Lightning protection, Lightning proctection in house

Momo33
post Jul 27 2020, 03:11 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 27 2020, 03:58 PM)
Forget already.

It got to do with sensitivity and the placement of the SPDA. Either the type protect the incoming (External) before the MB or protect the internal (after the MB).
yaa Ok ... me too forgot theory , reading up but still blur ..

these days lots of lightning in KV ,,,hence time to check this out ...

Any power experts can shed some light . Thanks..

from google sweat.gif
KUALA LUMPUR: Subang which lies in the centre of a lightning dense triangle in the Meteorological Department's map for lightning density has one of the highest number of lightning incidences in the world.According to the department, Subang experiences lightning a minimum of 240 days a year.
This translates to between 25 and 40 lightning ground flashes per sq km in the area a year.
Subang resident Teoh Teik Hoong, who runs the community paper SJ Echo, said having his house tripped by lightning and seeing streaks of lightning across the sky was common.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jul 27 2020, 03:18 PM
babybaby1988
post May 10 2021, 10:48 PM

262 posts

is the above a recommended for lightning protection?
SUSceo684
post May 10 2021, 11:09 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(babybaby1988 @ May 10 2021, 10:48 PM)

is the above a recommended for lightning protection?
Wrong tool for the job. RCD (the test button is giveaway) protect against current imbalance. T2 SPD works in 8/20microseconds.

T2 SPD is always standby 24/7 with nothing to do for the user, no buttons to press, no switches to flip. Only inspect once in awhile there is still enough "life" in the window.

Example of three phase Type 2 SPD:

Whole house Type2 SPD (indirect strike) is usually what you will need.
Proper ones like Hager SPM240E/440E or ABB OVR-T2 or Schneider iPRD is supposed to be installed in the DB box, AFTER whole house MCB and BEFORE whole house RCD.

30 dollar china made unknown brand "toys" may not work well.
Generally, a good T2 SPD for single phase about 200-230 bucks, 3 phase 400-500 bucks

50cm rule of total max cable length apply for installation of T2 SPD.

RCD should only trip if there is an imbalance between the phase and neutral on the circuits/rings that are connected. The only way that it would trip in a thunderstorm were if a surge voltage due to lightning were to be induced on either the phase or neutral thus causing an imbalance. -

per https://www2.theiet.org/forums/forum/messag...&threadid=50221

Further reading on SPD..start with https://www.electrical-installation.org/enw...on_Device_(SPD)

Lots of things to read on SPD. By the time finish reading all, MCO 3 over jor laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: May 10 2021, 11:22 PM
6942nole
post May 13 2021, 07:00 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ May 10 2021, 11:09 PM)
Wrong tool for the job. RCD (the test button is giveaway) protect against current imbalance. T2 SPD works in 8/20microseconds.

T2 SPD is always standby 24/7 with nothing to do for the user, no buttons to press, no switches to flip. Only inspect once in awhile there is still enough "life" in the window.

Example of three phase Type 2 SPD:

Whole house Type2 SPD (indirect strike) is usually what you will need.
Proper ones like Hager SPM240E/440E or ABB OVR-T2 or Schneider iPRD is supposed to be installed in the DB box, AFTER whole house MCB and BEFORE whole house RCD.

30 dollar china made unknown brand "toys" may not work well.
Generally, a good T2 SPD for single phase about 200-230 bucks, 3 phase 400-500 bucks

50cm rule of total max cable length apply for installation of T2 SPD.
per https://www2.theiet.org/forums/forum/messag...&threadid=50221

Further reading on SPD..start with https://www.electrical-installation.org/enw...on_Device_(SPD)

Lots of things to read on SPD. By the time finish reading all, MCO 3 over jor laugh.gif
Thanks for sharing....

I looked into it, from JW below, this is just a simple device and should not break a bank.

ReadySteadyGo
post May 30 2021, 02:48 PM

72 posts

When I bought my house it was already post renovated and the grounding area outside the house is already overlaid with concrete. How much is it to install a new copper grounding rod?
Zack Styler
post Dec 13 2021, 12:25 AM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

am looking for SPD installation in Penang..is it any electrician can do it?

is this company still exists and recommended?

http://lightningsurgeprotectionmalaysia.com

MacSoSoft P
post Dec 16 2021, 11:58 AM

Probation
15 posts

my electrician just changed mine to Schneider Electric. previous brand not so sure
SUSceo684
post Dec 17 2021, 03:10 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Dec 13 2021, 12:25 AM)
am looking for SPD installation in Penang..is it any electrician can do it?

is this company still exists and recommended?

http://lightningsurgeprotectionmalaysia.com
Any electrician should be able to handle it.
Roughly its like this:

Zack Styler
post Dec 17 2021, 07:29 PM

Things Happen for a Reason...
1,282 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 17 2021, 03:10 AM)
Roughly its like this:
thanks..is it for 3 phase DB? for 1 phase is it the same too?

SUSceo684
post Dec 18 2021, 01:02 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Zack Styler @ Dec 17 2021, 07:29 PM)
thanks..is it for 3 phase DB? for 1 phase is it the same too?
Yes 3 phase. 1 phase delete L2 and L3.
Max
post Dec 20 2021, 11:56 AM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 17 2021, 03:10 AM)
Roughly its like this:
regarding the SPD. i see some 10-20kva, 20-40kva, 30-60kva.
which 1 is suitable to use ? any rough calculation need to be done? hmm.gif
1phase, double-storey terrace house.
my house receiving a 250(+-5v) line.
SUSceo684
post Dec 20 2021, 01:57 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Dec 20 2021, 11:56 AM)
regarding the SPD. i see some 10-20kva, 20-40kva, 30-60kva.
which 1 is suitable to use ? any rough calculation need to be done?  hmm.gif
1phase, double-storey terrace house.
my house receiving a  250(+-5v) line.
Single phase buy a 2P 40kA spec "two module width size"
The 4P "four module width size is for three phase"
Do not buy elcheapo one from china.

At minimum, also go for local brand maxguard
https://shopee.com.my/product/15390731/1108027522

Mau cantik ABB OVR T2, Hager SPM240E, Schneider
https://shopee.com.my/product/386581856/13033166073 or official mall https://shopee.com.my/product/403384113/10169243255

https://shopee.com.my/product/226439918/7961546468
https://shopee.com.my/product/311767359/8524543680

All will work fine
Then order RED BLACK GREEN mega kabel loose cut. 1 meter for each colour.
https://shopee.com.my/product/482509406/13428192556 4mm

https://shopee.com.my/product/129202704/5132067326 6mm

4mm or 6mm see SPD model say what size. But 4mm already can use lah..lightning surge is very high voltage and very low current.

Max
post Dec 20 2021, 04:01 PM

1,705 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 20 2021, 01:57 PM)

https://shopee.com.my/product/386581856/13033166073 or official mall https://shopee.com.my/product/403384113/10169243255

All will work fine

4mm or 6mm see SPD model say what size. But 4mm already can use lah..lightning surge is very high voltage and very low current.
thank u for the information.. thumbsup.gif
IMF2025
post Dec 20 2021, 10:55 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 20 2021, 01:57 PM)

All will work fine

Hello sifu, current set up I don’t have SPD, but if wanna add this device can just add-on? Any rewiring works needed? Could you pls explain to me the process of adding such a device pls ? Thank you!
SUSceo684
post Dec 20 2021, 11:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Dec 20 2021, 10:55 PM)
Hello sifu, current set up I don’t have SPD, but if wanna add this device can just add-on? Any rewiring works needed? Could you pls explain to me the process of adding such a device pls ? Thank you!
It adds on in the main DB box. Refer 3:11 for the general diagram https://youtu.be/oa_a4HTVqoQ?t=191

Depending on what supply (1 phase or 3 phase), you need some room in the DB box (of either 2 modules width, or 4 modules width).
To create room, this may require moving around some MCB's; or if the DB box is full, a new bigger box preferably with similar layout need to be installed.

Similar layout meaning if currently u are using a 12x2 row (24 slot)
----------
----------

expand to something like a 16x2 row (or 16x3 row).
-------------

If you expand to a 27x 1 row format
------------------------------

yes, it give u 3 more slots space as 27>24
but the problem is I dont think your existing wiring lengths can stretchhhhh that much (mostly it is just nice only, no slack).
Hence if its 12x2 row in the beginning then u need to get something that follows along the same format as the old box.

The SPD still need a bit of kung fu to do properly although its install location is confined to within the DB box.
Technically the connection is the easy part but that's assuming the customer DB box has sufficient space else need to upgrade bigger box and/or remove unused MCB to fit and move out existing MCB as the "wong wai" is closest possible to the main MCB [50cm max = shortest bestest].

https://library.e.abb.com/public/76853add5a...olutions_EN.pdf
pages 19, 21, 22, 23, 30 (see TNS/TT system diagram, Malaysia use TT).

Back-up protection dedicated to the SPD = At bare minimum, SPD must be behind at least the main MCB (for indirect strike/T2).

It is recommended to have another MCB dedicated just for the SPD alone (whilst the main MCB will take care of shorts, but additional one MCB still not expensive to implement) in case the SPD totally failed due to damage (and created a short circuit) after kena too many strikes.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Dec 21 2021, 12:31 AM
Max
post Dec 22 2021, 10:12 AM

1,705 posts

My SmartLife extension plug 'sacrifice itself' after some midnight thunderstorm.. even Main mcb and rccb also trip.. sweat.gif
power for Tv, Speaker and Fire Cube - all saved.

WhitE LighteR
post Dec 22 2021, 10:31 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Dec 22 2021, 10:12 AM)
My SmartLife extension plug 'sacrifice itself' after some midnight thunderstorm.. even Main mcb and rccb also trip..  sweat.gif
power for Tv, Speaker and Fire Cube - all saved.

amen thumbup.gif
IMF2025
post Jan 3 2022, 09:32 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Dec 20 2021, 11:41 PM)
It adds on in the main DB box. Refer 3:11 for the general diagram https://youtu.be/oa_a4HTVqoQ?t=191

Depending on what supply (1 phase or 3 phase), you need some room in the DB box (of either 2 modules width, or 4 modules width).
To create room, this may require moving around some MCB's; or if the DB box is full, a new bigger box preferably with similar layout need to be installed.

Similar layout meaning if currently u are using a 12x2 row (24 slot)
----------
----------

expand to something like a 16x2 row (or 16x3 row).
-------------

If you expand to a 27x 1 row format
------------------------------

yes,  it give u 3 more slots space as 27>24
but the problem is I dont think your existing wiring lengths can stretchhhhh that much (mostly it is just nice only, no slack).
Hence if its 12x2 row in the beginning then u need to get something that follows along the same format as the old box.

The SPD still need a bit of kung fu to do properly although its install location is confined to within the DB box.
Technically the connection is the easy part but that's assuming the customer DB box has sufficient space else need to upgrade bigger box and/or remove unused MCB to fit and move out existing MCB as the "wong wai" is closest possible to the main MCB [50cm max = shortest bestest].

https://library.e.abb.com/public/76853add5a...olutions_EN.pdf
pages 19, 21, 22, 23, 30 (see TNS/TT system diagram, Malaysia use TT).
Back-up protection dedicated to the SPD = At bare minimum, SPD must be behind at least the main MCB (for indirect strike/T2).

It is recommended to have another MCB dedicated just for the SPD alone (whilst the main MCB will take care of shorts, but additional one MCB still not expensive to implement) in case the SPD totally failed due to damage (and created a short circuit) after kena too many strikes.
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point and just last month have experienced quite large Lightnings around the area. Spoke to my Electricient and he said that no many people install SPD in Msia and that it might not help much. Not sure why, got me confused. Good quality/brand SPDs are not cheap. I understand if kena direct strike it won’t 100% guarantee safety, in fact SPDs are not meant to protect from direct hits. Best is still lightning rod but I got no budget for that.

Any advice if it’s worth it or not ? Thanks!

Momo33
post Jan 3 2022, 10:03 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 3 2022, 10:32 AM)
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point and just last month have experienced quite large Lightnings around the area. Spoke to my Electricient and he said that no many people install SPD in Msia and that it might not help much. Not sure why, got me confused. Good quality/brand SPDs are not cheap.  I understand if kena direct strike it won’t 100% guarantee safety, in fact SPDs are not meant to protect from direct hits. Best is still lightning rod but I got no budget for that.

Any advice if it’s worth it or not ? Thanks!
Look at MAX s posting about his power strip burnt . possible his TV would have blown if he didnt have a surge protector .

Lightning /Power surges are always happening on your power lines hence you need
add a layer of surge protection to safe guard your TV , routers etc...

1 phase SPD for whole house protection cost about 200rm . is cheap lah ... vs a burnt TV .

Direct hit on house is rare . Lighting rods are for direct hit.
SPD T2 are for suppression of power surge on the Line . which is more common happening.
Power strips like Belkins are SPD type 3 , easy to use , most are less than 5kA protection.

some statement not true.
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point

my answer . where ever the Lightning hits high point any anypoint ... the power surge gets into the tnb power lines and get into houses within that area . the surge is typical in about 20kA .
1 direct Lightning hits 1 house but the power surge can hit 500 houses in that area.

the mention electrician need to go back to School . nod.gif

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 3 2022, 10:34 AM
IMF2025
post Jan 3 2022, 10:40 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Momo33 @ Jan 3 2022, 10:03 AM)
Look at MAX s posting about his  power strip burnt .  possible his TV would have blown if he didnt have a  surge protector .

Lightning /Power surges  are always happening on your power lines hence you need
add  a layer of  surge protection to safe guard  your TV , routers  etc...

1 phase SPD  cost about 200rm .  is cheap lah ...  vs  a burnt TV .

Direct hit on house is rare .  Lighting rods  are for direct hit.
SPD T2  are for suppression  of power surge  on the Line . which is  more common happening.
Power strips like Belkins  are SPD type 3 ,    easy to use  , most are less than 5kA protection.

some statement not true.
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point

my answer .    where ever the Lightning hits  high point  any  anypoint ...  the  power surge  gets into the tnb power lines  and  get  into houses  within that area .  the surge is typical in about 20kA  .
1 direct Lightning hits  1 house  but the  power surge  can hit  500 houses in that area. 

the mention electrician  need to go back to School .  nod.gif
thanks for the explanation and agree with you on the cost of SPDs vs potential damage. Btw 3 phase it’s 450-500 for SPD. Yes I also have adaptor surge protectors. Was thinking to have two lines of Defence for sensativr appliances and the whole house SPD for fridge, ovens, lights, all other devices etc.

The other thing I’m quite confused about is the “kA” rating. Is a 40kA whole house SPD ok?

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0380sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:43 PM