BE CAREFUL: Landed Properties With Stata Title, You can face high maintenance fee later!

TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 06:42 AM, updated 12y ago

100 posts

Hi all,

I wish to share my view on landed properties with strata title.

Ecobotanic, for example, is a housing project selling landed properties with strata title. If you read about this project, you may find everything was sold out during its balloting day in September 2013. But if you dig deeper, only 285 units were sold. The total units are 624. And if I am not mistaken, bumi-lots are about 50 units. The rest is believed to be purchased by insiders (the developer and its staff).

Let's do the maths:

624 (total units) - 285 (sold to public) - 50 (bumi lots) = 289 (the developer and its staff)

So, about half is taken by the developer's side. This means they have the power to dominate Joint Management meetings. They can elect some of them to be committee members. They can retain their company to be the maintenance provider. They can later set high maintenance fees. The staffs who purchased houses would not mind paying extra since the company will continue making money and perhaps they will get a higher pay and bonus.

If you refuse to pay the maintenance fee, you can be fined and jailed. They can also sell your movable properties (like tv, fridge or car) to recover the outstanding debt.

Think twice if you plan to buy landed properties with strata title!

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 06:48 AM
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 06:57 AM

942 posts

ain't the same with condo/ apartment if developer keeps a handful of units?
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 06:57 AM

13,761 posts

So far so good for me. Even strata shops oso no such prob for me. Dun worry too much la.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 07:20 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 5 2014, 06:57 AM)
ain't the same with condo/ apartment if developer keeps a handful of units?
Yup, it is the same. But in case of landed properties, you have a choice to buy either strata title or torrens (individual) title.

When buying strata title, we have to keep an eye on what the developer is doing. In the situation explained earlier, we have to be wary of EcoWorld who builds EcoBotanic (landed strata) and EkoSky (condo).

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 07:36 AM
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 07:58 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 5 2014, 06:57 AM)
So far so good for me. Even strata shops oso no such prob for me. Dun worry too much la.
If we want to flip, it should not be much problem. Basically, the concern will be transferred to the buyer.

If we want to let, we will have to embed the maintenance charge with the rental rate. Our rental rate will be higher than others. Hence, less attractive.

If we want to stay, aiyoo.. maintenance headache rclxub.gif

skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 08:58 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 07:58 AM)
If we want to flip, it should not be much problem. Basically, the concern will be transferred to the buyer.

If we want to let, we will have to embed the maintenance charge with the rental rate. Our rental rate will be higher than others. Hence, less attractive.

If we want to stay, aiyoo.. maintenance headache  rclxub.gif
How much is the maintenance charge? Does it include a gym, and well manicured gardens and parks? Also by your account, those insiders want to keep the property meh? more places to goreng yoh in sunway iskandar perhaps>
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 09:00 AM

4,788 posts

Condo, service apt, soho etc also having same scenario where units are snapped up by staff n insiders.. wat is so disadvantage about strata landed?

This are usually flippers.. if they dont flip, they will either rent out or stay.. what is the advantage to them for increasing maintenence? So that they dont have to pay?
Martinis
post Apr 5 2014, 09:26 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 06:42 AM)
Hi all,

I wish to share my view on landed properties with strata title.

Ecobotanic, for example, is a housing project selling landed properties with strata title. If you read about this project, you may find everything was sold out during its balloting day in September 2013. But if you dig deeper, only 285 units were sold. The total units are 624. And if I am not mistaken, bumi-lots are about 50 units. The rest is believed to be purchased by insiders (the developer and its staff).

Let's do the maths:

624 (total units) - 285 (sold to public) - 50 (bumi lots) = 289 (the developer and its staff)

So, about half is taken by the developer's side. This means they have the power to dominate Joint Management meetings. They can elect some of them to be committee members. They can retain their company to be the maintenance provider. They can later set high maintenance fees. The staffs who purchased houses  would not mind paying extra since the company will continue making money and perhaps they will get a higher pay and bonus.

If you refuse to pay the maintenance fee, you can be fined and jailed. They can also sell your movable properties  (like tv, fridge or car) to recover the outstanding debt.

Think twice if you plan to buy landed properties with strata title!
First of all, the reason why many JMB face shortages of funds are because of people like you. Always skeptical that JMB gasak money lah, increase fees lah. Please la, I welcome all increases in management fees. In fact, I worry they do not increase enough. Few hundred extra is nothing compared to the headache of less well maintained properties because of shortage of funds. High fees = well maintained properties = easy to sell, easy to rent = high market value of your properties! Don't fret over small money.
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 09:28 AM

942 posts

QUOTE(Martinis @ Apr 5 2014, 09:26 AM)
First of all, the reason why many JMB face shortages of funds are because of people like you. Always skeptical that JMB gasak money lah, increase fees lah. Please la, I welcome all increases in management fees. In fact, I worry they do not increase enough. Few hundred extra is nothing compared to the headache of less well maintained properties because of shortage of funds. High fees = well maintained properties = easy to sell, easy to rent = high market value of your properties! Don't fret over small money.
this i agree
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 09:50 AM

100 posts

As I said earlier, some of them maybe flippers. Flippers will not worry about the maintenance problem.

But some insiders want to dominate Management Committee. With this domination, they can choose the contractors to maintain the landscape, etc. They will choose the same developer or its related company. The developer will expand its business from developing property to maintaining property. As business expands, income increase.

As a result, the staffs and the management will be able to enjoy salary increment and bonuses. Since they are major chunk of the community, all they have to do is collude during Joint Management / Management Corporation meeting. Some of them will forward proposals and the rest will support. They will also elect their people as committee members. This is the disadvantage when major chunk of units are purchased by insiders (consist of staffs and the management of development company).

If you go to MAPEX which is being held at Midvalley Megamall today or tomorrow, you can ask EcoWorld about the maintenance fee. They will say they plan to charge about RM400 monthly for landed strata and condo.
bcpbeancounter
post Apr 5 2014, 10:00 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 09:50 AM)
As I said earlier, some of them maybe flippers. Flippers will not worry about the maintenance problem.

But some insiders want to dominate Management Committee. With this domination, they can choose the contractors to maintain the landscape, etc. They will choose the same developer or its related company. The developer will expand its business from developing property to maintaining property. As business expands, income increase.

As a result, the staffs and the management will be able to enjoy salary increment and bonuses. Since they are major chunk of the community, all they have to do is collude during Joint Management / Management Corporation meeting. Some of them will forward proposals and the rest will support. They will also elect their people as committee members. This is the disadvantage when major chunk of units are purchased by insiders (consist of staffs and the management of development company).

If you go to MAPEX which is being held at Midvalley Megamall today or tomorrow, you can ask EcoWorld about the maintenance fee. They will say they plan to charge about RM400 monthly for landed strata and condo.
Bro, everything come with a fee. If u think the facilities and security are not a must, why buy strata title prop at the first place? Dont forget about strata title act too.
maodi
post Apr 5 2014, 10:19 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 09:50 AM)

Don't buy landed with strata title if can't afford pay for maintenance. It is your decision. Once decision had made, then don't complaint MUCH here and there. No one force you buy.

ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 10:21 AM

13,761 posts

Boss I dun think the insiders wanna pay high maintenance fee if they r holding or living in. My current full GNG onli charge 0.20 psf. Reasonable or too high har???
maodi
post Apr 5 2014, 10:25 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 5 2014, 10:21 AM)
Boss I dun think the insiders wanna pay high maintenance fee if they r holding or living in. My current full GNG onli charge 0.20 psf. Reasonable or too high har???
0.20 is reasonable and cheaper compared the one I bought in semenyih(hearsay 0.30psf).

This post has been edited by maodi: Apr 5 2014, 10:27 AM
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 10:29 AM

942 posts

i think it's cheap...
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 10:32 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(maodi @ Apr 5 2014, 10:25 AM)
0.20 is reasonable and cheaper compared the one I bought in semenyih(hearsay 0.30psf).
QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 5 2014, 10:29 AM)
i think it's cheap...
And I dun c them raising the bar for charges!!!

I guess its all depend on the facility gua. My area has all basic facility except for tennis courts n gym room. Nice jogging track but mini size.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 10:49 AM

100 posts

Developers are divided into two: incompetent and competent. Among the competent developers, there are sincere ones and cunning ones.

Horizon Hills in Nusajaya is developed by a sincere developer. They only charge between RM100 to RM150 for security and maintenance. Clubhouse is optional with an additional fee of RM100. Golf membership is also optional. Yet the landscape beautiful, neat and well-maintained. The property value is superb.

We need to pay adequate maintenance and security fee, not too low and not too high. Paying too high for maintenance and security fee reflects inefficient spending of community money.

Strata Title Act (Act 757) requires the participation of developer even after the property has been delivered. The owners are not at liberty to choose maintenance contractors which offer best value for money. This is a flaw of the Act. The Act was drafted by mainly consulting the developers, not owners of properties.

linkor
post Apr 5 2014, 10:49 AM

821 posts

You worry too much .~
potenza10
post Apr 5 2014, 10:53 AM

1,936 posts

'The staffs who purchased houses would not mind paying extra since the company will continue making money and perhaps they will get a higher pay and bonus.'

Laughing until my teeth drop when read this statement...lol!
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 10:56 AM

942 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:53 AM)
'The staffs who purchased houses would not mind paying extra since the company will continue making money and perhaps they will get a higher pay and bonus.'

Laughing until my teeth drop when read this statement...lol!
exactly....if i were the staff, i will bising also lah...what you think i own the company meh....
Minolta
post Apr 5 2014, 11:03 AM

2,293 posts

Whether owned by developer or staff, its money invested. No one will want to do something that can jeopardize their own investment.

Though I agree with u about the possibility of manipulation. Just need to attend all JMB meeting and make noise lah. Ok wan....dun worry.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 11:04 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(maodi @ Apr 5 2014, 10:19 AM)
Don't buy landed with strata title if can't afford pay for maintenance. It is your decision. Once decision had made, then don't complaint MUCH here and there. No one force you buy.
Yes, this is my point. Becareful when choosing a property! If not careful, you may suffer later by deceitful developers. rclxms.gif

bcpbeancounter
post Apr 5 2014, 11:08 AM

1,070 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 11:04 AM)
Yes, this is my point. Becareful when choosing a property! If not careful, you may suffer later by deceitful developers. rclxms.gif
But why only landed with strata title face this issue? condo no issue? shocking.gif
Ironhide828
post Apr 5 2014, 11:12 AM

168 posts

Strata title landed is the trends for the future.

If that is your worry, perhaps u can only go for the individual title landed. That is the only way to go!
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 11:19 AM

100 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 5 2014, 11:08 AM)
But why only landed with strata title face this issue? condo no issue?  shocking.gif
Same advice. Careful when choosing one. Keep an eye of the developer. Last time, condos have lots of issues. For landed, you will have more rights owning an individual title than owning strata title. But if choose the one with strata title, becareful. nod.gif

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 11:19 AM
Soros007
post Apr 5 2014, 11:26 AM

3,852 posts

I agree with this bro.
If paying extra bucks but can rent and sell at a better price then why not?
I dun even mind to pay 1K+ on maintenance fee if there are plenty of nice landscape at living area.

Wiredx
post Apr 5 2014, 11:29 AM

592 posts

Ya me too. My bigger worry would be irrationally stingy neighbours and not so much the fee itself tongue.gif
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 11:36 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:49 AM)
Developers are divided into two: incompetent and competent. Among the competent developers, there are sincere ones and cunning ones.

Horizon Hills in Nusajaya is developed by a sincere developer. They only charge between RM100 to RM150 for security and maintenance. Clubhouse is optional with an additional fee of RM100. Golf membership is also optional. Yet the landscape beautiful, neat and well-maintained. The property value is superb.

We need to pay adequate maintenance and security fee, not too low and not too high. Paying too high for maintenance and security fee reflects inefficient spending of community money.

Strata Title Act (Act 757) requires the participation of developer even after the property has been delivered. The owners are not at liberty to choose maintenance contractors which offer best value for money. This is a flaw of the Act. The Act was drafted by mainly consulting the developers, not owners of properties.
Horizon Hill strata or individual?
Chris Chew
post Apr 5 2014, 11:46 AM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 11:19 AM)
Same advice. Careful when choosing one. Keep an eye of the developer. Last time, condos have lots of issues. For landed, you will have more rights owning an individual title than owning strata title. But if choose the one with strata title, becareful.  nod.gif
I think you could confuse what is the difference btw individual title landed and strata title landed.

Are u one of the EcoBotanic buyer?

My advise is, buy any property with indv or strata title, we also need to becareful. For most types, I much prefer stratified landed compare to individual title due to DMC and proper security. If u have no confident of the developer capability, facilities, t&c, dmc ..., just skip.
Chris Chew
post Apr 5 2014, 11:47 AM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:36 AM)
Horizon Hill strata or individual?
Boss. Individual title.

babana
post Apr 5 2014, 11:49 AM

too old; do not want
986 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:49 AM)

i think i can see where this thread is heading to... whistling.gif
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 11:53 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(Chris Chew @ Apr 5 2014, 11:47 AM)
Boss. Individual title.
Thanks Chris kor.. I oso skeptical when he/she compare it with Horizon Hill..

@UnderTheSun, y compare Horizon Hill with this Ecobotanic as the title are different? And saying HH charge lower is more sincere is totally nonsense since they are individual at the 1st place..
TSUnderTheSun

100 posts

Despite being gated and guarded, Horizon Hills offers individual title. They also have anti-climb fences and security cameras. The value is much higher than EcoBotanic.

Buying landed strata title does not mean you will have a higher value than landed individual title. Paying higher maintenance fee does not mean you will have a greater value than paying moderate maintenance fee.
twincharger07

4,788 posts

QUOTE(babana @ Apr 5 2014, 11:49 AM)
i think i can see where this thread is heading to... whistling.gif
I give you one LIKE..
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 11:55 AM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 11:53 AM)
Despite being gated and guarded, Horizon Hills offers individual title. They also have anti-climb fences and security cameras. The value is much higher than EcoBotanic.

Buying landed strata title does not mean you will have a higher value than landed individual title. Paying higher maintenance fee does not mean you will have a greater value than paying moderate maintenance fee.
HH is called F&G .. not full G&G.. Security makes a big difference...

This post has been edited by twincharger07: Apr 5 2014, 11:57 AM
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 11:56 AM

100 posts

If you wanna know where this thread is heading to, read the topic again smile.gif
babana
post Apr 5 2014, 12:01 PM

too old; do not want
986 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 11:53 AM)

ummm...boss, the reason why landed strata came about was to make the living environment more organised and systematic in the neighbourhood. i definitely wouldnt wanna live next to a neighbour which decides to paint his house green and install huge cast iron grilles or do something atrocious in which i cant do anything about.

in terms of value...well, i dont see props in dpc being sold at a lower price compared to say spk or bu, do u? wink.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:03 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:55 AM)
HH is called F&G .. not full G&G.. Security makes a big difference...
HH is called G&G Neighbourhood while EcoBotanic is called G&G Community. Both charge maintenance and security fee. You can compare which one has reasonable charges given the security and maintenance it offers.

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 12:23 PM
Wiredx
post Apr 5 2014, 12:03 PM

592 posts

This thread will eventually be called the top ten reasons why HH is the best tongue.gif
potenza10
post Apr 5 2014, 12:04 PM

1,936 posts

happy to pay more money and is HOPING more bonus...paying is confirm but bonus is not confirm...how ridiculous to think like that?
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:06 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(babana @ Apr 5 2014, 12:01 PM)
ummm...boss, the reason why landed strata came about was to make the living environment more organised and systematic in the neighbourhood. i definitely wouldnt wanna live next to a neighbour which decides to paint his house green and install huge cast iron grilles or do something atrocious in which i cant do anything about.

in terms of value...well, i dont see props in dpc being sold at a lower price compared to say spk or bu, do u?  wink.gif
Yeah. What I am saying is buying landed strata does not guarantee a higher value than buying landed individual. And vice versa. We have to do research before buying. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:20 PM

100 posts

I believe many of you are smart people. Let's relook at the situation. Under Strata Title Act, they have to maintain corridors, facilities, etc. They do not maintain whatever inside your house. But why are they charging based on per square foot (psf) of your house? By right, they should charge based on per square foot (psf) of total corridors, facility areas, etc. And divide it equally. Those are common facilities.

So, I would say 0.20 psf is an unreasonable method of calculation. We are so used to it that we fail to see a sensible method of calculation. smile.gif

Maybe you could voice it out during the JMB meeting.

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 12:21 PM
potenza10
post Apr 5 2014, 12:29 PM

1,936 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 12:20 PM)
I believe many of you are smart people. Let's relook at the situation. Under Strata Title Act, they have to maintain corridors, facilities, etc. They do not maintain whatever inside your house. But why are they charging based on per square foot (psf) of your house? By right, they should charge based on per square foot (psf) of total corridors, facility areas, etc. And divide it equally. Those are common facilities.

So, I would say 0.20 psf is an unreasonable method of calculation. We are so used to it that we fail to see a sensible method of calculation.  smile.gif

errrrr, how come u think like that? if u own 1200sqft house and your neighbor's house is 2200 sqft and share same facilities, do u mind u pay same amount with your neighbor? later either one will tak puas hati...rclxub.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:40 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(potenza10 @ Apr 5 2014, 12:29 PM)
errrrr, how come u think like that? if u own 1200sqft house and your neighbor's house is 2200 sqft and share same facilities, do u mind u pay same amount with your neighbor?  later either one will tak puas hati...rclxub.gif
They are maintaining the common access and facilities. Nothing to do with whatever inside your house. Whether you have large or small living room, they do not go inside your house and mop the floor.
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 12:41 PM

942 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 12:40 PM)
They are maintaining the common access and facilities. Nothing to do with whatever inside your house. Whether you have large or small living room, they do not go inside your house and mop the floor.
in other words poor people should pay the same tax rate as rich people blink.gif
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 12:45 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 12:03 PM)
HH is called G&G Neighbourhood while EcoBotanic is called G&G Community. Both charge maintenance and security fee. You can compare which one has reasonable charges given the security and maintenance it offers.
I totally disagree... strata title is fully enforce by law, outsiders are restricted to enter..

Individual title is not fully enforce by any strata act.. outsiders by law is allow to enter without permission.. boom gate is merely for security checking..

Strata housing area can be organized on security restrictions and indivudual, no..
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:46 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 5 2014, 12:41 PM)
in other words poor people should pay the same tax rate as rich people  blink.gif
Not sure about tax. But 0.20 psf for strata maintenance fee is an unreasonable calculation to me.
bcpbeancounter
post Apr 5 2014, 12:47 PM

1,070 posts

do you come accross any strata title prop charge maintenance base on door, not sqf?
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 12:51 PM

4,788 posts

I think u dont understand how it works at all..
Larger units charge with higher maintenance fee with the assumption bigger units have more ppl staying in thus more headcount to use the common facilities per unit.. u may argue small unit can hav more ppl or large unit only 1 person, but that is the closest assumption u can get..
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:52 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(bcpbeancounter @ Apr 5 2014, 12:47 PM)
do you come accross any strata title prop charge maintenance base on door, not sqf?
Not so far. Like I said, we are so used to it that we fail to apply a sensible calculation method.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 12:56 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(twincharger07 @ Apr 5 2014, 12:51 PM)
Larger units charge with higher maintenance fee with the assumption bigger units have more ppl staying in thus more headcount to use the common facilities per unit.. u may argue small unit can hav more ppl or large unit only 1 person, but that is the closest assumption u can get..
Then, you expect the more person in the house, the higher household income it has? How about a family with 3 to 4 children? Do the children have an income?

Surely, maintenance has nothing to do with your living room or bedroom space.

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 12:57 PM
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 12:57 PM

942 posts

just about what i am going to say!!!

larger unit = more people = use facilities more = pay more

although it may not necessarily be true that larger units = more people but that's how it works...

i live in condo and i only use the lift...seldom use swimming pool, gym, never use sauna, badminton court, playground etc....am I entitled to cheaper maintenance fee?

TS...are you one of those owners with larger units but refused to pay more than owners with smaller units??
Haiyo, if like that buy smaller unit loh, problem settled...
potenza10
post Apr 5 2014, 12:58 PM

1,936 posts

His logic doesnt make sense at all... tongue.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 01:10 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 5 2014, 12:57 PM)

although it may not necessarily be true that larger units = more people but that's how it works...

i live in condo and i only use the lift...seldom use swimming pool, gym, never use sauna, badminton court, playground etc....am I entitled to cheaper maintenance fee?
TS...are you one of those owners with larger units but refused to pay more than owners with smaller units??
Yeah. Club facilities should be optional and not included in the maintenance fee.

Your method of calculation is based on assumption. Hence, subject to argument. But everyone has his own opinion.

The purpose of this thread is to caution potential buyers on landed properties that come with strata title. No harm for potential buyers to consider. Unless a person is from the related company or is a sales agent or has vested interest in the sale of such properties, he or she shall not feel threatened. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 01:14 PM
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 01:17 PM

13,761 posts

I think the obvious answer is dun buy strata prop. Prob solved.

This post has been edited by ManutdGiggs: Apr 5 2014, 01:17 PM
idoblu
post Apr 5 2014, 01:37 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ManutdGiggs @ Apr 5 2014, 01:17 PM)
I think the obvious answer is dun buy strata prop. Prob solved.
Some individual titled properties also need to pay maintenance. They don't follow strata laws but sign a deed of mutual covenant or DMC

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 5 2014, 01:41 PM
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 02:55 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 12:56 PM)
Then, you expect the more person in the house, the higher household income it has? How about a family with 3 to 4 children? Do the children have an income?

Surely, maintenance has nothing to do with your living room or bedroom space.
Gosh.. what does it do with income..
You still dont get the point after so many ppl gav u thesame explanation. Nvm.. at least the rest are at the same tune with me...
twincharger07
post Apr 5 2014, 02:56 PM

4,788 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 01:10 PM)
Yeah. Club facilities should be optional and not included in the maintenance fee.

Your method of calculation is based on assumption. Hence, subject to argument. But everyone has his own opinion.

The purpose of this thread is to caution potential buyers on landed properties that come with strata title. No harm for potential buyers to consider. Unless a person is from the related company or is a sales agent or has vested interest in the sale of such properties, he or she shall not feel threatened.  whistling.gif
Still don't get wat kind of caution u r giving
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 5 2014, 03:13 PM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 5 2014, 01:37 PM)
Some individual titled properties also need to pay maintenance. They don't follow strata laws but sign a deed of mutual covenant or DMC
Then no choice. Wat bout kampung houses. Sure no such headache. laugh.gif
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 03:35 PM

2,386 posts

If signed the DMC but still dun want to pay. How ??
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 03:46 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 01:10 PM)

The purpose of this thread is to caution potential buyers on landed properties that come with strata title. No harm for potential buyers to consider. Unless a person is from the related company or is a sales agent or has vested interest in the sale of such properties, he or she shall not feel threatened.  whistling.gif
If optional, I can bet not many people want to pay for the club house.

No money to maintain the clubhouse, clubhouse facilities surely deteoriating fast, swimming pool no maintain, fungus grows etc.

So, the argument for club facilities should be made optional doesn't make sense.
The logic of the argument is flaw to start with.

Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 03:52 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 03:46 PM)
If optional, I can bet not many people want to pay for the club house.

No money to maintain the clubhouse, clubhouse facilities surely deteoriating fast, swimming pool no maintain, fungus grows etc.

So, the argument for club facilities should be made optional doesn't make sense.
The logic of the argument is flaw to start with.
The optional of club house only suitable for GnG with individual title.
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 04:01 PM

25,802 posts

Landed property with strata title vs individual title has both advantage and disadvantage.

Individual title.
No obligation for maintenance fee.
But if want to have security to patrol, safeguard the housing area, then it depends on willingness of neighborhood to contribute to pay for the expenses for it.
If there is people don't want to pay for it, basically, no law can be enforced on them. So you may have awkward situation if some people do not want to cooperate.

But with strata title one, the unit owner is governed by strata title act, that unit owner is obliged to pay the maintenance fee under the strata title act, so action can be imposed on those refuse to pay maintenance as compared to individual title one.

With G&G and clubhouse facilities are features that most wanted by property owner nowadays, a maintenance fund is a must to keep the property in good shape, this is inevitable.
So in this case, strata title act provides the platform for it.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 04:03 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:01 PM)
Landed property with strata title vs individual title has both advantage and disadvantage.

Individual title.
But if want to have security to patrol, safeguard the housing area, then it depends on willingness of neighborhood to contribute to pay for the expenses for it.
If there is people don't want to pay for it, basically, no law can be enforced on them. So you may have awkward situation if some people do not want to cooperate.

But with strata title one, the unit owner is governed by strata title act, that unit owner is obliged to pay the maintenance fee under the strata title act, so action can be imposed on those refuse to pay maintenance as compared to individual title one.

With G&G and clubhouse facilities are features that most wanted by property owner nowadays, a maintenance fund is a must to keep the property in good shape, this is inevitable.
Plus 1
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 04:06 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 03:52 PM)
The optional of club house only suitable for GnG with individual title.
G&G with individual title can be very difficult to manage.
As we know, not everyone may cooperate to contribute to the maintenance fund.

Even in this topic, there is forumer question the rate of maintenance fee based on size of unit.
(although it looks reasonable and logic for most, some also question about it), see whatever kind of people also have in this world. smile.gif

You can't make optional for any fee for any facilities,
If want to have clubhouse, then everyone must contribute.
or no clubhouse at all.

Only yes or no, cannot be optional, it doesn't work.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 04:11 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:06 PM)
G&G with individual title can be very difficult to manage.
As we know, not everyone may cooperate to contribute to the maintenance fund.

Even in this topic, there is forumer question the rate of maintenance fee based on size of unit.
(although it looks reasonable and logic for most, some also question about it), see whatever kind of people also have in this world.  smile.gif

You can't make optional for any fee for any facilities,
If want to have clubhouse, then everyone must contribute.
or no clubhouse at all.

Only yes or no, cannot be optional, it doesn't work.
Agreed.
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 04:18 PM

25,802 posts

It may not useful at all, when there is dispute of it.

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 03:35 PM)
If signed the DMC but still dun want to pay. How ??
The article explained well the awkward situation that may faced by individual title on settting G&G community using DMC.
http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/conveyancin...ies_part_2.html

The problem with this was that many of these agreements, often referred to as Deeds of Mutual Covenants (DMC), were not enforceable against sub-purchasers once the separate issue documents of title were issued unless the developers were very careful in ensuring that the DMC was made to “run with the land”. The general view is that the DMC is merely a contract between the developer and the purchaser, and cannot be binding on and enforced against a sub-purchaser, unless he consented to it.

The consent of a sub-purchaser can easily be done in a case where the developer’s consent is required for the sub-sale. However, once a separate individual title is issued and transferred to the first purchaser, the developer’s consent will no longer be required and it is common for some purchasers in GACOS scheme to sell their property to sub-purchasers without getting the sub-purchasers to agree to sign a DMC with the developer or the person managing the GACOS scheme. Although the first purchaser shall contractually remain responsible to the developer if the sub-purchaser did not pay, for example, his security charges, this will be of little use in a case where the first purchaser has long gone, and the sub-purchaser is occupying the property.

Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 04:33 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:18 PM)
The article explained well the awkward situation that may faced by individual title on settting G&G community using DMC.
Plus1. At least some ppl here get understand the proper GnG should be strata title .
idoblu
post Apr 5 2014, 04:54 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:18 PM)
yeah I also thought about how they will enforce subsale purchaser to sign a new DMC. I did asked my friend when he bought two subsale units, and he said he had to sign DMC. I am sure he can refuse to sign.

our place here is individual title with club house facilities. I dont use any of the facilities but I still pay. those who refuse to pay, please dont buy these type of properties and trouble the rest of the community. I heard that only a few G&G props in Malaysia is with individual title. Previously G&G laws not fully developed yet I suppose

Anyway, either DMC or Strata laws, both also Malaysians refuse to abide by. Malaysians are still not use to living in a community.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 5 2014, 05:00 PM
Wiredx
post Apr 5 2014, 05:08 PM

592 posts

What we have here is a mindset issue. You buy knowing what you get and are responsible for as an owner. But if you buy knowing all that but still insist on challenging the responsibility, perhaps its better to seek a property elsewhere.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 05:13 PM

2,386 posts

Useless, not so many ppl will follow.
Tis is fact.
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 05:18 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Wiredx @ Apr 5 2014, 05:08 PM)
What we have here is a mindset issue. You buy knowing what you get and are responsible for as an owner. But if you buy knowing all that but still insist on challenging the responsibility, perhaps its better to seek a property elsewhere.
A lot of owner doesn't realise that by refusing to pay the maintenance fee, one is actually "destroying" the value of property one owned over the long term.

Who want to buy million plus G&G landed property with clubhouse swimming pool growing fungus, no security (no money to pay, hence security also "cabut"), grass growing common area etc.

Living in a strata property (be it G&G landed or highrise), you need to treat it as living in a community instead selfish way.
Everyone must cooperate not only in term of paying maintenance fee, but also in term of follow the house rules made, by then with cooperation of abide to house rules, only then can make the property into a pleasant one living space with good security.
cherroy
post Apr 5 2014, 05:27 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 05:13 PM)
Useless, not so many ppl will follow.
Tis is fact.
It depends, there are fairly well run MC around as far as I knew, while there are also plenty poorly run as well.

I personally knew 2 properties (mid-to high end one) with high collection rate >90~95%, management fee surplus + sinking fund rack up million plus with property fairly well maintained across.

The issue of maintenance fee is more severe with low cost highrise.
So we need a stricter rule to ensure maintenance fee is paid on time.
At the moment, the strata title act is not strict enough to punish defaulter of maintenance fee hence people take for granted.

As to change the mindset, almost near impossible, hence the only way to improve situation is through stricter strata act, empower MC or COB to enforce the rules.

idoblu
post Apr 5 2014, 05:29 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:18 PM)
A lot of owner doesn't realise that by refusing to pay the maintenance fee, one is actually "destroying" the value of property one owned over the long term.

Who want to buy million plus G&G landed property with clubhouse swimming pool growing fungus, no security (no money to pay, hence security also "cabut"), grass growing common area etc.

Living in a strata property (be it G&G landed or highrise), you need to treat it as living in a community instead selfish way.
Everyone must cooperate not only in term of paying maintenance fee, but also in term of follow the house rules made, by then with cooperation of abide to house rules, only then can make the property into a pleasant one living space with good security.
well said thumbup.gif
want to be my neighbor?

and its not only about paying the maintenance fee, simple everyday things like dont hang your clothes out or dont litter also difficult to follow sad.gif

thats why those high class new york apartments, even if you are a celebrity also have to go through a vetting process by a panel of the residents

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 5 2014, 05:36 PM
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 05:31 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:18 PM)

Wat to do??? Human being mah. If u dun mind the maintenance fee then buy strata title lor.
Ppl can drive BMW oso refuse pay 150/ mth. Their mindset is like that. Apa boleh buat?? Kanasai lor
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 05:35 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:27 PM)
It depends, there are fairly well run MC around as far as I knew, while there are also plenty poorly run as well.

I personally knew 2 properties (mid-to high end one) with high collection rate >90~95%, management fee surplus + sinking fund rack up million plus with property fairly well maintained across.

The issue of maintenance fee is more severe with low cost highrise.
So we need a stricter rule to ensure maintenance fee is paid on time.
At the moment, the strata title act is not strict enough to punish defaulter of maintenance fee hence people take for granted.

As to change the mindset, almost near impossible, hence the only way to improve situation is through stricter strata act, empower MC or COB to enforce the rules.
90 % to 95% collection. If under individual title. Very very very good
skcJVN
post Apr 5 2014, 05:36 PM

1,131 posts

Why talking too much ? He open this thread JUST to shoot Ecoworld n The ecobotanic project. Most of the points are funny !
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 05:41 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(skcJVN @ Apr 5 2014, 05:36 PM)
Why talking too much ? He open this thread JUST to shoot Ecoworld n The ecobotanic project. Most of the points are funny !
Izzit?? Din read whole posts.
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 06:02 PM

680 posts

If i am not wrong.... I know of some people who bought houses in the land of the FREE. *USA. Also have to pay to maintain their grass in the front lawn... if not overgrown... you can get evicted and house sold.

Then again, the issue should be about proper accounting and management of the funds collected.

Strata or individual... that is just the difference between legal obligation, and skirting the community responsibility.

Plus- cannot simply change facade and change the way a neat row of house look.

BTW- when TS says HH is good... there are also people who feel that staying close to golf course that uses herbicides to kill weeds... very odd yoh. Good luck TS drinking coffee in your compound.

Also, TS, can you also post the pricing for house in EB and HH for comparing sake.

Personally, I would prefer gated community without guards. If want guards, employ Gurkah or Android machines.

Additional facilities- that should be known from the start. If dont want such facilities, then dont buy. Feedback to developers that consumers only want to buy houses without facilities.

Anyway, making use of the facilities should be good healthy lifestyle... why reject so much.

Additional thoughts: BTW those people so rich buy the property. HH or EB/EW... those not your common fellows. I am sure they will challenge the management kau kau if they detect anything mischievious. The wolf among the wolves.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Apr 5 2014, 06:23 PM
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 07:52 PM

100 posts

Good discussion here.

To those who plan to buy a property with strata title (whether condo or landed strata), think twice if you feel you cannot cope with maintenance fee that will increase from time to time. Otherwise, you see people bashing at you for not being able to pay the maintenance fee, like some of them here.

That is my point. Becareful in chosing property with strata. Read Strata Title Act first! The developer can sue you in court. You can be fined or even jailed. On top of that, they can sell your car or tv or fridge or other moveable properties to recover the outstanding payment.

Remember. Maintenance are due monthly even after you finished paying the loan. And even when you are dying. There is no waiver under Strata Title Act.

This maintenance fee is not set by you. It is set by the Joint Management Committee in which the developer is a member. You may say the amount is high, but they may say the amount is reasonable. In the end, you have to listen to them and pay the amount. So, before you buy, think carefully. Like some people here say, if you think you cannot cope with it, choose a property with an individual title.

Best of luck in finding your home sweet home!
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 08:00 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Apr 5 2014, 06:02 PM)

Anyway, making use of the facilities should be good healthy lifestyle... why reject so much.

Some people already have club membership elsewhere. For example, one may have a golf membership which includes all other club facilities. So, having dual facilities will be a redundance.

Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 08:58 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 07:52 PM)
Good discussion here.

To those who plan to buy a property with strata title (whether condo or landed strata), think twice if you feel you cannot cope with maintenance fee that will increase from time to time. Otherwise, you see people bashing at you for not being able to pay the maintenance fee, like some of them here.

That is my point. Becareful in chosing property with strata. Read Strata Title Act first! The developer can sue you in court. You can be fined or even jailed. On top of that, they can sell your car or tv or fridge or other moveable properties to recover the outstanding payment.

Remember. Maintenance are due monthly even after you finished paying the loan. And even when you are dying. There is no waiver under Strata Title Act.

This maintenance fee is not set by you. It is set by the Joint Management Committee in which the developer is a member. You may say the amount is high, but they may say the amount is reasonable. In the end, you have to listen to them and pay the amount. So, before you buy, think carefully. Like some people here say, if you think you cannot cope with it, choose a property with an individual title.

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif u tot the developer only want to do one time biz.
silent_stalker
post Apr 5 2014, 09:20 PM

852 posts

Just a question, if high rise dont pay the fee, management can block water or block card access. What about landed strata? Also same?
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 09:21 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 08:58 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif u tot the developer only want to do one time biz.
No, I don't think they want to do one time business. That is why they are using strata title. Utilizing provisions under the Act, they will have another business which is property maintenance.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 09:25 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Apr 5 2014, 09:20 PM)
Just a question, if high rise dont pay the fee, management can block water or block card access. What about landed strata? Also same?
They do not have the right to block your water supply. It is against the law. Nowhere in strata title act mentions the right to block utilities. If they do so, you can sue them. JMC is a body that can sue and can be sued.
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 09:32 PM

680 posts

Good discussion here.

You mean Strata Title act - all the house owners cannot vote to reduce price of maintenance fee or evict Committee in charge? so imba one? At the end of the day, people buy house to stay in it and to invest. Who would buy house to lose money one....

anyhow, your advise is good. If cannot upkeep maintenance dont think about GG ect ect ect. Stay in Singapore HDB safe and cheap.
silent_stalker
post Apr 5 2014, 09:33 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 09:25 PM)
They do not have the right to block your water supply. It is against the law. Nowhere in strata title act mentions the right to block utilities. If they do so, you can sue them. JMC is a body that can sue and can be sued.
Owh cannot ah? Then the lawyer who I signed snp with cannot use la. I asked her this question, she said management have the right to so. sweat.gif
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 09:39 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 09:21 PM)
No, I don't think they want to do one time business. That is why they are using strata title. Utilizing provisions under the Act, they will have another business which is property maintenance.
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif u think too much. Doing biz cant do tis kind tactic. U tot developer can make big money from the maintenance fee meh? Big money is from sell more houses, build more project lar.
U tot they can simply increase without justification ?. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 09:46 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(silent_stalker @ Apr 5 2014, 09:33 PM)
Owh cannot ah? Then the lawyer who I signed snp with cannot use la. I asked her this question, she said management have the right to so.  sweat.gif
Ask her where in the Act says so. Also, ask her to find out whether it is an offense to disrupt someone's water supply. If she cannot defend what she says, ask her to give you a kiss. I bet you will get it cool2.gif

TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 10:00 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 09:39 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  u think too much. Doing biz cant do tis kind tactic. U tot developer can make big money from the maintenance fee meh? Big money is from sell more houses, build more project lar.
U tot they can simply increase without justification ?.  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
You have to pay maintenance fee every month whether you are on holiday or sick at hospital. If you die, your spouse or son or daughter who inherits the property has to continue paying. If not you can be sued. You cannot hide because you stay there. They can sell your car or tv to recover money. It is legal. Don't you think it is a good business?

Building more projects is good when there is an adequate demand. Guess what is the occupancy rate in hartamas/mont kiara area? Less than half. Lots of empty units.

This post has been edited by UnderTheSun: Apr 5 2014, 10:02 PM
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:03 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:00 PM)
You have to pay maintenance fee every month whether you are on holiday or sick at hospital. If you die, your spouse or son or daughter who inherits the property has to continue paying. If not you can be sued. You cannot hide because your stay there. They can sell your car or tv to recover money. It is legal. Don't you think it is a good business?

Building more projects is good when there is an adequate demand. Guess what is the occupancy rate in hartamas/mont kiara area? Less than half. Lots of empty units.
rclxub.gif Wat r y talking about? Maintenance fee or Wat?
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 10:08 PM

680 posts

You have to pay maintenance fee every month whether you are on holiday or sick at hospital. If you die, your spouse or son or daughter who inherits the property has to continue paying. If not you can be sued. You cannot hide because you stay there. They can sell your car or tv to recover money. It is legal. Don't you think it is a good business?

why buy house, pay for guards and keep the house empty?.... rclxub.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 10:09 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 10:03 PM)
rclxub.gif Wat r y talking about? Maintenance fee or Wat?
The maintenance fee will be stored under sinking fund. Sinking fund will used to pay securities, facilities maintenance, painting of the building, etc - some of which will done by the developer.
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 10:11 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Apr 5 2014, 10:08 PM)
why buy house, pay for guards and keep the house empty?.... rclxub.gif
Some units are unsold, some speculators failed to get tenants. A sign of bubbling property market.
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:11 PM)
Some units are unsold, some speculators failed to get tenants. A sign of bubbling property market.
so when crash... swooop in to buy....
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:09 PM)
The maintenance fee will be stored under sinking fund. Sinking fund will used to pay securities, facilities maintenance, painting of the building, etc - some of which will done by the developer.
Got it. For sure u oso won't pay maintenance fee even stay in GnG under individual title.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:27 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:11 PM)
Like that u should buy strata project. Unsold or speculators failed to get tenants oso need to pay maintenance fee. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
samkps
post Apr 5 2014, 10:28 PM

15,454 posts

Good discussion here.

bro, developer is one of the members in jmc only, others are purchaser, thus dun think they will come out with an unacceptable rate.. in addition, jmc finally will be dissolved and replaced with management corporations which the members are purchasers only woh.. hmm.gif hmm.gif
TSUnderTheSun
post Apr 5 2014, 10:29 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM)
nod.gif
Wiredx
post Apr 5 2014, 10:37 PM

592 posts

QUOTE(samkps @ Apr 5 2014, 10:28 PM)
bro, developer is one of the members in jmc only, others are purchaser, thus dun think they will come out with an unacceptable rate.. in addition, jmc finally will be dissolved and replaced with management corporations which the members are purchasers only woh.. hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Exactly. I really dont see what is the big issue. TS seems to be thinking along the lines of someone who doesnt want to pay fees. A strict jmb is good but he seems to think theyre up to no good.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:38 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(skywardsword @ Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM)
So according to underthesun statement. Only GnG individual title will crash coz unsold unit n no tenant unit wont pay maintenance fee. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sammm33
post Apr 5 2014, 10:39 PM

684 posts

i believe what TS trying to bring up is the possibility of overpaying a maintenance fee.

and to me , rm400 sure is a lot, even with gym and other facility.

Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:43 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(Wiredx @ Apr 5 2014, 10:37 PM)
Exactly. I really dont see what is the big issue. TS seems to be thinking along the lines of someone who doesnt want to pay fees. A strict jmb is good but he seems to think theyre up to no good.
Actly TS taikor not willing pay the maintenance fee but want the facilities
If pay the fee oso scare ppl make money. If dun pay then scare ppl tk away his assets.

U know y gng fund Oway not enough n security quality become lousy n lousy.
Becoz of tis lar biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 10:45 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:39 PM)
i believe what TS trying to bring up is the possibility of overpaying a maintenance fee.

and to me , rm400 sure is a lot, even with gym and other facility.
That y, scare ppl make money but want first class service doh.gif doh.gif
samkps
post Apr 5 2014, 10:48 PM

15,454 posts

QUOTE(Wiredx @ Apr 5 2014, 10:37 PM)
perhaps ts misunderstand that developer in the jmc can do whatever they want in the jmc, by charging an unreasonable rate.. actually they cant lah, coz finally the management need to hand back to the purchasers nia.. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
steventan85
post Apr 5 2014, 10:53 PM

6,447 posts

do not argue with stupid ppl , it will only drag down ur level. enuf said smile.gif
sammm33
post Apr 5 2014, 10:57 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 10:43 PM)
Actly TS taikor not willing pay the maintenance fee but want the facilities
If pay the fee oso scare ppl make money. If dun pay then scare ppl tk away his assets.

U know y gng fund Oway not enough n security quality become lousy n lousy.
Becoz of tis lar  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
errr , i think , quality become worst happen if :

1) the management part only take money no do work, worst is they take money and still give bad quality maintenance. at this part , management is at fault.

2) a lot ppl at the property is not paying the fees, hence management no $ do maintenance. for this , property owner is at fault.

so mean this is a win win situation:

as long u pay fee, management happy cuz get paid, management do thing, property was maintained , well maintain = tat property will got value= owner happy, property was well kept and clean = whoever stay there also will be happy

and of course, like some already mention previously , the fee should be kept at a reasonable price, not too high not too low.
steventan85
post Apr 5 2014, 10:59 PM

6,447 posts

Good discussion here.

the only reason i buy apartment and condo is bcoz i m not afford to buy 1-2mil landed property at this moment. so my only choice is to buy a sub 300-400k condo and fyi , begger is not a chooser... so i have to pay maintenance fee when i choose to stay in condo .

common sense tell me i need to pay every month until i sell off the condo unit . that is for sure. u dont need to study strata title act to know about this. this is pretty common sense ,but common sense is not so common nowadays .. arent u think so ?

JMC is not a permanent thing . end of the day , they need to hand over to community itself to settle . then condo community will setup a new team aka committee member for condo doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

even u buy a landed property , and if u didnt pay ur quit rent / cukai pintu, local council will lelong ur stuff to clear ur debt.. this is common sense as well doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
sammm33
post Apr 5 2014, 11:00 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 10:45 PM)
That y, scare ppl make money but want first class service  doh.gif  doh.gif
mebi TS did over worry a bit sad.gif

so in the end , any know how much maintenance fee is required monthly for the property mention by TS ?

well if they did overcharge for the management fee, i believe ppl who pay the fee will make some sound to reflect their concern.
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 11:06 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:57 PM)
errr , i think , quality become worst happen if :

1) the management part only take money no do work, worst is they take money and still give bad quality maintenance. at this part , management is at fault.

2) a lot ppl at the property is not paying the fees, hence management no $ do maintenance. for this , property owner is at fault.

so mean this is a win win situation:

as long u pay fee, management happy cuz get paid, management do thing, property was maintained , well maintain = tat property will got value= owner happy,  property was well kept and clean = whoever stay there also will be happy

and of course, like some already mention previously , the fee should be kept at a reasonable price, not too high not too low.
Yup, ensure enough fund first only ensure management provide the good service. Sure must reasonable price but no need so worry they simply increase price becoz they can not. Except others ppl think still reasonable but u think over price then doh.gif
Rabel
post Apr 5 2014, 11:08 PM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:00 PM)
mebi TS did over worry a bit  sad.gif

so in the end , any know how much maintenance fee is required monthly for the property mention by TS ?

well if they did overcharge for the management fee, i believe ppl who pay the fee will make some sound to reflect their concern.
Exactly, if 50% refuse to pay coz unhappy the maintenance fee. Management oso mati. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
max_cavalera
post Apr 5 2014, 11:10 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

as much as i would like to believe into your conspiracy theory....im facing similar situation myself but your point is invalid.

Certainly for a home owner doesnt matter if you are the staff of the company....theres flawed logic that any unit owner would like to simply pay more for their maintenance fee....im among committee member of my condo unit as well...and your argument defy logic....

This is there real issue:-

1st. The maintenance fee is expensive if your unit is a low density unit. By logic everyone would like to live in a low density unit, but low density have a cost, or premium to it. You will be incurring higher maintenance fee to cover the overall maintenance.

2. The more facility your strata title unit have, such as swimming pool, gym, etc....the more expensive the maintenance fee going to be. As such, im beginning to appreciate the no frills apartment ....that would prolly not look nice on the selling brochure....but the maintenance fee it would incur would save the home owner cash in the long run.

3. Lack of economic of scale... try to engaged with a residential management company of neighbouring condo....instead of hiring your own security, contractor, try to leverage with the same company that provide their service to neighboring resident....they might be able to give you better discount. the pooling/sharing of human resource can save your maintenance cost.

4. Increasing the maintenance fee among joint management body is the last resort thing they ever want to do...why? because that will lower down the value of their unit for a subsale market....how would you feel if you are one of the committee and blatantly increase the maintnenace fee? u would have a very hard time selling ur unit back to new owner. maintenance fee of a strata unit is a among key criteria a new buyer look into when buying a 2nd hand house.
Chris Chew
post Apr 5 2014, 11:23 PM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:00 PM)
mebi TS did over worry a bit  sad.gif

Whatever we discussed after TS first post was regarding to Strata Title Landed, high maintenance fee, management & JMC, pay the mthly maintenance fee until die or relevant about careful while buying stratified landed.

But it was not related to what issue TS started into his first post. And the project he mentioned in his first ever post is even yet to be completed but 2016.
sammm33
post Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM

684 posts

QUOTE(Chris Chew @ Apr 5 2014, 11:23 PM)
Whatever we discussed after TS first post was regarding to Strata Title Landed, high maintenance fee, management & JMC, pay the mthly maintenance fee until die or relevant about careful while buying stratified landed.

But it was not related to what issue TS started into his first post. And the project he mentioned in his first ever post is even yet to be completed but 2016.
i see, my apologies if i derail anything .
MiLKTea
post Apr 5 2014, 11:48 PM

942 posts

regardless....just dont buy strata property lah if u unwilling to pay the maintenance fee...

want high-class facilities and nice landscape, but refuse to pay....apalah....
Chris Chew
post Apr 5 2014, 11:54 PM

10,387 posts

QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:27 PM)
i see, my apologies if i derail anything .
Oh, no worries and not needed to be apologize. Lol
easypeasy11
post Apr 6 2014, 12:12 AM

13 posts

Everyone's lifestyle is different due to personal preference or maybe limited by personal financial capability. For me, I prefer a good stratafied development property. I have been staying stratified properties for the past 15 years. Paying maintenance from Rm 200 to over Rm 1,500 now.

Never regret. You pay what you get smile.gif
robert82
post Apr 6 2014, 12:48 AM

1,924 posts

aiyo, don't want pay maintenance fee and worry it goes up every year due to being set up by developer very easy one.

You go buy a piece of land, build your own house by hiring ur own contractors and then viola. Move in and set maintenance fee as RM0 each month.

P/S: Your wife will still ask for maintenance fee to plant trees, water garden, buy pots, hire grass cutter (handyman to cut grass) etc.
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 6 2014, 08:38 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 12:20 PM)

So, I would say 0.20 psf is an unreasonable method of calculation. We are so used to it that we fail to see a sensible method of calculation.  smile.gif

Boss same advise fr me, just skip wateva projects u dun feel comfortable with. Especially the paying part. Or best is to put in effort to b the chairman and try to set a new regulation tat benefit all. Eg. No charges for those who nvr use the swimming pool, gym, BBQ area etc etc. it's even beta if can allow those who dun like landscaping can oso skip the charges.

I ll b one of the happy man to hav all the nice landscaping but not paying anythg cos I dun like it. Anw just an example. Dun hav to reply to me. Pls think. icon_rolleyes.gif

I wish to hire u as my jmb chairman without imposing any charges but the gng ll b superbly maintained. thumbup.gif
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 6 2014, 08:46 AM

13,761 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Apr 5 2014, 12:57 PM)

I came across am Indian in a gng refused to pay the fee, and just drive thru few times damaging the gate when guards denied his entry. Jmb can't do athg apart fr sending demand letter n billing for damages. Tis Indian is a gangster there. Rich but arsehole.

Now he is being sued. Dunno the outcome but hope he ll b penalized.

I just dun like to c tis type of idiots around. Hope TS is not one of them.

Btw TS pls oso teach some Kung fu how to figure out who n who likes or dislikes sthg and the best possible way to charge them based on their liking.

thanks.
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 6 2014, 08:47 AM

13,761 posts

Maybe u can study how t&t does it for sierramas. Perfect!!!
SUStikaram
post Apr 6 2014, 08:55 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:01 PM)

Individual title.

The place that i stay is individual title. We dont have problem like wat u said. In fact it is one the best township in kajang.

Jade Hill

Pls do more research.
ManutdGiggs
post Apr 6 2014, 09:03 AM

13,761 posts

One needs to und fully on strata act n indi title props arrangement such as RA. In sierramas tbm did hav some prob collecting but tat was onli during the vely early stage. Since then til now no prob at all. All Ritchie's won't wanna lose face due to few hundred bucks.

Dunno about other human living projects. I'm toking bout all those for non human.

Strata act governing owners to pay for charges n governing PIC to run the job. Tats is y owners can b sued if not paying up, PIC can b sued if misused the funds, PIC can b voted out if not performing.

Anyone who is so in satisfied can volunteer themselves to run the party. Provided the person get enuf of votes.
cherroy
post Apr 6 2014, 10:19 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 6 2014, 08:55 AM)
The place that i stay is individual title. We dont have problem like wat u said. In fact it is one the best township in kajang.

Jade Hill

Pls do more research.
Yes, if everyone cooperate, surely everything fine and pleasant, disregards whatever kind of property.

The discussion previously that being highlighted is that under individual title, there is no law bidding, all depended on cooperation between neighborhood.
Under strata properties, it is law bidding to pay maintenance fee.

See the word in the statement of "if". I never said which or any individual title property must be bad or must face problem.

Anyway,
any story/info regarding how well/bad/problem of MC/JMB or individual title property is always welcomed.

SUStikaram
post Apr 6 2014, 10:27 AM

10,722 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 6 2014, 11:19 AM)
Yes, if everyone cooperate, surely everything fine and pleasant, disregards whatever kind of property.

The discussion previously that being highlighted is that under individual title, there is no law bidding, all depended on cooperation between neighborhood.
Under strata properties, it is law bidding to pay maintenance fee.

See the word in the statement of "if". I never said which or any individual title property must be bad or must face problem.

Anyway,
any story/info regarding how well/bad/problem of MC/JMB or individual title property is always welcomed.
No true... those not paying one also by the doc they have signed. Pls do more research.
cherroy
post Apr 6 2014, 10:33 AM

25,802 posts

The story of certain unit owner "gang up" to form JMB/MC to raise maintenance fee and to make profit from running the management is flaw.

An extra-ordinary high maintenance fee will only make potential buyer shy away from the property. With little buyer seeking for the property, the property price has hard time to appreciate, and existing owner may also move away from it as well, which eventually may "kill" their own property value only.

That's reason why only unit owner can vote in AGM/EGM of JMB/MC, but not residents, because if they care about their property value, they need to take care of the property interest including maintenance fee and management related.

cherroy
post Apr 6 2014, 10:35 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 6 2014, 10:27 AM)
No true... those not paying one also by the doc they have signed. Pls do more research.
What kind of "doc"?

Not everyone knows everything, if known, please share, ty, instead just telling other to do more research.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Apr 6 2014, 10:36 AM
skywardsword
post Apr 6 2014, 10:55 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 10:27 PM)
Like that u should buy strata project. Unsold or speculators failed to get tenants oso need to pay maintenance fee.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif so true. Speculator pay for your 1man/20 acre development. Like you own the whole development.... live like King.

The Guards will Salute you each day you go in and out.

The Gardeners will offer your fresh flowers each day you go walk in the gardens.

The Maintenance guy will greet you like a boss each day you go watch movie in your Cinema.

Life is great when there are Strata title and speculators who failz.

skywardsword
post Apr 6 2014, 10:59 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 6 2014, 10:33 AM)
The story of certain unit owner "gang up" to form JMB/MC to raise maintenance fee and to make profit from running the management is flaw.

An extra-ordinary high maintenance fee will only make potential buyer shy away from the property. With little buyer seeking for the property, the property price has hard time to appreciate, and existing owner may also move away from it as well, which eventually may "kill" their own property value only.

That's reason why only unit owner can vote in AGM/EGM of JMB/MC, but not residents, because if they care about their property value, they need to take care of the property interest including maintenance fee and management related.
The arguments are always flawed. But what is true though, always got people try to game the system.

Some people live to exploit others.

Be it - dont want to pay maintenance.

Or it- take money from maintenance but do Zero work and dont take responsibility.

Rabel
post Apr 6 2014, 11:45 AM

2,386 posts

QUOTE(tikaram @ Apr 6 2014, 10:27 AM)
Should do more research abt the law instead of doc biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Rabel: Apr 6 2014, 11:49 AM

0.0487sec    1.52    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:55 PM