Working in Singapore V16, Badminton 04th Oct @ Sportshub

TSdeodorant
post Aug 22 2014, 05:06 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Aug 22 2014, 04:34 PM)
So you opened the account with your EP card or just IPA?
I remember the DBS ppl needed my malaysia IC as well for some reason.
TSdeodorant
post Aug 23 2014, 09:34 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(trade_mark @ Aug 23 2014, 07:30 PM)
I'll be moving to Singapore in October, will be looking for room to rent in the next coming weeks, was wondering if anyone can recommend any good and reliable house agents?
We got our own resident agent AlaskanBunny, service guarantee good one. And his dupe sgrealestate also.
TSdeodorant
post Aug 25 2014, 04:59 PM

5,691 posts

Hi guys,

What's the best sim to go for now to maintain minimal usage Malaysia number? My Hotlink SIM card died liao, number kena recycled. I previously used to buy 1 year validity to keep the number alive but recently "upgraded" to the #hotlink plan which apparently isn't eligible to buy validity doh.gif
TSdeodorant
post Aug 28 2014, 09:56 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(rcr @ Aug 28 2014, 12:41 AM)
Earn extra SGD in Singapore.
GRAPHIC DESIGNER URGENTLY NEEDED - Work at home in Singapore
Greetings!
Hi, our company is looking for a full-time or part-time graphic designer.
puppyee
TSdeodorant
post Aug 29 2014, 04:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Aug 29 2014, 12:54 PM)
However I believe the situation will be better after I obtained PR. My bro was quite suffering with low pay before he got the PR, but after he got it now he is heading to stat board with good pay.
Haven't even step foot in SG already dreaming about PR? hmm.gif Keep applying lo. Certain fields like finance is close to impossible to get in now for fresh grad due to all the backlash against FT. Not too sure about eng companies. Set yourself a target date, if by certain months no luck then apply KL or JB to at least get some income and work experience in the meantime lo.
TSdeodorant
post Aug 31 2014, 12:20 PM

5,691 posts

Next week Badminton
7th Sept 3-5pm Bendeemer Secondary School
PM me if interested
TSdeodorant
post Sep 5 2014, 01:39 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sheng291 @ Sep 5 2014, 01:30 PM)
btw any1 know what's the criteria, or what their gov emphasize on? salary? job scope? years in spore? etc?

There are no officially published PR approval criteria. Anecdotally, Malaysians, SG Uni graduates, high tax payers have a better chance but nobody can tell you for sure what the emphasis is.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 5 2014, 10:31 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(night_wolf_in @ Sep 5 2014, 05:55 PM)
ah, that makes more sense. how much lower? 20% 40%? First offer i got from X company was 60% cut in XX. now, Y company is talking about 40% cut from my current XX. i feel this is a lot of cut
rather than trying to cut here cut there, benchmark your offer $ amount against what the market is paying to see if it's fair or not lo. http://stats.mom.gov.sg/Pages/Occupational...ables-2012.aspx
TSdeodorant
post Sep 6 2014, 12:27 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(poor_engineer @ Sep 6 2014, 10:27 AM)
Anyone know when a SPR couple buy resale hdb, the 3 years waiting rule applied to both husband and wife or anyone from them has obtained pr more than 3 years is good enough?

QUOTE(hitsugaya2010 @ Sep 6 2014, 10:42 AM)
I think it's both.. =)

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Sep 6 2014, 10:53 AM)
you need two ppl to buy, so it applies to both. I think by the time 3 years is almost up since it was announced, they probably gonna extent it to 5 maybe ?

hitsu and 7 for all mankind are correct, it applies to both. so if your PR > 10 years but your wife PR today approve u still gotta wait 3 years.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 8 2014, 11:35 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ahtom82 @ Sep 8 2014, 11:24 AM)
I'm planning to just tell my current employer that I haven't found any job yet and still finding locally so that they won't hold my last pay.

In the first place why do you need to tell your current employer anything?
TSdeodorant
post Sep 12 2014, 08:48 AM

5,691 posts

How much pay "increase" (without converting) would you need to go back to Malaysia?
1.5x (e.g. you earning sgd5k now, go back for rm7.5k)? 2.0x?
TSdeodorant
post Sep 12 2014, 10:22 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(zeng @ Sep 12 2014, 07:41 PM)
Anyone mind providing the links please ? notworthy.gif

fuh super necro old post hmm.gif
PR now need 3 years (both husband and wife) before can buy resale
And yes, also cannot own any private residential property anywhere.
Want link just google, easy to find.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 13 2014, 12:50 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Sep 13 2014, 10:51 AM)
Talking about PR, how difficult it is for a Malaysian on E-Pass to apply for PR nowadays?

Very easy. just make eappointment then submit your documents then gaudim, you've applied for PR!
TSdeodorant
post Sep 13 2014, 07:26 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Sep 13 2014, 04:30 PM)
As far as I know, this job is not advertised on the JobsBank (I checked).

I thought you need Singpass to login to jobsbank, how you check? hmm.gif

Anyway it's anyone's guess how effective the jobsbank actually is with regards to FCF. As an example, in my company (a 70k+ employee MNC), any internal job posting they MUST advertise it on the intranet for 2 weeks as per HR policy. Yet half or more of these internal ads actually they already have decided on a candidate and are just wayang to waste everyone's time for formalities' sake.

If you go to sinkie forums like HWZ, everyone thinks the jobsbank also wayang only and companies will just continue hiring foreigners just with an added formalities step of "oops I put on jobsbank but no suitable candidate apply from there also."

TSdeodorant
post Sep 13 2014, 07:28 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(LiangZhuge @ Sep 13 2014, 01:52 PM)
My thinking .. say you start work at 20 until 55 (35 years)

How many people actually retire at 55 though? My dad this year 67 still working. But of course that's also partially cos he has 5 kids, 3 of which are still schooling / in uni lol.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 14 2014, 09:25 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Fiona Chin @ Sep 13 2014, 11:57 PM)
Why your father's kids' high flying eldest or 2nd brother never help to lighten up the family burden?

cos our adopted home now most expensive city in the world but my salary only $30k pa, how to lighten family burden when sendiri oso need to do karang guni part time on weekends?

TSdeodorant
post Sep 14 2014, 10:09 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ Sep 14 2014, 09:54 AM)
30k pa should be enough to help family in M"sia d right?
my rental alone is 26k
TSdeodorant
post Sep 14 2014, 03:53 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(highwind85 @ Sep 14 2014, 11:09 AM)
haha..I don't mean than..I mean how likely will the application be approved?

Nobody can say for sure since SG doesn't publish acceptance criteria. For all we know the ICA has a team randomly approving applications based on how handsome (or pretty) you look. Having said that a few websites arbitrarily recommend 1 year for PEP/P1 EP, 2 years for P2 and 3 years for Q1. For me on P2 EP, I applied after 1.5 years work, my waifu on Q1 EP applied after 1.0 years, both of us got approved.

QUOTE(xabi14 @ Sep 14 2014, 02:16 PM)
How many year to work in sg in order to apply pr?

since you need to submit 6 months payslip, so 6 months work then u can apply PR.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 15 2014, 03:14 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(CandyCrushLYN @ Sep 15 2014, 02:17 PM)
hello all, may I ask, if i resign without a new job in SG, I can only stay here for 30 days to look for a new job?
Do I need to inform my landlord that i resigned?
Do I need to pay current year tax now? or can wait until the tax filing date?

1. yes
2. yes. if your rental with landlord has rental agreement and your agent was doing his job, there should be a clause that allow u to break your lease halfway because u no longer have immigration rights to stay and rent in SG
3. not sure of the details but typically your company will withhold the whole year's tax from your salary and use it to pay IRAS.
TSdeodorant
post Sep 15 2014, 03:16 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Sep 15 2014, 09:18 AM)
U still left with 4k to send home to help lighten the burden mah...

yeah, but remember, the whole discussion started from me saying my dad can't retire at 55 and need to work to support the 3 studying children ... my $4k a year isn't gonna be able to support them mah tongue.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0575sec    1.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 10:36 AM