11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Feb 26 2017, 11:45 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(LevelUp_Macha @ Feb 26 2017, 09:18 PM)
Hi All Sifu,

Need some advise from you. I am looking to propose to my beloved soon (mid or early mid of the year). However, I feel that most of the people I know uses round shape diamond to propose. What about Heart Shape Diamonds? I am thinking to propose with Heart Shaped Diamond to make it more special or at least unique.

As it does not sound like a norm, few questions in mind:

1. Could I get a raise of hand of how many people proposed with Heart Shaped Diamond?
2. What would be the difficulty / Cons of Heart Shaped Diamond compare to round shape? (Not as shiny?, difficult to put onto ring?, Girls dislike heart shape diamond?
3. I am looking for this 0.45 carat (Click Here for GIA). What do you think?

notworthy.gif
Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, finally found someone who is on the same wavelength with me! I got myself a heart shaped diamond too for my upcoming proposal cuz round diamond is too mainstream hahaha.

rclxm9.gif

Now allow me to answer your questions.

1. Me!!!

2. Fancy cuts cannot be compared one-on-one with round brilliants, as both their target audience is different. Round brilliants are for people who want the most bling, while fancy cuts are for those who are after the shape - pear, cushion, oval, heart, etc. Of course, one has to sacrifice sparkle and brilliance for these unique shapes. But that does not mean that you can settle for a badly cut heart shaped diamond. Even though a heart shaped diamond might not be as sparkly as its round counterpart, the stone will still sparkle if it is a well cut diamond.

3. To be honest, do not get a heart shape of less than 0.5 carat. Anything below 0.5 will make the heart shape indistinguishable and it will look like a badly cut round diamond even from close range. However, if you cannot go beyond that size due to budget constrains, one trick is to do a bezel setting. This type of setting will accentuate the shape of the heart beautifully. Also, try and get a heart shape with excellent symmetry cuz it is very important to have an exact mirror image of both halves of the heart. Otherwise, your heart will look cacat.

Ohh yes, one more thing. The L/W ratio of your selected diamond is 0.86, which is slightly fat, in my opinion. The ideal heart shape, or "happy heart" is somewhere between 0.90-0.92. A L/W ratio of above 0.93 will make it look elongated and thin, macam your heart shape tak cukup makan hahaha. These are more suitable for pendants. But this is more of a personal preference lahh. If you think that an elongated heart looks nice, by all means go ahead.

This post has been edited by bb100: Feb 26 2017, 11:46 PM
bb100
post Feb 27 2017, 09:52 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Feb 27 2017, 09:32 AM)
Fuiyooh. Jann Paul explained to you all that?
Half half lahh. I learnt a lot about fancy cuts cuz they have all sorts of shapes there. The salesperson one by one let me see under the ASET scope haha. Then he explained why fancy cuts cannot compare with round brilliant lohh.

Some I sendiri researched online like minimum size for heart shape and the ideal L/W ratio. Researched liao then went back to JannPaul there to confirm haha.
bb100
post Feb 27 2017, 11:40 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(LevelUp_Macha @ Feb 27 2017, 09:58 PM)
Looks like there is only 1 gentleman here who is like minded and thanks for elaborating on this. It would be impossible for someone to have no constraints to buy diamond unless you are Rosmah, which is a fairy tale.

Considering your thoughts of having a better carat, what do you think about this? Click here for GIA Although it does not have L/W ratio of 0.90-0.92, you've mentioned it is a personal preference. I think I'll set a date to have a look see look see in Jewelry shops to understand and appreciate them before making the call.
Wow J colour bro?? You sure bro? Anything above G would be fine, but J confirm will show yellow tint, especially on fancy cuts which tend to retain body colour compared to round brilliants. I guess this one you will have to make a trip down to the shop to physically look at the stone. Maybe you would find the yellow tint to be a pleasant effect.

You also need to check on the feather characteristic to determine its location. A feather in terms of diamond inclusion is a crack in the diamond. It might occur during polishing, cutting or during formation itself. Some nasty feathers located at the edge of the diamond or at the girdle will pose reliability issues later on.

These are the areas to take note when you visit jewellery shops. If you find the shape of the heart to be pleasing to you, don't bother about the L/W ratio. That figure is only a guideline.

This post has been edited by bb100: Feb 28 2017, 01:32 PM
bb100
post Mar 3 2017, 03:39 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 2 2017, 05:27 PM)
I don't like round brilliant stones because after a month of surveying, I got sick of 'em. So common...!! My girl doesn't fancy heart shaped ones either because she thinks it's so cheesy.

Ended up secretly choosing between a half carat marquis and a half carat pear. I chose the latter, set on a double band ring encrusted with 40 small stones for a total of 0.65 carats. I told her the teardrop shape represents my tears of sadness turning into tears of joy when I met her.

Her jaw literally dropped to the floor when I proposed. I guess it was a good choice.

Besides, it would go well with a pear diamond necklace in the future.
Yup, I agree with you. Round brilliants are way too common nowadays. I think likely because everybody is going after the bling factor.

Mind sharing a few photos of your ring bro?
bb100
post Mar 6 2017, 01:08 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(yuanhsing @ Mar 6 2017, 11:33 AM)
Hi guys,

Need some of your help to analyse this diamond:

GIA1

Thank you.

4.0 on the HCA score. My suggestion: AVOID.

Why?

1. Depth: Too deep.
2. Table: Ok.
3. Crown and pavilion: Not ok. Causes the most light leakage.
bb100
post Mar 7 2017, 10:47 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 6 2017, 01:46 PM)
could be my eyes issue... all the hearts n arrow looks the same to me.... rclxub.gif

actually i wanted to say above n including VS2  icon_rolleyes.gif

out of the 3, two of them r G color which i kinda of dislike...

the other 1 is slightly less than 0.5 carat n have feather in the characteristic which could b an issue in the future...

i tried looking at the HCA but dun really get the idea of the representation...
Not many people can accept G colour cuz this is where the yellowish tint start to be discernible to the naked eye. But as you can see from the images below, the slight yellowish tint can only be seen if you view the diamond from the side. If your diamond is an ideal cut, you can't really differentiate from the top view because its sparkle and fire will mask its body colour very well.

Left: 0.57 G VS1. Right: 0.54 E VS1. Both are Octagon H&A.

So people will usually go for G colour diamonds to maximise their carat weight.
bb100
post Mar 7 2017, 11:08 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 7 2017, 11:00 AM)
my mind issue that I canot accept G color due to the fact tat i know, there is yellowish tint in it....  biggrin.gif

wanted at least a perfect color for my future wifey... at least no regret later on.....  thumbsup.gif
Ahhhh, I understand! Only the best for your future wife ehh bro?

rclxms.gif
bb100
post Mar 7 2017, 11:21 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 7 2017, 11:11 AM)
rclxms.gif Yup. Don't say G. Even F  can have some very slight hint of yellowish tint, just that F provides mind clean because it is in the "Colourless" range. But then, when I view mine from the top view, those normal D also need to move aside. Haha.  brows.gif

Octagon H&A eh? Should be from Jann Paul. So nice to be in Singapore.  tongue.gif
Yes, those two are from JannPaul. One thing good about them is that they don't mind letting their customers snap as many photos as they want. I took nearly 100 shots of the diamonds + scope images I viewed over a few months there. Plus another 50 or so photos of their settings. Hahaha.

Whereas typical jewellery shops seldom allow this, something which I don't understand.
bb100
post Mar 7 2017, 12:30 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 7 2017, 11:48 AM)
The more you know, the lesser you would want to buy from them mah. Haha...
Ahhhh I see. Make sense jugak!

rclxms.gif
bb100
post Mar 7 2017, 06:16 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 7 2017, 06:11 PM)

Very nice bro! Congrats!
bb100
post Mar 8 2017, 10:06 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Mar 8 2017, 09:54 AM)
It seems that a well cut half carat pear diamond will always look BIGGER than a half carat round brilliant diamond.

That sealed the deal for me. Lol..!!

Then there's the prong design. Some designs end up hiding a lot of the diamond when viewed from the side, which I don't like. Some got fugly thick prongs. It buries the stone & makes it look smaller, IMHO.

Some designs showcase & elevate the stone in all its glory, the prongs don't get in the way much. In the case of pear diamonds, this way you get to see a hell lot more of the rock which makes the ring a real stunner.

Cheers!
You are right on the face-up size.

bb100
post Mar 15 2017, 07:46 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 14 2017, 09:22 PM)
The 3.2 HCA score is caused by the 41.2 pavilion angle, which will leak light. However, personally think that the price it is asking for is quite okay but for that price I would just drop my size to a 0.4x ct perhaps, and get a super ideal cut instead.
Magic number 0.5 there bro. Imagine this:

Boy: Would you marry me?
Girl: Yes but before that, the diamond how many carat?
Boy: Not big, 0.4x je.
Girl: HAHH??? Add a bit more become 0.5 also cannot ahh?? So damn insincere.
Boy: *Shit! Should have thought of this...*

bb100
post Mar 15 2017, 02:20 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 15 2017, 11:03 AM)
lol... unless she can't really differentiate between a near 0.5 and actual 0.5....

the magical number.... it not her request but more of my standard to give at least 0.5....

later goin to radiance diamond to c look....
The psychological effect is there bro, even though it is only less than 0.1 carat to 0.5. More so when your future wife compares her diamond with those of her friends. Imagine this:

Future wife: My dear dear just bought me a proposal ring. See!
Friend 1: Wah, very bling wohh!!! Want blind liao.
FW: Ya lohh ya lohh. Dear dear say this one triple excellent cut lehh!
F1: Ya ahh, how big??
FW: 0.4x carat.
F2: 0.4x only mehh? Propose must have at least 0.5 lahh. A bit more also cannot top up ahh your dear dear?
FW: *Go back he sure kena!*

-add-

I am telling this based on my experience. One of my friends proposed to his future wife with a 0.96 carat princess cut diamond cuz he was thinking of buying shy to safe some bucks and maximise cut. His proposal turned out great, make no mistake about that. But a few months after that when she started to show off her stone to her friends, the nagging began. Haha.

His girlfie did not know anything about the 4Cs. All she knew was the bigger the better. That's why.

This post has been edited by bb100: Mar 15 2017, 02:33 PM
bb100
post Mar 15 2017, 02:22 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Mar 15 2017, 10:31 AM)
cry.gif true also bro.

I doubt this will happen:

Boy: Would you marry me?
Girl: Yes but before that, what's the HCA score?
Boy: Around, 3.2 je.
Girl: HAHH??? Cannot be below 2?? So damn insincere.
Boy: *Shit! Should have thought of this...*

Anyway, whatever that works at the end of the day will just be fine! icon_rolleyes.gif
True, but if it can make your SO super happy then why not?

icon_rolleyes.gif
bb100
post Mar 15 2017, 03:17 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(Godevil @ Mar 15 2017, 03:04 PM)
like how much in digits? 15k?
Yea, I oso aware Tiff is selling brand only...
but GF like the turquoise color box more than big stone... important she happy lo...
Buy a loose diamond, customise your own "Tiffany setting" and buy a blue box to top it off.

You happy, girlfie happy and most importantly, your wallet will thank you.
bb100
post Mar 15 2017, 03:19 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 15 2017, 02:39 PM)
rephrase.... got quote for few stones....
need to properly educate her on 4C and not the size....

gals talk sure compare this n tat.... tak boleh lari punya....
If your girl understands then OK lahh no problem. Hope she does lahh. Cuz really, if you ask me, I will still stick with CUT IS KING.
bb100
post Mar 16 2017, 11:23 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 16 2017, 11:10 PM)
didnt bother to look at those figures after i saw the fluorescence....  whistling.gif

straight reject...  brows.gif
Fluorescence on a diamond is not necessarily bad. As long as the stone does not appear hazy/murky/milky/smoky under normal lighting then should be fine. Fluorescent diamonds are priced lower depending on the type of fluorescence. Of course, as with girdle thickness, avoid the extremity.

You should consider if the diamond has faint or medium fluorescence.

bb100
post Mar 17 2017, 10:13 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 17 2017, 10:08 AM)
with fluorescence, the price is very similar to the price of the 0.52 carat stone without fluorescence that i was quoted by another jeweler.... if its much lesser than its diff story...  whistling.gif
You mentioned that the 0.52 carat diamond has a HCA score of 3.2. Perhaps the one with fluorescence is much better but at a similar cost.
bb100
post Mar 18 2017, 03:43 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 18 2017, 12:43 PM)
Finally found my perfect stone... 😍

GIA

7.6k inclusive of GST... Time to design the setting... 🤔
Bro, you sure this is the one?

This is a slightly shallow cut diamond. Its crown is a bit small and its table is large. Most of the light entering the stone will leak through the table and crown, which will form a "ring of death" under the ASET scope. That's why its HCA light return grade is very good instead of excellent.

See below:

This diamond is a 0.73 E VS2 which I previously viewed at JannPaul. The salesperson told me upfront that it is a shallow cut. Note the white ring of death.
bb100
post Mar 18 2017, 07:07 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(duckevo @ Mar 18 2017, 06:43 PM)
I think for me, it's the best buck tat I can get.... Give n take I supposed... Extra cost came up which limited Mt budget for it... 😑

The previous 0.52 carat diamond 7.7k is excluded GST...

Custom ring setting n small diamonds on it.... Hopefully within the revised budget😉
Cool bro. Congrats on your purchase!

rclxm9.gif

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:43 PM