230 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Bottom

Advice Wanted [WTA] Proposal Ring & Wedding Bands, Please advice me!! Need Help!!

bb100
post Oct 16 2017, 10:27 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 16 2017, 10:17 PM)
Dear Sifu-sifu,

Can you please help me to evaluate this piece of gem whether it worth 10k? maybe some description whether i should go for it...haha...yeah from one of the shops (buy and go).

F, VS1, 0.41, Excellent, Round
61.5% depth, 56.7% table, 34.5° crown angle, 40.7° pavilion angle
IIDGR certified

Thank you.
Don't have carat weight kahh?
kanghinn
post Oct 16 2017, 11:43 PM

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 16 2017, 10:27 PM)
Don't have carat weight kahh?
0.41 (i did wrote above smile.gif )

bb100
post Oct 16 2017, 11:59 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 16 2017, 11:43 PM)
0.41 (i did wrote above smile.gif )
Seriously ahh? 0.41 carat for RM10,000??

0.51 is it??
kambingkoh
post Oct 17 2017, 12:00 AM

76 posts

Dear Sifu-sifu,

Can you please help me to evaluate this piece of gem whether it worth 10k? maybe some description whether i should go for it...haha...yeah from one of the shops (buy and go).

IIDGR certified

Thank you.
Nice proportions. Did you get to see the H&A on the cert? But 10k is overpriced. What ring setting they giving you? Even platinum paved with side diamonds are not as expensive.

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). This one is 0.415 F VS1, USD 1304. So you do the math. Good luck!
kanghinn
post Oct 17 2017, 12:30 AM

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 16 2017, 11:59 PM)
Seriously ahh? 0.41 carat for RM10,000??

0.51 is it??
yeah...seriously 0.41.
kanghinn
post Oct 17 2017, 12:34 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 17 2017, 12:00 AM)
Nice proportions. Did you get to see the H&A on the cert? But 10k is overpriced. What ring setting they giving you? Even platinum paved with side diamonds are not as expensive.

https://www.whiteflash.com/loose-diamonds/r...id=myengringexp (affiliate link). This one is 0.415 F VS1, USD 1304. So you do the math. Good luck!
Hmm.. H&A --> do you mean inscription number? It is platinum without any side diamond. yeah... i think it is overpriced (perhaps, the calculated many cost into the diamond ring...).
kambingkoh
post Oct 17 2017, 12:44 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 12:34 AM)
Hmm.. H&A --> do you mean inscription number? It is platinum without any side diamond. yeah... i think it is overpriced (perhaps, the calculated many cost into the diamond ring...).
Nope not the inscription. I thought Lovemarque diamond will show the H&A image on the certificate? The diamond you mentioned belongs tk Lovemarque right?
kanghinn
post Oct 17 2017, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 17 2017, 12:44 AM)
Nope not the inscription. I thought Lovemarque diamond will show the H&A image on the certificate? The diamond you mentioned belongs tk Lovemarque right?
oh, yes i saw the picture of H&A on the top left corner. Yes, it belongs to Lovemarque (is that because they are the only one getting IIDGR?)
bb100
post Oct 17 2017, 01:21 AM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 12:30 AM)
yeah...seriously 0.41.
Ok, then I would assume that it is a seriously overpriced piece of "branded" diamond. No point getting a "branded" diamond bro, trust me. It is better to invest that extra hard earned cash of yours in getting a better diamond with a higher 4C grading. Yes, including the C for certificate. Cuz that IIDGR certification is a joke, if you ask me.
OmiCatFace
post Oct 17 2017, 08:24 AM

223 posts

Dear Sifu-sifu,

IIDGR certified

Thank you.
Regardless what the diamond's proportion is, even if is a super ideal cut diamond, it is still overprice to me. Plus is IIDGR cert, not for me definitely. I either go for GIA or AGS certs for the diamonds. I think Le Lumiere can give you better carat for this price and is GIA certified and have a very good cut score (as far as I have seen so far). From this, I can see you are willing to go until 10k budget. If me, I will fly all the way to Singapore and get JannPaul for this kind of diamond spec. Someone will surely agree with me on this... whistling.gif
OmiCatFace
post Oct 17 2017, 08:24 AM

223 posts

*double post*

This post has been edited by OmiCatFace: Oct 17 2017, 08:24 AM
OmiCatFace
post Oct 17 2017, 08:38 AM

223 posts

QUOTE(kambingkoh @ Oct 16 2017, 07:12 PM)
Bought last Monday by paying using MoneyMatch and received today. Can be faster, probably Friday, if not because of Columbus Day (US public holiday last Monday).

Difference should be minimal if you buy the more recent diamonds, if there are any. Last year's one (around September 2016) should probably be close enough because the cutters need to "experiment" on existing diamonds first before the end product comes out. Another way to differentiate is to look at the ASET. Black by Brian Gavin should zero green lights at the table area.
Read your blog sifu earlier. The diamond really looks good. I was hoping you are showing us a 0.4-0.5 carat diamond. Hahaha. I am still very tempted to buy from Brian Gavin. Giving the fact that their diamond looks good with all the images and certs provided as prove. I have difficulty on getting the real scope images here around KL and some are reluctant to provide the GIA# to me (totally skip that shop for now). All I can do is to take the GIA# and do all the calculation online. But I still prefer to get the diamond hands on to view it.

Remember Zcova's diamonds I found? They said they do not have the diamond in Malaysia. Will only proceed to order after payment. They have the image and GIA# online but not for the scopes and all. What if the diamonds doesn't look good after I made the payment and arrived here? Not sure if I can argue much about it. If compared to Whiteflash and Brian Gavin, at least I know what kind of diamond I am buying... the only downside is getting a lower carat from them and do not accept MY credit card transaction (only Brian Gavin allow MY credit card).
kambingkoh
post Oct 17 2017, 08:53 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 12:56 AM)
oh, yes i saw the picture of H&A on the top left corner. Yes, it belongs to Lovemarque (is that because they are the only one getting IIDGR?)
In Malaysia, probably yes. In the world, no then.

https://www.debeersgroup.com/en/news/compan...ps-in-asia.html

IIDGR belongs to DeBeers group, the largest mining company in the world. This is like a self-mine, self-grade scenario, not too much difference from Tiffany or Forevermark (which is another DeBeers company btw). I have nothing against the lab and I don't mind self-grading own diamonds to be honest, but in my opinion, their reputation is not there yet as far as I am concerned, so we will have to wait a little while longer and see if the lab is as good as others. One point I have to give it to them is they include the Hearts & Arrows image in the certificate, which is probably the first one in Malaysia to do so. With that image, you can determine how precise the cutting is. Nonetheless, it is still overpriced, and that is assuming it is on par with either GIA or AGS.

Assuming a platinum case is at RM 3000 (can probably be cheaper), you probably pay around RM 8900 for a similar thing, that comes with a more reputable cert + IdealScope image + ASET image + H&A image.

So, if taking a day or two off + petrol + parking is as costly as RM 1100 (at least), or if you prefer a more popular brick-and-mortar stores, then you can consider that (no pun intended, I am actually serious).
kambingkoh
post Oct 17 2017, 09:46 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 17 2017, 08:38 AM)
Read your blog sifu earlier. The diamond really looks good. I was hoping you are showing us a 0.4-0.5 carat diamond. Hahaha. I am still very tempted to buy from Brian Gavin. Giving the fact that their diamond looks good with all the images and certs provided as prove. I have difficulty on getting the real scope images here around KL and some are reluctant to provide the GIA# to me (totally skip that shop for now). All I can do is to take the GIA# and do all the calculation online. But I still prefer to get the diamond hands on to view it.

Remember Zcova's diamonds I found? They said they do not have the diamond in Malaysia. Will only proceed to order after payment. They have the image and GIA# online but not for the scopes and all. What if the diamonds doesn't look good after I made the payment and arrived here? Not sure if I can argue much about it. If compared to Whiteflash and Brian Gavin, at least I know what kind of diamond I am buying... the only downside is getting a lower carat from them and do not accept MY credit card transaction (only Brian Gavin allow MY credit card).
I remember last time a forumer has problem with credit card when buying from Brian Gavin as well. So fingers crossed.

ZCOVA relies on multiple suppliers to provide them the listing. They don't keep the inventory here. Maybe just some for display and education purpose, but not all. This will help them keep the cost low and transfer some savings back to the consumer. Their price is pretty okay as far as I am concerned. Even BlueNile (one of the largest online diamond seller) does not keep all stocks in their inventory, they only keep their signature collection, which has now been rebranded as "Astor".

All those images are really useful if we can't see the real thing. Even if we can see the real thing, those images can complement the diamond itself. Consumers will feel more secure somehow and know what they are getting. But after seeing the real thing, one thing to "complain" about Super Ideals is that there are very bright diamonds, that's why I keep on pushing for steeper crown angle to increase the fire. biggrin.gif.

Anyway, if a diamond has the correct proportions and the arrows are well-aligned, I believe they can be just as bright, in most environments. They might have some slight light leakage, but it is probably minimal that our eyes could not pick up all the time. It's just that, if I know the "internals" of my diamond, I feel more satisfy with my purchase because of the performance and workmanship. Also, if the cut of the diamond is at a very top precision, it will be an all-rounder in various environments.

So in general, my opinion is that as long as the arrows are well-aligned based solely on the diamond photo and hi-res video, and the proportions are good enough, and the price is right, that diamond is worth it. That diamond can still perform well. For example, recently, a forumer purchased a 40-pointer from Zoara (Zoara, affiliate link) cheaper by USD 300 for similar diamonds from WhiteFlash. The diamond is 3EX and has very good proportions. Arrows are well-aligned as well. That diamond is pretty worth it. I will use the same concept to buy if any other jewelers provide diamond photo and hi-res video only.

On a side note, it is pretty sad that BlueNile does not ship to Malaysia. tongue.gif I will try to persuade them again in the future.

Of course, if the price of that diamond is as expensive as a super-ideal or more or less the same, I would definitely go for hearts & arrows diamond.

I have nothing against those jewelers that cannot provide scope images, we can still get pretty good diamonds if we invest time in it to search for it. I believe that all our local jewelers are ready to assist in any manner. If you don't like a particular one, there are other options to choose from. But do buy something that you feel comfortable with, and from someone you feel reliable.

And... that diamond is a 0.206ct diamond. I bought it for review and testing the transfer method purpose. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by kambingkoh: Oct 17 2017, 11:57 AM
kanghinn
post Oct 17 2017, 11:42 AM

Thanks all sifu-sifu comment. I will look around more and need to consider the design as well. My gf is very particular about the design. I have seen JannPaul website customized ring, it seems nice too! will it be more expensive than 10k that i showed above or slightly lower?
kambingkoh
post Oct 17 2017, 11:48 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 11:42 AM)
Thanks all sifu-sifu comment. I will look around more and need to consider the design as well. My gf is very particular about the design. I have seen JannPaul website customized ring, it seems nice too! will it be more expensive than 10k that i showed above or slightly lower?
Should be slightly lower still. They offer both AGS and GIA diamonds. Just let them know your requirement and budget. wink.gif

bb100
post Oct 17 2017, 12:18 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 17 2017, 08:38 AM)

That's buying blind. Avoid if you are not 100% confident of good light performance.

This post has been edited by bb100: Oct 17 2017, 12:19 PM
bb100
post Oct 17 2017, 12:23 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(kanghinn @ Oct 17 2017, 11:42 AM)
Take a look at their Facebook page for the latest customisations. They are one of the top non-conventional jewellers in Singapore. Non-conventional means not those kind which you commonly find in shopping malls.
bb100
post Oct 17 2017, 12:25 PM

Editable...finally!
1,439 posts

QUOTE(OmiCatFace @ Oct 17 2017, 08:24 AM)
Regardless what the diamond's proportion is, even if is a super ideal cut diamond, it is still overprice to me. Plus is IIDGR cert, not for me definitely. I either go for GIA or AGS certs for the diamonds. I think Le Lumiere can give you better carat for this price and is GIA certified and have a very good cut score (as far as I have seen so far). From this, I can see you are willing to go until 10k budget. If me, I will fly all the way to Singapore and get JannPaul for this kind of diamond spec. Someone will surely agree with me on this...  whistling.gif
No need purposely fly there one bro. Can liaise with them via email first.

OmiCatFace
post Oct 17 2017, 01:42 PM

223 posts

QUOTE(bb100 @ Oct 17 2017, 12:25 PM)
No need purposely fly there one bro. Can liaise with them via email first.

Haha. Just saying coz is a RM10k budget. Of coz can save a few hundred use it on the diamond rather than paying for air-ticket and etc. laugh.gif

230 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0185sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 03:27 PM