bay sometime.

Hope anyone here can enlighten me...
yup.. the labor is expensive due to "dismantle engine" work.. better replace with ur clutch plate and clutch bearing..
amad108
post Feb 5 2016, 09:32 AM

1,008 posts

QUOTE(klid @ Jan 8 2016, 05:14 PM)
Hi all,

[attachmentid=5735342]

Anybody using MINES adjustable absober before.
Need ur opinion it is good or not.
Comfort or keras like naik kuda.
or maybe you can recommend good one.
price -->  bajet = cheap = good
how much for this? why not take HWL which can be service.. price around rm8XX if i'm not mistaken..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0501sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:18 AM