Lightning protection, Lightning proctection in house

Momo33
post Jul 27 2020, 01:32 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 6 2019, 07:10 PM)
Yup. My parent apartment outside end lot wall have this copper tape running down the building. With a pvc pipe cover at the ground floor wall.

Still fried many equipment during storm.
Need some advice here..on SPD .

I am lookin to install a SPD surge device at the DB box /single phase /63A for my landed house.

What kA rating shall i chose ?

i see in shopee there is 20kA to 120kA choice.
is chosing a 100kA SPD better than 40kA

Thanks..

Momo33
post Jul 27 2020, 02:36 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 27 2020, 02:40 PM)
Std is 20ka to 40ka.

It's capacity current it can absorb.

It's better with additional earth rod.
thanks ..
the price for 60kA and 100kA is about 98rm to 108 rm .
Any issues if i go for higher current capacity .

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/schneide...3660056082.html?

Momo33
post Jul 27 2020, 03:11 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jul 27 2020, 03:58 PM)
Forget already.

It got to do with sensitivity and the placement of the SPDA. Either the type protect the incoming (External) before the MB or protect the internal (after the MB).
yaa Ok ... me too forgot theory , reading up but still blur ..

these days lots of lightning in KV ,,,hence time to check this out ...

Any power experts can shed some light . Thanks..

from google sweat.gif
KUALA LUMPUR: Subang which lies in the centre of a lightning dense triangle in the Meteorological Department's map for lightning density has one of the highest number of lightning incidences in the world.According to the department, Subang experiences lightning a minimum of 240 days a year.
This translates to between 25 and 40 lightning ground flashes per sq km in the area a year.
Subang resident Teoh Teik Hoong, who runs the community paper SJ Echo, said having his house tripped by lightning and seeing streaks of lightning across the sky was common.

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jul 27 2020, 03:18 PM
Momo33
post Jan 3 2022, 10:03 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 3 2022, 10:32 AM)
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point and just last month have experienced quite large Lightnings around the area. Spoke to my Electricient and he said that no many people install SPD in Msia and that it might not help much. Not sure why, got me confused. Good quality/brand SPDs are not cheap.  I understand if kena direct strike it won’t 100% guarantee safety, in fact SPDs are not meant to protect from direct hits. Best is still lightning rod but I got no budget for that.

Any advice if it’s worth it or not ? Thanks!
Look at MAX s posting about his power strip burnt . possible his TV would have blown if he didnt have a surge protector .

Lightning /Power surges are always happening on your power lines hence you need
add a layer of surge protection to safe guard your TV , routers etc...

1 phase SPD for whole house protection cost about 200rm . is cheap lah ... vs a burnt TV .

Direct hit on house is rare . Lighting rods are for direct hit.
SPD T2 are for suppression of power surge on the Line . which is more common happening.
Power strips like Belkins are SPD type 3 , easy to use , most are less than 5kA protection.

some statement not true.
After reading up on SPD it seems like it’s recommended especially if your house is on a high point

my answer . where ever the Lightning hits high point any anypoint ... the power surge gets into the tnb power lines and get into houses within that area . the surge is typical in about 20kA .
1 direct Lightning hits 1 house but the power surge can hit 500 houses in that area.

the mention electrician need to go back to School . nod.gif

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 3 2022, 10:34 AM
Momo33
post Jan 3 2022, 11:53 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 3 2022, 11:40 AM)
thanks for the explanation and agree with you on the cost of SPDs vs potential damage. Btw 3 phase it’s 450-500 for SPD. Yes I also have adaptor surge protectors. Was thinking to have two lines of Defence for sensativr appliances and the whole house SPD for fridge, ovens, lights, all other devices etc.

The other thing I’m quite confused about is the “kA” rating. Is a 40kA whole house SPD ok?
yes 40 kA is fine. mean it can handle peak 40kA current in a surge condition / microseconds.
the clamp voltage is important . lower the better .

look for the ones with a status window. if it goes dead the window will turn red. so need to change or replace the module. my guess is about 10 years life unless you get a really big surge.

Momo33
post Jan 4 2022, 03:14 AM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 3 2022, 09:19 PM)
After reading some info, diy .. etc..
I bought some MOV Varistors (14D471) and soldered them inside my another replacement extension plugs.
Replaced with 5A fuse in the main plug.

Hopefully it will 'work' if got strike.. 😅
Mov have lifetime.. the more it received surge/spike, even in normal use, it will shortens its life..

oh good idea. thumbsup.gif
I want to try

can you comment/ check this data if suitable for as like your application . TQ

https://shopee.com.my/Varistor-Metal-Oxide-...087.10322710509

This post has been edited by Momo33: Jan 4 2022, 03:20 AM
Momo33
post Jan 4 2022, 01:31 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(Max @ Jan 4 2022, 12:46 PM)
Should be ok.
Overal its all generic mov.
Saw its from sabah, u in sabah?

Im using this one.
https://shopee.com.my/product/135112285/104...53-1641267822.9

Also bought the generic cheaper blue one.
I am from Subang J. KV. nod.gif

i select that 1 cos the advert has spec details that i feel are good. The other with no specs normally i skip.

Type: Metal Oxide Varistor (MOV)
Manufacturer: Nippon Chemi-con
Part Number: TNR12V471K
Element Diameter : 12MM
Max. Allowable Voltage: AC 300Vrms / DC 385V
Max. Peak Current: 4,200A @20µs
Max. Energy: 60J @2ms
Rated Wattage: 0.4W
Max Clamping Voltage: 775V @ 25A
Capacitance Typical : 345pF @1kHz
Varistor Voltage V1mA: 470V (423 ~ 517)V , ±10%

now after search again i saw this , and have chat the seller who is manufacturer as the datasheet link show many .
https://shopee.com.my/1pcs-Varistor-05D471K...1804.6578019841

Momo33
post Jan 18 2022, 12:53 PM

1,448 posts

QUOTE(IMF2025 @ Jan 18 2022, 12:13 PM)
ive been reading up and trying to find out whats the difference between installing a type 2 SPD upstream vs downstream of the RCD/RCCB. Could anyone explain this to me? I understand that typically SPDs are suppose to be installed between the main CB and RCD/RCCB. Is it considered wrong to install it downstream of an RCD/RCCB? what happens when its install downstream, does it provide the necessary protection?
havent been able to find alot of info on this.
the recommended is between the tnb main fuse and the RCCB .
but do follow the manufacturer install guide that comes when you buy 1.

the SPD clamps the surge and bring the surge currents to ground .
this is to avoid RCCB tripping or at least minimize the trips. . if you place it before the RCCD.

if placed downstream the SPD will still function plus for sure the RCCB will also trip.

the SPD response is faster in microsec due to fully electronics compare to RCCB has relay/ slower response.

0.0269sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 12:33 AM