BE CAREFUL: Landed Properties With Stata Title, You can face high maintenance fee later!

skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 08:58 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 07:58 AM)
If we want to flip, it should not be much problem. Basically, the concern will be transferred to the buyer.

If we want to let, we will have to embed the maintenance charge with the rental rate. Our rental rate will be higher than others. Hence, less attractive.

If we want to stay, aiyoo.. maintenance headache  rclxub.gif
How much is the maintenance charge? Does it include a gym, and well manicured gardens and parks? Also by your account, those insiders want to keep the property meh? more places to goreng yoh in sunway iskandar perhaps>
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 06:02 PM

680 posts

If i am not wrong.... I know of some people who bought houses in the land of the FREE. *USA. Also have to pay to maintain their grass in the front lawn... if not overgrown... you can get evicted and house sold.

Then again, the issue should be about proper accounting and management of the funds collected.

Strata or individual... that is just the difference between legal obligation, and skirting the community responsibility.

Plus- cannot simply change facade and change the way a neat row of house look.

BTW- when TS says HH is good... there are also people who feel that staying close to golf course that uses herbicides to kill weeds... very odd yoh. Good luck TS drinking coffee in your compound.

Also, TS, can you also post the pricing for house in EB and HH for comparing sake.

Personally, I would prefer gated community without guards. If want guards, employ Gurkah or Android machines.

Additional facilities- that should be known from the start. If dont want such facilities, then dont buy. Feedback to developers that consumers only want to buy houses without facilities.

Anyway, making use of the facilities should be good healthy lifestyle... why reject so much.

Additional thoughts: BTW those people so rich buy the property. HH or EB/EW... those not your common fellows. I am sure they will challenge the management kau kau if they detect anything mischievious. The wolf among the wolves.

This post has been edited by skywardsword: Apr 5 2014, 06:23 PM
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 09:32 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 07:52 PM)
Good discussion here.

To those who plan to buy a property with strata title (whether condo or landed strata), think twice if you feel you cannot cope with maintenance fee that will increase from time to time. Otherwise, you see people bashing at you for not being able to pay the maintenance fee, like some of them here.

That is my point. Becareful in chosing property with strata. Read Strata Title Act first! The developer can sue you in court. You can be fined or even jailed. On top of that, they can sell your car or tv or fridge or other moveable properties to recover the outstanding payment.

Remember. Maintenance are due monthly even after you finished paying the loan. And even when you are dying. There is no waiver under Strata Title Act.

This maintenance fee is not set by you. It is set by the Joint Management Committee in which the developer is a member. You may say the amount is high, but they may say the amount is reasonable. In the end, you have to listen to them and pay the amount. So, before you buy, think carefully. Like some people here say, if you think you cannot cope with it, choose a property with an individual title.

Best of luck in finding your home sweet home!
You mean Strata Title act - all the house owners cannot vote to reduce price of maintenance fee or evict Committee in charge? so imba one? At the end of the day, people buy house to stay in it and to invest. Who would buy house to lose money one....

anyhow, your advise is good. If cannot upkeep maintenance dont think about GG ect ect ect. Stay in Singapore HDB safe and cheap.
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 10:08 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:00 PM)
You have to pay maintenance fee every month whether you are on holiday or sick at hospital. If you die, your spouse or son or daughter who inherits the property has to continue paying. If not you can be sued. You cannot hide because you stay there. They can sell your car or tv to recover money. It is legal. Don't you think it is a good business?

Building more projects is good when there is an adequate demand. Guess what is the occupancy rate in hartamas/mont kiara area? Less than half. Lots of empty units.
why buy house, pay for guards and keep the house empty?.... rclxub.gif
skywardsword
post Apr 5 2014, 10:19 PM

680 posts

QUOTE(UnderTheSun @ Apr 5 2014, 10:11 PM)
Some units are unsold, some speculators failed to get tenants. A sign of bubbling property market.
so when crash... swooop in to buy....
skywardsword
post Apr 6 2014, 10:55 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(Rabel @ Apr 5 2014, 10:27 PM)
Like that u should buy strata project. Unsold or speculators failed to get tenants oso need to pay maintenance fee.  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif so true. Speculator pay for your 1man/20 acre development. Like you own the whole development.... live like King.

The Guards will Salute you each day you go in and out.

The Gardeners will offer your fresh flowers each day you go walk in the gardens.

The Maintenance guy will greet you like a boss each day you go watch movie in your Cinema.

Life is great when there are Strata title and speculators who failz.

skywardsword
post Apr 6 2014, 10:59 AM

680 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 6 2014, 10:33 AM)
The story of certain unit owner "gang up" to form JMB/MC to raise maintenance fee and to make profit from running the management is flaw.

An extra-ordinary high maintenance fee will only make potential buyer shy away from the property. With little buyer seeking for the property, the property price has hard time to appreciate, and existing owner may also move away from it as well, which eventually may "kill" their own property value only.

That's reason why only unit owner can vote in AGM/EGM of JMB/MC, but not residents, because if they care about their property value, they need to take care of the property interest including maintenance fee and management related.
The arguments are always flawed. But what is true though, always got people try to game the system.

Some people live to exploit others.

Be it - dont want to pay maintenance.

Or it- take money from maintenance but do Zero work and dont take responsibility.

0.0183sec    0.32    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:45 AM