QUOTE(giko @ Jun 6 2014, 05:22 PM)
Ya, I did mention last few days ago about RM5.15 for banker's cheque for some banks. This is on the high side. Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V6.1, Please Read Post #1
Jun 6 2014, 05:30 PM
6,614 posts Joined: Mar 2011 |
Jun 6 2014, 09:58 PM
Jun 7 2014, 12:28 PM
QUOTE(FDInvestor @ Jun 7 2014, 10:03 AM) Hello all expert in FD, You have to decide yourself based on the amount and other reasons. One way is to put monthly or 3 months short term FD while waiting for the OPR to change. But definitely have to put somewhere to get some interest first. My FD is going to mature next week. Shall I withhold the fund first until BNM announce the hike in OPR ? Maybe later all banks may offer much more attractive rate or shall I just place my $$$ in other banks without wasting any time. Kindly advise. TQ |
Jun 7 2014, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(KoChun @ Jun 7 2014, 07:36 PM) Bank Rakyat is offering the best rate in town. What do you mean by:However cannot link to Internet Banking so very difficult to personally go-to-and-fro. FD is for capital preservation with higher return than Saving A/C Once its done, focus your time on other ways to grow your wealth. "However cannot link to Internet Banking so very difficult to personally go-to-and-fro." Do you mean eFD ? |
Jun 7 2014, 08:33 PM
Jun 8 2014, 08:42 AM
QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 7 2014, 11:10 PM) Ha ha, must be a very special number ?? QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 8 2014, 01:00 AM) I saw it at the 2 branches in PJ I went to, at Section 14 and Damansara Utama branch So you have to see whether the gift is worth more than the extra nego $$ you get for the FD you are placing at that time. I am now torn between the 2 branches. 1 branch is possible to get parker pen but very very difficult to get nego rate while the other has nego rate but gifts not so good. |
Jun 9 2014, 08:54 AM
Jun 9 2014, 07:38 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 03:31 PM) I mean the rate offered are equally high (above average) as compared to other banks. 3.75% for 5 years is not attractive as it seems. It can even goes up to 3.75% upon 5 years deposit. QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:14 PM) Ambank is offering 3.75% for 15 months deposit and is guaranteed bu pidm. I will move my funds there where my existing fd expires. BR is offering 3.95% for 15 months, so the difference is rm250 for 100k placement. i think i will treat this opportunity loss of rm250 as an insurance for my fd. Any thoughts? Good to spread out FD to minimize risk. For me I have FD across BR, Citibank, MBB etc etc. |
Jun 9 2014, 07:59 PM
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 07:49 PM) I just hate to have so many bank accounts, so difficult to keep track. I have been keeping my funds with hsbc for years but they are giving shitty rates. BR gives the best rate but i just don't feel good about them right now bcos of the 32m saga. I would not park my funds to any bank that is easily influenced by a cabinet minister. Ya, agreed with you, I also hate to juggle with many bank accounts. Have been trying NOT to open new accounts when some banks are having FD promotions. Now I am using Excel to track my bank accounts and FD maturity dates. |
Jun 9 2014, 08:14 PM
Jun 9 2014, 08:27 PM
QUOTE(OMG! @ Jun 9 2014, 08:21 PM) Ya, I saw it just recently. 100k for the FD promotion !QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Jun 9 2014, 08:22 PM) Saving account lor. The smartsavers one. I think I opened and closed at least 2 already lol. Open to place FD then after that take out and close it, then few months later decide to put in again. OIC, the Smartsaver. I thought why you have so many SA to close there ?? Usually if it was a promotional rate then auto renew will renew to board rate of the same tenure. Smartsaver for people who are Top (Top Flo) & Smart !!! |
Jun 9 2014, 08:31 PM
Jun 9 2014, 08:32 PM
Jun 9 2014, 08:34 PM
Jun 9 2014, 10:06 PM
QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Jun 9 2014, 08:53 PM) It's a way to complicate matters by the bank. i did a brief calculation, i dunno the prevailing SA rate, but even if the 20% SA gives 1% interest pa, the effective rate is less than 3.7% I always prefer straight FD promotion. Those step up rates and those FD/SA tie up, the rates are normally lower than most people perceived it to be. |
Jun 10 2014, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(gchowyh @ Jun 10 2014, 03:05 PM) I already have the ATM COOP card & online account but they just charged me RM 5 for renewal fee this year. BR's ATM Co-op card should be no annual fee. They did not charge me for it.Section 14 branch gives the nego rate. Once I was Damansara Utama branch there was an uncle who haggled very long only got the nego rate so don't think I want to spend so much time doing that. Well, Parker pen is worth about RM60-RM70 i think so it would be more worthwhile than the nego rate for RM100k. Anyhow, it depends on luck as this round Section 14 branch also said no nego rate declared for this month yet when I went there. Nego rate, I was told is from 50k onwards. But heard from others that diff BR branch seems to practice differently. |
Jun 10 2014, 08:01 PM
Jun 11 2014, 08:54 AM
QUOTE(nsx88 @ Jun 9 2014, 11:23 PM) You guys did not survey enough. Best EVER Savings account is Maybank eSaver-i, Interest of 0.4% less than 2k, 2.1% for less than 20k.... or 2.3% more than 20k... Best FD at the Moment. (ALL are PIDM insured) 1. Maybank 1mth FD is 3.20%PA 2. Short Term is Standard Chartered is giving 3.5%PA for 6mths. 3. HLBB is giving 3.63%PA effective for 12mths. Min 10k. Calculate the effective rates.. not the Stupid Promo rates of 8.88% for certain conditions & months.... when effective/average rates turn out to be 3.0%... BLR is going up next month perhaps 0.25% ... That's why, don't place long term yet... I place a few hundred K in Maybank 1mth FD of 3.20%, to be move to another higher level next month. Good Luck... QUOTE(nsx88 @ Jun 10 2014, 01:31 PM) As usual.. I like Maybank because I transfer a lot to other MBB accounts holders. So its faster and free. The amount of cash sitting in the account is less than 50k... Anything more will be in FD... So MBB savers will serve me well. You can even do eFD online. Wow, looks like a big timer, please give us more tips in the future. Doing some sort of business transaction in MBB ? Affin pays slightly more, but in my case, the 10cents per GIRO and waiting time for others to received the money is not acceptable. PBB effective rates are a JOKE.... Best place in OCBC or HLBB. If u want the best rates for long term... PUT into KWSP... Max is RM60,000 per year at 6%, no one can beat that.. Its guaranteed also by the Government... I also like KWSP, but max 60k per year only. |
Jun 11 2014, 12:56 PM
QUOTE(giko @ Jun 11 2014, 12:44 PM) BR USJ only gave me an umbrella for 100k fd! cheapo lah! Redeem on 8 Sept. Sifus, if the maturity date is 8 Sep, does that mean I can redeem it on 8 Sep or 9 Sep? TQ Also BR is more stingy on gifts already. Last time the counter staff can give out the gift freely, now it seems need to go through the ABM. Not sure of other branches though. |
Jun 11 2014, 01:21 PM
| Change to: | 0.0492sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:12 AM |