QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 12 2015, 01:51 PM)
Cant find the flyer. Cant recall which fb musicians group it was. (definitely not jamtank)LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...
LYN Guitar Phreaks Club, I get up and nothin' gets me down...
Jul 14 2015, 03:21 PM
4,765 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Aug 3 2015, 01:08 PM
Aug 3 2015, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 3 2015, 01:22 PM) thats stupid thought of you because of the SG reference. just a huge case with a normal movement, only plus is its titanium. a nice guitar inspirted one would be this...aptly called the orient star retro guitar. got 3 other colors of black, red and blue. ![]() btw, fender has shit loads of cheap timepieces...cant tell if they're authorized ones or china fakes...either way they all very fugly. I have no idea about watches. no budget. Gibson is going crazy. Anyways, a guitar inspired watch should have a tuning peg to adjust the time, Brazilian rosewood body and frames made out of ernie ball strings that rusts after 3 days. |
Aug 3 2015, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Aug 3 2015, 01:22 PM) thats stupid thought of you because of the SG reference. just a huge case with a normal movement, only plus is its titanium. a nice guitar inspirted one would be this...aptly called the orient star retro guitar. got 3 other colors of black, red and blue. ![]() btw, fender has shit loads of cheap timepieces...cant tell if they're authorized ones or china fakes...either way they all very fugly. I have no idea about watches. no budget. Gibson is going crazy. Anyways, a guitar inspired watch should have a tuning peg to adjust the time, Brazilian rosewood body and frames made out of ernie ball strings that rusts after 3 days. |
Oct 13 2015, 12:40 PM
QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 6 2015, 08:04 PM) me. I'm trying to get back to town in time.QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Oct 11 2015, 02:35 PM) Hmm, never had any sticky issues with my PRS with nitro finish. The headache is that you gotta take real care of the instrument because dents happen quite easily with it. mine's a working guitar hence there's wear and tear on it. QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 12 2015, 11:23 PM) Anyone here tried those mini tube amps from peavey? I know it's China made but I'm curious how it performs. |
Oct 15 2015, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(quarantined @ Oct 15 2015, 10:59 AM) I know it's not everyone cups of tea, but only nitro finished guitars ages beautifully. Only some PRS. They will issue you some cert for it to make you feel better. Did PRS use nitro? I always thought they were using poly. Haha but I agree it ages alot more beautifully. I'm definitely not one of those who would be paranoid about scratches. A guitar is supposed to be used and aged. Even PRS' signature on the backplate to access the switch selector is fading off on mine. QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Oct 14 2015, 09:46 AM) Last minute asked by boss to go travelling.QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 14 2015, 09:57 AM) Apparently no meeting him after that as after his clinic he is rushing to catch his flight. so see him on the tiny stage then bye bye! First time I've heard of a guitar clinic with no meet and greet after. |
Oct 21 2015, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 20 2015, 10:41 AM) damn line 6 is getting quite good i think Line 6 makes good stuff for the prices. However lately some of their newer stuff isnt so cheap and fancy add ons like ipad connections, etc I feel can start to get a lil silly. More and more effects? reminds me of the POD XT Live days from when they charged $ to pay for additional packs to suddenly having it all available. Then I like it when they went to HD because there was a big improvement in the quality and only focused on 16 amps or so (which to me, you wont use all, and if you have 16 choices of good amps and still cant get what you want you're a horrible guitarist). Their new pedal thats supposedly to go head to head with axe fx still doesnt quite cut it from the samples I've heard.the fire hawk seems damn ganas, connect to iPad, downloadable patches, huge amounts of effects and stuff QUOTE(+3kk! @ Oct 20 2015, 11:30 AM) lol, but cant be helped ma oh weddings! weddings you better have a bag of cables and funny converters for your cables. Even a small 4 channel mixer would save you most of the time. Countless of times I get last minute phone calls from church members cause of weddings.last sunday also, help a friend in wedding, the cousin or something like that is singing. mic got problem, "mixer" is just a vol control. I'm surprised she sounded not too bad go to another wedding to perform for a friend also, no 1/4 jack input, the keyboardist is like wtf who doesnt use a 1/4? (she doesnt have an amp) so they had an XLR - 6mm converter i had my trusty amp, ended up cant keep up coz volume to low QUOTE(Everdying @ Oct 20 2015, 11:07 AM) well, its all just flavors of the week/year/etc. gotta agree. Lunch box amps now mostly come with XLR output too. Check out those Peavey amps. Even Mesa's Mark V mini has built in cab clone DI out.if just want to plug and play, something smaller will do anyway. or if u dont want to lug around ur stack, can always buy a lunchbox amp and also plug into PA. |
Oct 23 2015, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(pleasuresaurus @ Oct 21 2015, 05:58 PM) I'm a little divided about digital multifx processors like Line 6 even though its mighty tempting. Its definitely flexible and convenient to have an entire rig compressed into a pedalboard and at your beck and call, but my main gripe is continuity. These things are very much like PCs in the sense that they cost a bomb upon release, but 2-3 years down the road there's gonna be some super duper new upgrade that's gonna make the old one obsolete. And here u r stuck with the old one that's now devalued to a fraction of its original and nobody wants it anymore. My old Line 6 Flextone 3 was a case in point. Perhaps multi effects is not so problematic, just amplification that's the problem? I dunno. But the experience has prompted me to reevaluate my hardware acquisition quite considerably. I've played with a few axe fx II and I heard this one isnt very much different just with less processing power.Speaking of multifx, anybody here got their hands on this lil fellow yet? Would love to hear your comments. ![]() |
Nov 6 2015, 10:20 AM
Jan 11 2016, 10:08 AM
i thought gear pics are in https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/721606
i guess everyone is busy practicing their guitar (first few days of sticking to the new year resolution) |
Jan 12 2016, 11:01 AM
been eyeing and testing a few martins lately. any Martin owners here?
Jan 12 2016, 01:17 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 12 2016, 11:06 AM) +3kk! There was? I didnt notice.btw, why didnt u get the blueridges that someone was clearing a few weeks back? he had the blueridge BR160 aka martin D28 homage for rm1.3-1.4k. Tested a friend's OM42, which was nice, but way above my budget. Found it abit dead maybe cause the wood hasnt aged yet. I was eyeing the OMJM, but so far the ones I tested were alright and I didnt want to buy one that didnt feel right. It's harder to pick acoustics than electric. Didnt want to go for dreadnoughts even though i did test some. Tested a 00028 and so far I kinda like it but not drooling over it. Plus it looks really simple, without any inlays and just a black pickguard. No pickups. +3kk!, what are you having right now? |
Jan 15 2016, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 12 2016, 01:27 PM) ya harder to pick acoustics, but i roughly know what i want...and for now its not a dread yet too. What makes you say spurce rosewood combo to go for dreads?but seems ur aiming for spruce / rosewood combo? i would stick with dreads for that. else u should go test out a 000-15M... not liking the mohogany look QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 12 2016, 03:29 PM) D-35 standard, the 3 piece back guitar not really played a lakewood.its a loud and proud guitar, "balanced" but its a single player axe, doesnt like playing with others if you are ok for other brands you might want to give lakewood a shot, their M32cp is quite good Not into dreads as theyre huge. The OM felt really comfortable. 00028 isnt that bad too. Prefer a small guitar due to my small size QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 12 2016, 06:22 PM) i always thought balanced meant nothing is overpowering even bass. I dont mind giving sigma a go but i've yet to see any around!and ya, china lots of martin copies...but sigma is to martin what orville is to gibson. if u read wiki, sigma is basically now in name only...but is still the only one licensed to make martin copies. |
Jan 21 2016, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2016, 02:46 PM) just based on construction and wood tonality. ahh. I dont really like mohogany tops. I managed to test the OMJM and 00028 side by side and still the OMJM wins. Surprisingly the other OMJM I tried in 1utama wasnt as good as this one I tested. QA issue?but lots of opinions around, some say rosewood adds more top end, mahogany adds more mids...and especially on a 000 body i guess it would matter more depending what ur after as a 000 obviously loses abit of bass over a dread. also general opinion is mahogany is more all rounder for fingerpicking and strumming. i may eventually get a spruce/rosewood 000 sized, but the all mahogany already sounds so balanced. but since ur going for looks of rosewood instead...up to u... Ah but economy is going from bad to worse and the ringgit is falling. Might have to hold this one off. QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2016, 02:49 PM) oh ya, i got 3 good reasons why i haven't bought any real expensive acoustics. Hey man, a beat up well used guitar be it electric or acoustic is the way to go. Even my PRS (nitro) has some wear and tear. Nitro wear and tear is alot better than those modern finishes (esp on PRS) wear and tear.1. dent on headstock. 2. dent on lower bout. 3. dent on bout near neck. and thats just a couple days after owning the cort... haha. if gibson acoustic kena... heart pain... but then again being nitro not that hard to fix... hmmm... QUOTE(ecitenoid @ Jan 15 2016, 03:55 PM) yeap, i get that grrr when turn on the gain boost. quite high gain when turn to 7 above. for me that more on modern metalcore music, 6 enough already. 20W not enough? Wow man, my Mesa Mark V Mini is super loud. I brought it for a workshop once for an auditorium and it was sufficient.to me im impressed this valveking ii. really enjoy the clean as well. but i feel like 20W not enough 'loud'. afraid to crank full volume, coz im new to tube amp, masih study and research lagi. lucky my pod HD can control the volume using 4 cable method. QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 15 2016, 10:18 PM) oh ya, the best mere mortal example is available in the baby taylors and gs-mini... as they come with spruce, mahogany tops... also gs-mini with rosewood b&s. for now mohogany tops are out for me. Didnt like the looks and gave them a try and didnt really like em. from what i see most also seem to prefer the mahogany versions...just cos its again more balanced for smaller bodies. sigma i wonder if Davis guitar still stocks... wouldn't mind going down only if got some nice concert... Sigma none locally? QUOTE(+3kk! @ Jan 16 2016, 08:52 AM) yea, its not a very popular brand even in overseas forums or places; partly due to it being rather over priced and the ugly headstock I thought the hipster guitar thing is really blooming esp hipster christian musicians? I'm a christian musician but I love poking fun at them. Veritas, semi hollows, boutique amps, etclike the prices john was asking RM14k, a brand new custom made to order anderson is only 15k ish QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 19 2016, 03:37 PM) anyway i just went doremi and bought a few more jazz in diff gauges and material... bought the jp one to try also. whats your take on TUSQ picks?i also realized i cannot alternate pick to save my life using regular picks anymore... zzz. |
Jan 21 2016, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(Everdying @ Jan 21 2016, 04:44 PM) OM and 000, perhaps the OM longer scale length has to do with u liking it? i've used jazz III for ages and tusq has the jazz III sizing too.sigma dunno locally got or not. tusq picks, not interested to try...seen them around...nothing really gets my fancy...im just gonna stick to jazz III forever now |
Jan 22 2016, 10:26 AM
anything interesting so far for this year's NAMM?
Feb 2 2016, 08:53 AM
Feb 3 2016, 10:21 AM
Feb 6 2016, 11:13 AM
quick question. Anywhere in KL I can get those rubber things to put on your pedal knobs so you can turn the knobs with your feet?
Feb 16 2016, 04:32 PM
any other alternatives besides this expensive ugly thing?
http://optionknob.com/ Thinking for my secondary pedalboard which I am lazy I am lazy to bring an expression pedal to control the effects with my foot and this would do. |
| Change to: | 0.1925sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:12 AM |