10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 02:43 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 12:55 PM)
The Bible doesn't agree with being chosen? You are very vague with your statement? What does the verses in Hebrew with related to what you are asking?
Dealings?

1) Fighting in the womb
2) Supplanting his brother causing his brother to want to kill him
3) He has to flee all his life
4) Laban cheating him, wages + Leah
5) 2 sons killing a town
6) daughter got raped
7) losing Rachel, the love of his life
8) Joseph

and the list goes on
2-3) He Managed to make peace with his brother. I dun consider that God's dealing.
4) Even though Labal cheated him, but he still managed to take advantage of the situation. I mean did Jacob actually lost out?
5)arrr Is that even considered God's dealing?
6)Ok. But then the daughter got avenged right? I mean you seriously considered that as God dealing with Jacob. Then how about David, etc.
7)Natural Death
8)Joseph in wat way. He eventually saved the whole family right? I mean Joseph leaving the family is a blessing in the end.

What list.

I have even written the verse down and you are asking?

Anyway.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 02:44 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 3 2014, 01:37 PM)
I think besides that, sylar111 also wish to know the life-application (Exegesis) of the passage or point you shared.
Exegesis is not life application.

Oh well.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 02:52 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 01:01 PM)
You have to understand that in experience of life (divine) portrayed by Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob with Joseph each represent an aspect of the experience of life.
Jacob stands for the transformed life and Joseph represents the ruling aspect, the kingly aspect, of this transformed life. They represent one whole person tongue.gif

This fulfilled Gen 1:26 image and dominion at least portrayed in OT.

We were made for the purpose of expressing God and exercising His dominion. The subject of Genesis is man bearing the image of God and exercising God's dominion over all things. We bear God's image that we might express Him, and we have God's dominion that we might represent Him. This is the heart of Genesis.

In order to know this in a progressive way, we need all fifty chapters of this book. All the generations recorded in it—Adam, Abel, Enosh, Enoch, Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph—are for one purpose: to show that God's economy in the universe is to express Himself through man. This is God's purpose, God's goal, and the desire of God's heart. God's purpose and economy are related to man.

The record of all the generations included in this book is a portrait of God's divine economy. In Adam we do not see much of God's expression and dominion. Although Abel believed in God, we do not clearly see in him God's expression and dominion. Enosh realized that he was fragile and weak, and he began to call on the name of the Lord. But in him we scarcely see God's expression or dominion. Enoch walked with God. Therefore, we see in him a little of God's expression; however, we see nothing of God's dominion. Although with Noah we do see a little of God's expression and dominion, it is rather vague; it is not definite, impressive, or clear. In Abraham we see less of God's expression and dominion than we do in Noah. Although many Christians have overly exalted Abraham, he was only on the first level of the doctrine of Christ. Abraham was the father of faith for justification, which is merely the beginning of the doctrine of Christ. Furthermore, we can hardly see God's expression and dominion in Isaac. Isaac, the one who inherited everything from his father, only cared for eating. As long as he was given something good to eat, he would grant his blessing blindly.

It is in Jacob that we see the expression of God. However, prior to the last fourteen chapters of this book, we do not see much of God's expression in Jacob. But in these last chapters we do see in him very much of the expression of God and the dominion of God. Although in this section Jacob was old in years, his spiritual eyes were very keen. Wherever he went, he perceived the real situation and blessed people accordingly. Moreover, his blessing became God's prophecy. Jacob truly bore the image of God and expressed Him. Even Pharaoh, the highest ruler at that time, was under Jacob's blessing. When Jacob was brought into the presence of Pharaoh, Jacob did not say, "Hello, how are you? How old are you?" Rather, he stretched forth his hand and blessed him (47:7, 10). This indicates that Pharaoh was under Jacob, the one who was God's expression.

Here in Jacob we see a man who was one with God and who expressed God.

But what about God's dominion? The book of Genesis ends with Joseph exercising dominion over the whole earth. Although Pharaoh was the king, he was merely a figurehead. The acting king was Joseph, who is a part of Jacob in the experience of life. In Jacob with Joseph we see the expression of God with the dominion of God. Never separate Joseph from Jacob. The record of the last fourteen chapters of Genesis mixes the two together. This indicates that Joseph is the reigning part of Jacob, and that Jacob and Joseph should not be considered as separate persons.
Men was given dominion of the Earth initially but because of sin, they lost that. I mean a very good example, does Men has dominion over snakes, Lions and Tigers? Before the temptation probably yes. But after obviously no.

Anyway out of point totally.

Nope. The Pharoah is the real ruler. He only delegated power to Joseph that's all.

Again assumptions. No where in the bible did it ever mentioned that Jacob ever influence Joseph.

Anyone and I mean anyone who has basic litetary skills will understand that Pharoah was no figurehead. That same Pharoah had the same power as the pharoah during Moses period.

Well, why not. Because you say so?

Again, I really do not want to get into a debate with you because it's going to be a never ending story. I will let the people judge for themselves.

SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 03:20 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 3 2014, 02:58 PM)
Actually if you read Genesis 41, Pharaoh is only a figure head, Joseph become the Ruler.
Nope. It's delegated.
Genesis 41
39 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, Forasmuch as God hath shewed thee all this, there is none so discreet and wise as thou art:

40 Thou shalt be over my house, and according unto thy word shall all my people be ruled: only in the throne will I be greater than thou.

41 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, See, I have set thee over all the land of Egypt.

42 And Pharaoh took off his ring from his hand, and put it upon Joseph's hand, and arrayed him in vestures of fine linen, and put a gold chain about his neck;

43 And he made him to ride in the second chariot which he had; and they cried before him, Bow the knee: and he made him ruler over all the land of Egypt.

44 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, I am Pharaoh, and without thee shall no man lift up his hand or foot in all the land of Egypt.

And again in Genesis 45
7 And Pharaoh said unto Joseph, Say unto thy brethren, This do ye; lade your beasts, and go, get you unto the land of Canaan;

18 And take your father and your households, and come unto me: and I will give you the good of the land of Egypt, and ye shall eat the fat of the land.

19 Now thou art commanded, this do ye; take you wagons out of the land of Egypt for your little ones, and for your wives, and bring your father, and come.

20 Also regard not your stuff; for the good of all the land of Egypt is your's.

21 And the children of Israel did so: and Joseph gave them wagons, according to the commandment of Pharaoh, and gave them provision for the way.

The land does not belong to Joseph. He is just ruling/ managing on behalf of the Pharoah. If the land belongs to Joseph, then Pharoah would not need to give the good land to his family.

Anyway. I really do not want to get further then this because I know how biased you can be.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 03:21 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 03:07 PM)
Huh? I am not asking for a list biggrin.gif ... I meant the list of dealings goes on ... Dealings are not big things always ... it is always the normal, small details of our life that God touches and deals. All happenings is in God's hand.

2-3) He made peace? Lol biggrin.gif He was so cunning ... always trying to stay ahead of things ...  He even put the women and children in front .... so that there is time to escape tongue.gif God deals with his supplants-ness.

"And Jacob lifted up his eyes, and looked, and, behold, Esau came, and with him four hundred men. And he divided the children unto Leah, and unto Rachel, and unto the two handmaids. And he put the handmaids and their children foremost, and Leah and her children after, and Rachel and Joseph hindermost. And he passed over before them, and bowed himself to the ground seven times, until he came near to his brother." He was still as cunning as before. He even bowed down seven times to the ground before his brother. Verse 4 says, "And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept." Jacob did not expect that his schemes would not be needed and that all his plans were in vain. God's protection was real. All he needed was a little faith and he could have avoided much vexation and fear! Esau did not try to kill him; rather, he was coming to welcome him. He embraced Jacob, fell on his neck, and kissed him. All of Jacob's cleverness and plans came to nothing!

5) We all have our "Laban" biggrin.gif. - boss, friends, colleague etc.
On the marriage day you thought that your wife is your Rachel .... it turn out to be Leah. biggrin.gif All married man can testify this tongue.gif ... Many times we have a lot of "Rachels - heart treasure" in us and it turn to "Leahs".

After he lost Rachel, the first choice of his natural love [that was a blow]. He lost Joseph ... the son of the love of his life. How is this not a dealing? Throughout the time, Jacob never had any closure ... he never knew whether he was alive or dead. Those time cause him to be open to God and God uses this to fill him and transform him.

I think the point this, we all experiencing God as the God of dealing not only as the sufficient One, God of grace, mercy, love etc. To realize that suffering however small or big, as Christian, we must have a view that God is transforming us for His purpose.
Whatever.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 04:37 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 3 2014, 03:30 PM)
Pharaoh did not instruct him when it comes to ruler ship. Joseph gets to decide that on his own authority.
In Fact Pharaoh reaffirms that in verse

Pharaoh as Figurehead
Genesis 41:40 (NIV) -  You shall be in charge of my palace, and all my people are to submit to your orders. Only with respect to the throne will I be greater than you."

Rulership
Genesis 41:41 (NIV) - So Pharaoh said to Joseph, "I hereby put you in charge of the whole land of Egypt."
Genesis 41:44 (NIV) - Then Pharaoh said to Joseph, "I am Pharaoh, but without your word no one will lift hand or foot in all Egypt."
You seem to have the wrong understanding pertaining to delegated powers
http://www.answers.com/Q/What_is_the_meani...elegated_powers

Anyway. Common Sense would have told you that the Pharoah will not cede power in that way. No one does that.

Genesis 45 just demonstrate the fact that the land and everything still belongs to Pharoah.

Joseph is just the CEO. He is still answerable to the Owner(Primarily Pharoah)

The reason why Pharoah allowed Joseph to rule(manage) the country is because he trust him to do a good job. Simple as that. No where did it indicated that Pharoah "step" down from power.

Ok, I was tempted, but this is really the last post pertaining to this.

No need for further discussion. You obviously never even understand what people write before posting your reply.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 3 2014, 04:46 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 04:43 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 3 2014, 04:34 PM)
Yeah. sometimes can get too caught up with the bible knowledge. biggrin.gif
Are you then implying that the bible can be interpretated in a wishy washy way then.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:15 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ThePharmacist @ Oct 3 2014, 05:01 PM)
I concur  nod.gif . If Pharoah decided to have Joseph's head on a platter, he would definitely had gotten his wish granted.
Joseph only had as much power as the Pharoah bestowed upon him. The Pharoah was clearly in charge.

As for Jacob, he only tagged along with the rest of his family to Egypt. Joseph was definitely NOT a proxy of Jacob.
The Bible doesn't say. I wonder where did that come from  rclxub.gif
I have to say that Unknown Warrior is right on this.
My understanding of rule is wrong.

Anyway, my point is that Joseph was still under Pharoah and not the other way round as Pehkey is indicating.

But then, you know where I was coming from when it comes to disproving what Pehkey was saying.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 3 2014, 05:40 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:17 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ThePharmacist @ Oct 3 2014, 04:51 PM)
1. How are those not matured perfected during the 1000 years?
2. How is the maturing process and where will they be during this time period?

The Bema Seat Judgement IS where rewards are given out. There is no further need of a 'maturity period' after this event.

Rev 21:16 gives the length and width of the New Jerusalem which ascends from Heaven. Rev 21:17 gives further detailed description of the New Jerusalem. It sure looks real to me. Of course, those who still have their earthly bodies can't enter. It's the home of the saints(incorruptible bodies) after all. It will also be here through eternity. At the end of the 1000 years millennial kingdom, there will be a new heaven & earth, but New Jerusalem remains.
Go and study WatchMan Nee.
That is where he got his teachings from.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:18 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 3 2014, 05:16 PM)
If you want to discuss, discuss, no need to be sarcastic to me. I don't need it.
Wow. So emotional.

But then it seems that when you do the same to others. You can just sweep it under the carpet.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 3 2014, 05:31 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:33 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 3 2014, 05:24 PM)
What do you mean I did it to other?

if you didn't know what happened before this, I have enough of this turmoil. Before you came in, there was this trouble maker, theaccountant.

Not in the mood to go through another roller coaster ride.

I just want our Christian fellowship to be a place where every Christians can relax and not have our defensive shield up all the time.

It really defeat the purpose if we are always bickering all the time in here.

Hope you understand.

Edit: No I'm not implying you are theaccountant guy, don't get me wrong, I just want to avoid all form of hostility.

And for whatever I've done you wrong, I apologize.
Oh what turmoil.
Sorry I was just looking at Pehkey post and just reply because it seems a little bit strange to me.

SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:33 PM

2,547 posts

edited

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 3 2014, 05:33 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 05:36 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 3 2014, 04:50 PM)
Actually what I don't understand is whether Joseph/Pharoah is real ruler or CEO, what is the point at the end? what is so important about it? What spiritual insight of all these? Because has been asking but this didn't get explanation or understand. IMO, it is not that important. So do not really need to be so into it.
Well, who are we to question which part of the bible is important and which part of the bible is not important.

Didn't Paul say that All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:

So how can you say that this part of the bible is not important or that part of the bible is not important.

And I was replying to Pehkey so you need to understand my argument first in the first place.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 3 2014, 05:47 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 06:13 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 03:07 PM)
Huh? I am not asking for a list biggrin.gif ... I meant the list of dealings goes on ... Dealings are not big things always ... it is always the normal, small details of our life that God touches and deals. All happenings is in God's hand.

2-3) He made peace? Lol biggrin.gif He was so cunning ... always trying to stay ahead of things ...  He even put the women and children in front .... so that there is time to escape tongue.gif God deals with his supplants-ness.

"And Jacob lifted up his eyes, and looked, and, behold, Esau came, and with him four hundred men. And he divided the children unto Leah, and unto Rachel, and unto the two handmaids. And he put the handmaids and their children foremost, and Leah and her children after, and Rachel and Joseph hindermost. And he passed over before them, and bowed himself to the ground seven times, until he came near to his brother." He was still as cunning as before. He even bowed down seven times to the ground before his brother. Verse 4 says, "And Esau ran to meet him, and embraced him, and fell on his neck, and kissed him: and they wept." Jacob did not expect that his schemes would not be needed and that all his plans were in vain. God's protection was real. All he needed was a little faith and he could have avoided much vexation and fear! Esau did not try to kill him; rather, he was coming to welcome him. He embraced Jacob, fell on his neck, and kissed him. All of Jacob's cleverness and plans came to nothing!

5) We all have our "Laban" biggrin.gif. - boss, friends, colleague etc.
On the marriage day you thought that your wife is your Rachel .... it turn out to be Leah. biggrin.gif All married man can testify this tongue.gif ... Many times we have a lot of "Rachels - heart treasure" in us and it turn to "Leahs".

After he lost Rachel, the first choice of his natural love [that was a blow]. He lost Joseph ... the son of the love of his life. How is this not a dealing? Throughout the time, Jacob never had any closure ... he never knew whether he was alive or dead. Those time cause him to be open to God and God uses this to fill him and transform him.

I think the point this, we all experiencing God as the God of dealing not only as the sufficient One, God of grace, mercy, love etc. To realize that suffering however small or big, as Christian, we must have a view that God is transforming us for His purpose.
Well. If you consider those as God's dealing you are reading too much in the text.

Normally you associate God's dealing as something much more heavier then those things.

Something like God asking Abraham to kill Issac. That is what I considered real testing.

Maybe the only case you have is losing Joseph. But then it has nothing to do with Supplant or whatever you are teaching.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 06:35 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 06:09 PM)
Do you know 14-9-2015? He uses the exact phrase "Bema Seat Judgement". biggrin.gif

1) I won't know ... only that it won't be pleasant. Matthew describe it as "outer darkness". 1 Corinthians (which I quoted) we will be saved as through fire.  In Matthew 18 the Lord spoke of a believer who did not forgive from the heart his brother who had offended him. When the Lord comes to judge the believers, that is, “to settle accounts with his slaves” (v. 23), He will deliver such a one “to the torturers,” that is, He will cause him to be punished in the millennium until he forgives his brother from his heart (vv. 34-35). This shows that some believers’ sins will be forgiven only after punishment in the millennium. If a believer sins after being saved, he can be forgiven and chastised by God for some sins in this age, that is, today. But some sins can be forgiven only after the believer is punished in the millennium.

2) It will be in the realm of speculation as I don't know. But how He deals with us today as in the experiences of Jacob. I bet that time, it will be intensified. I won't know ;D. Where? Does it matter? Probably on earth.
If the New Jerusalem seem real ... then can you say the throne is God and a physical Lamb? Or it is the wife of the Lamb and the mother of the believers. biggrin.gif I think the first verse in Revelation gives use the key:

The revelation of Jesus Christ which God gave to Him to show to His slaves the things that must quickly take place; and He made it known by signs, sending it by His angel to His slave John,
If you believe that all will be matured, then you have to interpret these verses which I brought up to him:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry68863804

Also, I don't really have time .... but here is something:

The first judgment is that exercised by God when the Lord Jesus was on the cross. The crucifixion of the Lord was a judgment, for the righteous God judged the Lord Jesus as our Substitute. Hence, the Lord Jesus was judged by God on our behalf.

Second, in the church age God exercises another kind of judgment, and this is God’s judgment over His house. First Peter 4:17 says, “It is time for the judgment to begin from the house of God.” God’s house, or household, is the church composed of the believers (1 Pet. 2:5; 1 Tim. 3:15). God judges His people so that they may be disciplined, purified, and separated from the unbelievers and not have the same destiny as they. Such disciplinary judgment begins from God’s own household. Therefore, if we are careless in doing things, we shall be judged. Instead of judgment, we may speak of being disciplined, chastised, or corrected. However, discipline, chastisement, and correction are actually God’s judgment. God is always right and righteous, and He will not allow anything under His rule to be wrong. For this reason, He sometimes judges us.

The third kind of judgment in the New Testament will be the judgment of the believers at the judgment seat of Christ. After all the dead saints have been resurrected and raptured and all the living ones have been raptured, a judgment seat will be set up for Christ to judge all His genuine believers. This judgment will determine whether a believer receives a reward or some kind of dispensational punishment. Paul says, “We must all be manifested before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may be recompensed for the things done through the body, according to what he has practiced, whether good or bad” (2 Cor. 5:10). This judgment seat is where Christ will judge His believers at His coming back, not concerning eternal salvation but concerning their dispensational reward (1 Cor. 4:4-5; 3:13-15).

Another verse that speaks of the believers being judged is Romans 14:10, where Paul tells us, “We shall all stand before the judgment seat of God.” This judgment is different from the eternal judgment of God mentioned in Romans 2:2, 3, 5, 16 and 3:8, which will be mainly carried out at the white throne revealed in Revelation 20:11-15. The eternal judgment at the white throne will be after the millennium, it will be to judge all the dead unbelievers, and it will be for eternal punishment in the lake of fire. However, the judgment at the judgment seat of God, or the judgment seat of Christ, will be before the millennium, immediately after Christ’s coming back, it will be to judge all the resurrected and raptured believers, and it will be for reward in the millennial kingdom.

The fourth judgment revealed in the New Testament is the judgment of the living at Christ’s throne of glory (Matt. 25:31-46). After the Lord Jesus defeats Antichrist and his army, many of the Gentiles will still be living on earth. The Lord will gather them to Himself and judge them. “When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the angels with Him, then He shall sit on His throne of glory; and all the nations shall be gathered before Him, and He shall separate them from one another, as the shepherd separates the sheep from the goats” (vv. 31-32). Those that are regarded as sheep will be transferred into the millennium to be the people under the kingly ruling of Christ and the overcoming believers (Rev. 2:26-27; 12:5; 20:4-6) and under the priestly ministry of the saved Jews (Zech. 8:20-23). Those that are regarded as goats will go with their leader, Antichrist, “into the eternal fire prepared for the Devil and his angels” (Matt. 25:41).

The fifth judgment in the New Testament will be executed by Christ on the dead unbelievers after the millennium. Christ is the Judge of both the living and the dead (Acts 10:42; 2 Tim. 4:1). Whereas the living will be judged before the millennium, the dead will be judged afterward, as revealed in Revelation 20:11-15, the judgment at the great white throne. The unbelievers will be condemned by the Lord because of their evil deeds, and then they will perish because of their unbelief, not having their names written in the book of life. Therefore, at the great white throne Christ will judge the dead unbelievers to determine their eternal perdition.
Actually, I can say that most of what you wrote here is speculation.

There wasn't any verses in the bible that states that believers may have to undergo punishment in the milleanium.

Anyway, PehKey. If we were to pay for our sins. It's not going to be a millenium. It will be for eternity.
Your point on Matthew 18 is moot. Yes, that person has to now pay the full penalty which is due. And this penalty is eternal death.

Even your example on Corinthians 3:13-15 is talking about reward and not punishment.

Haiyo. We are saved by faith not by works. Why are you bringing works in? So that means you do not believe that Christ blood is not enough to cover our sins? Ok

1 John 1:7
But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship one with another, and the blood of Jesus Christ his Son cleanseth us from all sin.

Again wrong.

You see, if "bad Christians" are punished for the millenium, then why would there be weeping and gnashing of teeth? You see, they should in fact take their punishment because since they know the truth even more, then there is nothing to regret about. After all, what is a thousand years compared to eternity. The fact that there is regret shows that there is no more redemption.

I can dispute all of your teachings using the word of God as shown here but then it will be pointless.

SUSsylar111
post Oct 3 2014, 06:39 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 3 2014, 06:28 PM)
Just google "supplanter jacob" ...

Well, if you only look at the major milestones ... then of course .... On the one hand God deals with man by giving him a "fundamental" dealing, A fundamental dealing means that there is no returning to our former condition. When God's light to expose our true nature. Once it is exposed, we are no longer able to return to or recover our old condition.

But God also do deal with men in a fragmentary way. Small incremental dealings which eventually lead to a major "fundamental" dealing. There are environments which God prepared that will expose us more and more.

Fragmentary dealings are like symptomatic cures in medical treatment. Fundamental dealings are like major operations, and supplementary dealings are like post-operative treatments of supplemental medications that help recover the health of the body. Fragmentary dealings must be accompanied by fundamental dealings before the former will become beneficial to a person.
I know supplanter. I mean come on. And I also know you purposely use complicated words to confuse us.

You think I am not prepared?

As explained earlier, those kind of dealings are just natural events that even normal people like us faces. There is no concrete evidence that those dealings are even related to Jacob's supplant.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 4 2014, 06:36 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 4 2014, 11:06 AM)
Hey 14-9-2015, actually the post was directed to Pharmacist on the New Jerusalem, so I won't waste your time on New Jerusalem.

I am familiar with what "mainstream" teaches and that is the problem ... I can't reconciled it with the verses in Matthew 25. Definitely, they have to take the premise that those cast into outer darkness are non-believers .... otherwise the other alternative was they will lose their salvation. biggrin.gif In which, we cannot accept that based on the Lord's word.

The problem with the interpretation that I find is ...

1) why would unbelievers wait for the Bridegroom?

2) Both the wise and the foolish have lamps ... what is the significance of it? The only one I can associated with was Proverbs [referring to our spirit]. Also Luke 12:35; Matt. 5:15-16; which definitely refers to believers

3) How about buying? Paying a price? How will you interpreted this? The church in Laodicea in Revelation speaks of paying the price ... definitely believers.

4) Also, the Lord charge to watch ... why will unbelievers need to watch??

There are many more ... if we take this interpretation. That is only the parable of the virgin. The next parable is on faithfulness in service. We now require the believers to be faithful in serving the Lord???

You have to really help with me with this if I can accept that? biggrin.gif There is something inadequate with the "mainstream" teaching. It produces a false sense of security.

I know that the Scofield Study Bible do agrees with this. Maybe you can answer my questions before I can answer yours ... because of the premise.
So your teaching does not produce a false sense of security? Because as far as I understand, your belief system is a pseudo works system. And we know that we are saved by faith and not works. The bible is pretty clear on that. You are trying to introduce more confusion obviously.
1 Corinthians 14
33 For God is not the author of confusion, but of peace, as in all churches of the saints.

And what is this with false sense of security. God wants us to be secured in our faith. Hebrews 10:22-23. Why are you preaching otherwise?

As for waiting for the Bridegroom. Jesus did not identify those people who did not fill the oil lamps as believers because Jesus states that the Bridegroom did not know them. Remember, Jesus also says that He knows his sheep. Non Believers are not his sheeps and so Jesus do not know them.

The passage on the wise and foolish is most likely to refer to people who did not stay the course. They could have some knowledge of Christianity and could even be believers at one point of time but then they decided to not stay on the path. By the time Christ comes, it would be too late. Jesus was telling us that we should always stay on the course.

And Matthew 5:15:16 is obviously taken out of context. It just states that the truth should not be hidden but be shown openly. Nothing to do at all with what you are teaching at all.

Laodicea is talking about church discipline. Yes God will discipline those he loves in this life. Again, what does it has got to do with what you are teaching?

Obviously talking to believers. And your point?

God wants us to be secured in him. So if you are not secured in Him, you have to start questioning yourself.

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 4 2014, 06:51 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 4 2014, 06:50 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 4 2014, 05:18 PM)
Sorry for the late reply ... some errands.

Ah yes, if it the Jews .... but the Jews aren't the recipient of the parable in Matthew 25. It was only spoken privately to the disciples. Definitely the Jews won't wait for the Bridegroom or serve God as stewards as depicted in Matthew 25. The parable starts with the "kingdom of the heaven will be liken ...."

Regarding "fear and punishment" I think that kind of reaction is too negative. Firstly, then we should be positive to enjoy Christ to be a full grown man for God's expression. Paul is always charging us positively, forgetting the things behind; run telling us positively - forget the things behind ... run to claim the reward ... finish the race.

If we are Christians .... just because of the judgement seat .... what a pitiful Christian we will be. Yet we sometimes need this. Sometimes I am discouraged, the realization of a coming judgement is very sobering. happy.gif

Yet, there is the matter of the gospel of the kingdom in contrast with the gospel of grace. The truth is always balanced. The highest enjoyment of grace is to meet the highest requirement of the kingdom. Matthew and John are sisters books. The kingdom and grace goes together. God's grace requires His strict dealing and vice versa.

It is a matter of God's righteousness (Psa 89:14). Peter was even stronger in his epistle. But while His governmental hand is there, His grace is there simultaneously.

Because of our natural concepts, we are prone to consider that the first item of the New Testament gospel is the forgiveness of sins and the second item is eternal life. Negatively our sins have been forgiven and positively we have eternal life. But in fact the first word of the New Testament gospel was to repent for the sake of the kingdom of the heavens (Matt. 3:2; 4:17). We need forgiveness of sins so that we can have eternal life, and we need eternal life so that we can be under the heavenly rule. The kingdom is the requirement of the gospel, and the life is the supply of the gospel. What the gospel requires, it also supplies. The gospel requires us to be governed and ruled by the heavens. The gospel also supplies us with the divine life for us to fulfill the requirements of the kingdom.

If we are going to meet the requirements of such a high standard, we must have a life that is on an equally high plane. Otherwise, we cannot meet such a high standard. Only the divine life can meet such a high standard. Only the divine life can meet the requirements of the heavenly government. The kingdom is the requirement of the New Testament gospel, and the eternal life, which is Christ Himself, is the supply. The divine life can fulfill the requirements of the kingdom. Once we see the matter of the kingdom, we can see how high a standard is required by the gospel. After we are saved, we have a heavenly requirement within us demanding us to live on a high level. This level can be reached only by the supply of the divine life.

We have to look beyond the dealings to God's goal to produce mature sons of God. This is why Paul's ministry was to present every man mature, full grown in Christ for the one new man (Col. 1:28-29; 3:10-11). It is either we lose the soul life this age or the next age (Matthew 16:25).

We are all going to arrive sooner or later. Why not sooner?

It is NOT a matter of sins. It is that our soul is not filled with Christ. This is to neglect His salvation. So, if we escape being matured in this age of grace. He will make sure we will all mature in the next. It is really mercy (like a 2nd chance) ... and God will definitely gain what He wants.

If you don't like the word punishment, you can decide biggrin.gif ... perfecting, maturing, dealing .... however we put it .... we can never deny the reality of the kingdom, the kingdom in its reality, is an exercise and discipline for us in the church today (Matt. 5:3, 10, 20; 7:21). However, His grace is there. Marvelous!

Hope it helps ...

God know when to deal with you tongue.gif

Hebrews 12:7

7 It is for discipline that you endure; God deals with you as with sons. For what son is there whom the father does not discipline?

Hebrews 12:8

8 But if you are without discipline, of which all sons have become partakers, then you are illegitimate and not sons.

Hebrews 12:11

11 Now no discipline at the present time seems to be a matter of joy, but of grief; but afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness to those who have been exercised by it.
No scripture to proof your so called discipline in the next life.

The discipline you are talking about will happen in this life. Not the next.

Again you are indirectly preaching a works based salvation and not a faith based.
' Only the divine life can meet such a high standard'

Paul and Jesus has said time and time again that we are justified by faith and not works. Faith produces works. Obviously you have no understanding of this.

You are looking at the issue of perfection from man's perspective and not God. What makes you think that God cannot perfect us?
1 Corinthians 15
50 I tell you this, brothers: flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God, nor does the perishable inherit the imperishable. 51 Behold! I tell you a mystery. We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed, 52 in a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trumpet. For the trumpet will sound, and the dead will be raised imperishable, and we shall be changed. 53 For this perishable body must put on the imperishable, and this mortal body must put on immortality. 54 When the perishable puts on the imperishable, and the mortal puts on immortality, then shall come to pass the saying that is written:

“Death is swallowed up in victory.”
55 “O death, where is your victory?
O death, where is your sting?”
56 The sting of death is sin, and the power of sin is the law. 57 But thanks be to God, who gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ.

58 Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain.

See. It's plain obvious that when we go into heaven, sin will be defeated and we will be in perfectness.

Why do you not trust God to bring us into perfection? Is it because you have no faith or you do not believe?

This post has been edited by sylar111: Oct 4 2014, 06:53 PM
SUSsylar111
post Oct 5 2014, 09:42 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 5 2014, 01:55 PM)
Do remember that this is not about initial salvation. biggrin.gif And no, I am not matured XD ... the process will take our whole life. Salvation in our spirit is instantaneous (regeneration) but transformation (Rom 12:1; 2 Cor. 3:18) and maturity in our soul (mind, emotion, will) will require our whole life. The Lord will measured to us a course like Paul says (so there is no comparison between believers). Paul was able to say he finished it and a crown awaits him. But, he only mentioned this at the end of his life in his Epistle to Timothy.

The topic is soo big  ... maybe I can just share a little and what questions you may have, you can ask as we go. I will start with vision or seeing what growth of life is:

GROWING WITH THE GROWTH OF GOD

First Corinthians 3:6-7 says, “I planted, Apollos watered, but God made to grow; so that neither is the one who plants anything nor the one who waters, but the One who makes to grow, God.” Verse 9 says, “For we are God’s fellow workers; you are God’s farm, God’s building.” Growth in these verses is not the growth in knowledge because here Paul speaks of a farm. Planting and watering are not related to knowledge. To plant is not to instruct but to nourish by supplying the plant with fertile soil. Likewise, to water is not to teach but to supply the plant with nutrients in the water. This is related to life.

Colossians 2:19 says, “Holding the Head, out from whom all the Body, by means of the joints and bands being supplied and knit together, grows with the growth of God.” These verses show us that to grow is to grow with something. If a young boy does not eat or drink, he will have nothing with which to grow. One cannot grow with nothing. Rather, without something with which to grow, one will die. Dietitians tell us that we are what we eat. If we eat beef, we will be constituted with the meat of the cow. If we eat fish, we will be constituted with fish.

To grow in the divine life is to have the increase of God in us.

1) The increase of the element of God means that more of God Himself has been mingled with us and received by us to become our element. Therefore, the real growth of life is the increase of God’s life within us. Life is God Himself (John 1:4; 10:10; 11:25; 14:6). When life grows in us, God is increased in us. Life grows and increases to an extent that we may be filled unto all the fullness of God. This is the final word of Ephesians 3:19.

2) Colossians 3:4 says that Christ is our life. Thus, growth of life is the increase of Christ within us. The more we love Christ and pursue Christ (Gal. 4:19), the more the measure of the stature of Christ will increase within us (Eph 4:13). This is the real growth of life.

3) Life is God, life is Christ, and life is also the Holy Spirit (Rom 8:2). Therefore, to grow in life is to allow the Holy Spirit to gain more ground in us (Eph. 3:17)

The above three points—the increase of the element of God, the increase of the measure of the stature of Christ, and the expansion of the ground of the Holy Spirit—are on God’s side. On our side, the growth of life is the decrease of our human element, that is, the decrease of the flavor of man and the increase of the flavor of God.

2 Cor. 4:7-18 - Living a Crucified Life for the Manifestation of the Resurrection Life by the Power of the Treasure in the Earthen Vessels

The growth of life is also the breaking of the natural life (Gal 2:20). In regard to the flesh, the focus of breaking is on its corruption and its opposition to God. In regard to the self, the focus of breaking is on our thoughts and views. In regard to the natural life, the focus of breaking is on our skills, ability, and capability. Concerning these things, the more they are broken, the more the life within will grow. Thus, the growth of life, on the negative side, refers to the decrease of the human element and also to the breaking of our natural life.

The breaking of the natural life and the decrease of the human element are related to the growth of life (John 3:30). In contrast, does the improvement of behavior cause the human element to decrease? Improvement in behavior means that our behavior, which originally was not good, has improved and that we can even be more successful and considerate in dealing with people and matters. However, such improvement does not cause our human element to decrease ; instead, it causes our human element to increase. It not only increases, but it is even strengthened.

The more a person’s behavior improves, the more the self is strengthened (Matt. 16:24). Similarly, expressions of piety cause the human element only to increase. The mere expression of piety will cause one to be strengthened rather than diminished. Hence, this is not the growth of life. Zeal in service, in the same way, causes an increase only in the human element. This is true concerning the increase of knowledge, the abounding in gifts, and the increase of power. All of these things only increase the human element and cannot cause one to have the growth of life.

The growth of life depends on the increase of God and Christ within us—all other aspects should decrease. If we desire to grow in life, our gifts must be stripped by God, and our shell of godliness and piety must be knocked down and broken by God. Our knowledgeable mind, our gifts, and our power must be shattered by God so that the Holy Spirit will have a way to be released. The growth of life depends upon the increase of God, Christ, and the Holy Spirit within us. Everything else must decrease.

The Subduing of Every Part of the Soul

Furthermore, the growth of life subdues every part of our soul. The more our soul is subdued, the more life grows, and the more our soul decreases, the more life increases. This is a certain fact. When we meet a saint, there is no need to measure what has been increased in him; rather, we should observe what has been decreased in him and whether he has been poured out and broken. If there is a decrease of himself, then God, Christ, and the Holy Spirit have surely gained ground in him and have increased in him. Only this is the real growth of life.

The real growth of life is not the improvement of behavior, the expression of piety, zealousness in service, an increase of knowledge, an abounding in gifts, or an increase of power. Rather, the real growth of life is the increase of the element of God, the increase of the measure of the stature of Christ, the expansion of the ground of the Holy Spirit, the decrease of the human element, the breaking of the natural life, and the subduing of every part of the soul. On the positive side, growth in life is the increase of the Triune God within us, the increase of the measure of the stature of Christ, and the expanding of the ground of the Holy Spirit. On the negative side, it is the breaking, consuming, and reducing of our outer man, that is, the decrease of our human element, the breaking of our natural life, and the subduing of every part of our soul.

---------------------------------------

Are we there? biggrin.gif Do we love God with our entire being? Do we still the world within us? Is Matthew 5-7 characterize our church life? Are we fleshly? Can we build with others? We still commit sins. We are always for the self. These are the negatives only.

Are you fully sanctified (Hebrews 2:11)? renewed (2 Corinthians 4:16)? transformed (1 Cor 12:1)? conformed (2 Cor 3:18)? glorified (Rom. 8:29)?

How about those I listed https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3197598/+1880#        You know the answer lar. XD XD

May the Lord graced you to grow!!
Matthew 22:37
If we follow what you say, then how are we going to love God with all our heart, our mind and our soul.

You can write whatever essay you want to write. You can confused others, but you will never confuse me.

You see Pehkey. You do not answer me anymore. Because you know I have all of the answers to deal with your different teachings. You know that you could be wrong but then you are already at a stage whereby you just cannot admit that you are wrong anymore because if you do, you lose everything which you have been holding on so far.
SUSsylar111
post Oct 5 2014, 10:33 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Oct 5 2014, 10:31 PM)
I don't he purposely confuse people here. can't think of a reason why
Are you implying he cannot simplify what he has written

He can but he will not to. Because he wants to confuse you so you will not question him.

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0713sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:46 AM