Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1

BoomChaCha
post May 17 2014, 06:51 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 17 2014, 06:11 PM)
Best is to call BR on the "lost" interest for this month. I did not ask the BR ABM directly on this in my last call.

Based on what I heard from BR, there are more people affected. Also some other people on this forum did mention they are affected. Cannot be just the 2 of us, ha ha ha.  biggrin.gif
Oh..but I have not heard any other forum members are complaining about this matter..? except two of us..

I asked Top Cat, he said he was not affected..
The Guy also did not say anything...
tbheng did not complain...
magika keeps quiet, so I assume he is not affected..
Warrior HJebat also did not say anything...
gchowyh also did not complain...
Top Flo keeps quiet too...

Who else..? hmm.gif

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 17 2014, 06:15 PM)
Ask all BR depositors here, if all of them didn't receive the div as per scheduled time, it can be a serious indication.
Defaulting a scheduled div payment can be due to technical glitch but it can be also due to tight cash flow.
A healthy banking system shouldn't have this kind of alarming indication.
I do not think it is due to tight cash flow la... biggrin.gif so scary meh..?
Because I received 15 days (16th to 30th of May, my 4 FD maturity date is 16th) advanced dividend on 1st May..,
but no dividend from BR since after 1st May...

I think it is BR technical glitch... hmm.gif
bbgoat
post May 17 2014, 06:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 17 2014, 06:51 PM)
Oh..but I have not heard any other forum members are complaining about this matter..? except two of us..

Who else..?  hmm.gif

Ha ha ha, as I said before, we are NOT the only 2 affected. If really so, then

cheers.gif rclxms.gif

But not all FD certs are affected also ........................................... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 17 2014, 07:00 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 17 2014, 07:04 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 17 2014, 06:59 PM)
Ha ha ha, as I said before, we are NOT the only 2 affected. If really so, then

cheers.gif   rclxms.gif

But not all FD certs are affected also ........................................... hmm.gif
It looks like only two of us are affected in this forum so far... I mean the rest of members did not complain
because they are not affected....

All my FD certs are affected, except one FD cert that needs to put in dividend manually..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 17 2014, 07:05 PM
bbgoat
post May 17 2014, 07:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 17 2014, 07:04 PM)
It looks like only two of us are affected in this forum so far... I mean the rest of members did not complain
because they are not affected....

All my FD certs are affected, except one FD cert that needs to put in dividend manually..
In may be limited number of people affected, as those affected has to be asking for monthly interest as well. Remember not all FD cert for monthly interest affected. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 17 2014, 07:07 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 17 2014, 07:13 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 17 2014, 07:06 PM)
In may be limited number of people affected, as those affected has to be asking for monthly interest as well. Remember not all FD cert for monthly interest affected.  smile.gif
I just called BR 30 minutes ago, but the person picked-up the phone asked me to call them tomorrow..
So I will call BR tomorrow to find out, then I will let you know..

guy3288
post May 17 2014, 08:44 PM

5,847 posts

i dont think u guys have to worry. mine all not affected the last time i checked on 30.4.2014, my wife's only 1 cert affected. straight away we emailed the manager. He explained it's due to the HQ trying to revert back to paying FDs' interest on 1st of every month, may be in stages, so some affected some not, finally all will, if their plan goes through. This is a silly system as it can confuse you when you have so many certs on various days of the month and you find it hard to identify which interest for which cert.

So that FD was dated 28th. and interest was "missing" on 28.4.14. The system for some funny reason credited a lesser amount of it on 23.4.2014 (your so called "advance"), later on, the remainder on 1.5.2014, added up it was the correct amount as expected.

May be end of this month when i check again, more FDs will be affected, but no worries you get your dues at the end the same.

There shouldn't be a case of BR owing you interest, or forget to pay or will only pay you next month...check you own account carefully, likely the interest paid in May 2014 were partial, and the remainder will come on 1.6.2014.
esy
post May 17 2014, 08:59 PM

160 posts

... not really guys - I am actually on monthly interest as well as yearly, but haven't reach a one year term with BR yet. Maybe, it effect those that have renew their 2nd term which somehow fall under those "1st-date-month-interest-paying-glitch" - just a thought ... if I were you guys affected by the BR not flexi system, I would just close the account, get what ever interest and start afresh in their system again. Just like pressing the reset button when the computer hang. Need to watch my account with them when my term is up. Personally, I would think it is really messy to try changing every each account to the 1st of each month in calculation ...
esy
post May 17 2014, 09:05 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 17 2014, 08:44 PM)
i dont think u guys have to worry. mine all not affected the last time i checked on 30.4.2014, my wife's only 1 cert affected. straight away we emailed the manager. He explained it's due to the HQ trying to revert back to paying FDs' interest  on 1st of every month, may be in stages, so some affected some not, finally all will, if their plan goes through.  This is a silly system as it can confuse you when you have so many certs on various days of the month and you find it hard to identify which interest for which cert.

So that FD was dated 28th. and interest was "missing" on 28.4.14. The system for some funny reason credited a lesser amount of it on 23.4.2014 (your so called "advance"), later on, the remainder on 1.5.2014, added up it was the correct amount as expected.

May be end of this month when i check again, more FDs will be affected, but no worries you get your dues at the end the same.

There  shouldn't be a case of BR owing you interest, or forget to pay or will only pay you next month...check you own account carefully, likely the interest  paid in May 2014 were partial, and the remainder will come on 1.6.2014.
... hummm ... need to keep a watchful eyes on mine then ... so far nothing out from the norm yet ...
aeiou228
post May 17 2014, 09:40 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 17 2014, 06:51 PM)

Who else..?  hmm.gif
I do not think it is due to tight cash flow la...  biggrin.gif  so scary meh..?
Because I received 15 days (16th to 30th of May, my 4 FD maturity date is 16th) advanced dividend on 1st May..,
but no dividend from BR since after 1st May...

I think it is BR technical glitch... hmm.gif
Sorry for pressing the panic button. I hope it was just a technical glitch. Just want to remind you guys to be on full alert as early as possible when such indication first surfaced.
Hard earned money wor...don't play play. sweat.gif sweat.gif
Usually, defaulting a promised income/div payment is never a good indication especially for those MLM companies, ponzi scheme, gold investment, grower scheme. Of course we can't compare those companies with BR.
Last year BR's total deposit taking was about RM67 billion, FD interest payment must be quite substantial.
https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/ban...ements_2013.pdf
Human Nature
post May 17 2014, 09:52 PM

- student of human nature -
26,520 posts

Hmm, I better ask my mum to check too as the saving account is under her name. So the issue is that the monthly interest is not credited. Should be able to detect from the account book correct?
bbgoat
post May 17 2014, 10:01 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ May 17 2014, 08:44 PM)
i dont think u guys have to worry. mine all not affected the last time i checked on 30.4.2014, my wife's only 1 cert affected. straight away we emailed the manager. He explained it's due to the HQ trying to revert back to paying FDs' interest  on 1st of every month, may be in stages, so some affected some not, finally all will, if their plan goes through.  This is a silly system as it can confuse you when you have so many certs on various days of the month and you find it hard to identify which interest for which cert.

There  shouldn't be a case of BR owing you interest, or forget to pay or will only pay you next month...check you own account carefully, likely the interest  paid in May 2014 were partial, and the remainder will come on 1.6.2014.
BCC, see, more people affected. But I would not worry about it. Not now. smile.gif

QUOTE(Human Nature @ May 17 2014, 09:52 PM)
Hmm, I better ask my mum to check too as the saving account is under her name. So the issue is that the monthly interest is not credited. Should be able to detect from the account book correct?
Sure can see from the passbook. Online account will be easier if you have one as you can check the various date of the month. smile.gif
BoomChaCha
post May 18 2014, 12:41 AM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ May 17 2014, 09:40 PM)
Sorry for pressing the panic button.  I hope it was just a technical glitch. Just want to remind you guys to be on full alert as early as possible when such indication first surfaced.
Hard earned money wor...don't play play. sweat.gif  sweat.gif   
Usually, defaulting a promised income/div payment is never a good indication especially for those MLM companies, ponzi scheme, gold investment, grower scheme. Of course we can't compare those companies with BR. 
Last year BR's total deposit taking was about RM67 billion, FD interest payment must be quite substantial.
https://s3-ap-southeast-1.amazonaws.com/ban...ements_2013.pdf
Agree... sweat.gif .. I do not think this is a good sign either; especially this is a very bad service when no official letter
send out from BR to inform depositors about the recent change of dividend pay date, and I feel like they do not respect
their customers.. mad.gif

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 17 2014, 10:01 PM)
BCC, see, more people affected. But I would not worry about it. Not now.  smile.gif
In fact, I am more worried about BR's professionalism and the way they run their business.. sad.gif

bbgoat
post May 18 2014, 09:02 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 18 2014, 12:41 AM)
Agree...  sweat.gif .. I do not think this is a good sign either; especially this is a very bad service when no official letter
send out from BR to inform depositors about the recent change of dividend pay date, and I feel like they do not respect
their customers..  mad.gif
In fact, I am more worried about BR's professionalism and the way they run their business..  sad.gif
My opinion only. Have been and is customer of various banks. Each has its own strength and weaknesses. Even Citibank got into trouble years ago and I have to pull out my hard earned money (but still maintain as Citigold customer) then put back in when the situation changes.

Service wise, some are good, some are not so good. All human dependent and the bank culture as well.

As to BR, good and bad. Whether it is having any problem, still early to judge. It could be the IT issue that the BR ABM told me. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 18 2014, 09:03 AM
wodenus
post May 18 2014, 09:22 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(esy @ May 17 2014, 08:09 AM)
BR is not really a "big-gungho-commercial-bank" like the rest. So, I personally do expect flaw here and there, but it is not as though other "so-call-pro-banks" is that good in service as well ...  sleep.gif ...

At least they don't shortchange you.

wodenus
post May 18 2014, 09:24 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 18 2014, 12:41 AM)
Agree...  sweat.gif .. I do not think this is a good sign either; especially this is a very bad service when no official letter
their customers..  mad.gif
In fact, I am more worried about BR's professionalism and the way they run their business..  sad.gif
Yea lack of professionalism.. that's what it is. It will kind of suck if you have to check the amount every month.
esy
post May 18 2014, 03:27 PM

160 posts

... some "roti-canai-enterprises" make better returns in percentage profit than "so-call-million-ringgit-capital-setup-enterprises" lah. I am quite sure you guys know BR recently declare a good pre tax profit. I don't think they can do this declare to syok-syok everybody, eh. Banks are not easily fall as I am quite sure all of them is well monital by central bank, and once in a while you do see new policy to curb them before they get themself out of hand -- which these banks do get too greedy ...

Just in case some don't know:

--> Bank Rakyat declares 15% dividend, records RM2.13 billion pre-tax profit

*** Just my 2cent thoughts here and please do your own cross reference in making decision ...

This post has been edited by esy: May 18 2014, 03:28 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 18 2014, 05:54 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 18 2014, 09:02 AM)
My opinion only. Have been and is customer of various banks. Each has its own strength and weaknesses. Even Citibank got into trouble years ago and I have to pull out my hard earned money (but still maintain as Citigold customer) then put back in when the situation changes.

Service wise, some are good, some are not so good. All human dependent and the bank culture as well.

As to BR, good and bad. Whether it is having any problem, still early to judge. It could be the IT issue that the BR ABM told me.  smile.gif
Yes, agree. There is no perfect bank in the world...

Last time the Citibank RM put my FD into 2 different FD maturity dates when I submitted my 2 checks to
him on the same day. later I called him to complain, and he explained to me that he was rushing to
meet another customer so he only managed to submit one check to the counter just right before 4.00pm.
Consequently, I lost 2 days FD interest because of his lousy service.. mad.gif

Another case was couples years ago when I walked in Citibank premier customer counter, a bacha singh
security guard came to me and raised his hand to block me from approaching to the premier customer counter, and
he asked me to go down to the regular counter on down stair, then I had to show him something (I forgot what did
I show him, I think Citibank premier card or some document related to premier account..), then he did not say anything
and allowed me to go to premier customer counter, but I did not scold him; I think if somebody else would scold him
gao gao for embarrassing and insulting customer. I guess the reason why this bacha singh blocked me was because
of my dressing or he probably felt like I was a poor old man or something..? sweat.gif

Now back to Bank Rakyat dividend case:
After called to BR customer service and within 15 minutes, a customer service (I think a manager or senior, quite polite with
a tender tone) called me back to confirm that BR has changed to a new system. He said from now on, all FD dividends will
credit during 1st day of the month.

If I heard this correctly from him, if FD matures on 14th of the month, and if want to uplift matured FD on 14th,
then 14 days dividend will be paid on the same day when uplifting FD.

QUOTE(wodenus @ May 18 2014, 09:24 AM)
Yea lack of professionalism.. that's what it is. It will kind of suck if you have to check the amount every month.
Yes, I just complained to the customer service, how come BR is doing thing quietly and no official letters send out to BR customers..? He said sorry.....

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 18 2014, 06:04 PM
bbgoat
post May 18 2014, 06:06 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ May 18 2014, 05:54 PM)
Yes, agree. There is no perfect bank in the world...

Last time the Citibank RM put my FD into 2 different FD maturity dates when I submitted my 2 checks to
him on the same day. later I called him to complain, and he explained to me that he was rushing to
meet another customer so he only managed to submit one check to the counter just right before 4.00pm.
Consequently, I lost 2 days FD interest because of his lousy service..  mad.gif

Another case was couples years ago when I walked in Citibank premier customer counter, a bacha singh
security guard came to me and raised his hand to block me from approaching to the premier customer counter, and
he asked me to go down to the regular counter on down stair, then I had to show him something (I forgot what did
I show him, I think Citibank premier card or some document related to premier account..), then he did not say anything
and allowed me to go to premier customer counter, but I did not scold him; I think if somebody else would scold him
gao gao for embarrassment. I guess the reason why this bacha singh blocked me was because of my dressing
or he felt like I was a poor old man or something..?

Now back to Bank Rakyat dividend case:
After called to BR customer service and within 15 minutes, a customer service (I think a manager or senior, quite polite with
a tender tone) called me back to confirm that BR has changed to a new system. He said from now on, all FD dividends will
credit during 1st day of the month.

If I heard this correctly from him, if FD matures on 14th of the month, and if want to uplift matured FD on 14th,
then 14 days dividend will be paid on the same day when uplifting FD.
Yes, I just complained to the customer service, how come BR is doing thing quietly and no official letters send out to BR customers..? He said sorry.....
Have been with Citibank for years. Have also complained about RM and their dropping service level during their survey calls (they call customers regularly asking about their service performance). Ha ha.

But overall still find them to have good service esp phone banking, Citigold facility etc. biggrin.gif

Thanks for confirming that BR has changed to new system of crediting interest on 1st of the month. But funny that still receiving interest for some of my FD this month after the 4th (for those FD cert not affected on May 1st). Anyway have to monitor next month. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: May 18 2014, 06:07 PM
BoomChaCha
post May 18 2014, 06:23 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 18 2014, 06:06 PM)
Have been with Citibank for years. Have also complained about RM and their dropping service level during their survey calls (they call customers regularly asking about their service performance). Ha ha.

But overall still find them to have good service esp phone banking, Citigold facility etc.  biggrin.gif

Thanks for confirming that BR has changed to new system of crediting interest on 1st of the month. But funny that still receiving interest for some of my FD this month after the 4th (for those FD cert not affected on May 1st). Anyway have to monitor next month.  smile.gif
I guess BR is updating each customer FD dividend pay date little by little...?

BR has "updated" all my FDs based on their new system,; except that one with manually key-in dividend.

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: May 18 2014, 06:23 PM
sweetpea123
post May 19 2014, 01:09 PM

800 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ May 16 2014, 01:19 PM)
In HL Bank today. Heard from counter girl that by Monday they will have new FD promotion of step up rate with effective rate of 3.63%. I did not ask if there is any CASA requirement. Lets see by the coming Monday.

Cheers ! smile.gif
HLB STEP UP FD (eff:19 MAY 2014)
======================

NO CASA

1-4th mth - 3.3%
5-8th - 3.6%
9-12th - 4%

effective 3.63%

cannot find link but was told by staff. tongue.gif

122 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top