21 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

bbgoat
post Aug 1 2014, 06:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2014, 05:32 PM)

Record your SA last transaction dates on your dairy so you won't forget.
I do the same for my FDs.
I started doing that 2 weeks ago to track my SA.................... cry.gif

QUOTE(idoblu @ Aug 1 2014, 05:54 PM)
I do hate how CIMB's FD cert is tissue thin.....hmmm...
RHB FD cert also rather thin. Save more trees ! tongue.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 1 2014, 06:22 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2014, 06:15 PM)
When I showed your posting to my buddies, all of us laughed.... biggrin.gif   
Thanks for the fun...  biggrin.gif
I am crying over so many RM deducted by banks as calculated by you some days back ! cry.gif

A big lesson indeed. Never ignore any accounts in bank. At one time also got money sent to BNM but no notice received from bank. Just have to let it go as troublesome to claim back from BNM. sad.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 1 2014, 06:23 PM
bbgoat
post Aug 1 2014, 06:37 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(X_hunter @ Aug 1 2014, 06:24 PM)
They never sent me any letters all these years, except the letter about FD account being dormant too long.
Yealo, plan to take out everything and close the account.
Previous years did receive reminder from HSBC,MBB & PBB. Then took action to re-activate.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2014, 06:31 PM)
Oh...  sad.gif  I am sorry to hear about this..

What kind of money was sent to BNM?
FD? Saving account?

Regardless how troublesome is it, I suggest you to claim back the money
since it is your money, unless the money is too small for you..
It is a SA. Not much in there. Need to get Commissioner for Oath to sign documents etc. Troublesome, just let it go. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2014, 08:44 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 1 2014, 07:58 PM)
Some banks will send remainder if inactive for long time. Hong Leong bank does that. Worst is Bank Simpanan. No news about your account until you go to check it out. My B Simpanan money was sent to BNM and with the help of the bank, I managed to get back the money without interest. It is not troublesome and BNM quite efficient.
Every country has its own system on unclaimed money. If your money is in US and inactive, the bank or financial institutions will send to the unclaimed money section, can't remember the exact name. You can check your unclaimed money at the website. Many Malaysian and Singaporean left a lot of  unclaimed money, not big amount in the US
As it is small amount and have to pay to get signature (Commissioner for Oath), found not worth the effort to claim back the money. smile.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2014, 08:08 PM)
Oh..I heard if more than 7 years no active, banks will send the money
to BN. Is you SA more than 7 years no active?

I think our ancestors must have some valuable things hidden in some where
that we are still not aware of. For examples like FD cert, cash, jewelry, SA book,
property title, share cert..  sad.gif

I believe nobody can inherit 100% of their ancestors' money, some money will be missing
in somewhere; unless our ancestors can plan and manage well and pass the money to the next generations..
The SA is >7 years. It was in MBB's branch which at that time I did not visit for a long long time.

For those of us who have accounts outside of M'sia ( US, UK, Australia etc), need to make sure someone know about them. If you are called away and no one knows about it, nothing can be done. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2014, 08:53 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 1 2014, 11:42 PM)
I thought MBSB and BR would revise their FD rates after Hari Raya, but they did not.. hmm.gif
When are they going to revise..?  sweat.gif
I am also waiting for them to change especially MBSB. So that means for those banks that offer "promo" rates, with OPR increase they may not increase their FD rate. Or will it be later ? hmm.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2014, 09:33 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Aug 2 2014, 09:12 AM)
With 4.7% rate in hand, you cannot lose out even with any increase offered by any bank ......how much extra can they offer?  who can offer higher than 4.7% rate?

Waiting will only keep your money half work half sleep, i put mine to work at maximum level........get to that higher rate (if there is any) with  your next FD when it matures...
I did not disagree with your point. I am waiting for FD maturity, then target to put in Affin 15 months and then MBSB. Hopefully for MBSB, before the CIMB merger ! smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 2 2014, 12:13 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 2 2014, 11:13 AM)
It is possible that MBSB 4.7% will revise to higher rate if 2nd OPR increase.
But they might not revise if they think their 4.7% is still attractive.
In my opinion, if 2nd OPR increase, most likely MBSB 4.7% will increase, maybe
up to 4.8% or 4.85%?  hmm.gif

If I can recall it right, the lowest rate of MBSB's 5 years FD was around 4.2 or 4.3%,
the highest was 5.5% few years ago.

If OPR increase by another 0.25%, likely for MBSB to increase, if they still exist as an entity. hmm.gif brows.gif Meaning they have not merged with CIMB.

Ai, hopefully there is no merging so that they can still offer the high 5 yrs FD rate. rclxms.gif

5.5% ! I missed that ! drool.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2014, 08:49 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Aug 3 2014, 07:32 AM)
Since all my. FD is auto renewal upon maturity period,  so the bank will automatically adjust the fd rate accordingly right due to OPR increase right?
Bank will auto renew to the board rate, it will be the higher rate if they adjust it. But some bank may not adjust it in relation to OPR increase or late in doing so. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2014, 02:00 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2014, 01:22 PM)
Oh... I was not aware RHB 15 months FD pays interest every 3 months,
3 months interest pay out is quite tempting..

Pros for RHB 15 months:
(1) Pay interest every 3 months

Cons for RHB 15 months:
(1) 3 months hold period in CASA (need to chase one more musical chair sweat.gif )
(2) Merging issue

Versus
Affin 15 months: 4.05% pure FD

Conclusion:
RHB is good for big amount of FD
Affin is more straight forward and less headache

Thanks for the info  thumbup.gif

Yes, RHB pays out every 3 months interest and then the rate change every 3 months. At the end of every 3 months, we have the option to terminate. But the rate will only be really high for the last 3 months. So unless someone needs the money, should continue till maturity. smile.gif

For the 5% hold, 3 months later just have to seek for another FD promo ! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 3 2014, 02:02 PM
bbgoat
post Aug 3 2014, 07:28 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2014, 03:01 PM)
All our members here are rich and famous professionals (but excluding me), they will provide
accurate and update information.

Include our ambassador BCC ! rclxms.gif Don't be so humble lah brows.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 3 2014, 03:53 PM)
Top Goat, I think the only advantage of RHB is merely their 3 months interest.
If let me to choose OCBC, Affin or RHB? I will probably choose like this:

(1) Affin - I prefer shorter tenure now
(2) OCBC - if I have no choice
(3) RHB - This one..? Ai..  sweat.gif  Need to think about it first..
It looks to me you are looking at 3 to 6 months max, while waiting for OPR to go up again, right ? brows.gif

To me, for next 1 to 2 months I will go with Affin & MBSB. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 3 2014, 07:40 PM
bbgoat
post Aug 6 2014, 07:47 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 5 2014, 09:28 PM)
2 days ago Went to RHB inquired on the 15 month step up FD. Average up the FD for 15 month is roughly 4%. The plus side of their step up is you can stop anytime after 3,6,9,12 months.

For simplicity calculation and ignoring the 5% FD in CASA,

3 months  <3.48%
6 months  <3.58%
9 months <3.68%
12 months <3.78%

5% FD in CASA should not be a concern. With the banks competing for FD, who knows after 3 months there will be a better offer.

For 10k FD, 5% means only 500
For 100k FD, 5% is RM5k. Should not matter much if there is a drop in FD rate when mature.

My RHB FD mature tomorrow. Most likely I will go for 12 months if their 3.88% FD promo still available.
Yes, can stop after 3,6,9,12 months. Good for changing to new FD/FD promo or those that may need the fund later.

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Aug 5 2014, 10:16 PM)
Called them and the staff said it's eligible for OMG and currently 2X chance as part of Merdeka promotion
Great !
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Aug 6 2014, 12:13 AM)
Much choices to make..  I wonder if the same promo is available at Affin Islamic bank..

Like gsc mentioned, the 5% is just a small amount, so it can either be IBGed out or put in e-FD.

True, long term would be rewarding, only a hassle at the moment.
5% is not much and as you said can use IBG to xfer the fund out. For me I will use check to place FD elsewhere.

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 6 2014, 12:22 AM)
I doubt RHB 3.88% for 1 year is still available..?  hmm.gif
I remember their staff told me the promo is till end of Aug. smile.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 6 2014, 06:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 6 2014, 06:28 PM)
Analysts say OPR hike likely

BANKERS and financial analysts expect another adjustment to the overnight policy rate (OPR) by year-end from Bank Negara Malaysia, and Standard Chartered Bank Group Wealth Management chief investment strategist Steve Brice says one should be looking at November as the time for the possible announcement of another rate rise of 25 basis points again.

“We are looking at a November-ish date for the next rate hike, but we don’t believe this is the start of a massive tightening cycle, here.

“Probably, there is one more to come and that is most likely it,” he said in an interview yesterday.

http://www.nst.com.my/node/20337
Thanks for the "good" news ! rclxms.gif

BCC, November another OPR increase. Not Sept ? brows.gif So have to put in short term ?

I think I will still go with Affin & MBSB for FD maturing soon before Nov month. thumbup.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 6 2014, 10:11 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 6 2014, 06:44 PM)
those with FD happy, those with loans  cry.gif

Sept kinda too near, Nov is quite good time if BNM do change the OPR then icon_rolleyes.gif
Ya, those with loans will not be happy for sure. sad.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 7 2014, 08:01 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Aug 7 2014, 12:13 AM)
I will take at least 3 months because I think banks will take time to respond
to OPR change; furthermore it is quite tiring for me to keep track and update
my FD every month.
Must be too many FD certs to track. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 7 2014, 12:19 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Aug 7 2014, 12:04 PM)
If you have taken up the stepup FD to 12 months, you most likely will not cash out becos the next  3months you will get 5.38%. So effectively u get > 4% even with the CASA thingy.
The last step up rate is the most attractive one. drool.gif So those who have it till 12 months would not have taken it out other than urgent needs. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 7 2014, 02:29 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Aug 7 2014, 01:10 AM)
Renewed and top up my RHB FD for 12 months at 3.88% yesterday. The step up after 12 months will get slightly less than 3.78%. This is because of the 5% FD to be placed in CASA.
I thought no need CASA for the 12 mth 3.88% FD ? hmm.gif hmm.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 7 2014, 02:24 PM)
At. RHB now.
[attachmentid=4084690]
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2014, 04:39 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 8 2014, 04:31 PM)
yup, Nov BNM meeting there's might be some changes in OPR rate  icon_rolleyes.gif

3 months to go for another FD rate going up in conjunction with OPR ! rclxms.gif drool.gif
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2014, 04:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 8 2014, 04:37 PM)
those with loans  cry.gif  cry.gif
Always the case, some happy, some sad !
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2014, 04:41 PM

6,614 posts

Deleted. Sorry double post due to flood control of the forum.

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Aug 8 2014, 04:47 PM
bbgoat
post Aug 8 2014, 05:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Aug 8 2014, 04:47 PM)
Could the the last one tis NOV, after than maybe maintain for some period to see the impact of GST & others
Economic data will determine the movement of OPR. smile.gif

21 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0271sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 11:20 PM