[OFFICIAL]Rig Suggestion Q&A Thread V6!

maliwan
post May 27 2014, 11:13 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 27 2014, 10:09 AM)
Sure you can. Any card (old or new) can be OC'ed, literally to say. tongue.gif You would just have to try it out yourself and do take precautions if you're not familiar with manual OC though, might want to read up more on that first.
blush.gif definitely for that, OC still very new to me, will google for more.
TSSentinel92
post May 27 2014, 11:21 AM

20000% Chinaman Certified Discount Hunter.
3,573 posts

QUOTE(maliwan @ May 27 2014, 11:13 AM)
blush.gif definitely for that, OC still very new to me, will google for more.
But be reallly careful when you do OC. I have friends frying their cards from trying to reach impossible clocks. Haha. If anything you can go to this thread and ask. https://forum.lowyat.net/OverclockersUnited

munky
post May 27 2014, 12:37 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 27 2014, 09:19 AM)
That just means that the graphic card has already been factory overclocked to run faster for you. Either cards still can further manually OC.

Example:
Leadtek GTX 760 (reference) = Core clock: 980 MHz Memory clock: 6008 MHz
http://www.leadtek.com/eng/product/1/677/intro.aspx

Leadtek GTX 760 OC = Core clock: 1111 MHz Memory clock: 6208 MHz
http://www.leadtek.com/eng/product/1/680/intro.aspx
between the leadtek gtx760 OC 4gb and Asus gtx760 DC2OC 2gb, which one would be better for gaming?

price difference of RM50. Leadtek has more ram, Asus with DirectCU, etc

TSSentinel92
post May 27 2014, 12:44 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 12:37 PM)
between the leadtek gtx760 OC 4gb and Asus gtx760 DC2OC 2gb, which one would be better for gaming?

You don't need 4GB RAM, unless you're playing at high resolutions or multi screens. The DcII cooled ASUS would fit you better.
persona93
post May 27 2014, 01:18 PM

1,180 posts

All SSDs are the same right regardless of the brand and pricing?
TSSentinel92
post May 27 2014, 01:28 PM

3,573 posts

QUOTE(persona93 @ May 27 2014, 01:18 PM)
All SSDs are the same right regardless of the brand and pricing?
In that you won't notice any difference amongst current gen SSDs when doing normal computing? Yes.

If you're doing power computing and multiple programs being run at a single go then premium SSDs would start to show their worth.
persona93
post May 27 2014, 01:39 PM

1,180 posts

QUOTE(Sentinel92 @ May 27 2014, 01:28 PM)
In that you won't notice any difference amongst current gen SSDs when doing normal computing? Yes.

If you're doing power computing and multiple programs being run at a single go then premium SSDs would start to show their worth.
Alrighty thanks, just ordered my proc and GPU and the rest imma head to Lowyat this weekend biggrin.gif
rav3n82
post May 27 2014, 01:47 PM

I find your lack of faith disturbing!
7,084 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 12:37 PM)

Go for 2GB versions if you can. High resolution or low resolution, the GPU architecture is what hits the limit here and won't be fast enough to sustain playable framerates on those resolutions in the first place. Having more memory is not going to alleviate that at all. This is a marketing gimmick aimed at those less informed or have preconceived notions that more memory is always better.

Personally, I have tested the Asus DCUII and it indeed has one of the best cooling solutions found on a GTX 760. Only MSI's Gaming version is able to compete with it, in terms of quietness and low temps.

However, do note that the Asus card only has a base clock speed of 1006 MHz, while Leadtek has 1111 MHz. The Leadtek card does run significantly faster out of box. wink.gif

PfftClock
post May 27 2014, 02:26 PM

Still learning
877 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 27 2014, 12:47 PM)
Go for 2GB versions if you can. High resolution or low resolution, the GPU architecture is what hits the limit here and won't be fast enough to sustain playable framerates on those resolutions in the first place. Having more memory is not going to alleviate that at all. This is a marketing gimmick aimed at those less informed or have preconceived notions that more memory is always better.

Personally, I have tested the Asus DCUII and it indeed has one of the best cooling solutions found on a GTX 760. Only MSI's Gaming version is able to compete with it, in terms of quietness and low temps.

However, do note that the Asus card only has a base clock speed of 1006 MHz, while Leadtek has 1111 MHz. The Leadtek card does run significantly faster out of box. wink.gif
And cheaper as well. icon_idea.gif
munky
post May 27 2014, 02:47 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 27 2014, 01:47 PM)

another dilemma, im considering radeon again after looking at the benchmarks

with the same price of asus gtx760 dcu ii, i could get sapphire r9 280x dual-x OC

anything i should know about the sapphire card before i make my decision?
annas473
post May 27 2014, 02:49 PM

813 posts

hi guys,

intel i7 950 + 2x MSI GTX460 CYCLONE 1GB DDR5 OC SLi + 3x 2GB DDDR3 1333MHz KVR

enough for Watch Dogs with 1 screen 1920x 1080 16:9 ?

-edited and move to https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry68327786

This post has been edited by annas473: May 27 2014, 03:17 PM
Minecrafter
post May 27 2014, 03:02 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 02:47 PM)

with the same price of asus gtx760 dcu ii, i could get sapphire r9 280x dual-x OC

Asus GTX760 DCU II OC price is RM1050.Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X OC is at RM1149.Tak mau Gainward GTX770 GS 2GB GDDR5 RM1145 from Lingloong? icon_idea.gif
rav3n82
post May 27 2014, 03:03 PM

7,084 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 02:47 PM)

I heard that the fans tend to make some weird sounds. tongue.gif Also, it is not really built very solidly unlike the Asus DCUII 280X version.

But between the two cards, the 280X is way faster than the 760.
munky
post May 27 2014, 03:06 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(Minecrafter @ May 27 2014, 03:02 PM)
Asus GTX760 DCU II OC price is RM1050.Sapphire R9 280X Dual-X OC is at RM1149.Tak mau Gainward GTX770 GS 2GB GDDR5 RM1145 from Lingloong?  icon_idea.gif
Czone selling it for 1099 bro. RM50 extra from the 760. But yeah add somemore can get 770 lol hmm.gif

QUOTE(rav3n82 @ May 27 2014, 03:03 PM)
I heard that the fans tend to make some weird sounds. tongue.gif Also, it is not really built very solidly unlike the Asus DCUII 280X version.

But between the two cards, the 280X is way faster than the 760.
Really? happens to all the cards or isolated case? No surprise there with the build quality

haihhh pening liao

i'll just close one eye and pick la lol
Zgames
post May 27 2014, 03:07 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 03:06 PM)
Czone selling it for 1099 bro. RM50 extra from the 760. But yeah add somemore can get 770 lol hmm.gif
Really? happens to all the cards or isolated case? No surprise there with the build quality

haihhh pening liao

Dun want free Watch_Dogs? Ask around the 770 is on par with the 280X brows.gif
Minecrafter
post May 27 2014, 03:09 PM

ROCK N ROLL STAR
5,043 posts

haihhh pening liao

QUOTE(Zgames @ May 27 2014, 03:07 PM)
I'll leave my poison here.. brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif

munky
post May 27 2014, 03:14 PM

1,971 posts

QUOTE(Zgames @ May 27 2014, 03:07 PM)
oh yeah just remembered bout that. Haha damn u
Zgames
post May 27 2014, 03:23 PM

- A Tree Loving Lizard -
1,446 posts

QUOTE(munky @ May 27 2014, 03:14 PM)
oh yeah just remembered bout that. Haha damn u
Free 60 bucks game man. Idk if AMD Bundle still up or not.
faridbaik
post May 27 2014, 03:24 PM

hi. my fren want to build a gaming rig budget rm6k - 7k excluded monitor as he want to use his 40" inch lcd tv. i'm thinking this:

Proc: Intel Xeon E3 1230 V3
Gpu : Gtx titan black

As for others, need sifus suggestion.
And can he get ultra setting on 40" inch tv? icon_question.gif
rav3n82
post May 27 2014, 03:27 PM

7,084 posts

haihhh pening liao

Why don't you source for cheaper 760s and at the same time can get Watch Dogs? biggrin.gif Asus' version is excellent, but I feel that it is priced on the higher side though.

125 Pages « < 30 31 32 33 34 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:52 PM