Lightning protection, Lightning proctection in house

Momo33
post Jan 3 2022, 11:53 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 3 2022, 11:40 AM)
thanks for the explanation and agree with you on the cost of SPDs vs potential damage. Btw 3 phase it’s 450-500 for SPD. Yes I also have adaptor surge protectors. Was thinking to have two lines of Defence for sensativr appliances and the whole house SPD for fridge, ovens, lights, all other devices etc.

The other thing I’m quite confused about is the “kA” rating. Is a 40kA whole house SPD ok?
yes 40 kA is fine. mean it can handle peak 40kA current in a surge condition / microseconds.
the clamp voltage is important . lower the better .

look for the ones with a status window. if it goes dead the window will turn red. so need to change or replace the module. my guess is about 10 years life unless you get a really big surge.

Max
post Jan 3 2022, 08:19 PM

1,705 posts

After reading some info, diy .. etc..
I bought some MOV Varistors (14D471) and soldered them inside my another replacement extension plugs.
Replaced with 5A fuse in the main plug.

Hopefully it will 'work' if got strike.. 😅
Mov have lifetime.. the more it received surge/spike, even in normal use, it will shortens its life..

Momo33
post Jan 4 2022, 03:14 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 3 2022, 09:19 PM)
After reading some info, diy .. etc..
I bought some MOV Varistors (14D471) and soldered them inside my another replacement extension plugs.
Replaced with 5A fuse in the main plug.

Hopefully it will 'work' if got strike.. 😅
Mov have lifetime.. the more it received surge/spike, even in normal use, it will shortens its life..

oh good idea. thumbsup.gif
I want to try

can you comment/ check this data if suitable for as like your application . TQ

https://shopee.com.my/Varistor-Metal-Oxide-...087.10322710509

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 4 2022, 03:20 AM
Max
post Jan 4 2022, 11:46 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 4 2022, 03:14 AM)
oh  good idea.  :thumbsup:
  I want to try 

can you comment/ check  this data  if  suitable for as like your application  . TQ

https://shopee.com.my/Varistor-Metal-Oxide-...087.10322710509
Should be ok.
Overal its all generic mov.
Saw its from sabah, u in sabah?

Im using this one.
https://shopee.com.my/product/135112285/104...53-1641267822.9

Also bought the generic cheaper blue one.
Momo33
post Jan 4 2022, 01:31 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 4 2022, 12:46 PM)
Should be ok.
Overal its all generic mov.
Saw its from sabah, u in sabah?

Im using this one.
https://shopee.com.my/product/135112285/104...53-1641267822.9

Also bought the generic cheaper blue one.
I am from Subang J. KV. nod.gif

i select that 1 cos the advert has spec details that i feel are good. The other with no specs normally i skip.

Type: Metal Oxide Varistor (MOV)
Manufacturer: Nippon Chemi-con
Part Number: TNR12V471K
Element Diameter : 12MM
Max. Allowable Voltage: AC 300Vrms / DC 385V
Max. Peak Current: 4,200A @20µs
Max. Energy: 60J @2ms
Rated Wattage: 0.4W
Max Clamping Voltage: 775V @ 25A
Capacitance Typical : 345pF @1kHz
Varistor Voltage V1mA: 470V (423 ~ 517)V , ±10%

now after search again i saw this , and have chat the seller who is manufacturer as the datasheet link show many .
https://shopee.com.my/1pcs-Varistor-05D471K...1804.6578019841

Max
post Jan 4 2022, 02:46 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 4 2022, 01:31 PM)
I am from  Subang J.  KV.  nod.gif

i select that 1 cos  the advert  has spec details  that i feel are good.  The other  with no specs normally  i skip.

Type: Metal Oxide Varistor (MOV)
Manufacturer: Nippon Chemi-con
Part Number: TNR12V471K
Element Diameter : 12MM
Max. Allowable Voltage: AC 300Vrms / DC 385V
Max. Peak Current: 4,200A @20µs
Max. Energy: 60J @2ms
Rated Wattage: 0.4W
Max Clamping Voltage: 775V @ 25A
Capacitance Typical : 345pF @1kHz
Varistor Voltage V1mA: 470V (423 ~ 517)V , ±10%

now after search again  i  saw this ,  and have  chat the seller  who is  manufacturer  as the  datasheet link show many .
https://shopee.com.my/1pcs-Varistor-05D471K...1804.6578019841
Should be ok as long as from reputable elektronik component manufacturer.. or with 'electrical standard'
IMF2025
post Jan 18 2022, 11:13 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 3 2022, 11:53 AM)
yes 40 kA  is  fine.    mean it can handle  peak 40kA  current  in a surge condition / microseconds.
the clamp voltage is important . lower the better .

look for the ones  with  a  status window.  if it goes dead  the window will turn red. so need to change or replace the module.  my guess is  about 10 years life  unless you get a really big surge.
ive been reading up and trying to find out whats the difference between installing a type 2 SPD upstream vs downstream of the RCD/RCCB. Could anyone explain this to me? I understand that typically SPDs are suppose to be installed between the main CB and RCD/RCCB. Is it considered wrong to install it downstream of an RCD/RCCB? what happens when its install downstream, does it provide the necessary protection?

havent been able to find alot of info on this.
Momo33
post Jan 18 2022, 12:53 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 18 2022, 12:13 PM)
ive been reading up and trying to find out whats the difference between installing a type 2 SPD upstream vs downstream of the RCD/RCCB. Could anyone explain this to me? I understand that typically SPDs are suppose to be installed between the main CB and RCD/RCCB. Is it considered wrong to install it downstream of an RCD/RCCB? what happens when its install downstream, does it provide the necessary protection?
the recommended is between the tnb main fuse and the RCCB .
but do follow the manufacturer install guide that comes when you buy 1.

the SPD clamps the surge and bring the surge currents to ground .
this is to avoid RCCB tripping or at least minimize the trips. . if you place it before the RCCD.

if placed downstream the SPD will still function plus for sure the RCCB will also trip.

the SPD response is faster in microsec due to fully electronics compare to RCCB has relay/ slower response.

SUSceo684
post Jan 18 2022, 01:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 18 2022, 11:13 AM)
ABB, Hager, Eaton got publish a lot of SPD literature.
Basically ensure the SPD is downstream of an MCB in case it short open.
SPD put upstream of RCD because you want to shunt off the excess power. The RCD may be damaged if RCD upstream of SPD.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Jan 18 2022, 01:59 PM
IMF2025
post Jan 19 2022, 12:11 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 18 2022, 01:58 PM)
The RCD may be damaged if RCD upstream of SPD.
for this, SPD will still function as usual and provide protection to all plugs and appliances etc right? understand that RCD could be damanged so long as everything after RCD is safe.
SUSceo684
post Jan 19 2022, 09:31 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 19 2022, 12:11 PM)
for this, SPD will still function as usual and provide protection to all plugs and appliances etc right? understand that RCD could be damanged so long as everything after RCD is safe.
Based on ST literature

Therefore, the following is recommended:
1. In general, to install SPDs upstream of RCDs (RCDs installed
upstream of SPDs may operate on the expected surge currents);
2. If SPDs are installed downstream of RCDs, the expected surge
currents to earth should not exceed the immunity value of the RCD.

Based on Hager literature

Should RCD’s be required in the installation as additional
protection or to ensure the requirements of fault protection
are satisfied, then the SPD will need to be installed upstream
of the RCD. Where this cannot be avoided, the RCD should
be of the time-delayed or S-type.

I think it is best to follow the experts rather than experimenting because usual RCD type AC is instant trip, we don't use S type or time delayed in residential
IMF2025
post Jan 19 2022, 10:37 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jan 19 2022, 09:31 PM)
Based on ST literature

Therefore, the following is recommended:
1. In general, to install SPDs upstream of RCDs (RCDs installed
upstream of SPDs may operate on the expected surge currents);
2. If SPDs are installed downstream of RCDs, the expected surge
currents to earth should not exceed the immunity value of the RCD.

Based on Hager literature

Should RCD’s be required in the installation as additional
protection or to ensure the requirements of fault protection
are satisfied, then the SPD will need to be installed upstream
of the RCD. Where this cannot be avoided, the RCD should
be of the time-delayed or S-type.

I think it is best to follow the experts rather than experimenting because usual RCD type AC is instant trip, we don't use S type or time delayed in residential
Thank you. Very complicated haha

fishermanG
post Feb 22 2022, 11:59 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 20 2021, 11:41 PM)
It adds on in the main DB box. Refer 3:11 for the general diagram https://youtu.be/oa_a4HTVqoQ?t=191

Depending on what supply (1 phase or 3 phase), you need some room in the DB box (of either 2 modules width, or 4 modules width).
To create room, this may require moving around some MCB's; or if the DB box is full, a new bigger box preferably with similar layout need to be installed.

Similar layout meaning if currently u are using a 12x2 row (24 slot)
----------
----------

expand to something like a 16x2 row (or 16x3 row).
-------------

If you expand to a 27x 1 row format
------------------------------

yes,  it give u 3 more slots space as 27>24
but the problem is I dont think your existing wiring lengths can stretchhhhh that much (mostly it is just nice only, no slack).
Hence if its 12x2 row in the beginning then u need to get something that follows along the same format as the old box.

The SPD still need a bit of kung fu to do properly although its install location is confined to within the DB box.
Technically the connection is the easy part but that's assuming the customer DB box has sufficient space else need to upgrade bigger box and/or remove unused MCB to fit and move out existing MCB as the "wong wai" is closest possible to the main MCB [50cm max = shortest bestest].

https://library.e.abb.com/public/76853add5a...olutions_EN.pdf
pages 19, 21, 22, 23, 30 (see TNS/TT system diagram, Malaysia use TT).
Back-up protection dedicated to the SPD = At bare minimum, SPD must be behind at least the main MCB (for indirect strike/T2).

It is recommended to have another MCB dedicated just for the SPD alone (whilst the main MCB will take care of shorts, but additional one MCB still not expensive to implement) in case the SPD totally failed due to damage (and created a short circuit) after kena too many strikes.
Thanks for the info.

My DB doesn't have enough space to install another 4P SDP. If I pull all the 4 wires (3L + N) from (after the main MCB but before the RCCB) out of the main DB, into another small db box so I can install a new MCB (dedicated for SDP)+ the 4P SPD, does the 50cm rule apply from where I pull the 4 cables out, or from the 2nd MCB?

Saw these on Shopee; will this work? The length of those cables (3L + N + E) definitely exceeds 50cm already, unless you measure from that 2nd MCB on the right

This post has been edited by fishermanG: Mar 19 2022, 09:22 PM
SUSceo684
post Feb 23 2022, 03:11 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(fishermanG @ Feb 22 2022, 11:59 PM)
Thanks for the info.

My DB doesn't have enough space to install another 4P SDP. If I pull all the 4 wires (3L + N) from (after the main MCB but before the RCCB) out of the main DB, into another small db box so I can install a new MCB (dedicated for SDP)+ the 4P RCCB, does the 50cm rule apply from where I pull the 4 cables out, or from the 2nd MCB?

Saw these on Shopee; will this work? The length of those cables (3L + N + E) definitely exceeds 50cm already, unless you measure from that 2nd MCB on the right

Well FWIW, think I better place my trust in SPD mfgs who have a test lab to simulate lightning arcs..than someone selling on shopee.
Its kind of a rule for proper SPD installation, else they wouldn't bother to state the total length <50cm all over.
refer https://www.beama.org.uk/asset/1FE338CE-496...37F3DEA6C683C6/ page 53 onwards

How about replacing the DB box with a bigger one? Let's see what's the current configuration (share pic) first.
WhitE LighteR
post Feb 23 2022, 12:47 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(fishermanG @ Feb 22 2022, 11:59 PM)
Thanks for the info.

My DB doesn't have enough space to install another 4P SDP. If I pull all the 4 wires (3L + N) from (after the main MCB but before the RCCB) out of the main DB, into another small db box so I can install a new MCB (dedicated for SDP)+ the 4P RCCB, does the 50cm rule apply from where I pull the 4 cables out, or from the 2nd MCB?

wow. so neat wiring. really ocd wireman. thumbup.gif
fishermanG
post Mar 18 2022, 07:08 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Feb 23 2022, 03:11 AM)
Well FWIW, think I better place my trust in SPD mfgs who have a test lab to simulate lightning arcs..than someone selling on shopee.
Its kind of a rule for proper SPD installation, else they wouldn't bother to state the total length <50cm all over.
refer https://www.beama.org.uk/asset/1FE338CE-496...37F3DEA6C683C6/ page 53 onwards

How about replacing the DB box with a bigger one? Let's see what's the current configuration (share pic) first.

Was thinking of replacing it with a bigger metal clad one but unsure about the cost for upgrading the db box.

Had a huge lightning strike couple days ago - kitchen hood's board fried, couple ceiling LEDs fried.

Just bought this 3+1N T2 SPD from Saltek (FL Group is the distributor) for RM225. Czech brand, a company that specialises in SPD. I guess this is probably better than some SPD from Shopee. ABB/Hager is out of my budget. To my surprise, this is one of the few SPDs I found available in MY to have Uc of 275V, EPS has 420V, Maxguard has 340V, Scheinder 350V. Only the expensive ones like ABB/Hager has 275v. :s

I think for now, I will probably get this SPD and a dedicated MCB for this installed in a 10way DB box adjacent to it, feeding the incoming from the main MCB (before the RCCB). And, also gonna add an intermediate earth terminal block at the db box to keep it less than 50cm. All cables are of 4mm thickness.

This post has been edited by fishermanG: Mar 18 2022, 07:22 PM
yeefung
post Nov 4 2024, 02:31 PM

107 posts

I am replacing tiles of my car porch and my earthing chamber is at car porch and not shielded. My contractor is suggesting to put a floor trap above the chamber instead of fully covered with tiles. I thought it would be better to waterproof the chamber by just installing tiles on it and covered it. If touch wood access to chamber is needed, no choice but hack the tiles.

Appreciate comments. Thanks.

9 Pages « < 7 8 9Top

0.0291sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:10 PM