QUOTE(idoblu @ Apr 5 2014, 01:37 PM)
Some individual titled properties also need to pay maintenance. They don't follow strata laws but sign a deed of mutual covenant or DMC
If signed the DMC but still dun want to pay. How ??BE CAREFUL: Landed Properties With Stata Title, You can face high maintenance fee later!
Apr 5 2014, 03:35 PM
2,386 posts Joined: Jun 2013 |
Apr 5 2014, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 03:46 PM) If optional, I can bet not many people want to pay for the club house. The optional of club house only suitable for GnG with individual title.No money to maintain the clubhouse, clubhouse facilities surely deteoriating fast, swimming pool no maintain, fungus grows etc. So, the argument for club facilities should be made optional doesn't make sense. The logic of the argument is flaw to start with. |
Apr 5 2014, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:01 PM) Landed property with strata title vs individual title has both advantage and disadvantage. Plus 1Individual title. No obligation for maintenance fee. But if want to have security to patrol, safeguard the housing area, then it depends on willingness of neighborhood to contribute to pay for the expenses for it. If there is people don't want to pay for it, basically, no law can be enforced on them. So you may have awkward situation if some people do not want to cooperate. But with strata title one, the unit owner is governed by strata title act, that unit owner is obliged to pay the maintenance fee under the strata title act, so action can be imposed on those refuse to pay maintenance as compared to individual title one. With G&G and clubhouse facilities are features that most wanted by property owner nowadays, a maintenance fund is a must to keep the property in good shape, this is inevitable. So in this case, strata title act provides the platform for it. |
Apr 5 2014, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:06 PM) G&G with individual title can be very difficult to manage. Agreed.As we know, not everyone may cooperate to contribute to the maintenance fund. Even in this topic, there is forumer question the rate of maintenance fee based on size of unit. (although it looks reasonable and logic for most, some also question about it), see whatever kind of people also have in this world. You can't make optional for any fee for any facilities, If want to have clubhouse, then everyone must contribute. or no clubhouse at all. Only yes or no, cannot be optional, it doesn't work. |
Apr 5 2014, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 04:18 PM) It may not useful at all, when there is dispute of it. Plus1. At least some ppl here get understand the proper GnG should be strata title .The article explained well the awkward situation that may faced by individual title on settting G&G community using DMC. http://www.malaysianbar.org.my/conveyancin...ies_part_2.html |
Apr 5 2014, 05:13 PM
Useless, not so many ppl will follow.
Tis is fact. |
Apr 5 2014, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:18 PM) A lot of owner doesn't realise that by refusing to pay the maintenance fee, one is actually "destroying" the value of property one owned over the long term. Wat to do??? Human being mah. If u dun mind the maintenance fee then buy strata title lor. Who want to buy million plus G&G landed property with clubhouse swimming pool growing fungus, no security (no money to pay, hence security also "cabut"), grass growing common area etc. Living in a strata property (be it G&G landed or highrise), you need to treat it as living in a community instead selfish way. Everyone must cooperate not only in term of paying maintenance fee, but also in term of follow the house rules made, by then with cooperation of abide to house rules, only then can make the property into a pleasant one living space with good security. Ppl can drive BMW oso refuse pay 150/ mth. Their mindset is like that. Apa boleh buat?? Kanasai lor |
Apr 5 2014, 05:35 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 5 2014, 05:27 PM) It depends, there are fairly well run MC around as far as I knew, while there are also plenty poorly run as well. 90 % to 95% collection. If under individual title. Very very very goodI personally knew 2 properties (mid-to high end one) with high collection rate >90~95%, management fee surplus + sinking fund rack up million plus with property fairly well maintained across. The issue of maintenance fee is more severe with low cost highrise. So we need a stricter rule to ensure maintenance fee is paid on time. At the moment, the strata title act is not strict enough to punish defaulter of maintenance fee hence people take for granted. As to change the mindset, almost near impossible, hence the only way to improve situation is through stricter strata act, empower MC or COB to enforce the rules. |
Apr 5 2014, 05:41 PM
Apr 5 2014, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 07:52 PM) Good discussion here. To those who plan to buy a property with strata title (whether condo or landed strata), think twice if you feel you cannot cope with maintenance fee that will increase from time to time. Otherwise, you see people bashing at you for not being able to pay the maintenance fee, like some of them here. That is my point. Becareful in chosing property with strata. Read Strata Title Act first! The developer can sue you in court. You can be fined or even jailed. On top of that, they can sell your car or tv or fridge or other moveable properties to recover the outstanding payment. Remember. Maintenance are due monthly even after you finished paying the loan. And even when you are dying. There is no waiver under Strata Title Act. This maintenance fee is not set by you. It is set by the Joint Management Committee in which the developer is a member. You may say the amount is high, but they may say the amount is reasonable. In the end, you have to listen to them and pay the amount. So, before you buy, think carefully. Like some people here say, if you think you cannot cope with it, choose a property with an individual title. Best of luck in finding your home sweet home! |
Apr 5 2014, 09:39 PM
QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 09:21 PM) No, I don't think they want to do one time business. That is why they are using strata title. Utilizing provisions under the Act, they will have another business which is property maintenance. U tot they can simply increase without justification ?. |
Apr 5 2014, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:00 PM) You have to pay maintenance fee every month whether you are on holiday or sick at hospital. If you die, your spouse or son or daughter who inherits the property has to continue paying. If not you can be sued. You cannot hide because your stay there. They can sell your car or tv to recover money. It is legal. Don't you think it is a good business? Building more projects is good when there is an adequate demand. Guess what is the occupancy rate in hartamas/mont kiara area? Less than half. Lots of empty units. |
Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM
QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:09 PM) The maintenance fee will be stored under sinking fund. Sinking fund will used to pay securities, facilities maintenance, painting of the building, etc - some of which will done by the developer. Got it. For sure u oso won't pay maintenance fee even stay in GnG under individual title. |
Apr 5 2014, 10:27 PM
Apr 5 2014, 10:38 PM
Apr 5 2014, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(Wiredx @ Apr 5 2014, 10:37 PM) Exactly. I really dont see what is the big issue. TS seems to be thinking along the lines of someone who doesnt want to pay fees. A strict jmb is good but he seems to think theyre up to no good. Actly TS taikor not willing pay the maintenance fee but want the facilities If pay the fee oso scare ppl make money. If dun pay then scare ppl tk away his assets. U know y gng fund Oway not enough n security quality become lousy n lousy. Becoz of tis lar |
Apr 5 2014, 10:45 PM
Apr 5 2014, 11:06 PM
QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 10:57 PM) errr , i think , quality become worst happen if : Yup, ensure enough fund first only ensure management provide the good service. Sure must reasonable price but no need so worry they simply increase price becoz they can not. Except others ppl think still reasonable but u think over price then 1) the management part only take money no do work, worst is they take money and still give bad quality maintenance. at this part , management is at fault. 2) a lot ppl at the property is not paying the fees, hence management no $ do maintenance. for this , property owner is at fault. so mean this is a win win situation: as long u pay fee, management happy cuz get paid, management do thing, property was maintained , well maintain = tat property will got value= owner happy, property was well kept and clean = whoever stay there also will be happy and of course, like some already mention previously , the fee should be kept at a reasonable price, not too high not too low. |
Apr 5 2014, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(sammm33 @ Apr 5 2014, 11:00 PM) mebi TS did over worry a bit Exactly, if 50% refuse to pay coz unhappy the maintenance fee. Management oso mati. so in the end , any know how much maintenance fee is required monthly for the property mention by TS ? well if they did overcharge for the management fee, i believe ppl who pay the fee will make some sound to reflect their concern. |
Apr 6 2014, 11:45 AM
| Change to: | 0.0196sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:17 PM |