14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

LYN Christian Fellowship V7 (Group), Bible Hope never disappoints!

ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 01:48 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 20 2014, 02:34 PM)
Well, a few questions over here.

In most cases, whenever a prophecy is being given. It's for major events.
I think in the bible, I would think all of the prophecies given are pretty major. It would involve the entire nation, kings, Christ, etc.

I would think that when a prophecy is being made. God would not inspire someone to give a minor prophecy because minor prophecies do not prove anything. For example, say the minor prophecies involves blessing of the church. The thing is, church blessing can be very subjective. For example, church blessing could involves an "increase in spirituality" of the church members. It could involves the church becoming "richer", etc. It's one of those things that can be easily justified. The thing is that when God inspires a prophecy to be made. It will not be ambigous. It would be really clear that indeed God has put his hand in it. Also the prophets that prophecy are normally accompanied with certain powers. For example, Moses was able to perform certain miracles that distinguishes him from the other people.

Also, if there is a turmoil, a prophet may come up and prophecy that the turmoil will be overcomed. Again this is very subjective. Because there is no time period as to when the turmoil will be overcomed. It could be days, weaks, months or even a lifetime if you know what I mean. Also, if say the church did not overcome the turmoil and say closes down. Then the person who prophecy most likely will just not be there anymore. If someone makes a prophecy, then perheps, he should also give a definite date as well because God is not a God of confusion. I mean if say the things never come true, then there will be a lot of confusion in the congregation mind.

If say the prophecies being said are accurate and non ambigous, then, perheps I will take the prophecies that your church members can perform, a little more seriously. But I doubt that your church members can perform those prophecies with the accuracy required and also at a non ambigous level.
so you believe prophet (messenger of God) still exist today?
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 04:44 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

I do think that we don't need the dead to be alive for people to have faith in God and Jesus. I think our testimony (the changes after we become Christian) should give faith to unbelievers.

Actually, this is be pretty scary too as I try to imagine it and could be make me wonder this alive from dead person is it from God or from satan. biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 05:11 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Oct 20 2014, 06:07 PM)
James 2:19
Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble.
btw what's thou and believest? laugh.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 05:28 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 20 2014, 06:15 PM)
sylar111 at the end sure i will fail your test or requrement lah sylar111... you are so Paul. your caregroup leader model is Paul.

My criteria, I need Barnabas and his coworker (i forgot). I am more on people and family things lah sylar111... i am not ministry man like Paul. My family first... ministry ? 999999999th priority
Paul wrote 13-14 books wo. Paul might look like serious, no-nonsense guy, direct but I believe he is also got other good quality like loving and encouraging too. For example 1 Co 13 and whenever he start his letter he usually start with encouragement to the church brothers and sisters although after that he taruk kaw kaw also on their sins (ie Corinth church) but out of love la biggrin.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 05:37 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Paul played both 'father' (hardline, discipline, rebuke) and 'mother' (loving, encouarging) role to the churches he ministered - 1 Thessalonians 2: 7-12

Just as a nursing mother cares for her children, 8so we cared for you. Because we loved you so much, we were delighted to share with you not only the gospel of God but our lives as well. 9Surely you remember, brothers and sisters, our toil and hardship; we worked night and day in order not to be a burden to anyone while we preached the gospel of God to you. 10You are witnesses, and so is God, of how holy, righteous and blameless we were among you who believed. 11For you know that we dealt with each of you as a father deals with his own children, 12encouraging, comforting and urging you to live lives worthy of God, who calls you into his kingdom and glory.

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 20 2014, 05:38 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 05:39 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 20 2014, 06:31 PM)
Actually he also got a sense of humor if you know where to look for it.  tongue.gif
Got ah? where? share it biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

Gal 6: 11 ? biggrin.gif See what large letters I use as I write to you with my own hand!

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 20 2014, 05:41 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 06:27 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Seem like prophesying and preaching are used as the same definition hmm.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 06:55 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(14-9-2015 @ Oct 20 2014, 07:49 PM)
no arr.......normally prophesying is quite sudden & out of the blue & it only last for a matter of minutes  unsure.gif .
But isn't it prophesying is only by prophet? But there is no more prophet already lo nowadays. No need prohet already now since got complete bible already.
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 07:09 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(14-9-2015 @ Oct 20 2014, 07:59 PM)
Nine manifestation gifts are listed in 1st Corinthians 12:7–11:

Word of wisdom
    Word of knowledge
    Faith
    Gifts of healing
    Working of miracles
    Prophecy
    Discerning of spirits
    Divers kinds of tongues
    Interpretation of tongues

it's stil alive & well bro. strictly speaking, u dun have to b a prophet in the sense of Moses or Elijah. have u btw experienced this in your church or other church services tat u happened to attend?  hmm.gif
All these temporary spiritual gift has ceased liao. I wonder faith is hmm.gif

Anyway, if you continue to read it at chapter 13:

1 Corinthians 13 New International Version (NIV)

13 If I speak in the tongues[a] of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. 2 If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. 3 If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.

4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. 5 It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. 6 Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

8 Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease ; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.
ngaisteve1
post Oct 20 2014, 10:13 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Galatians 6 - Doing Good to All
6 Brothers and sisters, if someone is caught in a sin, you who live by the Spirit should restore that person gently. But watch yourselves, or you also may be tempted. 2 Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. 3 If anyone thinks they are something when they are not, they deceive themselves. 4 Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, 5 for each one should carry their own load. 6 Nevertheless, the one who receives instruction in the word should share all good things with their instructor.

7 Do not be deceived: God cannot be mocked. A man reaps what he sows. 8 Whoever sows to please their flesh, from the flesh will reap destruction; whoever sows to please the Spirit, from the Spirit will reap eternal life. 9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. 10 Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.

---------

Ephesians 4:15New International Version (NIV)

15 Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of him who is the head, that is, Christ

---------

Sometimes we think that we are doing the right by being direct but actually we are rather blunt (rude and insensitive). The bible teaches us to speak the truth. Yes we don't sugar-coat it but it didn't end there, it continues to say that to speak the truth IN LOVE. Meaning as we speak the truth, we also also give an assurance that we do it out of love, the let another person to realize some blind spot perhaps and not out of self-righteousness or emotion (ie anger). nod.gif

Although some information maybe distorted or 'discounted' when texting online (without communicating through face-to-face (best medium)), we can still sense whether the words(text) came out is it out of love or without (harsh). Just to share my tot icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 20 2014, 10:38 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 04:27 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Why so much intense fighting le? When want to stop?

This post has been edited by ngaisteve1: Oct 21 2014, 04:27 PM
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 04:40 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

Ephesians 4
26 “In your anger do not sin”[d]: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27 and do not give the devil a foothold. 28 Anyone who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with their own hands, that they may have something to share with those in need.

29 Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31 Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

Ephesians 6 - The Armor of God
10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

nod.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 04:44 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 05:41 PM)
Already said that in Post #2567

haha beat u to it.  tongue.gif
mad.gif vmad.gif thumbup.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 06:42 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(el-mike @ Oct 21 2014, 07:32 PM)
Hello everyone.

This has probably been asked before, but, what are your thoughts on people speaking in tongue? It has always been something that bothered me. Does it make me less of a Christian if I don't believe in it?
My reply on this at https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry70986571 nod.gif but then some got different conviction here.

ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 06:45 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(14-9-2015 @ Oct 21 2014, 07:30 PM)
WHAT?! u not happy AGAIN izit?! OK! FINE! chk ur INBOX now!  mad.gif  mad.gif  vmad.gif  vmad.gif
bruce.gif laugh.gif
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 07:41 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(el-mike @ Oct 21 2014, 08:09 PM)
I don't know. Part of me wishes that it's genuine, but after reading contradicting articles/opinions from various Christian websites;- Something about the gift of speaking in tongue is now gone, it was there during Paul's (I think) time, but nowadays, it's no more.

I have a similar stance regarding faith healers. I have doubts about them having received a gift from God to heal people, as patients who are not healed are often blamed for having not enough faith.
yeah those spiritual gift are gone. but then since this topic is denomination dependent and thread is denomination neutral, I guess it is better not to refute too much here. refute face to face better and more effective imo
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 07:50 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(de1929 @ Oct 21 2014, 08:40 PM)
Don't worry. I can guide you. But do you trust me ? My POV (point of view) is easily refuted by other "Experts" here... my suggestion, don't trust them except [Unknown Warrior]... you can trust [Unknown Warrior].... others ? No... (i am sorry if i offended many readers here)

Also, knowledge of GOD is very deep. Consider this. I have a dice. it has 6 faces. If i explain about 1st face, other can call me preaching other gospel because... i still on 1st face and i will explain 2 to 6 later on...

how long to explain all 6 faces ? it takes years brother :-) sorry to say... therefore the issue is trust. Do you trust me to guide you ?
I have to add, after listening from men, examine, cross check and compare with bible just like the bereans- acts 17:11
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 08:16 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 09:10 PM)
It got your attention tongue.gif
got mine too :-D
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 08:44 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(pehkay @ Oct 21 2014, 09:22 PM)
The indulgence in lust?

Lol .... I mentioned "may" because the incident has happens in the history of Pentecostal. The real experience of tongue speaking do get people into ecstasy.

At least I need to balance it out to say that some have testified that speaking in tongues stirred something within them to seek after Christ. This is a proper result of tongue-speaking.

But those who become addicted to tongue-speaking care only for their ecstasy. They do not care for sobriety. As a result, there are many cases of fornication among them.

There was a big case in the past in China, where a group of people practices this till they declared that they is no longer male or female. They began to dwell together, which eventually, lead to fornication.

Biblically, I think it was Saul.

"He stripped off his garments, and he too prophesied in Samuel’s presence. He lay naked all that day and all that night. This is why people say, “Is Saul also among the prophets?”

When the Spirit in the Old Testament poured on fallen flesh, there is this kind of experience.

So, those who practice this, need to realize their fallen flesh is still as active as ever.

P.S. IMHO a real spiritual and powerful Christian is one who the Lord has deal with his flesh. This requires the inner life experience of Christ. The outward outpouring of the Spirit is not very helpful without the inward essential Spirit within the believers.
interesting. didn't know this.:-D
ngaisteve1
post Oct 21 2014, 08:55 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(unknown warrior @ Oct 21 2014, 09:29 PM)
I think it really depends on the purpose why you want to speak in tongues.

It's no point to go babbling without proper understanding. I think we shouldn't do it for the sheer ecstasy,
never actually heard of that even.

Speaking in tongues is speaking to God and to God alone.
That is why the Apostle Paul spoke a lot in tongues. 1 Corinthians 14:18  - I thank God that I speak in tongues more than all of you.
just to clarify, speak in tongue = speak in different language right? ie I speak Cantonese. but when I pray, I pray in English. so can I say I pray in tongue (different language)?

14 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 >Top

0.0814sec    0.95    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:25 AM